Dublin have two goalkeepers One of which hadn't kicked an inter county football in 3 years He managed to keep a clean sheet and find 100% of his kickouts Positive news for Dublin jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/05/2023 12:10:03 2474989 Link 15 |
Yes, but Dublin look very disjointed when playing what are, let us be honest, poor imitators of great teams like Tyrone who were far more than blanket defences! Worrying thing for me is that while they eventually dug out a win, that whatever plan seems to fall to pieces with lads taking pot shots or not looking up for the decisive pass that will lead either to an easy point or a goal. It would also be massive error to plan on basis that Mickey will do more than park a big red bus! He's far cuter than that and their forwards were the best on display by a country mile last weekend, and Offaly's were the second! BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3061 - 02/05/2023 12:21:14 2474994 Link 7 |
Managed to watch the game jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/05/2023 12:27:08 2474998 Link 13 |
Fully agree with a few of the worries though jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20682 - 02/05/2023 12:42:30 2475004 Link 13 |
He's had so many rants about everything it's hard to know who he's blaming. In Carlow last week he blamed the ref for doing them "no favours". He also blamed the officials in Carlow for not telling him that the throw-in would be delayed by 10m. He had the same moan about yesterday's game due to extra time in the earlier game. Most of his whinging yesterday was at the non-ref officials. His players were asked to put their gum shields in and stand back from the line. He thought that the Flynn ball wasn't out, how far away was he from that one compared to the official? He's clearly feeling the heat. The scoreboard doesn't lie at the end of the day. If you're 4 points up putting a car park in front of your goal against a misfiring opposition and you still manage to lose by 2 then you look in the mirror instead of blaming officials across the country. He has a point about familiarity but Croke Park has to be somewhere and perhaps raise that with his county board.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 02/05/2023 13:26:47 2475041 Link 16 |
He gave a half hour press conference last year to blame the ref for letting Mayo beat them! Can you seriously imagine any other manager doing that? Look at how likes of Graham handled the club final defeat. Or Davy on Sunday, or anyone for that matter. Anyway, can't wait for a possible group game. They can have it on the Wolfe Tones pitch if he want's Don't poke the bear. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3061 - 02/05/2023 14:05:48 2475082 Link 8 |
At least Kildare will have the Dubs at home in Newbridge in round 2. Be very interesting to see how they get on. Be also interesting to see how Glen Ryan and Davy Burke get on on the sideline for round three against The Rossies. letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 622 - 02/05/2023 14:07:27 2475084 Link 0 |
Well said. His comments were bizarre yesterday even if some of them are true ie Dubs at home etc. He had a right rant after the Mayo league game last year too about officials.
SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 161 - 02/05/2023 14:14:49 2475090 Link 1 |
Ha ha ha Conleths Park under reconstruction, so Kildare home games likely to be played in Portlaoise or Tullamore. Though no doubt GAA / Dubs will want it in "neutral" Croker. Dr.Watson (Kildare) - Posts: 208 - 02/05/2023 14:27:54 2475096 Link 0 |
Dublin have nothing to do with where matches are played. Your own county voted for all Dublin Leinster games to be in Croke Park up until a few years ago. Anyway, I'm sure he'll have another excuse ready. Chem trails or something ... BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3061 - 02/05/2023 14:50:52 2475106 Link 9 |
If the Kildare V Dublin match is not played in Newbridge will it not be played in nowwhere?
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 622 - 02/05/2023 14:55:05 2475112 Link 0 |
Glen's rant was nt against the ref persais but more Croke park officialdom. He was on about different rules for different teams and feel his team not treated the same. He was on about the dressing rooms etc. Dublin have had their choice of dressing room for years and when a complaint was made years ago they said it was done in alphabetical order to have the choice. When Cork played I think in 2010 and looked to have choice of dressing room as C before D they were told its Gaeilge and Dublin are Áth Cliath (Not even Baile Átha Cliath) só Dubs got choice again. I d love to know what happens if they play Ard Mhacha. Anyway the dressing rooms won't alter a result of fame and the time to complain about neutral venue is before a game. Now With Dublin and Kildare now more than likely in same qualifier group and Kildare have home venue it will be interesting to see where game is on as I believe Newbridge is not available. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3841 - 02/05/2023 15:13:08 2475130 Link 0 |
You'd have to fancy them in nowhere ....
