2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Based on that performance yesterday the Leinster teams are a mile up!"
I leave all that provincial stuff to the rugby people. Pretty meaningless outside of the two championships and they have increasingly little bearing on who wins the big one. Leinster wasn't any better when the Cats were the best team, and i doubt Cork for example are basking in the current dominance of Limerick.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3476 - 05/06/2022 10:38:44    2422324

Silly having a "Leinster Final" after Galway finished on top. Munster teams will compete in A.I. final for sure this year.
Galway were a bit red-cardish yesterday but KK were not called for back-pushing and dragging like Galway were.
Owens gave KK frees at critical times that could have gone the other way. Not sure how he was given the job with his record.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1226 - 05/06/2022 10:56:01    2422336

A good, tough, Leinster final. The hurling might not have been classy, but no one can doubt the endeavor of either side.

Galway aren't gone, and true to Galway form could go out the next day and blow the opposition away. While, they hurled poorly yesterday, I do think that Henry has brought in a few new lads, and he'll do the same next year, and by his third year 4-5 more (the hurlers must be in Galway; all that underage success), and by then quite a lot of what started yesterday will be well retired. An outside manager just cannot come in to a county and in his first year discard men who have brought great honor to the county (especially in 2017, but also others years, too), but it's becoming obvious that a handful of those fine hurlers are nearing their end.

Kilkenny! Fair play to the players and Cody. Win, lose or draw they'll leave every last ounce of energy out on that pitch, and Cody will get that very last ounce out of them. 18 titles in 24 years is some going, by any man's standard. Congratulations to Kilkenny. They'll fight to the death in the semi-final too, so will be a bother to whomever they meet.

And Galway should also be capable of making a semi-final. Why should Galway fear either Cork or Antrim (fancy Antrim to take it…)? Irrespective of what happened yesterday, it'll show whether Henry is up to good manager material or not, if he has Galway going out the next day with all guns blazing. And why wouldn't he?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2198 - 05/06/2022 11:12:27    2422339

No more than the football provincial (bar Ulster) the hurling provincial are gone by their sell date. The munster hurling used to be great but the new format is watery. I mean we had scenario the last day if Tipp had beaten Cork by more than 6 or 7 points they would have qualified after losing 3 games. Now that's crazy. Kilkenny are in a semi final now after losing 2 games and Dublin lost 2 games and are gone out of championship.The losers of Clare /Limerick today will only be in a quarter final despite only losing one game. Its a farce and its unfair.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3888 - 05/06/2022 11:29:07    2422349

Replying To tiobraid:  "Very disappointing game yesterday. Kilkenny won with 3 points from play from their starting forwards. I thought the referee was on the fussy side but Galway also did foul a lot. I went for Kk on the basis that I didn't think Galway were hurling well despite every game people saying they should have won by more. I thought up front that Conor Cooney was trying his best to show a bit of leadership but his two handy free misses in the second half were crucial. The form of Brian Concannon is hard to understand but for years I've questioned the quality of ball they get into the full forward line. Galway's two best players and most consistent scorers in monaghan and J cooney hardly touched the ball yesterday. Bright sparks for Galway was that they seem for the first time in a long time to have two really solid corner backs that can hurl. I've been critical of Eanna Murphy before but thought he was good too.
You just knew as the game went on that Kk were going to hang on in there and win. The team that finished looked far stronger than the team that started. I think paddy deegan has his faults but there isn't a more driven player on the country and I thought he was easily man of the match.
Don't really care who I offend but I thought the hand shake thing was another farce. Growing up as a young lad in Tipp you don't like Cody or shefflin. As you mature you appreciate their genius and I gained a lot of respect for Cody for what he has done without the top players he used to have. However, I think he's been a disgrace this year and what he has done to shefflin especially given the timing of it. People can say it's a storm in a tea cup all they want but it was as clear as day what Cody was at yesterday. Disgusting in my opinion. I really can't see how Kk people can defend that behaviour."
100% agree with comments on Cody.
Despite all his success and excellence as a manager, it's wrong that he's still their manager. Surely there's an element of fairness for somebody else to have a go at managing them after 24 years

