Wexford Inter County Football

Well done men brilliant result 1.22 from play is brilliant congrats to each player. We are quick to criticise but I'm delighted for each player

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 10/06/2023 17:56:56    2485321

Great result in Tullamore today. Some brilliant scores. It's notable that all scores were from play.
Hard to know how serious Offaly were treating this competition.Thing is though this team are making significant progress.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 449 - 10/06/2023 18:53:05    2485334

Replying To Magpie2:  "Great result in Tullamore today. Some brilliant scores. It's notable that all scores were from play.
Hard to know how serious Offaly were treating this competition.Thing is though this team are making significant progress."
Surely they were taking it as serious as any other County? What else have they to play for this year

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 10/06/2023 19:10:28    2485339

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Surely they were taking it as serious as any other County? What else have they to play for this year"
Seeing interview after with Offaly captain saying they lost a lot of players who went travelling so weren't taking it that serious. However still serious win for Wexford, showing progress this season.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 475 - 10/06/2023 20:52:40    2485360

Replying To Magpie2:  "Great result in Tullamore today. Some brilliant scores. It's notable that all scores were from play.
Hard to know how serious Offaly were treating this competition.Thing is though this team are making significant progress."
However serious Offaly were about this game, they were awful.
Wexford cut through them numerous times, scored 1 - 22 from play ( which is a brilliant return) and should have had at least 3 more goals.
But this team & squad are gelling nicely, and we can look forward to another road trip next weekend.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 10/06/2023 20:56:10    2485363

Replying To beano:  "Great display from the lads, with the goal just before half-time the turning point. We continue to generate plenty of chances and kick good scores from play, with Nolan and Molloy prominent in that regard with 0-7 between them I think. Good to see Rossiter back to his best as well after a quiet championship to date, Dylan Furlong went very well too after his lay-off. Attacking subs all made an impact.

1-22 from play (our entire tally) is serious scoring- football would be a great product if every team played with a bit of abandon rather than the possession at all stakes tedium.

Only concern was how loose we looked in the full-back line in the first half, although we improved in that section in the second half. Great to have an extended run of meaningful games against comparable opposition though.

#WexfordRising"
Just home. We won by 5 but should've been alot more. They fisted a goal with the last kick of the game. The ref was poor and their keeper made some excellent saves. We hit the bar too. Ellie went over to the players to get her programme signed and they said thanks for coming up to her! I shook John Hegartys hand after the game he's doing a great job. We are playing some really entertaining stuff this year with some quality, and size, in every line. While everyone turned in a great performance I thought Dylan Furlong was outstanding.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 10/06/2023 21:03:52    2485368

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations Wexford footballers, great display, great win. I certainly didn't see that one coming, few people did I'd say. Great to be prolonging the year for the county when all other (adult male) teams are gone. Wexford football abu, unless you meet Limerick, of course. I've a hunch that ye will be drawn against the mighty green and white."
Not many of us picked a Wexford win on the Championship predictions thread that's for sure!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 10/06/2023 21:05:17    2485369

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Surely they were taking it as serious as any other County? What else have they to play for this year"
Nothing. They wouldn't have had 2 lads sent off if they didn't care. Though it has to be said I thought the ref was poor enough.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 10/06/2023 21:06:26    2485371

Replying To beano:  "Great display from the lads, with the goal just before half-time the turning point. We continue to generate plenty of chances and kick good scores from play, with Nolan and Molloy prominent in that regard with 0-7 between them I think. Good to see Rossiter back to his best as well after a quiet championship to date, Dylan Furlong went very well too after his lay-off. Attacking subs all made an impact.

1-22 from play (our entire tally) is serious scoring- football would be a great product if every team played with a bit of abandon rather than the possession at all stakes tedium.

Only concern was how loose we looked in the full-back line in the first half, although we improved in that section in the second half. Great to have an extended run of meaningful games against comparable opposition though.

#WexfordRising"
I wouldn't even say the goal was a turning point, going in level with the breeze to come would still have had us in a strong position, I think it moreso did some justice for the upper hand we had at that point(missed goal chances for example) and continued to do so into the 2nd half.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/06/2023 01:29:47    2485413

Replying To Viking66:  "Just home. We won by 5 but should've been alot more. They fisted a goal with the last kick of the game. The ref was poor and their keeper made some excellent saves. We hit the bar too. Ellie went over to the players to get her programme signed and they said thanks for coming up to her! I shook John Hegartys hand after the game he's doing a great job. We are playing some really entertaining stuff this year with some quality, and size, in every line. While everyone turned in a great performance I thought Dylan Furlong was outstanding."
Agree on the Furlong, when you think himself, Porter and Coleman either had very little or no gametime at all during the league that's a massive addition to our team.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/06/2023 01:32:56    2485414

