Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To jobber:  "Id say all the Westmeath people here would thank all you guys for your kind words.But the brutal reality is we have to perform for 80 minutes next Sunday not 40.If we dont we will be back in Joe Mcdonagh and there will be no cue saying its a disaster for hurling.The Antrim game will be a huge dog fight just like the two we have had with Laois in the last 12 months.Without Kilian Doyle,Jack Galvin and of course Aonghus Clarke its a huge ask."
If we perform like we did in the second half vs Wexford we'll beat Antrim in Mullingar even without Aonghus Clarke, Killian Doyle and Jack Galvin. We just need a full complete performance.
Regarding hurling in Mullingar and Athlone, it's starting to pick up greatly in Mullingar.. Oliver Plunketts and Cullion have great numbers and fielding two teams at some age groups. CBS Mullingar are making their name now in Leinster schools hurling. In Athlone, Southern Gaels are making steady progress, they are getting greater numbers playing and to be honest I do think it's a matter of time before they start competing at Division 1 in underage. If they're seniors get up to Senior B it would be a big boost to the game in Athlone too.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 782 - 23/05/2023 17:49:49    2481039

Replying To jobber:  "The key to Westmeaths future is the growth of hurling in Mullingar and Athlone who have half the population between them but little hurling tradition especially in Athlone but its beginning to change but needs a lot of nurturing."
Mullingar has a decent hurling tradition, I'd have thought? Oliver Plunkett's, Cullion & Clonkill all pulling from there.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 23/05/2023 17:57:25    2481045

Replying To jobber:  "Id say all the Westmeath people here would thank all you guys for your kind words.But the brutal reality is we have to perform for 80 minutes next Sunday not 40.If we dont we will be back in Joe Mcdonagh and there will be no cue saying its a disaster for hurling.The Antrim game will be a huge dog fight just like the two we have had with Laois in the last 12 months.Without Kilian Doyle,Jack Galvin and of course Aonghus Clarke its a huge ask."
If Antrim win we will be still ok if Wexford don't get something from Kilkenny

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 23/05/2023 18:38:24    2481057

Replying To keeper7:  "Mullingar has a decent hurling tradition, I'd have thought? Oliver Plunkett's, Cullion & Clonkill all pulling from there."
Plunketts are the town team with Cullion just on the outskirts.Clonkill are Loughegar but amazingly an odd chap from the town ends up there!!!

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 23/05/2023 19:58:06    2481072

Replying To jobber:  "The key to Westmeaths future is the growth of hurling in Mullingar and Athlone who have half the population between them but little hurling tradition especially in Athlone but its beginning to change but needs a lot of nurturing."
Hurling at underage is already growing rapidly in the south of the country with Southern Gaels, Fr.Dalton's and St.Brigid's numbers increasing year on year and becoming competitive as stand alone clubs. It is the decline in numbers in the North of the county I would be worried about. Every club is amalgamating and creating elite teams which in turns doesn't bring on the weaker players which could be gems in the future.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 25/05/2023 11:45:34    2481472

Hurling at underage is already growing rapidly in the south of the country with Southern Gaels, Fr.Dalton's and St.Brigid's numbers increasing year on year and becoming competitive as stand alone clubs. It is the decline in numbers in the North of the county I would be worried about. Every club is amalgamating and creating elite teams which in turns doesn't bring on the weaker players which could be gems in the future.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 25/05/2023 11:55:26    2481476

Replying To Yellow&Green:  "Hurling at underage is already growing rapidly in the south of the country with Southern Gaels, Fr.Dalton's and St.Brigid's numbers increasing year on year and becoming competitive as stand alone clubs. It is the decline in numbers in the North of the county I would be worried about. Every club is amalgamating and creating elite teams which in turns doesn't bring on the weaker players which could be gems in the future."
Have to agree with that, all 3 clubs putting in excellent work now in underage, I'd love to see them close the gap on Castletown, Raharney and Clonkill at underage next. Plunketts already have.. and Daltons, Brigids and Southern Gaels have the playing numbers now. I seen Brigids bet Raharney at u13 recently.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 782 - 25/05/2023 18:06:56    2481612

