Westmeath Football thread

Replying To thelongridge:  "I see Mullingar named as finalists for some years. Is that different from Mullingar Shamrocks, and St. Lomans, two other Mullingar based teams ?."
Pretty sure Shamrock's, Mullingar and Mullingar Shamrocks is the same club. The names probably changed a bit along the way. Those names are from county final programmes. It's only in recent years that St Lomans had the Mullingar part attached. Also when people say "Shamrocks" the nearly always mean Mullingar Shamrocks even though there is also Kilbeggan Shamrock's

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 09/11/2022 12:03:08    2446952

Replying To Claretandblue:  "WH schools have boxed well in Leinster colleges in the last 20 years? We've won 2 championships and had the very odd finalist but considering there's five schools involved I wouldn't consider that we've competed well. It might not be an indicator of underage success but being beaten by 15-20 points in three successive games hardly bodes well for the future. Our record at minor level since 2000 is in the bottom two or three in the province."
Westmeath schools have arguably been more competitive that underage county teams in recent years. Although senior schools is now U19 and county is U17. Rochfortbridge won it in 2020 and the Marist were beaten in the semi final. Moate were beaten in the final in 2017, and the Marist were beaten in 2014, 16 and 18 finals. Mullingar won a junior All Ireland in 2018 and Marist lost a junior Leinster final in 2019. How many Leinster semi final and finals have we been in at minor and U20/21 since 2014? I believe Moate have a strong team this year and may do well. Although Athlone CC have dropped down to B.

Wmeath2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 176 - 09/11/2022 19:06:17    2447028

Peter Foy back in with Longford intercounty.

honda15 (Longford) - Posts: 94 - 10/11/2022 08:40:11    2447048

Peter Foy back in with Longford intercounty.

honda15 (Longford) - Posts: 94 - 10/11/2022 10:02:10    2447056

Replying To honda15:  "Peter Foy back in with Longford intercounty."
I'm not suprised, he was one of the best half backs in the championship this year. We were hoping he'd be in with Westmeath with the parent rule and he's and working living up here but it's not to be. It would have been a hard move for him. I wish him well, enjoy watching him play. Exciting fixture for Lomans players and supporters when Longford face Westmeath in the National league.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 10/11/2022 14:14:02    2447092

Indeed Foy was one of Loman's best players this year.
Not sure what his best position is ? I think he does the roaming role much better than a wing back.
Of course the new Longford manager Paddy Christie did a bit of coaching with Lomans during the club championship.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 10/11/2022 14:31:26    2447097

Replying To honda15:  "Peter Foy back in with Longford intercounty."
Any clue what age Foy is?

He played against Westmeath in 2008 for Longford in championship. Must be 35/36?

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 386 - 10/11/2022 14:39:22    2447099

Replying To Temple56:  "Any clue what age Foy is?

He played against Westmeath in 2008 for Longford in championship. Must be 35/36?"
Looking here, he's easily 35 if not 36 because he played against Dublin in the championship back in 2006?? According to anyone I've talked to he might as well be a professional athlete with his work and how he keeps himself. There's no shortage of fitness and speed from him all year from what I saw. He's also the strength & fitness coaching for Lomans. Interesting guy. I have to take my hat off to him.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 10/11/2022 15:13:24    2447105

Replying To Temple56:  "Any clue what age Foy is?

He played against Westmeath in 2008 for Longford in championship. Must be 35/36?"
Looking here, he's easily 35 if not 36 because he played against Dublin in the championship back in 2006?? According to anyone I've talked to he might as well be a professional athlete with his work and how he keeps himself. There's no shortage of fitness and speed from him all year from what I saw. He's also the strength & fitness coaching for Lomans. Interesting guy. I have to take my hat off to him.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 10/11/2022 15:20:09    2447106

Surprised to hear if true that Foy is back on the Longford panel. He's a good age now and whenever he did play for Longfird he never stood out as been a good County player.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 10/11/2022 17:25:05    2447117

Replying To Spinx:  "Surprised to hear if true that Foy is back on the Longford panel. He's a good age now and whenever he did play for Longfird he never stood out as been a good County player."
He played more as a utility player for Longford from what I'm being told if that's correct? I've only seen him play up here for 3 years so I can't say what his Longford career was like. He has played corner back, wing back, wing forward and was generally their option for several positions from what I can gather? Considering he was with Longford from 2006 until 2018 speaks volumes about his ability. And it's clear he's a top footballer. He wouldn't have been there if he wasn't a good county player I can't imagine. He's in top form up here anyway is all we can say Spinx, time will tell how he gets on.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 10/11/2022 21:38:36    2447136

Replying To westmeathman99:  "Only about 3 weeks late to the party but decided I'd put together a a team of the Junior Championship.. Let me know what ye all think.