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Seeing interview after with Offaly captain saying they lost a lot of players who went travelling so weren't taking it that serious. However still serious win for Wexford, showing progress this season."
Reading an article from 1 of the Offaly papers 3 players left their squad after the Leinster championship, 1 was a starter and the other 2 came on as subs in the Leinster championship semi final vs Louth.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/06/2023 01:35:43    2485415

Replying To Yellaman:  "However serious Offaly were about this game, they were awful.
Wexford cut through them numerous times, scored 1 - 22 from play ( which is a brilliant return) and should have had at least 3 more goals.
But this team & squad are gelling nicely, and we can look forward to another road trip next weekend."
Yeah definitely a case of both we seem to be hitting our best form, today for Dylan Furlong, Porter, Malone, Molloy, Eoghan Nolan,Brosnan & Mark Rossiter was probably each their best individual display of the year, well from what I've seen anyway, also we did have an awful run of injuries but think with the exception of Sheehan everyone is currently fit. That being said I taught Offaly were woeful,2 weeks in a row they've got 2 reds so bit of a frustration growing there it would seem, they had a good Leinster but poor Tailteann campaign, in fairness to them I'd say the mental toll of the sudden passing of Liam Kearns is hard to quantify.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/06/2023 01:49:32    2485417

It was Aiden O' Brien who said after the game that Wexford were more up for the game. He said that Offaly who had a good run in Leinster and were narrowly beaten by Louth in the semi final seemed to disimprove thereafter. He said that they ( Offaly)
We're very poor in their last game against Cavan.
However I would agree with you chincanhurl that they were putting in the effort but we were quite simply the better team by far.They may well have been deflated following their exit from the championship but surely they would not have wanted to lose that game in front of their loyal fans on home turf.
This result should bring the lads on in leaps and bounds but it will get tougher from here on in.
Confidence will be high for our next game and hopefully they can build on that excellent performance yesterday.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 449 - 11/06/2023 08:00:23    2485422

Replying To Viking66:  "Just home. We won by 5 but should've been alot more. They fisted a goal with the last kick of the game. The ref was poor and their keeper made some excellent saves. We hit the bar too. Ellie went over to the players to get her programme signed and they said thanks for coming up to her! I shook John Hegartys hand after the game he's doing a great job. We are playing some really entertaining stuff this year with some quality, and size, in every line. While everyone turned in a great performance I thought Dylan Furlong was outstanding."
We need to convert the goal chances, the further you go and the tighter the games get those goals will be the difference. I think we are now seeing the impact of having the lads all back from injury and getting gametime together. Hegarty is a systems man, where everyone knows their role so finally getting the best players all together is great for him. Nothing to fear now in the QF draw.
3 div 4 teams in the QFs and people on about there needs to be a third tier - for what? bottom 4 in the country + Kilkenny ?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1959 - 11/06/2023 08:37:17    2485425

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Reading an article from 1 of the Offaly papers 3 players left their squad after the Leinster championship, 1 was a starter and the other 2 came on as subs in the Leinster championship semi final vs Louth."
That's hardly a massive difference maker. They lost 2 to red cards the last day. But still had a good few u20 winners on the bench too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 11/06/2023 11:11:06    2485456

Replying To Magpie2:  "It was Aiden O' Brien who said after the game that Wexford were more up for the game. He said that Offaly who had a good run in Leinster and were narrowly beaten by Louth in the semi final seemed to disimprove thereafter. He said that they ( Offaly)
We're very poor in their last game against Cavan.
However I would agree with you chincanhurl that they were putting in the effort but we were quite simply the better team by far.They may well have been deflated following their exit from the championship but surely they would not have wanted to lose that game in front of their loyal fans on home turf.
This result should bring the lads on in leaps and bounds but it will get tougher from here on in.
Confidence will be high for our next game and hopefully they can build on that excellent performance yesterday."
I think Cavan will make some other counties look poor before this is all done

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 11/06/2023 11:12:54    2485457

never had much time for alan tobin, was very surprised when he was brought back into panal but hell he put in some shift yesterday he never stopped , fair play to him

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2969 - 11/06/2023 13:14:29    2485476

Replying To Viking66:  "That's hardly a massive difference maker. They lost 2 to red cards the last day. But still had a good few u20 winners on the bench too."
Its the usually 'sure I didn't fancy her anyway' excuse whenever a team loses

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1486 - 11/06/2023 13:17:46    2485477

Replying To Viking66:  "I think Cavan will make some other counties look poor before this is all done"
Yeah there the team I'd want to avoid in the draw in the morning, I reckon they'll win the thing out. We're away to either them, Meath or Limerick next weekend in the QF.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/06/2023 13:36:01    2485480

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "never had much time for alan tobin, was very surprised when he was brought back into panal but hell he put in some shift yesterday he never stopped , fair play to him"
Thought he was very good too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15669 - 11/06/2023 13:57:21    2485484