Westmeath Football thread

Replying To Baldy1:  "Totally agree with you. My view of Caulry people changed yesterday. The abuse from the stand was way over the top. Pressure on the ref was relentless and sad to say it worked. 2mins of injury time ended up at 6 minutes and the last two frees were never frees in my book."
Is there some confusion about Caulry ladies also?

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 240 - 29/08/2022 16:30:46    2439066

Replying To Thechick:  "Choose not to rather than couldn't"
wasn't aware of the context. They should be turfed down to J2 for next year. Massive disrespect to the competition

jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 443 - 29/08/2022 16:32:26    2439067

Replying To Motte:  "This is nothing new from Caulry . One win out of 5 matches and into a quarter final , they can count themselves lucky ."
Mote, you seem to have quite a strong opinion on this Caulry team. By the sounds of things you must have been to quite a few of their championship games this year?? Fair play, you must be putting down savage mileage to be travelling up and down from Cork to go and see them!!!

keepherclean (Westmeath) - Posts: 7 - 29/08/2022 17:05:50    2439076

The odds on a Loman's vs The Downs final must be very low based on various results and performances at the weekend. Caulry were barely deserving of a draw and Garrycastle can consider themselves very unlucky as they were competitive in every game. The Downs have significant injuries and these need to clear up as they are key players. Charlie Drumm hasn't played since opening round, Luke Loughlin was wearing a protective boot yesterday in Milltown and Conor Coughlan was also missing, Conor Murray has emigrated and they're obviously planning without him but he was their best forward last year. They have very little chance of winning the championship without those injured players while Loman's look to be at full strength.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 29/08/2022 17:32:30    2439079

Not sure what the crack was with the Athlone juniors. I see the game was in Mullingar for Friday night at 7pm so maybe they just couldn't be bothered or were genuinely short numbers. So the table currently has them ahead of Lomans on the basis of head to head (as per rule 6.21 when 2 teams level on points). I believe the CCC are to rule on the placings this week. Could get messy but not sure how the CB can penalise Athlone for the walkover as nobody has gained an advantage although I'm sure Shamrocks would have liked the game. Lomans had accepted their fate prior to round 4 being played. Agree that it remain's Multy to lose and St Joseph's might give them a run. Injuries in The Downs means their junior squad has lost quite a few.
Only got to see Garrycastle v The Downs in the senior out at Milltown. Decent facilities, big pitch and lots of parking so well done to the hosts. The Downs by far the better team and should have won by more. They were without Loughlin, Drumm, Lynam and Coughlan. Garrycastle only missing Gardiner as far as I could see. Credit to the mighty John Gaffey and Doran Harte for exceptional careers for club and county. I am not retiring them but they can hold their heads high along with some other long serving team mates. Garrycastle are only dropping down to Section B so no need to push the panic button but I don't see too many new or young players coming through. Could be the end of an era.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 29/08/2022 17:46:11    2439083

As the knockouts stages are now upon us its impossible to see anything other than a Lomans Downs final in the senior. The Downs have beaten Lomans in there last couple of championship encounters but have yet to do it in the knockout stages....maybe this is the year.
Intermediate looks like St Marys will get through I expect Shandonagh to beat Ballymore & get revenge on Milltown. Winners from these two will be very hard to call.
Junior is still quite open, Multy look to be in a good position but Bun or Josephs won fear them.

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 239 - 30/08/2022 08:17:19    2439109

Replying To keepherclean:  "Mote, you seem to have quite a strong opinion on this Caulry team. By the sounds of things you must have been to quite a few of their championship games this year?? Fair play, you must be putting down savage mileage to be travelling up and down from Cork to go and see them!!!"
No real strong opinion on Caulry team , they have some very good footballers but I dont like unsporting behaviour that is persistent wihin Caulry GAA . How many times has manager been put behind the wire for mouthing at referees . The Caulry players and supporters feed off this . The abuse some of their supporters were shouting at Garrycastle was disgrace . I dont know what it is but they feel that the ref is on their back every match ? Cork is my county but to let you know Im living in Westmeath 35 years and attend matches on a regular basis .

