Mayo GAA Thread

Replying To WanPintWin:  "A setback for Mayo today, but I think they'll still have a big say in this year's All-Ireland championship.
Congrats to Roscommon, they took the game to Mayo and got the crucial scores to close out the game late on.
Anyone with an ounce of cop on wouldn't be writing Mayo off. I expect they'll be right in the midst of the business end and hard to beat in Croker later in the summer.
Looking forward to the Hyde in 2 weeks, but I might have a different story by the time that game is over."
You have to ask yourself - would Roscommon have beaten Dublin?

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 10/04/2023 12:16:41    2469992

Replying To MayoDan:  "Doesn't say much for Galway only scoring 11 points in perfect conditions last weekend.

At least McStay didn't blame all around him after the game, like other managers constantly do."
Ye have scored 9 points from play in two games!!!! Woeful

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 10/04/2023 12:36:56    2469997

Replying To Sssthe:  "You sure you weren't just listening to other Roscommon fans."
To be fair, most Mayo fans around me were gracious in defeat, two shook my hand after the game and wished us well. Every county has a few that go over the top for sure. A few choice words were aimed at the ref! My only comment about the fans is that I have read Mayo fans on this forum criticising opposition fans for jeering and booing free takers. What went on for our penalty was as bad as I've seen! Very Mayo supporter behind the goals ran to the goals to shout and wave flags, umbrellas, while the majority of the rest of them in the ground booed and tried to put Enda off. I was the opposite side from the stand and it was as loud as I heard the stand roaring all day!!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 145 - 10/04/2023 12:59:31    2469999

Woeful performance from Mayo. I thought they were cruising early on but once they didn't get those early scores it gave Roscommon belief. Second half reminded me of All Ireland v Tyrone. Running head first into traffic. Not good at all. Hopefully they can regroup and the likes of McBrien and Hession are back in. The ref was dreadful by the way. Constant stoppages and lecturing players.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 10/04/2023 13:25:36    2470002

Replying To MayoDan:  "You must be joking. Aidan gets unbelievable stick from many supporters in Mayo."
I'm not joking, I did say every Mayo fan "that I know". All I can say is I have lots of Mayo relations and anytime I've questioned Aido I've been cut down pronto.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 10/04/2023 13:46:39    2470007

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Very sporting as usual Greenandred. Mayo will be back and sooner than you think!"
6 weeks...
Loads of time for the sun holiday they whinged about missing.
Aido looked pale yesterday needs a top up.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/04/2023 14:19:58    2470015

Replying To Belclare:  "Ye have scored 9 points from play in two games!!!! Woeful"
10 points actually, plus 2 marks, but sure facts aren't important. Galway had their full team available last week, bar McDaid, yet couldn't get the job done.

Woeful indeed!!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 10/04/2023 15:01:50    2470033

Replying To sligo joe:  "I'm not joking, I did say every Mayo fan "that I know". All I can say is I have lots of Mayo relations and anytime I've questioned Aido I've been cut down pronto."
He is questioned by many, many people in Mayo.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 10/04/2023 16:19:32    2470051

Replying To D.Hyde:  "To be fair, most Mayo fans around me were gracious in defeat, two shook my hand after the game and wished us well. Every county has a few that go over the top for sure. A few choice words were aimed at the ref! My only comment about the fans is that I have read Mayo fans on this forum criticising opposition fans for jeering and booing free takers. What went on for our penalty was as bad as I've seen! Very Mayo supporter behind the goals ran to the goals to shout and wave flags, umbrellas, while the majority of the rest of them in the ground booed and tried to put Enda off. I was the opposite side from the stand and it was as loud as I heard the stand roaring all day!!"
Ah stop lol. It was a gang of kids .

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 10/04/2023 16:39:10    2470057

Replying To D.Hyde:  "To be fair, most Mayo fans around me were gracious in defeat, two shook my hand after the game and wished us well. Every county has a few that go over the top for sure. A few choice words were aimed at the ref! My only comment about the fans is that I have read Mayo fans on this forum criticising opposition fans for jeering and booing free takers. What went on for our penalty was as bad as I've seen! Very Mayo supporter behind the goals ran to the goals to shout and wave flags, umbrellas, while the majority of the rest of them in the ground booed and tried to put Enda off. I was the opposite side from the stand and it was as loud as I heard the stand roaring all day!!"
All free taker's love the booing, helps concentration. Can you imagine taking a free with 20,000 supporters and all silent, looking at you. I love it when opposition supporters boo, it shows they know little about free taking.

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 73 - 10/04/2023 16:40:33    2470058

Replying To MayoDan:  "10 points actually, plus 2 marks, but sure facts aren't important. Galway had their full team available last week, bar McDaid, yet couldn't get the job done.

