Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To carlovia:  "And the Dublin goalkeeper you had last year ?

Did he come looking to play for Westmeath as well ?

Just pick the lads from your own county."
Go look at our most recent panel

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 15/01/2022 19:05:34    2395091

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Jack Smith declared for Westmeath once he became senior, he didn't come to us once Dessie Farrell or Jim Gavin dispensed with his services. His dad served the county with distinction for years, absolutely no comparison between the two cases, Smith has his best years ahead of him, the rules apply to counties in the Nicky Rackard or Lory Meagher, we're a Liam McCarthy side. Same policy adopted by Kildare couple of years ago and it paid no dividends long term."
Jack Smith was a senior panellist with Dublin in 2017 for the league. He was dropped from the panel.
Jack Cooney approached Smith about coming to Westmeath as Smith worked with Pascal Kelleaghan. Westmeath footballers pursued Jack Smith. Stop spreading misinformation to suit your agenda.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 284 - 16/01/2022 12:21:46    2395139

Won today, anyone any idea of scorers or subs???

JohnyDuncan (UK) - Posts: 112 - 16/01/2022 19:16:05    2395198

Replying To JohnyDuncan:  "Won today, anyone any idea of scorers or subs???"
Westmeath scorers: J Gillen 1-6 (0-4f); C Doyle 0-5; N O'Brien 0-3; K Regan and S Williams 0-2 (1f) each; E Cunneen, J Galvin 0-1 and E McCabe 0-1 each.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 16/01/2022 19:40:15    2395204

Scorers - Westmeath: J Gillen 1-6 (0-5f), C Doyle 0-5, N O'Brien 0-3, S Williams (1f) and K Regan (1f) 0-2 each, J Galvin, E Cunneen and O McCabe 0-1 each. Meath: P O'Hanrahan 0-10 (8f, 1s/l), M Burke and N Potterton 0-2 each, J Coyne and P Potterton 0-1 each.

Westmeath: Noel Conaty; Johnny Bermingham, Tommy Doyle, Darragh Egerton; Conor Kane, Aaron Craig, Jack Galvin; Eamonn Cunneen, Shane McGovern; Ciaran Doyle, Davy Gavin, Kevin Regan; Niall O'Brien, Jack Gillen, Eoin Keyes. Subs used: Joey Boyle for Gavin (39), Niall Mitchell for Keyes (39), Alan Cox for Egerton (47), Morgan Gavigan for Gillen (51), Conor Bracken for Conaty (51), Shane Williams for Regan (55), Tommy Gallagher for Craig (58), Peadar Scally for T Doyle (59), Owen McCabe for Kane (59), Jamie Mulkearns for C Doyle (59), Eoghan Ahearn for O'Brien (61).

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 17/01/2022 11:46:19    2395258

Replying To BigSur:  "Scorers - Westmeath: J Gillen 1-6 (0-5f), C Doyle 0-5, N O'Brien 0-3, S Williams (1f) and K Regan (1f) 0-2 each, J Galvin, E Cunneen and O McCabe 0-1 each. Meath: P O'Hanrahan 0-10 (8f, 1s/l), M Burke and N Potterton 0-2 each, J Coyne and P Potterton 0-1 each.

Westmeath: Noel Conaty; Johnny Bermingham, Tommy Doyle, Darragh Egerton; Conor Kane, Aaron Craig, Jack Galvin; Eamonn Cunneen, Shane McGovern; Ciaran Doyle, Davy Gavin, Kevin Regan; Niall O'Brien, Jack Gillen, Eoin Keyes. Subs used: Joey Boyle for Gavin (39), Niall Mitchell for Keyes (39), Alan Cox for Egerton (47), Morgan Gavigan for Gillen (51), Conor Bracken for Conaty (51), Shane Williams for Regan (55), Tommy Gallagher for Craig (58), Peadar Scally for T Doyle (59), Owen McCabe for Kane (59), Jamie Mulkearns for C Doyle (59), Eoghan Ahearn for O'Brien (61)."
Is Davy Glennon involved this year?