Motte (Cork) - Posts: 48 - 30/08/2022 10:04:01    2439119

Replying To Motte:  "No real strong opinion on Caulry team , they have some very good footballers but I dont like unsporting behaviour that is persistent wihin Caulry GAA . How many times has manager been put behind the wire for mouthing at referees . The Caulry players and supporters feed off this . The abuse some of their supporters were shouting at Garrycastle was disgrace . I dont know what it is but they feel that the ref is on their back every match ? Cork is my county but to let you know Im living in Westmeath 35 years and attend matches on a regular basis ."
This seems to be a regular thing across matches now-was at the Athlone v Moate game recently in Tubberclaire and the abuse from both benches was off the scale but the worst part was the toxic abuse given to some of the Athlone players from the moate bench once they came within earshot.All these players from every team play for the love of the game and their club and csn do within this kind of nonsence.Without referees there is no game but a small percentage of them do hold a grudge and will definately favour one club over another and they should be held accountable for this but not in the form of abuse

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 30/08/2022 11:25:24    2439133

Replying To Motte:  "No real strong opinion on Caulry team , they have some very good footballers but I dont like unsporting behaviour that is persistent wihin Caulry GAA . How many times has manager been put behind the wire for mouthing at referees . The Caulry players and supporters feed off this . The abuse some of their supporters were shouting at Garrycastle was disgrace . I dont know what it is but they feel that the ref is on their back every match ? Cork is my county but to let you know Im living in Westmeath 35 years and attend matches on a regular basis ."
That is the siege mentality or xenophobia and it can be found in followers of other clubs. I heard supporters of a senior club at the opposite end of the county haranguing a referee. One fellow shouted at the referee that it was a pity the free wasn't a bit nearer the goals so that he could take the kick himself ! Sometimes it's funny but the referee would need to have a thick skin.

dbpcmi (Westmeath) - Posts: 66 - 30/08/2022 11:40:33    2439136

Replying To dbpcmi:  "That is the siege mentality or xenophobia and it can be found in followers of other clubs. I heard supporters of a senior club at the opposite end of the county haranguing a referee. One fellow shouted at the referee that it was a pity the free wasn't a bit nearer the goals so that he could take the kick himself ! Sometimes it's funny but the referee would need to have a thick skin."
Just sit in the stand for any match and you will hear the abuse players/referees/linesmen/managers get. It is a cultural issue that won't (unfortunately) change soon. Personal attacks and negative comments online are not helpful. There are many people commenting here and elsewhere online that have no concept on how to referee a match and have never picked up a rulebook... rose tinted glasses and all that.
Talk of grudges are a pig in a poke. Teams just lose their discipline and get carried away, it turns into a chain reaction. Refereeing decisions will always be a bone of contention as they involve judgement. Once the referee is consistent. As for timekeeping, the referee is supposed to stop for delays such as subs and rows and also timewasting. The amount of times teams run down the clock by slow kickouts and running on subs slowly is frustrating. From attending matches in neighboring counties, the standard in westmeath is quite good in comparison. I will say the age profile of referees in general is worrying.

WestmeathFan (Westmeath) - Posts: 26 - 30/08/2022 13:00:31    2439149

Replying To BigSur:  "Not sure what the crack was with the Athlone juniors. I see the game was in Mullingar for Friday night at 7pm so maybe they just couldn't be bothered or were genuinely short numbers. So the table currently has them ahead of Lomans on the basis of head to head (as per rule 6.21 when 2 teams level on points). I believe the CCC are to rule on the placings this week. Could get messy but not sure how the CB can penalise Athlone for the walkover as nobody has gained an advantage although I'm sure Shamrocks would have liked the game. Lomans had accepted their fate prior to round 4 being played. Agree that it remain's Multy to lose and St Joseph's might give them a run. Injuries in The Downs means their junior squad has lost quite a few.
Only got to see Garrycastle v The Downs in the senior out at Milltown. Decent facilities, big pitch and lots of parking so well done to the hosts. The Downs by far the better team and should have won by more. They were without Loughlin, Drumm, Lynam and Coughlan. Garrycastle only missing Gardiner as far as I could see. Credit to the mighty John Gaffey and Doran Harte for exceptional careers for club and county. I am not retiring them but they can hold their heads high along with some other long serving team mates. Garrycastle are only dropping down to Section B so no need to push the panic button but I don't see too many new or young players coming through. Could be the end of an era."
Wouldn't go as far as saying it's Multys to lose. I don't think Josephs or Bun will fear facing them in a semi/ final. They've been the best team so far to be fair, but didn't blow Joes or Bun out of the water in either game.

westmeathman99 (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 30/08/2022 14:46:44    2439169

What can clubs do about these so called supporters abusing referees and opposition players? The majority are grown adults and a lot are associated with a particular club while rarely doing anything to contribute to the club. They need to take personal responsibility for their own behaviour.
Referees make mistakes , the same as players and management!

Wmeath2 (Westmeath) - Posts: 176 - 30/08/2022 19:20:28    2439199

Replying To jfd:  "Is there some confusion about Caulry ladies also?"
Caulry lodged an objection to the result of their group game against Kinnegad on the basis that Kinnegad had no jersey number for one of their players on team sheet. Westmeath LGFA recognised this as a genuine error by Kinnegad. Caulry subsequently made an appeal to Leinster LGFA and got the points. They were well within their right to appeal as not having a no for starting players on team sheet is a breach of rules. They effectively stole a semifinal place from Kinnegad as a result. Clubs need to be more careful and make sure they have everything in order when playing Caulry.