Woeful indeed!!"
10 points lol stop young man...remember this when your blowing the horns at the toll again.. league is absolutely secondary.. nobody cares.. its all about Sam. Something ye haven't seen in over 70 years...70 years!

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 10/04/2023 16:54:56    2470062

Replying To sourmilk93:  "What waffle. He usually gets free for putting his head down and swinging his elbows. Ref saw through him today. He was correctly called for fouling on both hip balls. He was lucky to get away with pushing Daly over the end line which got Mayo a 45 and should have got the most blatant black card you will see/possible red if not."
Agree with the black/red card. Blatant but he's got away with it in Connacht championship for years.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 502 - 10/04/2023 17:26:58    2470078

Headline "Mayo arent as good as every granny in the county think" shocker im sure

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 10/04/2023 18:40:32    2470087

Roscommon are still an ok enough team and Mayo played right into their hands. Yesterday, Mayo lost the heads and a lot of the simple stuff that's needed in these type of games deserted them. That's the difference between league and championship... pressure. Mayo consistently took the wrong options. They tried to force the issue several time with 50/50 passes that didn't come off, chose wrong options, they shot from ridiculous angles and needless fouls. There was a calmness and patience needed especially in the first half but it wasn't there.

Sometimes, in order to win you cant have a fear of loosing. Mayo seem to have a constant fear of loosing that results in a panic and red mist when things get tough. Only when this changes can they really win...

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 10/04/2023 21:05:06    2470099

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "6 weeks...
Loads of time for the sun holiday they whinged about missing.
Aido looked pale yesterday needs a top up."
Who whinged about missing a sun holiday?

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 11/04/2023 09:45:24    2470142

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Mayo won a league that no one wanted to win really. Sadly missing scorers to be anywhere near the business end of All Ireland series. Will probably get out of the group but once ROD and TC are kept quiet, forget about it."
TC is doing a good enough job of keeping himself quiet. Needs to slow down, look up more and hopefully his scoring touch will return.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 11/04/2023 10:15:12    2470148

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah stop lol. It was a gang of kids ."
I remember going to support Mayo in an All ireland that they lost narrowly to Dublin a few years back and I was horrified by the Dublin fans and really felt that Mayo fans showed incredible dignity relative to the Dublin fans collective lack of sportsmanship.
However , since then I have noticed to an increasing extent that Mayo fans have started to mimic this behavior.
I thought that it reached disgusting levels v Ros..... and unfortunately it wasn't just a gang of kids.
If I'm honest, I think Galway fans are starting to go down the same road.
I would love to see a campaign across all counties to stamp this out ... I know when I'm at Galway games and my fellow fans jeer , or cheer opposition wides, I tell any culprits in my vicinity to cop on.... but I am generally ignored.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 11/04/2023 10:50:39    2470162

Replying To MeAlone:  "All free taker's love the booing, helps concentration. Can you imagine taking a free with 20,000 supporters and all silent, looking at you. I love it when opposition supporters boo, it shows they know little about free taking."
I laugh when I see fans b***h about other fans booing free takers or penalty takers. It's called home field advantage. What do they want fans cheering the opposition when they score.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 11/04/2023 10:57:44    2470167

Replying To anotheralias:  "I remember going to support Mayo in an All ireland that they lost narrowly to Dublin a few years back and I was horrified by the Dublin fans and really felt that Mayo fans showed incredible dignity relative to the Dublin fans collective lack of sportsmanship.
However , since then I have noticed to an increasing extent that Mayo fans have started to mimic this behavior.
I thought that it reached disgusting levels v Ros..... and unfortunately it wasn't just a gang of kids.
If I'm honest, I think Galway fans are starting to go down the same road.
I would love to see a campaign across all counties to stamp this out ... I know when I'm at Galway games and my fellow fans jeer , or cheer opposition wides, I tell any culprits in my vicinity to cop on.... but I am generally ignored."
I was at the game, standside half way up. A huge gang of teenagers bolted behind the goals. It was empty behind the goals pre penalty. If there were grown men and women behind the goals there wasn't many. I am not blinded by loyalty. I have told many a Mayo fan to shut up at a game. I do think it's every county though.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7893 - 11/04/2023 11:27:38    2470185

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was at the game, standside half way up. A huge gang of teenagers bolted behind the goals. It was empty behind the goals pre penalty. If there were grown men and women behind the goals there wasn't many. I am not blinded by loyalty. I have told many a Mayo fan to shut up at a game. I do think it's every county though."
I was in the middle of the stand. Didn't notice any booing or jeering from either side. Kids gathering behind the goal for a penalty happens when Mayo get one too. Aidan O'Shea did get a lot of abuse from rossies but that's fairly standard unfortunately!

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 11/04/2023 11:36:58    2470190