Westmeath Hurling thread

Some good points there but give practical ways of improving things. In Castletown what do you suggest they do to produce better quality hurlers? The county champions had an AGM recently and had to hold an EGM three weeks to try to fill key officer positions.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 04/02/2024 17:16:38    2524268

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Further away from the top table in hurling than we have been in ages, let's call a spade a spade. That's twice in a row that Galway have hammered us by over 30 points, this wouldn't have happened a few years ago. Unfortunately we are division 1 in name only, as other posters have alluded to this type of contest does no good for either side.
A lot of talk here about being in transition, that's just an excuse, the same was said 4 or 5 years ago and the talk then was of this perceived golden generation coming along that were better than anything we'd seen in ages, well that's come and gone pretty quick with many of them bowing out in their prime, for whatever reasons, fair play they gave it a go but the truth is that we are not producing any kind of a conveyor belt of talent that is an improvement or even as good as what's been there in the last few years. Fact.
A few natural talents here and there but what's being done to help nurture them along and maximise their abilities and potential.
A lot of excuses about lack of resources and a lot of blame has been thrown at the county board in the past and it's been remarked how our model and strength and conditioning etc is way behind other counties, but I think that it's the clubs who are culpable here.
The hurling clubs in this county seem to be lacking badly in this area compared to in other counties. If you look at the top clubs at senior level elsewhere, their s & c is such that many of them look like county teams, and they're handing over their top players to the county panels with much of this groundwork already done, before they're then brought on another level. The young lads and under 20s being mentioned here are far behind in physical development than any of the young lads we saw playing in Croke Park in the club finals a couple of weeks ago. There's lads playing senior club hurling in the county the last few years who are mad out of shape.
And technical skills as well. There are lads playing senior club hurling who can only strike one side, and on the county panel as well. There are senior club players who can't strike it half the length of the field. None of this happens in the counties that we are aspiring to emulate.
Unless the clubs step up to the mark there's going to be a long barren spell where we're playing in the Christy Ring tournament and not the Liam McCarthy.
I know I'm probably going to be set upon now and accused of being negative and not behind the lads, but it couldn't be farther from the truth. I'm in no way trying to knock the efforts of those involved at the minute, I know they put in Trojan work, but more needs to be done for the young players in the county from the standards set for them early on within their own clubs ahead of being exposed to the demands of inter county. I'd be interested to hear other posters views on this."
This was a crashing defeat no doubt about it.However being without Jogger, Aonghus,O Brien,Kilian Doyle, Robbie Greville,Conor Shaw,Davie Glennon,Joey Boyle etc are a massive bodyblow to Westmeath.
At least half of these will be back for Joe McDonagh and I for one remain confident we can have a real go at winning it.
Anyone who has any knowledge will be aware of the progress we have made over the past 20 years and be proud of the achievements of our players.Winning Joe McDonagh maintaining division 1 status for 3 years with a championship win and draw over Wexford from a county with only 15 hurling clubs,6 of them senior is not to be discredited.

I have no doubt these lads will bounce back
Iarmhi Abu!

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 04/02/2024 17:23:06    2524269

The county needs more hurlers and more hurling clubs.
Just don't have the pick to compete

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 04/02/2024 18:28:34    2524296

Replying To valley84:  "The county needs more hurlers and more hurling clubs.
Just don't have the pick to compete"
Yeah well that's ultimately it isn't it, we need more hurling clubs in order to compete at division 1 level.
The need to grow the game in our urban areas.
In my opinion the small rural clubs are doing a great job, when you look at Clann Na Gael winning the u13 division 1 final with a lot of Brownstown lads on it.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 792 - 04/02/2024 19:19:02    2524311

Replying To jobber:  "This was a crashing defeat no doubt about it.However being without Jogger, Aonghus,O Brien,Kilian Doyle, Robbie Greville,Conor Shaw,Davie Glennon,Joey Boyle etc are a massive bodyblow to Westmeath.
At least half of these will be back for Joe McDonagh and I for one remain confident we can have a real go at winning it.
Anyone who has any knowledge will be aware of the progress we have made over the past 20 years and be proud of the achievements of our players.Winning Joe McDonagh maintaining division 1 status for 3 years with a championship win and draw over Wexford from a county with only 15 hurling clubs,6 of them senior is not to be discredited.

I have no doubt these lads will bounce back
Iarmhi Abu!"
Is the present team and players where you want them to be though. I was years waiting for this team to reach div 1 of the league which they did eventually and survived their first year and last year with a relegation win over laois. As regards the championship they went down last year fair and square in the end but then again Wexford gave themselves an advantage with a late throw in v Kilkenny.
I often wonder could the player's and team pushed on further at senior level at the county with the experience of Playing in a Leinster final at u21(2016 2023) or minor (99,2011,2015) which would have helped in development.the opportunity was there but was missed unfortunately. I think the effort should be try to get to an underage provincial final in the coming years. Carlow done it in 2006 with smaller resources than Westmeath.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 04/02/2024 19:19:09    2524312

Replying To Dheen:  "Yeah well that's ultimately it isn't it, we need more hurling clubs in order to compete at division 1 level.
In my opinion the small rural clubs are doing a great job, when you look at Clann Na Gael winning the u13 division 1 final with a lot of Brownstown lads on it."
Simply explain how?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 04/02/2024 20:02:04    2524340

