Delighted for Collie - always had the talent but seemed to run into cul de sacs and over think it. This year he is rejuvenated. My fear Jimbo this year is still our full back line up against fast forwards. I think we will be cut wide open by certain players tbh. Other thing is the lack of form from Deano. But best thing so far is the strength of our bench so far. Last year we were without Con and Mannion up top - they would have won us the semi final without any debate imo. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 20/06/2023 16:22:49 2487884 Link 2 |
What do you of the chances against Clare Fionn? BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3490 - 20/06/2023 17:09:36 2487899 Link 3 |
Yes i wrote "we might" have Sam again. And yes I hope we do. Is that boiling our own urine. As for ante Dub posts you obviously don't read all the comments where Dublin are being praised but Avon you always have to throw dogs in at Kerry. I don't be on the other gaa forum where Kerry folk say the ante Kerry bile is unreal so I can't comment. I'm not sure who the "gowl"You might tell me as you seem to know more than I do about the Kerry gaa forum.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3896 - 20/06/2023 17:34:42 2487912 Link 0 |
I have never denied Kerry are sponsored by Kerry Group and have always stated that Kerry are lucky with money. Show me one post to the contrary. Check all my posts on hs forum and Kerry forum. Also I have never stated Kerry are angels. Now either post the truth or don't post at all. I have never belittled Dublin's success. I have always stated that counties can't win without money but we are not short of it and Dublin certainly are not short either. It's post like yours Avonali that turn posters off teams.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3896 - 20/06/2023 17:39:59 2487914 Link 1 |
Oghh give it a rest with the faux outrage would you Mick. If your professed fondness for Dublin is conditional on the likes of me posting the right thing then it was never very deep anyway.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 20/06/2023 18:07:50 2487924 Link 5 |
OK first of all I speak for myself I judge every player on their ability and their sportsmanship. There is one ex Dublin player I don't like and I'll make no apologies for it. There are players from every county I don't like including my own. Now I have called out at least two ex Kerry players and many on the Kerry forum agreed with me. I like hard footballers I don't like dirty footballers. Now I have been accused on the Kerry forum to be pro Dub and one poster refered to me as "Dublin Mick". Now you state horrendous stuff from Kerry forum and some posters from Kerry say the Dub one site is full of bitter evil disgusting ante Kerry and Mayo stuff. Now for someone like yourself that reads the Kerry forum you are nitpicking. There are hundreds and hundreds of posters on the Kerry forum and only 5 or 6 throw jibes at the Dubs. In fact loads of Kerry posters constantly praise James Mccarthy Con Ciarán Kilkenny and the half "Kerryman" Brian Fenton but you chose to pick the 2% that are negative. I guess you were nt too good at math on school. Now I was in croke park for Dubs leinster championship campaign and the bile coming from a small minority of fans was both disgusting and sick with one Dublin fan shouting that "all culchies are inbred" and "Mick savages" Now I don't turn against all Dubs for their ignorance and stupidity. Obviously that Muppet does nt realise that most Dubs come from County blood many first hand like Diarmuid Connolly Con Ó Callaghan Fenton etc. Now a Dublin man beside me said he felt embarrassed and ashamed of what was said. Now most reasonable people realise that every county has nasty fans but may é you Avon think all Kerry are bad. Of course you ré entitle to your opinion but you are being very un fair to all the other posters. As I say a few bad eggs out of hundreds but you pick the bad. Also on Hs forum I have nt seen much Kerry Dub nastiness with a long time but you post up stirring nastiness again. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3896 - 20/06/2023 18:22:11 2487930 Link 2 |
I'll give u a clue Mick: six letters beginning with h and ending in t and it ain't Hobbit or Hamlet.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 20/06/2023 18:25:17 2487936 Link 4 |
Agree with all of that Fionn, you're spot on.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 20/06/2023 18:26:34 2487938 Link 4 |
Some clubs have just an allocation of tickets for the hurling match. They'll fly out so get in quickly avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 20/06/2023 18:29:57 2487940 Link 3 |
I think we need a good start Barney - similar to the Galway game but in saying that I think we are up against it. I felt Clare were more than a little unlucky v Limerick and only the referee knows why he didnt award Clare a free at the end of that game. 2 fouls were committed and neither given as a free. The 1st half v Galway was some of the best Hurling and shooting I have seen from Dublin Hurlers in quite a while. I knew standing on the Hill that Galway would come back but I still felt we had enough of a lead to win that game. Great to get the draw at the end but hopefully the lads learn from it and if we are in a winning position, then we finish the job. If Clare come out of the traps early, I think we just need to stick with them. Our heads dont drop as much as previous so I think we will battle on right to the end. BUT I think Clare will outscore us unfortunately. Looking forward to the trip down, I just hope more travel down to cheer the lads on, than there were in Carlow. Overall I think Micheál is doing a very good job, we just need a good start to have any hope of winning. We need a lucky break so hopefully it is at the wkend. ;o) Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 20/06/2023 21:48:39 2487972 Link 0 |
I can't disagree with you there but Ithe Kerrygaa forum is open for anyone to view and to be fair most posters are very complimentary to Dublin players etc. Of course there are a few but the way you describe it is totally misleading. Most posts are about games and very little about Dubs.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3896 - 20/06/2023 22:51:04 2487983 Link 0 |
So you asked the authorities to be banned.. the exact opposite of Darragh O'Se..