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 31/08/2022 09:57:11    2439220

Replying To A_Chairde:  "Caulry lodged an objection to the result of their group game against Kinnegad on the basis that Kinnegad had no jersey number for one of their players on team sheet. Westmeath LGFA recognised this as a genuine error by Kinnegad. Caulry subsequently made an appeal to Leinster LGFA and got the points. They were well within their right to appeal as not having a no for starting players on team sheet is a breach of rules. They effectively stole a semifinal place from Kinnegad as a result. Clubs need to be more careful and make sure they have everything in order when playing Caulry."
If that is true that is shameful.

WestmeathFan (Westmeath) - Posts: 26 - 31/08/2022 10:07:47    2439221

Replying To WestmeathFan:  "If that is true that is shameful."
It is true. It was the 2nd round of the intermediate ladies championship group stage and Kinnegad won by 9 points in the end. It is a technicality and Kinnegad's own fault but I'm not sure every club would appeal it. When you get beaten fair and square on the pitch that's where you'd like to leave it.
I'm not understanding the animosity towards the Caulry club though - I think most if not all clubs have a few mouth piece supporters. They just don't stand out to me as any better or worse than other clubs in terms of arrogance or verbals ??
From I distance I admire the work they are putting in at underage and developing their facilities. The seniors have reached the knockout stages of the SFC again this year and have a few lads on the county squad. Not sure about the size of their pick but seem to be surrounded by the likes of Moate, Rosemount, Tubberclair, Athlone, Maryland etc.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 31/08/2022 12:19:22    2439240

Every club has eegits BigSur.

I too have great admiration for Caulry for the work they're putting into their structures. They had four or five players on last year's county minor squad as well.

I don't mean to tarnish the entire club over an objection that was probably pushed by a few people with an agenda (every club has these too) but where's the fair play and integrity that most other clubs pride themselves in?

I spoke to an official about this and she said it happens a lot where a team sheet would have a starting player without a number and clubs wouldn't bat an eyelid to it.

If it happened in the men's championship...

A_Chairde (Westmeath) - Posts: 174 - 31/08/2022 13:36:19    2439243

So any whispers around the new senior football manager.
Apparently a sub-committee being appointed at tonight's county board meeting but you'd imagine this is just for optics and formalities. No doubt there is lots of work going on behind the scenes as they surely got an advanced warning from Jack. Don't know if Anthony Cunningham is interested but I suspect he is. Could he come in as the boss and have Keane and Dolan as selectors plus say Damien Gavin ?? Do we know if Keane and Dolan are willing to stay on ? Declan Kelly turned down his native county already this year so can't see him getting involved but who knows. Any of those Mayo gangs that missed out available ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 31/08/2022 15:21:17    2439250

I'm an admirer of the Caulry club and their recent developments on and off the field, they have fabulous facilities and compete as a sole club at a decent level at underage. Their minor team is in division 2 but easily capable of being competitive in division 1. My issue is how the Caulry club executive have tolerated their manager's antics for so long. He has been up twice before the disciplinary bodies in Westmeath and challenges every charge against him. That's his right but the club should say enough, we're being damaged by these antics, simply say to him thanks for your services. Their supporters are unquestionably regarded as difficult to listen to and the club are powerless to deal with them but by condoning their manager's behaviour it's setting a poor example.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 31/08/2022 16:29:19    2439252

Replying To Claretandblue:  "I'm an admirer of the Caulry club and their recent developments on and off the field, they have fabulous facilities and compete as a sole club at a decent level at underage. Their minor team is in division 2 but easily capable of being competitive in division 1. My issue is how the Caulry club executive have tolerated their manager's antics for so long. He has been up twice before the disciplinary bodies in Westmeath and challenges every charge against him. That's his right but the club should say enough, we're being damaged by these antics, simply say to him thanks for your services. Their supporters are unquestionably regarded as difficult to listen to and the club are powerless to deal with them but by condoning their manager's behaviour it's setting a poor example."
That lad that was over Garrycastle is a lot worse than whats over caulry. I would say caulry bite theor lip as cake has one of the most highly taught of Gaa men in the country as sidekick.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 31/08/2022 19:17:01    2439257

How can that be the case? Garrycastle manager hasn't been reported constantly to the county board and he was previously in charge of Castledaly where he had an exemplary record on the line. The abuse fired at the referee in Rochfortbridge last weekend at the Caulry match by spectators was a new low in my experience attending matches. It was constant in the last fifteen minutes and the language was appalling and extremely aggressive. In an earlier match Caulry took 18 mins at half time to reappear on pitch, those antics do nothing for a club's reputation.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 01/09/2022 09:47:06    2439273