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Simply explain how?"
It would be very difficult to do but we know that more clubs in urban areas like Athlone, Moate, Mullingar and Kinnegad would improve our chances at county level significantly. The main priority for the County board now is the COE and getting that built and up and running but maybe in the future they could look at ways to increase participation in the big urban areas and start a couple of new juvenile clubs. I always felt that if Southern Gaels had a rival club in Athlone to compete with it would increase interest and participation. Similar to Athlone/Garrycastle.
I believe Garrycastle actually had a hurling team at one point.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 792 - 04/02/2024 20:49:32    2524357

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Simply explain how?"
He said it himself. Urban hurling clubs.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 04/02/2024 20:57:14    2524361

Replying To Dheen:  "Yeah well that's ultimately it isn't it, we need more hurling clubs in order to compete at division 1 level.
In my opinion the small rural clubs are doing a great job, when you look at Clann Na Gael winning the u13 division 1 final with a lot of Brownstown lads on it."
Clan Na Gaels certainly had a good win in the under 13 division 1 but are amalgamation not reducing the player numbers, joining a senior team and a very strong Senior B team together at underage probably means plenty of lads that want to hurl are sitting on the side lines watching the stronger players. More needs to be done at underage to support the clubs we already have to field their own teams.

Yellow&Green (Westmeath) - Posts: 44 - 04/02/2024 21:16:05    2524369

With the underage rural clubs Amalgamations its a bit of a catch 22. If u asked any U13 Clann Na Gael young lad at the start of 2023 would he prefer to win an U13 Div 2 title with your own club, or, be able to compete with the big boys in an amalgamation and a chance of winning of winning Div 1 title I'm sure the majority would vote for a chance at Div 1.
Whether we like rural amalgamations or not, there is no other option if these areas simply don't have the numbers.

Bigjoe1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 40 - 05/02/2024 19:43:52    2524629

Replying To Bigjoe1:  "With the underage rural clubs Amalgamations its a bit of a catch 22. If u asked any U13 Clann Na Gael young lad at the start of 2023 would he prefer to win an U13 Div 2 title with your own club, or, be able to compete with the big boys in an amalgamation and a chance of winning of winning Div 1 title I'm sure the majority would vote for a chance at Div 1.
Whether we like rural amalgamations or not, there is no other option if these areas simply don't have the numbers."
The clubs in question would barely be able to field at U13 on their own.
The key thing is, are all the 13 year olds getting to play or are the good 12 and 11 year olds playing ahead of them

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 08/02/2024 20:40:12    2525163

Another very tough assignment on Sunday, Limerick likely to have only 6-7 regulars but their panel of 46 likely to be reduced shortly so new faces won't lack motivation, anything less than a 25 point defeat will be acceptable for us, sounds defeatist but realistic

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 09/02/2024 10:52:27    2525208

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Another very tough assignment on Sunday, Limerick likely to have only 6-7 regulars but their panel of 46 likely to be reduced shortly so new faces won't lack motivation, anything less than a 25 point defeat will be acceptable for us, sounds defeatist but realistic"
Its a tough gig this division 1 as it stands. Lads in a way getting thrown under a bus. At least they are rejigging it next year. Division 1A is a division of top 7 ranked teams. Division 1B is next 7 where Westmeath will be operating. Teams 8 to 14. Makes a lot more sense. Good luck to the lads. Honesty of effort is all you can ask for. Play to the last ball. Its always going to be David v Goliath at the very top. From last game Galway have 43 hurling clubs v Westmeaths 15.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 230 - 10/02/2024 00:23:33    2525277

Conor Gaffney starts again at corner back and David Williams in at corner forward again. David O'Reilly comes in at wing forward after his impressive cameo vs Galway last weekend. Peter Clarke and Rhian Holding on the bench. These lads are going to be playing a lot of games this year. Fortune said during the week that they will be getting all the Division 1 league, there's a bit of breathing space because of no relegation. The high level games will definitely stand to the young lads. It's giving Tommy Doyle, Davy Glennon, Robbie Greville, Killian Doyle etc a chance to get some need rehabilitation in before Joe Mcdonagh. I'd say those 4/5 u20s will be starting in the championship though as they are showing up well so far.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 792 - 10/02/2024 10:36:50    2525296

Starting team something along the lines of the last day as expected, not a lot there to add to it at the moment. Limerick team far from full strength which should go a little bit easier on the result. Big thing is the application and above all the performance, haven't seen one so far this year apart from one or two individuals.

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 10/02/2024 11:20:47    2525300

Replying To CleanShoulder:  "Starting team something along the lines of the last day as expected, not a lot there to add to it at the moment. Limerick team far from full strength which should go a little bit easier on the result. Big thing is the application and above all the performance, haven't seen one so far this year apart from one or two individuals."
We've only played one game in reality.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1500 - 10/02/2024 15:23:15    2525326

Replying To Claretandblue:  "We've only played one game in reality."
What we want tomorrow is a big performance with 80 minutes of commitment.Good to see Robbie Greville back training if not on 26

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1458 - 10/02/2024 15:51:41    2525329

Replying To Claretandblue:  "We've only played one game in reality."
Two, Parnell park as well. mostly the same personnel in both games

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 10/02/2024 17:30:17    2525339

Great effort by a young inexperienced Westmeath side to hold the All Ireland champions to 6 pts.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 792 - 11/02/2024 15:43:47    2525463

Brilliant performance

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 11/02/2024 15:47:09    2525466