Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To Dheen:  "David Williams, Conor Gaffney, Peter Clarke, Rhian Holding and David O'Reilly will benefit massively from playing against the physicality and speed of teams like Galway, when they go to play with the u20s this year they won't come up against that level.

Jogger, Joey Boyle and Ciaran Doyle are subs but expect them 3 to start.
Is there any chance of management convincing Aonghus Clarke, Niall O'Brien and and the grevilles to play Joe Mcdonagh? Probably not but worth a try.

Jamie Mulkearns out injured along with Killian Doyle and Davy Glennon it seems."
It's hard to believe such change in a few months.Good to see Owen McCabe Clinton and Mitch starting.Today is likely to be a very difficult day but at least the young lads will have that experience.
When Jogger,Kilian,Glennon,Joey and Robbie Greville return it will strengthen things a lot.
However we really need Aonghus,Conor Shaw and Jamie Mulkearns as well.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 03/02/2024 09:53:16    2523982

Some amount of changes in personnel on the named team since we played Galway last year and we saw how that went, I think it's 10 different starters in total?
Hopefully the lads give a good account of themselves, it's going to be an uphill struggle for the next few weeks and then focus on retaining Joe McDonagh status

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 03/02/2024 11:06:16    2523991

Replying To jobber:  "It's hard to believe such change in a few months.Good to see Owen McCabe Clinton and Mitch starting.Today is likely to be a very difficult day but at least the young lads will have that experience.
When Jogger,Kilian,Glennon,Joey and Robbie Greville return it will strengthen things a lot.
However we really need Aonghus,Conor Shaw and Jamie Mulkearns as well."
You need absolutely everyone to commit to get the best out of the team. Small numbers in the county to pick from.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 03/02/2024 14:45:07    2524022

Replying To preddan:  "You need absolutely everyone to commit to get the best out of the team. Small numbers in the county to pick from."
Robbie and Gary Greville, Aonghus and Niall O' Brien have opted out for this year, they've all given tremendous service, hopefully the break will entice them back next year, one positive sign is that the younger lads here in Salthill have been among the brighter sparks but it's been very hard, men against boys physically and hurling wise.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1494 - 03/02/2024 15:22:30    2524027

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Robbie and Gary Greville, Aonghus and Niall O' Brien have opted out for this year, they've all given tremendous service, hopefully the break will entice them back next year, one positive sign is that the younger lads here in Salthill have been among the brighter sparks but it's been very hard, men against boys physically and hurling wise."
Bodes well for u20s this year but unfortunately its going to be a tough year at senior by the looks of it.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 790 - 03/02/2024 15:50:33    2524031

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Robbie and Gary Greville, Aonghus and Niall O' Brien have opted out for this year, they've all given tremendous service, hopefully the break will entice them back next year, one positive sign is that the younger lads here in Salthill have been among the brighter sparks but it's been very hard, men against boys physically and hurling wise."
Robbie is back training so let's not give up.Its always the same in Salthill even if we have our best 15 out.Galway will destroy you when they don't have any pressure.Some day Please God our day will come because when the pressure comes on they calve.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1457 - 03/02/2024 17:35:51    2524038

Replying To jobber:  "Robbie is back training so let's not give up.Its always the same in Salthill even if we have our best 15 out.Galway will destroy you when they don't have any pressure.Some day Please God our day will come because when the pressure comes on they calve."
Have to be capable of applying that pressure though

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 03/02/2024 19:49:32    2524052

Replying To jobber:  "Robbie is back training so let's not give up.Its always the same in Salthill even if we have our best 15 out.Galway will destroy you when they don't have any pressure.Some day Please God our day will come because when the pressure comes on they calve."
We've just got beaten by 31 points, hardly the time to be criticising Galway's alleged tendency to collapse under pressure, they've been arguably 2nd best team in the country for the last 10 years,

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1494 - 04/02/2024 07:34:12    2524124

