Dublin GAA thread

Kildare only scored 6 points from play. That they were even close says more about how wasteful Dublin were than it does about them.

How Ryan thought the ref who handed Kildare four handy close in frees that kept them in it was biased is best known to himself!

Teams who play retro noughties blanket defence will always give average teams a close game, but will seldom if ever turn over a good one. And I'm not sure which category Dublin fall into!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2640 - 30/04/2023 20:15:07    2474814

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dubs didn't have a hand laid on them last week
No harm at all getting a dig in the ribs today and I can only presume that Kildare did their homework
Take it and move on, a lot more games to come and I honestly only see the grind today being far more beneficial than the cricket score win last week, you need to be exposed to see your weaknesses
Haven't seen the game but it was looking dodgy there going 3 down at one stage, listen they didn't lose, are in a Leinster final, where I expect a better performance will be seen, only scoring 14 pts but still winning, I'll take that, Keeping Kildare to 12 pts, it must have been very tight defensive game

Keep moving forward, I'd take a 2pt win over a 2pt loss any day against a neighbour

Realdub, not liking the sounds of your observations though, would have thought that after the Laois white wash that perhaps they got caught perhaps being too over confident"
Maybe Jim, just didn't like what I saw. But would be delighted to be proved wrong!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 30/04/2023 20:47:51    2474822

Replying To realdub:  "I hear you Mick, I just didn't like our body language, but like you said, maybe they are 'heavy legged'. But they're lucky they have time on their side.

Not sure what I make of the whole Cluxton thing, but it's not sitting well with me."
Haha

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/04/2023 22:09:53    2474835

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/
Have to agree with Ryan here, when the game was in the melting pot Dublin were awarded close in free's that very few if any other ref would have deemed to be frees.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 501 - 30/04/2023 22:29:25    2474837

Replying To martinjoe:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/
Have to agree with Ryan here, when the game was in the melting pot Dublin were awarded close in free's that very few if any other ref would have deemed to be frees."
You were at the match were you?

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2640 - 30/04/2023 23:23:11    2474843

Replying To realdub:  "I hear you Mick, I just didn't like our body language, but like you said, maybe they are 'heavy legged'. But they're lucky they have time on their side.

Not sure what I make of the whole Cluxton thing, but it's not sitting well with me."
I hear you. I think Cluxton is the greatest keeper ever but yes I wonder about this comeback.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 01/05/2023 02:01:58    2474852

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah Realdub i would nt write Dublin off on one below par performance. Also Kildare well up for that game. Jack Mac still has the pace and skill. As they say down home.Dublin were blowing out dirty petrol. Disappointed with the attendence considering in the noughties Dubs /Kildare would fill the stadium on their own. Noticed many Louth and Offaly fans leaving before second game. Maybe the gaa shooting itself in the foot with too many games."
Dublin going for 13 in a row. It's not to do with too many games, Leinster championship has been lifeless for a while

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/05/2023 07:00:13    2474854

The worst Dublin team since 2010, not being helped by negative tactics let them cut loose and get the crowd involved, that's what Dublin thrive on, and they need that mire then ever now with so many players a busted flush, and sub standard replacements

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 01/05/2023 08:16:20    2474856

Replying To martinjoe:  "https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/
Have to agree with Ryan here, when the game was in the melting pot Dublin were awarded close in free's that very few if any other ref would have deemed to be frees."
Except that's not at all what he was referring to. His gripe was with having to play Dublin in Croke Park in a Leinster semi final rather than playing it at a provincial venue. The perceived bias of the referee is purely in your head.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 01/05/2023 09:19:18    2474862

Well done to Dublin.
Pleased we managed to stay with ye for 60 / 65 mins
We just ran out of steam in the end and ye got your scores easier coming down the stretch.
Wasn't expecting much from the match, so coming away disappointed that we didn't win is heartening.

Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 01/05/2023 10:10:04    2474863

There was nothing wrong with the refs decisions in the last few mins or at any point in the game. Losing managers should stay away from interviews directly after a game and RTE should told not to ask them for interviews either.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 01/05/2023 11:05:43    2474876

i have been playing and watching football since the sixtes and i cant fugure out what a fair tackle is in football

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 01/05/2023 11:16:33    2474882

Kildare had their homework done and put in a huge effort and fair play, to many times they came up and went home with a hiding so you cant blame them for 15 behind the ball. I keep saying it but this year is different, Kildare knew they had a punchers chance yesterday and to be credit they got close - however the real take home was for them to build momentum heading into a All Ireland series, so if they were hammered it would be undermining, they set up accordingly.

