2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Congrats Limerick.

Derek McGrath might get his trilogy yet.
Just not who he thought.

Two best teams in Ireland.

So proud of the Clare lads.

Wexford - Beware"
1st up we might not even get to play you LRH.
2nd after your performance yesterday I don't think anyone will be taking you for granted. Let alone us. But you might likely have to produce another performance like that depending which Wexford turns up.
3rd we have played you as many times, or more even, than any other county in Championship hurling since 2013. Even the Leinster ones. And our record is not good. Over 70 minutes we drew in 2013 then ye won AET, 2014 a draw and a win for us. Both AET. And then a succession of defeats of varying degrees.
So in Championship over the last 9 seasons I think that's played 6, drew 3, lost 3 in 70 minutes. Or won 1, drew 1 and lost 4 overall. So I'm hoping it's our turn to win!!!
Lastly enjoy the rest of your holiday!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 06/06/2022 07:51:15    2422625

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Most people do agree with the system. The fans love it. I can see why Dublin feel it's not fair but there is no demand to change it. Maybe you have the 4th placed go into the PQF with the Joe McDonagh Cup."
There's no clamour among Dublin hurling people about it being unfair!

We came out the wrong side of the points difference but after the two last games it would be foolish to think we had any chance in the play offs.

I think it's a good system and guarantees that the best teams will come through to the last four. The McDonagh teams playing in PQFs is possibly not a great idea for anyone concerned but I think think it's a major flaw.

Anyway, we've had some titanic games so far and more to come. For everyone's sake the last think we need is for some committee to throw it back to Congress for a vote of people who mostly couldn't care less about hurling, let us be honest. Andi include most of my own here....

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3490 - 06/06/2022 08:15:10    2422626

That was some match. Both fans will have instances where they will have felt hard done by but John Keenan facilitated one of the all time great munster finals. He let the game go. To do that you let things go.

Clare emptied everything yesterday and it was impressive. David Fitzgerald is a transformed hurler under Lohan and the tactic of Taylor Fitz and Kelly in the middle going sideline to sideline really disrupted Limeick on the first half to great effect. Mcinerney marshslled hego v well and Kelly clipped his scores off the loose ball as he does. His score after the hegartu hook was sublime.

Limerick showed their greatness yesterday. They were asked and asked again by a team that just wouldn't go away. It was attritional and the intensity was incredible. Hannon is some leader of men. His composure in ET was extraordinary as was his play in the 2nd half(if he didn't have to go off early v kk in 19 limerick would have won that match).

There was too much to summarise here but my feeling coming away was limerick will only get better. I said to win this without your HOTY and all star in Peter casey would be some statement and it is. Clare made some statement too. You have to give it to Lohan. My fear for clare is against wexford. Its hard one to mentally get back to that place in 2 weeks.

On the contentious calls involving Duggan and Rory Hayes I think just leave it out on the field. It was a war out there yesterday. And things happen in the heat of battle.

What a sport we are blessed to love.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 06/06/2022 08:17:43    2422627

Replying To bloodyban:  "I think your doing the Munster Championship a disservice. This is the real stuff. Limerick v Waterford was an excellent game as was Clare v Limerick . The All Ireland series will be doing well to give us a contest and atmosphere like today's. There's no way Leinster should have 3 teams coming out the same as Munster. Id say a playoff with the 4th team in Munster and the 3rd team in Leinster would be fairer."
I was trying to decide if you were trolling, had a bit too much sherry in Noel Ryan's or were really serious bloodyban.
You are getting a bit carried away I feel. Yes yesterday was a great game, yes the All-Ireland series will do well to give a game like yesterday. But it was 1 game and the vast majority was very very forgettable. There is every chance the All-Ireland series will produce a game as good as yesterday. It might not. Who knows. But it is a while since there was a memorable Munster final so kudos.

There is no way Munster should have 4 out of 5 teams coming out, there is no justification for Waterford or Limerick proceeding in the championship any more than us remaining in there.

It is only 3 short years ago since the Leinster championship provided a final evening of unforgettable drama without the excessive exaggeration based on it. A few weeks later, the Leinster runners-up knocked the All-Ireland champions out, and the Leinster winners threw away a golden opportunity to make it an All-Leinster final.

You can't base any structure on 1 game and above all, whatever structure is made has to soon start to consider extending hurling's reach beyond a few traditional counties, not as Brian Carroll from Offaly once said "the top counties pull the ladder up with them".
If you want the best 4 counties in the All-Ireland semi's, then you need to go knock-out provincials and mix the 2 provinces up. Then nobody can have any complaints.

In addition, the Leinster council did the right thing extending the championship to 6 teams in the interest of promoting the game in Westmeath, Laois, Offaly, etc. What have the Munster counties done to promote the game (e.g in Kerry) in the past 20-30 years? Nothing.

Now if you don't mind, I'm off to play golf. Luckily, the club allows everybody with a handicap to enter the captains prize qualifiers. They don't just limit it to the single figures or I'd be out of luck playing off lowly 11.