Replying To Claretandblue:  "We've just got beaten by 31 points, hardly the time to be criticising Galway's alleged tendency to collapse under pressure, they've been arguably 2nd best team in the country for the last 10 years,"
Absolutely, they are next to Limerick and no surprise really we were hammered by them down in Pearse stadium with our young and inexperienced side. Even if we had a full team to pick from we would consider getting within 8-10 points as a good showing.
As you said yourself, the only positive you can take from it is the performances of the u20s. I for one will be paying more interest in the u20s than senior this year, they have a very good side, good management and are the future. From what I've heard they are going very well under Kevin O'Brien, Brendan Murtagh and John Shaw, with big numbers.
The few of them that played against Galway will have found it extremely tough but you have to commend them for their efforts and it'll definitely benefit them in their own grade this year.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 790 - 04/02/2024 09:15:16    2524131

Replying To Claretandblue:  "We've just got beaten by 31 points, hardly the time to be criticising Galway's alleged tendency to collapse under pressure, they've been arguably 2nd best team in the country for the last 10 years,"
I agree with all of this except the second best team in Ireland which must be Kilkenny. We however are as far away as ever from being up to required standard. I'm pretty sure Galway have trounced us every time we have met them since 1987 I think it was when we beat them….no matter what team we had out.
We are however doing well to be playing at this grade and make great efforts compared to many counties which must be commended.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1017 - 04/02/2024 09:29:34    2524132

Look hopefully lads will keep their heads up we are in transition, blood lads in the league. Good exposure to top level hurling. All Ireland champions Limerick coming next to Cusack park. Hopefully a good local crowd will show up. It was always going to be a tough spring. Hopefully lads will learn a bit and challenge for the Joe McDonagh cup later on.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 230 - 04/02/2024 09:40:14    2524134

Replying To Dheen:  "Bodes well for u20s this year but unfortunately its going to be a tough year at senior by the looks of it."
Struggle to see how getting pumped by 31 points benefits anyone

DanGer966 (Westmeath) - Posts: 21 - 04/02/2024 10:23:42    2524141

Agre but 2nd best not clear that's arguably kk but ye up there

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 04/02/2024 11:20:59    2524156

Calve? Hurlers hurl, cows calve!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 04/02/2024 11:24:39    2524159

That type of winning or losing margin is of no use to any team.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 04/02/2024 11:38:21    2524161

Replying To DanGer966:  "Struggle to see how getting pumped by 31 points benefits anyone"
Conor Gaffney and Peter Clarke showed up well, David Williams (0-08, 7f) David O'Reilly off the bench with 0-02. Rhian Holding didn't come on. 19 year olds but showed up well against a team who'll be competing to win the All Ireland this year. Don't see how it wouldn't stand to them in their own grade in the months ahead.
It's the positive I'd take from an extremely difficult day.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 790 - 04/02/2024 12:34:20    2524173

Further away from the top table in hurling than we have been in ages, let's call a spade a spade. That's twice in a row that Galway have hammered us by over 30 points, this wouldn't have happened a few years ago. Unfortunately we are division 1 in name only, as other posters have alluded to this type of contest does no good for either side.
A lot of talk here about being in transition, that's just an excuse, the same was said 4 or 5 years ago and the talk then was of this perceived golden generation coming along that were better than anything we'd seen in ages, well that's come and gone pretty quick with many of them bowing out in their prime, for whatever reasons, fair play they gave it a go but the truth is that we are not producing any kind of a conveyor belt of talent that is an improvement or even as good as what's been there in the last few years. Fact.
A few natural talents here and there but what's being done to help nurture them along and maximise their abilities and potential.
A lot of excuses about lack of resources and a lot of blame has been thrown at the county board in the past and it's been remarked how our model and strength and conditioning etc is way behind other counties, but I think that it's the clubs who are culpable here.
The hurling clubs in this county seem to be lacking badly in this area compared to in other counties. If you look at the top clubs at senior level elsewhere, their s & c is such that many of them look like county teams, and they're handing over their top players to the county panels with much of this groundwork already done, before they're then brought on another level. The young lads and under 20s being mentioned here are far behind in physical development than any of the young lads we saw playing in Croke Park in the club finals a couple of weeks ago. There's lads playing senior club hurling in the county the last few years who are mad out of shape.
And technical skills as well. There are lads playing senior club hurling who can only strike one side, and on the county panel as well. There are senior club players who can't strike it half the length of the field. None of this happens in the counties that we are aspiring to emulate.
Unless the clubs step up to the mark there's going to be a long barren spell where we're playing in the Christy Ring tournament and not the Liam McCarthy.
I know I'm probably going to be set upon now and accused of being negative and not behind the lads, but it couldn't be farther from the truth. I'm in no way trying to knock the efforts of those involved at the minute, I know they put in Trojan work, but more needs to be done for the young players in the county from the standards set for them early on within their own clubs ahead of being exposed to the demands of inter county. I'd be interested to hear other posters views on this.