As for the Dubs, any team is struggling to break down that system and will do them no harm playing against it. Dessies decisions for me are strange, i just find it hard to find the logic in them - taking of Mannion yesterday for P Small - i wouldn't wrap my head around. Whatever about Jack on the bench with bigger test ahead - cant understand Brian Howard not getting the nod in the half, midfield or half forward line. I also wonder about Deano, a free taker of his quality is worth his weight in gold when a game is in the melting pot.

Its at the back that will be our undoing, we commit a lot up the pitch, are marking is loose and its to easy for others to break a line - the Cian Murphy at sweeper experiment - i haven't made my up on - its been very boom and bust. Also where is Micky Fitz - has there been a falling out - hes been togging out for Cuala, hes our best defender fully fit.

It may be that Dessie is trying to pad out the panel and develop lads with the amount of games to come and you can understand that, but overall i find some of his decisions weird and often undermining. Its a typical Dessie team, very very open and we're going t cough up a lot of chances for the opposition - will we score enough to carry that im not so sure at all.

Lastly unlucky for young O Hanlon, but you know what im delighted Cluxton is back in there, hes a brilliant player simple as that.

As always Up the Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 01/05/2023 11:46:24    2474887

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Shout out to all the lads who argued Cluxton was merely back up because of an injury crisis. Replacing a lad who has done nothing wrong. Not great for morale even if the camp claim otherwise."
It was a decision for Dessie Farrell to make. Dublin have a very good keeper in O'Hanlon. Why didn't he start?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1757 - 01/05/2023 12:24:09    2474893

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Kildare only scored 6 points from play. That they were even close says more about how wasteful Dublin were than it does about them.

How Ryan thought the ref who handed Kildare four handy close in frees that kept them in it was biased is best known to himself!

Teams who play retro noughties blanket defence will always give average teams a close game, but will seldom if ever turn over a good one. And I'm not sure which category Dublin fall into!"
Show us where Glen blamed the ref. If you bothered to read or listen to his interview he actually said the ref had a good game...

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 01/05/2023 12:40:06    2474895

I can only guess you didn't watch the game. Dubs only awarded 2 close-in frees in total and only one in the final quarter for a clear head high challenge on Costello.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 01/05/2023 13:11:41    2474904

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Kildare only scored 6 points from play. That they were even close says more about how wasteful Dublin were than it does about them.

Teams who play retro noughties blanket defence will always give average teams a close game, but will seldom if ever turn over a good one. And I'm not sure which category Dublin fall into!"
Spot on. It worked for Harte's team against Offaly but it did't for Kildare, as Dublin counterattacked at pace for a deadly 15m to outscore them 5-1. Kildare were out on their feet towards the end. That blanket up and down nonsense requires serious conditioning. You only need a couple of lads to drop off the pace and space starts to open. A good side will use that space and punish. You can whinge all you want about gum shields, extra time in other games, the environment, soft frees and your granny's cooking but when you're 4 pts up parking the bus and still bottle it to lose by 2 then you've only yourself to blame. Dublin were absolutely shocking, terrible shot selection, were outmuscled, out-fielded in midfield, too slow transition, fielded a suspect starting 15. Farrell has a lot of work to do.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 01/05/2023 15:13:44    2474912

"wasteful" Dublin is becoming a trend under Dessie Farrell. Gone are the days when Dublin was near perfect in their shot selection and decision making under Jim Gavin.

League and now championship this year Dublin have had poor games against Division 2 opposition which has to be a concern for a team tipped by many to be All-Ireland contenders.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 01/05/2023 17:28:33    2474923

Replying To realdub:  "Yes old pal, Meath are in a serious hole. As for Colm, I had enough of him as a player thanks :D"
Haha. Yeah we in some hole. And it just keeps getting deeper. Only thing I know is Colm is not the answer to our problems
Btw I still think there is one more all ireland in this dubs team. And I believe that it's this year

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2023 08:02:18    2474946

Replying To Gaa_lover:  ""wasteful" Dublin is becoming a trend under Dessie Farrell. Gone are the days when Dublin was near perfect in their shot selection and decision making under Jim Gavin.

League and now championship this year Dublin have had poor games against Division 2 opposition which has to be a concern for a team tipped by many to be All-Ireland contenders."
It's difficult to be very accurate against a blanket like that. Dublin were lethal against Laois but Harte will be coming to HQ with a fleet of red buses so the Dubs will need to have their eye in. Sadly the game has descended into rugby on the 45, potshots from distance and the odd off the shoulder run leading to a drag down and free in. It's not soft on the eye that's for sure.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/05/2023 11:02:10    2474962