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 17/01/2022 13:15:56    2395288

Replying To Matthew:  "Is Davy Glennon involved this year?"
Only five of the Mcdonagh final team started so a positive start. I dont know the reason for the missing eight Joey Boyle and Niall Mitchell came on but I think Shaw and Glennon were both having operations.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 17/01/2022 18:37:43    2395368

Regan taking a free is odd.Good win

JohnyDuncan (UK) - Posts: 112 - 17/01/2022 18:52:44    2395372

Replying To jobber:  "Only five of the Mcdonagh final team started so a positive start. I dont know the reason for the missing eight Joey Boyle and Niall Mitchell came on but I think Shaw and Glennon were both having operations."
Yeah a positive start, some good performances from new lads, Gillen impressed at full forward.
A lot to come back in as you mentioned, I'd say about 12 players.
Meath had a strong team out, so an 8 pt win is decent.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 18/01/2022 09:57:00    2395392

Replying To jobber:  "Only five of the Mcdonagh final team started so a positive start. I dont know the reason for the missing eight Joey Boyle and Niall Mitchell came on but I think Shaw and Glennon were both having operations."
Looks pretty much to give more new lads a chance plus a couple of previously fringe players. McGovern for example left the panel under previous management as he wasn't being given a run. Great to see so many young lads involved, can only bode well for competition and the future.

gedupoutofit (Westmeath) - Posts: 163 - 18/01/2022 12:15:37    2395428

Replying To gedupoutofit:  "Looks pretty much to give more new lads a chance plus a couple of previously fringe players. McGovern for example left the panel under previous management as he wasn't being given a run. Great to see so many young lads involved, can only bode well for competition and the future."
Its encourageing to see the likes of Cuneen,Williams,Regan,Gillen,Mulkearns,Kane etc getting game time next Sunday in Carlow a bigger test awaits.Any word on Aonghus,Kilian,Shaw Robbie Greville Clinton or Glennon are they training?injured?

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 24/01/2022 09:51:08    2396151

All the young lads impressed, Gillen, Williams and Mulkearns from the start and then Cunneen, Moore, Cunningham, McCormack and McCabe did very well off the bench. That's 8 lads from u20, fair play to Joe Fortune for giving them their chance.
Also good showings from fringe players, Kane, Scally and Regan in particular.
Didn't hear anything on injuries or absentees, but apparently 12 players to come back in.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 24/01/2022 10:39:13    2396161

I see Adrian Moran who is managing Longford has brought a few Westmeath players with him - Patrick Lynam of St Oliver Plunketts plus Emmet Corrigan and Niall Moran of Ringtown. I take it these 3 are deemed surplus to requirements for Westmeath senior hurlers ?

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1129 - 24/01/2022 11:46:27    2396181

Replying To BigSur:  "I see Adrian Moran who is managing Longford has brought a few Westmeath players with him - Patrick Lynam of St Oliver Plunketts plus Emmet Corrigan and Niall Moran of Ringtown. I take it these 3 are deemed surplus to requirements for Westmeath senior hurlers ?"
thats worrying , every small county needs support and help to develop their county teams but you cant open the flood gates either

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 24/01/2022 15:16:43    2396237

Replying To preddan:  "thats worrying , every small county needs support and help to develop their county teams but you cant open the flood gates either"
Isn't that the same as the Limerick lads currently hurling with Kerry?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/01/2022 16:38:21    2396264

Replying To keeper7:  "Isn't that the same as the Limerick lads currently hurling with Kerry?"
It is.. I don't agree with it on a large scale,maybe counties like Longford it might be more acceptable but kerry I think have enough of their own

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 24/01/2022 20:47:18    2396291

Replying To preddan:  "It is.. I don't agree with it on a large scale,maybe counties like Longford it might be more acceptable but kerry I think have enough of their own"
Kerry used the defence that Westmeath had used Galway and Dublin players last year so they are doing the same thing this year with the three Limerick players.
Looks like this could become the norm for the next few years which is disappointing.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 25/01/2022 09:45:20    2396314

Replying To carlovia:  "Kerry used the defence that Westmeath had used Galway and Dublin players last year so they are doing the same thing this year with the three Limerick players.
Looks like this could become the norm for the next few years which is disappointing."
The difference is Westmeath have only one player from Galway who came to Westmeath looking to play and not visa versa like Kerry.
I agree its disappointing to see, hopefully it doesn't become the norm.
I was glad to see we had played with 8 u20 players in the comprehensive win over Kildare at the weekend. Clearly prioritising our own players coming through as we should be.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 769 - 25/01/2022 10:49:12    2396327

The rule for counties like my own is maximum of 3 outside players. It used to be 5.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/01/2022 13:30:50    2396371

Replying To Dheen:  "The difference is Westmeath have only one player from Galway who came to Westmeath looking to play and not visa versa like Kerry.
I agree its disappointing to see, hopefully it doesn't become the norm.
I was glad to see we had played with 8 u20 players in the comprehensive win over Kildare at the weekend. Clearly prioritising our own players coming through as we should be."
No mention of the Dublin goalie that played with Westmeath last year ?

Westmeath hardly need these outside players but if they are doing it theres no
point in giving out about Kerry doing the same.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 26/01/2022 10:21:28    2396502