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/06/2023 07:36:35 2488001 Link 3 |
On Deano, its one of the thing that concerns me a little, if hes not in the team i dont think we have a reliable free taker, certainly not for the trickier ones. Its fine at moment, but now as we approach the business' end we cant afford to leave any behind us. Con, Mannion are capable - Cormac i dont have huge confidence in - Cluxton at a pinch for the distance ones. Still none of them give you the reassurance that Deano would - but i think hes not fancied as a starter now. Hopefully it doesnt catch up with us - but it could. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4515 - 21/06/2023 08:10:36 2488004 Link 4 |
Not having played them in years could work either way. Clare might start at pace that puts Dublin on back foot from start and ends in predictable comfortable win for them; or, Dublin are stuck in from start and have their scoring boots on and make a game of it. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3490 - 21/06/2023 08:14:19 2488006 Link 3 |
I think it's a real worry that we don't have a starting solid free taker now that Dean no longer has the legs to start a game. When you think of the importance of DEan's contribution especially in tight games - and there were many - it's actually quite worrying. Con is good within a certain range ; Costello is very inconsistent. It's an awful pity that Archer got that stupid ban. He should have been developed and introduced into the senior squad sooner- it was clear last year that Dean's legs were no longer up to it,.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 21/06/2023 09:16:46 2488024 Link 3 |
I was fine at Math Mick- so less of the nasty silly personal insults if you don't mind. I used to contribute on that forum before 2011 before you were ever on it.. I had an interest in Kerry GAA and I had several cousins who played to a high level so I was interested in reading peoples' thoughts on club games etc. Apart from a few snide remarks about Dublin's misplaced confidence there wasn't much anti DUblin stuff before 2011. Then when Dublin won in 2011 it all started. From 2013 on, the emerging narrative was that Dublin were team of robots whose success was largely attributable to financial doping etc etc and the advantages of playing in Croke Park. One of your county men claimed that Dublin would continue to dominate IC football until the end of time. This forum was inundated with posts from Kerry folk - some of whom racked up enormous posting figures here - continually slating and deriding everything Dublin achieved. Does it not occur to you that the Dublin/ Kerry nastiness abated once these posters left HS and scuttled off into the cess pit when HS restructured its forum. It's hard when you read posts in which certain Dublin players are referred to as "filth", and "s**m". I read comments that referred to the areas that certain Dublin players came from. Truly disgusting stuff that was never challenged by anybody. This is a Dublin GAA forum principally read by Dublin GAA folk. If I want to make the point that whenever Dublin crushed weaker opponents this site would be flooded with all sorts of comments about Dublin's perceived advantages yet when Kerry does it they are proclaimed as Champions in waiting. Louth have NOTHING like the the resources and financial clout that Kerry enjoy. That to me is a valid point and I am speaking as someone who has posted sporadically on this site for since well before 2011. I could quote you chapter and verse about the behaviour of Kerry folk. I witnessed their disgusting abuse of Gough after the 2016 semi -final. The stuff that was shouted at that man was appalling. So yes all counties have their ****heads but I'll leave you with this. What was it your own great county man Paudie O Shea called Kerry fans again???? avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1990 - 21/06/2023 09:46:39 2488030 Link 4 |
Abuse? I thinkmost know where most abuse comes from. Your own ex manager Tommy Lyons was not only abused but was spat at by so called Dublin supporters. You brought up Kerry yesrday and vile stuff and we boiling our own urine etc. I read over the posts and not one poster claimed we would win all ireland. I was the closest saying we might Please God. Again I was looking there are over a thousand posters on Kerry forum and you pick 3 or 4 posters and you post on hs forum trying to turn posters off Kerry. Just because you hate Kerry does nt mean you try turn others. As iive stated anyone can read the forum and it's away more balanced than you portray. Also I have it on good authority that a Dublin footballers Dad posts on the Kerry forum. O suppose he is ante Dub too. What you are tryiing to do is wrong. If you fell out with your neighbour would you turn the rest against that person. I have a friend from Dublin that hates black people because a black person robbed his car Most car robbers are white but he does nt care. Ah look I've seen many nasty and duty comments from many Dubs but I see that the majority are great supporters. Same on hs there are brilliant Dublin posters. Guys úd love to have a pint with. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3896 - 21/06/2023 10:33:54 2488047 Link 2 |