You can't have it all your own way in this life.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1334 - 06/06/2022 08:43:59    2422639

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I don't mean to blow my own trumpet, but my predictions this week were not bad.

Bob O'Keeffe - Kilkenny by 4
Mick Mackey - Draw (70 mins)
Joe McDonagh - Kerry by 2
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 1699 - 03/06/2022 11:46:09

Who wins the Mackey in ET?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 4946 - 03/06/2022 13:17:35

All my predictions are from a betting point of view, where all the odds given are on 70 minutes play.
But I'd say Limerick might have the edge in extra time.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 1699 - 03/06/2022 16:59:58"
If your predictions are from a betting point of view you got 2 out of 3. Happens me most times. 2/3 or 3/4. Trebles and acca fu@@@d!

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 06/06/2022 10:00:39    2422675

Replying To bloodyban:  "I think your doing the Munster Championship a disservice. This is the real stuff. Limerick v Waterford was an excellent game as was Clare v Limerick . The All Ireland series will be doing well to give us a contest and atmosphere like today's. There's no way Leinster should have 3 teams coming out the same as Munster. Id say a playoff with the 4th team in Munster and the 3rd team in Leinster would be fairer."
Hard to read this munster arrogance.
But of course you seem to get pleasure from running down leinster teams
The championship ain't over yet bloodyban.
Shocking that you would be so disrespectful.
GROW Up!!!!

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 06/06/2022 10:07:10    2422678

Remarkable game yesterday. Credit to both teams.

In terms of commitment and passion I haven't seen a game like it in at least 3 or 4 years.

Hard luck to Clare. It was a super effort from them but limerick are now showing the experience of real champions to come through at the end in that type of game.

Clare are a blue print for everyone now. No huge changes in the team but they're just flying.

Summer starts now no matter the weather.

Looking at leinster.. Its hard to see any of the teams reaching that level but only time will tell.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3556 - 06/06/2022 10:09:37    2422679

What an absolute thriller in thurles yesterday.some outstanding performances from players,with Clare,Flanagan and Conklin at the back,Ryan Taylor,Dave Fitz,and of course tony Kelly again..on limerick side full back line,o donohue,gillane and Flanagan..could have gone either way at end of normal time,thought limerick legs were going better in second period of extra time..a few incidents high lighted last night and if they had been spotted they would have been red..I see a few former Clare players and a journalist saying it shouldn't have been shown..that is what limerick have been listening to for past few years..I think Clare might find it hard to get up to the same level for Wexford game and yesterday was so physically and mentally draining it will take a lot out of them..would I be right in saying Clare/Wexford will meet killkenny in semi,Galway/cork to play limerick..a huge thanks to all involved yesterday,however it's not great for a persons health..on one other thing if the clown that threw the object at Kelly can be identified,please let it be dealt with,no place for stupid people like that..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 06/06/2022 10:39:27    2422686

Replying To CTGAA10:  "What an absolute thriller in thurles yesterday.some outstanding performances from players,with Clare,Flanagan and Conklin at the back,Ryan Taylor,Dave Fitz,and of course tony Kelly again..on limerick side full back line,o donohue,gillane and Flanagan..could have gone either way at end of normal time,thought limerick legs were going better in second period of extra time..a few incidents high lighted last night and if they had been spotted they would have been red..I see a few former Clare players and a journalist saying it shouldn't have been shown..that is what limerick have been listening to for past few years..I think Clare might find it hard to get up to the same level for Wexford game and yesterday was so physically and mentally draining it will take a lot out of them..would I be right in saying Clare/Wexford will meet killkenny in semi,Galway/cork to play limerick..a huge thanks to all involved yesterday,however it's not great for a persons health..on one other thing if the clown that threw the object at Kelly can be identified,please let it be dealt with,no place for stupid people like that.."
Who meets who in the semifinals will depend on who gets there. They will avoid repeat pairings of the provincial finals

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 06/06/2022 10:50:30    2422689

The leinster hurling championship was so poor quality comparing with match yesterday,
19 frees given by wexford ref???
And grumpy manager on the sideline,
What a miserable show, glad we didn't spend our money at that rubbish
Come on wexford, take a few pointers from Lee chin, get over it.
Spectacular show yesterday, that's what we want to see not rubbish matches from leinster

Joe10 (Kildare) - Posts: 2 - 06/06/2022 11:13:44    2422705

Replying To Joe10:  "The leinster hurling championship was so poor quality comparing with match yesterday,
Spectacular show yesterday, that's what we want to see not rubbish matches from leinster"
Leinster final was tense and exciting, whatever about the quality. Free count was entirely justifiable unfortunately.

Great reffing yesterday all the same and Lyons had good day on the line. As did the umpires. Very few "technical" fouls, and players understood the boundaries set between tough play and deliberate attempts to hurt. Generally well observed and contributed to a classic.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3490 - 06/06/2022 11:54:57    2422727

Replying To Breffni1969:  "If your predictions are from a betting point of view you got 2 out of 3. Happens me most times. 2/3 or 3/4. Trebles and acca fu@@@d!"
I very rarely do a straight treble or acca, one election nearly always lets you down.

