Monaghan GAA thread

Could see us beating Down and Tyrone and losing the final again probably to Donegal. Consistency is a problem for the side rarely have two big performances in a row. That said won't exit the championship easily and could be v difficult opponent for a provincial champion in a quarter final.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 13/04/2022 15:25:28    2410857

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "Yes. I think we're more than capable of beating anyone in Ulster this year - no Ulster team beat us in the league this year, for example. Arguably the two drawn games should have been wins too. We've a nice mix of youth and experience. And a strong bench for the first time in years. So it's plausible that we win an Ulster Championship and get to on All Ireland semi-final."
Ah lads, let's catch a grip here.

We have won 7 from 21 games under this management, on what planet does that equate to a All Ireland winning/competing formula?

We will beat Down by a cricket score and get seen off by Tyrone, but it'll be grand because we will only have been beaten by a few points and they'll no doubt make a All Ire Final so we can pedal the "not far off" quote for another year.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 13/04/2022 15:26:33    2410858

I hear Conor Leonard back at county training last week. At 6' 5'' a useful addition around midfield. Best of luck to him !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 19/04/2022 12:04:15    2411533

BlueBlood will turn every off this forum.

Another statistic is that Monaghan have only lost three matches this year out of 11, and bar 1 match against Fermanagh, all against teams in the top 8 in the country (plus a strong Derry side). And won the first silverware since 2015 - an increasingly competitive McKenna Cup. By any yardstick that is pretty impressive.

Monaghan may well lose a semi final against the all Ireland champions but the argument that all is terrible is boring, unwarranted, and a little unhinged.

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 19/04/2022 13:05:20    2411552

Replying To turnip12:  "BlueBlood will turn every off this forum.

Another statistic is that Monaghan have only lost three matches this year out of 11, and bar 1 match against Fermanagh, all against teams in the top 8 in the country (plus a strong Derry side). And won the first silverware since 2015 - an increasingly competitive McKenna Cup. By any yardstick that is pretty impressive.

Monaghan may well lose a semi final against the all Ireland champions but the argument that all is terrible is boring, unwarranted, and a little unhinged."
If my factual argument is unhinged what would you call yours regarding a McKenna Cup competition?

Delusional perhaps?

It's amazing how all these new "fans" who only have a handful of posts are all backing the management team. How much is he paying yous a post lads? Or are they all the bold Banty himself??

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 19/04/2022 19:02:34    2411651

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "I hear Conor Leonard back at county training last week. At 6' 5'' a useful addition around midfield. Best of luck to him !"
That's great to hear. He looked the most promising of the new players coming in earlier on in the season. Hopefully he comes through in the championship.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 19/04/2022 19:20:39    2411652

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "That's great to hear. He looked the most promising of the new players coming in earlier on in the season. Hopefully he comes through in the championship."
We now have a plethora of midfielders!! Kearns, 2 xHughes, Lavelle, Leonard, Mohan, Karl. Hiw times have changed

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 20/04/2022 09:49:41    2411691

Ulster or bust this year lads
Great to hear young Leonard is making his way back. Hopefully he will be ready for Armagh in the final.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 20/04/2022 10:04:56    2411701

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "If my factual argument is unhinged what would you call yours regarding a McKenna Cup competition?

Delusional perhaps?

It's amazing how all these new "fans" who only have a handful of posts are all backing the management team. How much is he paying yous a post lads? Or are they all the bold Banty himself??"
You've only 75 posts yourself there. Are you someone who Banty beat to the job in the past? Bitter that you never got a crack at managing the Farney, you're now confined to posting on the Hogan Stand Monaghan Forum.

Did you ever think that people are happy that a county our size is consistently competing with the top counties in the country? That we're excited of the prospect of having 3 or 4 young players make a breakthrough in the county set up in one season, for the first time in years. That Jack McCarron seems to have left his injuries behind him and could be set for the biggest championship of his life. That Mansy, despite his age, is still a force to be reckoned with. That Kieran Hughes seems to be finally fitting into the county team, after having a brilliant club season. That we have 4 or 5 brilliant options in midfield after years of being dependent on two. That we've the best goalkeeper in the country. And so on. There's a lot of be positive about. You seem intent on concentrating on the negative though, for some strange reason.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 20/04/2022 14:36:50    2411845

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "You've only 75 posts yourself there. Are you someone who Banty beat to the job in the past? Bitter that you never got a crack at managing the Farney, you're now confined to posting on the Hogan Stand Monaghan Forum.

Did you ever think that people are happy that a county our size is consistently competing with the top counties in the country? That we're excited of the prospect of having 3 or 4 young players make a breakthrough in the county set up in one season, for the first time in years. That Jack McCarron seems to have left his injuries behind him and could be set for the biggest championship of his life. That Mansy, despite his age, is still a force to be reckoned with. That Kieran Hughes seems to be finally fitting into the county team, after having a brilliant club season. That we have 4 or 5 brilliant options in midfield after years of being dependent on two. That we've the best goalkeeper in the country. And so on. There's a lot of be positive about. You seem intent on concentrating on the negative though, for some strange reason."
Well said.

Supposedly I am close to management because I tried to balance out BlueBlood's negativity with a factual statement about how the team have preformed this year.

We should be enjoying this Monaghan team (I know I am) and be desperate, and hopeful, they can take another step soon. Everyone in the country thinks Monaghan are over-preforming except of course.......

turnip12 (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 20/04/2022 15:52:06    2411877

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "You've only 75 posts yourself there. Are you someone who Banty beat to the job in the past? Bitter that you never got a crack at managing the Farney, you're now confined to posting on the Hogan Stand Monaghan Forum.