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3061 - 02/05/2023 20:58:17 2475260 Link 8 |
Dublin has always been Átha Cliath (Coiste Contae Átha Cliath). You know you're in trouble when you're moaning about what room you are in before throw in. Maybe the tactics board is bigger in the home dressing room. The Leinster Council (Kildare included) decide on venues. Of course you only become familiar with any pitch by playing on it. If Ryan wanted to deny his players the chance to play in Croke Park in a LSFC semi then he should have stated that before Sunday. I'd much rather see Dublin at Parnell Park than Croker in league and champo. I wonder which option opposition players would prefer. Dublin's record on the road is excellent. I don't think they mind where they're told to play by other counties.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 02/05/2023 21:48:41 2475270 Link 15 |
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/dick-clerkin-kildare-glenn-ryan-hypocrisy-552523
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3961 - 03/05/2023 12:56:21 2475383 Link 2 |
Ryan didn't mind so much on his run to the final 98 as a player in the Micko years - all Kildares home games where played in Croker, no Newbridge or nowhere back then - hypocrisy. Personally speaking we should play away from Corker more often, part of me would like the craic of going down to Killarney for a lump of Kerry in Killarney or Mayo in neutral venue. There is a simple reason Dublin don't play more outside of Croke Park and that's money, all the boxes and premium seats loose massive value without regular games in Croke Park and or Dublin on the ticket. Simple as that to my mind. Money trumps fairness and Dublin and other counties are innocent bystanders really. Id agree with Ryan, if he wasn't a beneficiary himself as a player in using Croker as a Home ground in the 90s. Dublin should absolutely play more games outside Croker. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4462 - 03/05/2023 13:23:34 2475397 Link 11 |
Agree
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3841 - 03/05/2023 16:12:58 2475468 Link 0 |
Well I've always made that argument myself. Are Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone players not much more familiar with Croke Park environs than most other IC players from other counties? How many times have Cillian O'Connor, Aidan O'Shea, Stephen O'Brien, Tom O'Sullivan, Clifford…played in Croke Park. It's a home away from home. If you're a Leinster team and any good then you could have played in Croke Park 1 for a league game against Dublin 1 NFL semi final 1 NFL final 1 LSFC semi 1 LSFC final It's extreme but a decent Leinster team could played 5 times at CP by the end of the Provincials. I get Ryan's point, if Dublin have 3 home league games in Croker per year then they'll have played there 3 times more than most teams and twice more than some others in their division come the championship. It's probably not quite the same as Liverpool playing all of their cup games at Anfield having played 20 league games there but there is something to Ryan's point. Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 03/05/2023 16:16:13 2475472 Link 13 |
Money is an issue alright User but don't think the corporate a problem. It's more the gaa and money. However with the amount of games now Croker is nt selling anyway. Only 30000 there last Sunday and for a double header. Glen Ryan should have complained before the game not after if he d a problem and dressing rooms don't have any bearing on match results.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3841 - 03/05/2023 16:18:53 2475475 Link 0 |
I think it is corporate and premium to be honest Mick, they are sold in advance and for a minimum three years, if you take Dublin out of Croke park you minimise that by 35 odd games over the period, thus premium and corporate looses its sheen - realistically your not bringing anyone else up to Croke Park to cover the spread and it suits the GAA to have Dublin there as an anchor tenant - for want of a better word. Only a few rank of file die hard Dubs will go to every game and that would be what was there last Sun and down in PL the week before - i honestly dont blame anyone not going to a Leinster provincial game. I thin people pay for a product and entertainment and that will be only provided through competition, if you look at Leinster and Munster the provincials are dire and the games aren't competitive, in Ulster and Connacht they are very strong - the problem is the product in my opinion and people wont pay when they arent entertained or to see a forgone conclusion, they aren't wrong either the provincials in Leinster and Munster are dead and are a labour of love for the die hards. Its a miracle getting crowds of 20k - 30k. All that said Kildare were value for money at the weekend. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4462 - 03/05/2023 16:58:13 2475486 Link 14 |