1. Craig Sweeney (Multyfarnham)
2. Tommy McGivney (Multyfarnham)
3. Paul Heavin (Multyfarnham)
4. Gavin Lyons (Bunbrosna)
5. Aidan Finnan (Bunbrosna)
6. Ciaran Madden (Multyfarnham)
7. Anthony Larkin (Garrycastle)
8. Ronan Wallace (Multyfarnham)
9. Anthony McGivney (Multyfarnham)
10. Barry O'Mara (Bunbrosna)
11. Donal O'Donoghue (Mullingar Shamrocks)
12. Stephen Sweeney (Multyfarnham)
13. Jack Carroll (The Downs)
14. Adam Kennedy (Garrycastle)
15. Jordan McDonnell (St. Joesephs)

Subs: Shane Moran (Garrycastle), Aran Whelan (Multyfarnham), Dean Slevin (St. Josephs), Niall Hardiman (Mullingar Shamrocks), Conor Lyons (Bunbrosna), Ciaran O'Neill (Garrycastle), Peter Tormey (Bunbrosna), Brendan Murtagh (The Downs), Shane Williams (Multyfarnham)."
Personally this is how I'd have it. The players who I would personally have in each position regardless of who they play for and having a quota for each team.
1. Senan O'Driscoll (The Downs)
4. Dean Slevin (St Josephs)
5. Brian Farrell (Mullingar Shamrocks)
7. Cian Lee (Multyfarnham)
8. Andrew Shaw (The Downs)
9. Ronan Wallace (Multyfarnham)
10. Brendan Murtagh (The Downs)
11. Barry O'Meara (Bunbrosna)
12. Jack Carroll (The Downs)
13. Shane Williams (Multyfarnham)
14. Stephen Sweeney (Multyfarnham)
15. Jordan McDonnell (St Josephs)

Subs; Craig Sweeney (Multyfarnham), Aidan Finnan (Bunbrosna), Anthony Larkin (Garrycastle), Feichinn Brennan (Multyfarnham), Anthony McGivney (Multyfarnham), Peter Tormey (Bunbrosna), Ian McGovern (Multyfarnham), Donal O'Donaghue (Mullingar Shamrocks).

IggildyPiggildy (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 11/11/2022 11:12:26    2447158

Bit unusual to leave his club to play in Westmeath and yet travel back to Longford for training 3-4 times weekly?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 11/11/2022 11:17:51    2447160

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Bit unusual to leave his club to play in Westmeath and yet travel back to Longford for training 3-4 times weekly?"
From what I can gather, and again this is only from what I've been told about him. He's been living up here for 8/9 years and finished playing county football in 2018, then transferred to Lomans in 2020. I don't think it's a club thing, if you're a county player traveling is part of it regardless I suppose. County football is a prestigious level and the sacrifices that go with that reflect as such. I would have liked to have seen him with Westmeath as he does play with the team In Westmeath with 5 or 6 Westmeath starters. And I do know he was approached. but obviously hard to turn down his home county.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 11/11/2022 12:10:20    2447173

Replying To Edman78:  "From what I can gather, and again this is only from what I've been told about him. He's been living up here for 8/9 years and finished playing county football in 2018, then transferred to Lomans in 2020. I don't think it's a club thing, if you're a county player traveling is part of it regardless I suppose. County football is a prestigious level and the sacrifices that go with that reflect as such. I would have liked to have seen him with Westmeath as he does play with the team In Westmeath with 5 or 6 Westmeath starters. And I do know he was approached. but obviously hard to turn down his home county."
Paddy Dowdall appointed new St Lomans manager

Onionbagger (Westmeath) - Posts: 77 - 12/11/2022 08:14:25    2447265

Replying To Onionbagger:  "Paddy Dowdall appointed new St Lomans manager"
Interesting if true. First inhouse appointment in a while. Some CV as a player and no doubt highly regarded within the current squad. I'll believe it when the club confirms it. Dual players might get a better crack at playing both codes. Must have concluded his duties overseas.
Any other appointments ? I'm hearing Paschal Keeleghan to Kinnegad.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 12/11/2022 11:58:05    2447283

Replying To IggildyPiggildy:  "
Replying To westmeathman99:  "Only about 3 weeks late to the party but decided I'd put together a a team of the Junior Championship.. Let me know what ye all think.