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 04/02/2024 12:41:30    2524175

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Further away from the top table in hurling than we have been in ages, let's call a spade a spade. That's twice in a row that Galway have hammered us by over 30 points, this wouldn't have happened a few years ago. Unfortunately we are division 1 in name only, as other posters have alluded to this type of contest does no good for either side.
A lot of talk here about being in transition, that's just an excuse, the same was said 4 or 5 years ago and the talk then was of this perceived golden generation coming along that were better than anything we'd seen in ages, well that's come and gone pretty quick with many of them bowing out in their prime, for whatever reasons, fair play they gave it a go but the truth is that we are not producing any kind of a conveyor belt of talent that is an improvement or even as good as what's been there in the last few years. Fact.
A few natural talents here and there but what's being done to help nurture them along and maximise their abilities and potential.
A lot of excuses about lack of resources and a lot of blame has been thrown at the county board in the past and it's been remarked how our model and strength and conditioning etc is way behind other counties, but I think that it's the clubs who are culpable here.
The hurling clubs in this county seem to be lacking badly in this area compared to in other counties. If you look at the top clubs at senior level elsewhere, their s & c is such that many of them look like county teams, and they're handing over their top players to the county panels with much of this groundwork already done, before they're then brought on another level. The young lads and under 20s being mentioned here are far behind in physical development than any of the young lads we saw playing in Croke Park in the club finals a couple of weeks ago. There's lads playing senior club hurling in the county the last few years who are mad out of shape.
And technical skills as well. There are lads playing senior club hurling who can only strike one side, and on the county panel as well. There are senior club players who can't strike it half the length of the field. None of this happens in the counties that we are aspiring to emulate.
Unless the clubs step up to the mark there's going to be a long barren spell where we're playing in the Christy Ring tournament and not the Liam McCarthy.
I know I'm probably going to be set upon now and accused of being negative and not behind the lads, but it couldn't be farther from the truth. I'm in no way trying to knock the efforts of those involved at the minute, I know they put in Trojan work, but more needs to be done for the young players in the county from the standards set for them early on within their own clubs ahead of being exposed to the demands of inter county. I'd be interested to hear other posters views on this."
True in some what u said but clubs are mad in money like inter County team for developing players comes down to person doing work themselves too but not all down clubs to have fully ready shape but not far off otherwise what's point inter County setup and sure clubs not awash with money. Do agree with skills etc though

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 04/02/2024 13:49:52    2524185

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Further away from the top table in hurling than we have been in ages, let's call a spade a spade. That's twice in a row that Galway have hammered us by over 30 points, this wouldn't have happened a few years ago. Unfortunately we are division 1 in name only, as other posters have alluded to this type of contest does no good for either side.
I know I'm probably going to be set upon now and accused of being negative and not behind the lads, but it couldn't be farther from the truth. I'm in no way trying to knock the efforts of those involved at the minute, I know they put in Trojan work, but more needs to be done for the young players in the county from the standards set for them early on within their own clubs ahead of being exposed to the demands of inter county. I'd be interested to hear other posters views on this."
With them in county setups sometimes can be hard club to do this maybe more coordination and communication across county clubs but at the same clubs mostly do not have access to resources to standard of inter County. Also any county that loose 8 or 9 good players would be under pressure

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 04/02/2024 13:56:47    2524187

With them in county setups sometimes can be hard club to do this maybe more coordination and communication across county clubs but at the same clubs mostly do not have access to resources to standard of inter County. Also any county that loose 8 or 9 good players would be under pressure

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 04/02/2024 14:39:58    2524196