I did 3 doubles and 1 treble. Only small stakes, but the 10/1 for the draw gave me a nice profit.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2745 - 06/06/2022 12:00:15    2422729

Replying To Joe10:  "The leinster hurling championship was so poor quality comparing with match yesterday,
Spectacular show yesterday, that's what we want to see not rubbish matches from leinster"
The 2 Limerick Clare games and most of the Waterford Limerick game were the only good games of hurling in the Munster Championship this year. The rest of them looked like challenge games. At least in Leinster the Wexford/Dublin , Wexford/Westmeath, Galway/Kilkenny, Kilkenny/Wexford, and the last 20 minutes of the Galway/Wexford games were all good hard hurling games with lads putting their bodies on the line rather than standing back admiring their opponents stickwork. And the games were in the melting pot right up to the final whistle.
Suppose it depends what you mean by good hurling. I personally find some of those high scoring games where teams rack up 30 plus points scoring under no pressure from 60 or 70 yards out boring enough to watch. I like a bit of blood and thunder and excitement myself! Munster final had it all. Proper game of hurling!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 06/06/2022 12:37:55    2422746

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I very rarely do a straight treble or acca, one election nearly always lets you down.

I did 3 doubles and 1 treble. Only small stakes, but the 10/1 for the draw gave me a nice profit."
A trixie on that wouldn't have been great CC. You would only have been paid on 1 double.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15621 - 06/06/2022 12:51:31    2422750

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I don't mean to blow my own trumpet, but my predictions this week were not bad.

Bob O'Keeffe - Kilkenny by 4
Mick Mackey - Draw (70 mins)
Joe McDonagh - Kerry by 2
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 1699 - 03/06/2022 11:46:09

Who wins the Mackey in ET?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 4946 - 03/06/2022 13:17:35

All my predictions are from a betting point of view, where all the odds given are on 70 minutes play.
But I'd say Limerick might have the edge in extra time.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 1699 - 03/06/2022 16:59:58"
Well called Cockney. Fair play to you. Hope you won a few quid.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2202 - 06/06/2022 12:56:10    2422752

Replying To Viking66:  "The 2 Limerick Clare games and most of the Waterford Limerick game were the only good games of hurling in the Munster Championship this year. The rest of them looked like challenge games. At least in Leinster the Wexford/Dublin , Wexford/Westmeath, Galway/Kilkenny, Kilkenny/Wexford, and the last 20 minutes of the Galway/Wexford games were all good hard hurling games with lads putting their bodies on the line rather than standing back admiring their opponents stickwork. And the games were in the melting pot right up to the final whistle.
Suppose it depends what you mean by good hurling. I personally find some of those high scoring games where teams rack up 30 plus points scoring under no pressure from 60 or 70 yards out boring enough to watch. I like a bit of blood and thunder and excitement myself! Munster final had it all. Proper game of hurling!!"
Most of those matches that you spoke about lacked any excitement especially the dublin - kilkenny match.
The kilkenny hurling has one style and is dull and boring,
I agree the munster final had it all,
I like matches that have bite and toughness in them
And if good enough like TK to score then fair play

Joe10 (Kildare) - Posts: 2 - 06/06/2022 13:11:49    2422758

Without jumping too far ahead and no offense to anyone but the likely Q finals are Clare v Wexford and Cork v Galway. Good luck predicting cork v Galway. You wouldn't know who will turn up. I really feel clare could be vulnerable v wexford. Wexford will man mark kelly and make no apologies for it. Their performance v kk was impressive and they seem to be getting healthy at the right time. It will need what clare brought yesterday to get over them is my gut feeling and that will take doing.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 06/06/2022 13:38:55    2422769

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Well called Cockney. Fair play to you. Hope you won a few quid."
I did win a few quid. But to be fair, Paddy Power usually has the edge on me come the end of the year

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2745 - 06/06/2022 13:52:23    2422772

Replying To Viking66:  "A trixie on that wouldn't have been great CC. You would only have been paid on 1 double."
No. As I said previously, There were 4 bets, 1 treble (trixie) and 3 doubles.
The trixie would have been 124/1. The winning double (Kilkenny win, and Clare v Limerick Draw (70 mins) was 27/1.
Kerry (win) - 7/2
Kilkenny (win) - 6/4
Clare v Limerick Draw (70 mins) - 10/1

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2745 - 06/06/2022 14:10:35    2422783

Replying To Samson55:  "Hard to read this munster arrogance.
But of course you seem to get pleasure from running down leinster teams
The championship ain't over yet bloodyban.
Shocking that you would be so disrespectful.
GROW Up!!!!"
Don't confuse "Munster" arrogance, with "Limerick " arrogance. Wexford will be a match for anyone, and already beat Leinster champions Kilkenny. Clare proved yesterday that the "gap" is closing, and the all Ireland race is wide open! Clare and Wexford could be game of the season!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 06/06/2022 14:30:10    2422790