Did you ever think that people are happy that a county our size is consistently competing with the top counties in the country? That we're excited of the prospect of having 3 or 4 young players make a breakthrough in the county set up in one season, for the first time in years. That Jack McCarron seems to have left his injuries behind him and could be set for the biggest championship of his life. That Mansy, despite his age, is still a force to be reckoned with. That Kieran Hughes seems to be finally fitting into the county team, after having a brilliant club season. That we have 4 or 5 brilliant options in midfield after years of being dependent on two. That we've the best goalkeeper in the country. And so on. There's a lot of be positive about. You seem intent on concentrating on the negative though, for some strange reason."
Great Post.
There's of course negative things about the team and managment but in my opinion there are many many times more positive.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 20/04/2022 18:19:28    2411913

With the junior intermediate & senior leagues commencing this weekend what's everyone's predictions for the 3 grades?? Championship & league winners / relegation

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 21/04/2022 18:43:53    2412154

Replying To monaghanman99:  "With the junior intermediate & senior leagues commencing this weekend what's everyone's predictions for the 3 grades?? Championship & league winners / relegation"
Senior will be Scotstown, I'm not sure how any senior club can even motivate themselves for a season at this point. They've won 7 of the last 9 and would be going for 10 in a row only for two miracles from Clontibret.
Intermediate I believe this will be the year that Emyvale get promoted, along with Magheracloone.
Junior - Drumhowan

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 22/04/2022 10:18:23    2412207

I'm a season ticket holder. I got an email today to redeem my ticket for the game in Clones on the 30th April which I done. I then got another email confirming that I had successfully redeemed my ticket. On this email under delivery method it said download your ticket but the problem is that I can't there is no link. Anyone any ideas

nagrattansabu (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 22/04/2022 16:55:45    2412329

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Under 20s weren't going to achieve this year. Mark Counihan & his staff who brought these players at minor level to Ulster titles wanted to stay with them & manage under 30s thus year. But Banty stepped in & insisted his man McCague had to be appointed instead. This is common knowledge throughout the county & yet another example of Banty making a 'hames' of Monaghan football.

Remember it was Banty & his man McCague who, just a few years ago, suffered another humiliating defeat to another poor Cavan side at this level.
How long can this go on for ?

Meanwhile Counihan & his coaches thankfully are still doing a great job this year with our minors even though they could have walked away in disgust.
Every year they prove themselves.

Banty is ruining Monaghan football at ALL LEVELS !"
Disappointing result last night in inniskeen. Would've been expecting monaghan to beat them. I wonder is the result bantys fault?. Mark Counihan has now lost first round of championship two years in a row, only good thing about last night is the promising players who hopefully get a chance with 20s next year and those who have another year at minor.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 23/04/2022 10:36:18    2412427

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "Disappointing result last night in inniskeen. Would've been expecting monaghan to beat them. I wonder is the result bantys fault?. Mark Counihan has now lost first round of championship two years in a row, only good thing about last night is the promising players who hopefully get a chance with 20s next year and those who have another year at minor."
Or maybe give credit to Antrim for winning away at such a difficult venue,
Or maybe only good thing about last night is that the promising players can still redeem themselves in the qualifiers
Or maybe this group has already done themselves and their county proud by finishing second to a very good Tyrone team in the league
Depends on what agenda one wants to pursue I suppose

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 23/04/2022 11:16:37    2412443

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "Disappointing result last night in inniskeen. Would've been expecting monaghan to beat them. I wonder is the result bantys fault?. Mark Counihan has now lost first round of championship two years in a row, only good thing about last night is the promising players who hopefully get a chance with 20s next year and those who have another year at minor."
Is it not true that over the course of Banty's managerial career with Monaghan that his teams have lost in their first game five times in eight Ulster championship campaigns.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/04/2022 14:36:28    2412490

Replying To Greengrass:  "Is it not true that over the course of Banty's managerial career with Monaghan that his teams have lost in their first game five times in eight Ulster championship campaigns."
1. Lost to Derry
2. Lost to Armagh (R)
3. Beat Down, Derry, lost to Tyrone
4. Lost to Fermanagh
5. Lost to Derry
6. Beat Armagh, Fermanagh lost to Tyrone
7. Lost to Cavan
8. Beat Fermanagh Armagh lost to Tyrone

P 15 W 6 D1 L8

2022 ?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 25/04/2022 21:27:59    2413228

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "1. Lost to Derry
2. Lost to Armagh (R)
3. Beat Down, Derry, lost to Tyrone
4. Lost to Fermanagh
5. Lost to Derry
6. Beat Armagh, Fermanagh lost to Tyrone
7. Lost to Cavan
8. Beat Fermanagh Armagh lost to Tyrone

P 15 W 6 D1 L8

2022 ?"
The Head says Beat Down lose narrowly again to Tyrone. Hopefully avoid Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers lose to provincial champion in quarter final.

The Heart says win Ulster make all ireland semi final v Galway.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 26/04/2022 12:32:47    2413308

Replying To seanie08:  "The Head says Beat Down lose narrowly again to Tyrone. Hopefully avoid Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers lose to provincial champion in quarter final.

The Heart says win Ulster make all ireland semi final v Galway."
Although we are in a mess. I don't think it will be as easy as everyone predicts. Although I think Monaghan will win I think Down have nothing to lose and that's when we are at our most dangerous.

Ronanthehammer (Down) - Posts: 48 - 27/04/2022 09:42:57    2413501