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 05/06/2022 11:32:43    2422351

That was hard to watch last night, poor affair. The constant blowing for frees made a bags out of it. Tj hit some fantastic frees against the breeze which were the winning of it.
Fahy should have walked for the stamp no doubt about it, but Jackie Tyrrell of all people going on about it at half time was quite ironic!
What happened to Hawkeye? Did it go into meltdown? It was working perfectly for the Mcdonagh cup final beforehand?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2288 - 05/06/2022 11:33:53    2422352

Replying To KaiserChief:  "One red was missed. Others look at again on video."
I saw one only. Neutral view but don't know where the other 2 were?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1334 - 05/06/2022 11:58:22    2422362

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No more than the football provincial (bar Ulster) the hurling provincial are gone by their sell date. The munster hurling used to be great but the new format is watery. I mean we had scenario the last day if Tipp had beaten Cork by more than 6 or 7 points they would have qualified after losing 3 games. Now that's crazy. Kilkenny are in a semi final now after losing 2 games and Dublin lost 2 games and are gone out of championship.The losers of Clare /Limerick today will only be in a quarter final despite only losing one game. Its a farce and its unfair."
The losers of the provincial final "will only be in a quarter final…!" And you complain about that!

God bless the days Mick, when the losers of the provincial got what the beggar man gets for breakfast, or the amount of All-Stars (football) that Kerry got in 1990!

What else could you give the losers of the Munster or Leinster hurling final?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2198 - 05/06/2022 12:31:41    2422378

Replying To KaiserChief:  "One red was missed. Others look at again on video."
Watched the game once and its enough for me, but I get what you are saying.

I thought the less obvious reds were Coen and Flynn, both for dangerous play. The ball was nowhere near Butler when Coen grabbed his helmet. Flynn's tackle in my opinion was dangerous, regardless of his intention.

I can also understand in the game of hurling why these go without punishment. The frustrating thing is that both incidents have the potential to badly injure a player, but then you see a player getting 2 yellows for doing very little!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 05/06/2022 12:35:14    2422379

Replying To Shocs07:  "100% agree with comments on Cody.
Despite all his success and excellence as a manager, it's wrong that he's still their manager. Surely there's an element of fairness for somebody else to have a go at managing them after 24 years"
I agree that Kilkenny should have a new hurling manager, but that is a matter for the Kilkenny people to decide.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 05/06/2022 12:46:36    2422387

Replying To Bon:  "That was hard to watch last night, poor affair. The constant blowing for frees made a bags out of it. Tj hit some fantastic frees against the breeze which were the winning of it.
Fahy should have walked for the stamp no doubt about it, but Jackie Tyrrell of all people going on about it at half time was quite ironic!
What happened to Hawkeye? Did it go into meltdown? It was working perfectly for the Mcdonagh cup final beforehand?"
When did Tyrrell stamp on someone laying on the ground?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2740 - 05/06/2022 12:50:26    2422388

Any explanation from the GAA about Hawkeye & the unavailable data ?
After the debacle at the U20 All Irl final & y'day some transparency & statement is needed.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 05/06/2022 12:57:59    2422391

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The losers of the provincial final "will only be in a quarter final…!" And you complain about that!

God bless the days Mick, when the losers of the provincial got what the beggar man gets for breakfast, or the amount of All-Stars (football) that Kerry got in 1990!