Without digging up the past and re-igniting the flames so to speak - I have to agree with you about a lot of them being the biggest whingers & begrudgers going, especially when it comes to Dublin. Like all supporters they hate to lose, but unlike most they cannot handle it too well, whether it be Tyrone for example, or Dublin. The Dubs success of the past decade brought this to the fore in a massive way. Some have no time for Dublin, a very small few are complimentary, and a few take both sides, compliment on one hand and whinge about funding, playing games in Croke Park and sponsorship on the other hand - when it suits them. The odd slight dig every now and again just to make a point.... And I am sure that works both ways. I remember growing up and my Dad & Uncle would always say - never trust a kerry man when it comes to football, and they were right. ;o) I saw if first hand at the recent all Ireland finals and semi finals with kerry. All smiles and howdy before the game but when the game is going against them, their ugly side appears. Look every county has it but I would definitely say that the past decade brought out the worst of them tbh. Quite a few Dubs might not like them but we respect their achievements - I am quite sure most of them dont respect ours. Well they might say they do but I doubt it. ;o) Personally I dont want to see kerry win, but I respect their achievements and even more so the way their Hurlers are doing so well these days. But years of tough defeats has made Dubs be able to accept defeat. I feel it is the opposite for a lot of them. Like in all sports you have to be able to accept defeat even though it hurts, and be able to win graciously and humbly. And believe me, we were playing in Croke Park when we were winning sweet fanny adam, so that, and the population arguments hold no water for me. The difference this past decade was that we had a once in a lifetime group of players over the period of a decade or so. It will never happen again imo. As for sponsorship they have the largest sponsorship in the country - including a state of the art centre of excellence built foc so I ignore the sponsorship arguments also. Funding helped us of course but you cannot turn a mule into a race horse no matter how much money you throw at it. Anyway - best not to read a lot their comments regarding Dublin - I try to ignore now after more than a few years of fighting the Dubs corner. And HS has been a better place for the lack of nonsense that went on here before. The past 2 years it has died off a little but for some reason the return of Jack, Clucko and Mannion has started it off again. I personally dont think we will win the AI this year, as we will concede too much v the top teams. But you can see that some seem to be concerned about us once more. Which is funny in a way. This is what rivalry is about but make no mistake - quite a few of them really dont like us and will do anything to belittle our recent achievements. They might respect some of our players but deep down it hurt them massively to see us win 6 in a row and 8 in a decade. As Jimbo said - these are memories of a lifetime for us Dubs, but also memories for them that they want to erase. Like I said - not stoking the fire and am no longer interested in wasting my time going back and forward with them. Time to move on, ignore and chat about other things on HS. But I do see your point..... ;o) lol Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 21/06/2023 10:48:20 2488055 Link 1 |
Well said Barney
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 21/06/2023 10:51:13 2488056 Link 0 |
Hopefully Archer will make it through next year now that the ban was lifted. I would think Deano is biting at the bit in training knowing that this could more than likely be his, and at least 3 others last year in the blue of Dublin. He defo needs minutes on the pitch but it depends how the 1/4 final is going. Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4220 - 21/06/2023 10:54:27 2488057 Link 0 |