7. Anthony Larkin (Garrycastle)
8. Ronan Wallace (Multyfarnham)
9. Anthony McGivney (Multyfarnham)
10. Barry O'Mara (Bunbrosna)
11. Donal O'Donoghue (Mullingar Shamrocks)
12. Stephen Sweeney (Multyfarnham)
14. Adam Kennedy (Garrycastle)
15. Jordan McDonnell (St. Joesephs)

Subs: Shane Moran (Garrycastle), Aran Whelan (Multyfarnham), Dean Slevin (St. Josephs), Niall Hardiman (Mullingar Shamrocks), Conor Lyons (Bunbrosna), Ciaran O'Neill (Garrycastle), Peter Tormey (Bunbrosna), Brendan Murtagh (The Downs), Shane Williams (Multyfarnham)."
Personally this is how I'd have it. The players who I would personally have in each position regardless of who they play for and having a quota for each team.
1. Senan O'Driscoll (The Downs)
4. Dean Slevin (St Josephs)
5. Brian Farrell (Mullingar Shamrocks)
7. Cian Lee (Multyfarnham)
8. Andrew Shaw (The Downs)
11. Barry O'Meara (Bunbrosna)
12. Jack Carroll (The Downs)
13. Shane Williams (Multyfarnham)
14. Stephen Sweeney (Multyfarnham)
15. Jordan McDonnell (St Josephs)

Subs; Craig Sweeney (Multyfarnham), Aidan Finnan (Bunbrosna), Anthony Larkin (Garrycastle), Feichinn Brennan (Multyfarnham), Anthony McGivney (Multyfarnham), Peter Tormey (Bunbrosna), Ian McGovern (Multyfarnham), Donal O'Donaghue (Mullingar Shamrocks)."
Jaysus.. Bunbronsa must be some team to get to a final, with only one player in the team of the season.. crazy team

ClonardBoy (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 12/11/2022 13:37:46    2447291

2. Feichin Brennan (Multyfarnham)
7. Dean Slevin (St. Josephs)
8. Anthony McGivney (Multyfarnham)
11. Barry O'Mara (Bunbrosna)
12. Donal O' Donoghue (Mullingar Shamrocks)
14. Jordan McDonnell (St. Joesephs)
15. Shane Williams (Multyfarnham)

Subs: Senan O'Driscoll (The Downs), Aran Whelan (Multyfarnham), Anthony Larkin (Garrycastle), Josh Murtagh (The Downs), Stephen Sweeney (Multyfarnham), Andrew Whitney (Bunbrosna), Adam Kennedy (Garrycastle), Peter Tormey (Bunbrosna).

ClonardBoy (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 12/11/2022 13:55:07    2447292

Replying To BigSur:  "Interesting if true. First inhouse appointment in a while. Some CV as a player and no doubt highly regarded within the current squad. I'll believe it when the club confirms it. Dual players might get a better crack at playing both codes. Must have concluded his duties overseas.
Any other appointments ? I'm hearing Paschal Keeleghan to Kinnegad."
Did not hear many more appointments.
The only onlys i know that are looking are Castledaly but im not sure.

gti (Westmeath) - Posts: 240 - 12/11/2022 20:16:10    2447331

Replying To BigSur:  "Interesting if true. First inhouse appointment in a while. Some CV as a player and no doubt highly regarded within the current squad. I'll believe it when the club confirms it. Dual players might get a better crack at playing both codes. Must have concluded his duties overseas.
Any other appointments ? I'm hearing Paschal Keeleghan to Kinnegad."
Paddy Dowdall is indeed confirmed as the new St. Lomans manager. I said the same, I'd believe it when I could see it, but it's confirmed. I would say off first hearing it that it's an OK appointment, but surely there could have been better / less risky choices. A player transitioning into his own club almost immediately is a hit and hope. I'm surprised Lomans have gone this route as I'm sure there were lots of experienced managers lining up. It could work, and we've seen it happen where a new manager gets the extra 5% out of the players but usually it's from an experienced manager in some way. Paddy could have a very experienced set up involved, so it could be a high level set up. But I'm first hearing, this could also fall flat on its face very quickly. I'm happy for Paddy Dowdall as he is an unbelievable stalwart of the GAA here in Westmeath and wish him all the best.

Edman78 (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 13/11/2022 10:34:14    2447352