What else could you give the losers of the Munster or Leinster hurling final?"
I know what you mean Forever but my point is that it's lopsided and unfair. If Tipp had beaten Cork they might have won the all ireland after losing 3 times
I like second chances but I'm not sure about 3 or 4 chances. My point about the losers of Limerick/Clare is that tat they will be in a quarter final after losing one game whereas Kilkenny are in a semi final after losing 2 games. Footnote! I like the way you bring in our zero all stars in 1990 ha ha.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3888 - 05/06/2022 13:52:06    2422407

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I know what you mean Forever but my point is that it's lopsided and unfair. If Tipp had beaten Cork they might have won the all ireland after losing 3 times
I like second chances but I'm not sure about 3 or 4 chances. My point about the losers of Limerick/Clare is that tat they will be in a quarter final after losing one game whereas Kilkenny are in a semi final after losing 2 games. Footnote! I like the way you bring in our zero all stars in 1990 ha ha."
What's wrong with giving players minimum 4 and 5 matches for all their hard work training . If it occurs where teams are at similar levels and take points off each other isn't that just how sport is and top 3 from each province is a very fair and sporting way to move forward allowing for Q finals semi finals and Finals. Its hardly farcical. What was farcical was one match after 8 months training and gone. There's been plenty of teams winning All Irelsnd through the back door. Doesn't diminish it one bit in my eyes.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 05/06/2022 14:14:30    2422409

Lashing rain in Thurles, lovely day in Belfast. Crazy weather on this island.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 05/06/2022 15:47:59    2422437

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I know what you mean Forever but my point is that it's lopsided and unfair. If Tipp had beaten Cork they might have won the all ireland after losing 3 times
I like second chances but I'm not sure about 3 or 4 chances. My point about the losers of Limerick/Clare is that tat they will be in a quarter final after losing one game whereas Kilkenny are in a semi final after losing 2 games. Footnote! I like the way you bring in our zero all stars in 1990 ha ha."
We are in a preliminary QF not even a QF proper after only losing once and that by a single point.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15563 - 05/06/2022 15:48:02    2422438

Replying To updwell:  "Well done KK you can't beat honesty and heart and manly hurling. Galway lucky to have 14 at the end and that handshake in Galway looks as if it rattled Henry with their aggressive play."
kilkenny played with plenty of heart yesterday and were deserving winners but don't cod yourself about being honest.The amount of times they go to ground or attempt to buy frees is the very antithesis of honesty. And before you get excited I'm aware that its a common trait in all teams our own P.Mannion being a serial offender.

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 153 - 05/06/2022 15:53:52    2422447

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The sad reality of the match is that it was so poor that all people could talk about was the handshake. The only other talking point was the stamp. For me, I never mind a hit in the tackle (and my shins prove it having scars on both) but I hate the sneaky thing like that stamp.
The most disgusting dive I have seen since the Clare fella was the Antrim lad in the last few min of the Joe McDonagh cup. How could you look in the mirror today and be proud of that? And how could the linesman not see that it was a blatant dive? Is this going to be the new norm? The game is done if it is for me."
In fairness he didn't dive.It was shown on the screen yesterday after it happened, he tripped over himself and went down,he seemed to stop and wait for the whistle,I think he thought the Kerry player tripped him,Sean Stack hadn't a clue and gave a free which turned out to be the winning of the match.It was a mistake by the referee.Why didn't he consult with the linesman,you hardly expect the player to turn down a free like that.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 05/06/2022 15:55:12    2422450

When was it ever not lop-sided, Mick?

Let's take a random year: 1979 in football. Here are the stats on who won and by how many points. That was truly farcical. At least, they're trying to give teams more games; more meaningful games.

1979 stats:
Teams 33; Games played 39!

Clare 1-9 - 9-21 Kerr
Kerry 2-14 - 2-4 Cor
Kerry 5-14 - 0-7 Monagha
Kerry 3-13 - 1-8 Dubli

1979 was indeed the sad end of a truly magnificent Dublin team, and the furtherance of one of the greatest Kerry eras of all time.

The killing thing to me isn't that Kerry won all and sundry around them at leisure in 1979. What pi$$e$ me off is that you'd 33 counties only playing 39 games.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2198 - 05/06/2022 16:05:02    2422454

Enjoyable game. Expecting fire works in the second half. Kelly is just a genius. If core can get him on more ball they could win this. Fantastic goal by hegarty in a game where space is limited. Regardless of what happens in second half, Clare are now serious all Ireland contenders.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/06/2022 16:49:38    2422469