Replying To Dheen:  "Have to agree with that, all 3 clubs putting in excellent work now in underage, I'd love to see them close the gap on Castletown, Raharney and Clonkill at underage next. Plunketts already have.. and Daltons, Brigids and Southern Gaels have the playing numbers now. I seen Brigids bet Raharney at u13 recently."
That's good news as they have doon very little over the last 20 years considering their population.I see they have 2 lads on under 16 panel.Plunketts have a good few but nobody from Athlone or Daltons

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 26/05/2023 10:21:42    2481668

Worrying that the traditional clubs in north of county now consist of amalgamations, obviously a population issue although thought Castlepollard might have sole numbers based on area, the Na Piarsaigh set up has been very successful and an example of how to operate.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1489 - 26/05/2023 15:30:49    2481767

Replying To jobber:  "That's good news as they have doon very little over the last 20 years considering their population.I see they have 2 lads on under 16 panel.Plunketts have a good few but nobody from Athlone or Daltons"
Yeah a Westmeath u16 selection playing Roscommon minors in celtic challenge final

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 782 - 26/05/2023 15:46:21    2481773

Replying To Dheen:  "Have to agree with that, all 3 clubs putting in excellent work now in underage, I'd love to see them close the gap on Castletown, Raharney and Clonkill at underage next. Plunketts already have.. and Daltons, Brigids and Southern Gaels have the playing numbers now. I seen Brigids bet Raharney at u13 recently."
St.Brigid's under 13s have won again Raharney, St.Vincent's, Cullion,Dalton's, Gaels already this year and in the under 13 Div.2 final. The won against Castletown last year as well in the championship. Under 15s made the championship final last year as well in Div.2..Moving in the right direction. The key is feeding lads into adult teams in the future.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 26/05/2023 16:05:39    2481782

Whatever about amalgamations at underage level I would hate to see it at adult level in westmeath, there's only a small amount of clubs in the county as it stands, each club no matter how small has their own proud history in the game going back to the formation of the association. Hurling really is ingrained in the fibre of north westmeath more so than many parts of ireland and each club is unique.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 27/05/2023 10:55:58    2481874

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Worrying that the traditional clubs in north of county now consist of amalgamations, obviously a population issue although thought Castlepollard might have sole numbers based on area, the Na Piarsaigh set up has been very successful and an example of how to operate."
Agree that the NaPiarsaigh amalgamation is very successful and strong, my fear is that the lads that are not as strong from each club will be left behind. I feel that if you have enough players to make a single team, that is the model you should try and go for and find your level. Only 12 teams operating at under 13s, 11 at under 15s and 9 or 10 at under 17s.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 27/05/2023 15:38:17    2481934

You better win tomorrow lads

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 27/05/2023 17:50:42    2481962

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You better win tomorrow lads"
its going to be a huge game

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 27/05/2023 19:09:04    2481976

50/50 game tomorrow. We would be doing a solid for Wexford if we win.
That said, I'd love to see Westmeath finish 4th in the group!
That would be a huge step for hurling in the county!

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 27/05/2023 19:16:16    2481981

Should never got a in that situation, Wexford just not been anywhere good enough this year. Carlow and Westmeath shown fight and passion that Wexford never have this year.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 138 - 27/05/2023 19:36:14    2481996

Replying To Jedobi:  "Should never got a in that situation, Wexford just not been anywhere good enough this year. Carlow and Westmeath shown fight and passion that Wexford never have this year."
Indeed no guarantees if Wexford do go down that they will bounce straight back up. Offaly and Carlow have had that experience themselves.
If they do, it could be a good chance to clear house and regroup.
Also might give the Joe Mc completion some more respect.

35OLT (USA) - Posts: 90 - 27/05/2023 20:20:20    2482010

Replying To 35OLT:  "50/50 game tomorrow. We would be doing a solid for Wexford if we win.
That said, I'd love to see Westmeath finish 4th in the group!
That would be a huge step for hurling in the county!"
Would love to see Antrim win tomorrow as important for Ulster to be represented in Top tier and secondly hopefully results go Westmeath's way and they stay up too. It would be interesting to see the media coverage of the Joe McDonagh Cup next year with Offaly and Wexford both there. Nothing again either county but great to see underdog winning in hurling. Fair play to Carlow on winning and Offaly as today's game showcased a great competition! Brilliant game.

HurlingObserver (Down) - Posts: 60 - 27/05/2023 21:08:09    2482017

Your destiny is in your own hands, would ye like Kilkenny to give ye the game?

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 28/05/2023 00:38:53    2482067