Wicklow GAA thread

I for one will say fair play to the county board for getting the big sponsorship deal. Hopefully it will lead to better days in a few years time. We all give out about the county board from time to time but credit when it is due!

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - Posts: 124 - 26/10/2022 17:20:13    2445543

Replying To stringfellohawk:  "I for one will say fair play to the county board for getting the big sponsorship deal. Hopefully it will lead to better days in a few years time. We all give out about the county board from time to time but credit when it is due!"
I will my congrats to all involved in this latest development. I have been, and no doubt will be again, critical of the Co Board in the past and I think most if not all was merited. But this new deal changes everything in that money should no longer be an issue in preparing and coaching our players and younger ones. That is one of the most important aspects to my mind - that juveniles will benefit hugely. I echo Martin's hopes that within 5 yrs our teams should be capable of holding their own with the best in Leinster. Again, a hearty congratulations on a brilliant coup. Well done one and all.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 994 - 26/10/2022 19:01:21    2445555

Replying To Monopoly:  "Green and white glasses on?"
Possibly I do. There was someone in Aughrim on October 8th who could have done with some glasses too my friend and thats the sad fact in all of this. As I said we will be back and have learned plenty about plenty.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 26/10/2022 21:32:02    2445573

I see Davy Burke has dipped his toe into inter county management again. Very best of luck to him.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 994 - 26/10/2022 21:57:25    2445576

Replying To Freethinker:  "I see Davy Burke has dipped his toe into inter county management again. Very best of luck to him."
What did the Wicklow people make of his time as manager out of curiosity?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 27/10/2022 09:47:07    2445592

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "What did the Wicklow people make of his time as manager out of curiosity?"
By and large he would have been regarded as a success. The players bought into his ideas. It was a bit unclear why he left. Some think he thought that with the Kildare job coming up that he might be appointed and was clearing the decks. From people who knew him well, that was never the case it was more a disagreement on how to move forward. No meeting of minds sort of thing. There were issues over u20 involvement as well. As I said, it was a bit unclear. I would imagine he will be prove more than capable of bringing the best out of Roscommon.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 994 - 27/10/2022 10:34:13    2445603

Replying To Freethinker:  "By and large he would have been regarded as a success. The players bought into his ideas. It was a bit unclear why he left. Some think he thought that with the Kildare job coming up that he might be appointed and was clearing the decks. From people who knew him well, that was never the case it was more a disagreement on how to move forward. No meeting of minds sort of thing. There were issues over u20 involvement as well. As I said, it was a bit unclear. I would imagine he will be prove more than capable of bringing the best out of Roscommon."
Seems like the sort of fella that would bring players with him and I've ehard good things from his work at Maynooth.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 27/10/2022 12:30:21    2445639

Replying To Freethinker:  "By and large he would have been regarded as a success. The players bought into his ideas. It was a bit unclear why he left. Some think he thought that with the Kildare job coming up that he might be appointed and was clearing the decks. From people who knew him well, that was never the case it was more a disagreement on how to move forward. No meeting of minds sort of thing. There were issues over u20 involvement as well. As I said, it was a bit unclear. I would imagine he will be prove more than capable of bringing the best out of Roscommon."
Not sure why Davy Burke left Wicklow. Unless he knew something from behind the scene in Kildare; there was no hint that Jack O'Connor was about to leave Kildare when Davy Burke left his Wicklow post. He is an ambitious guy and based upon what i know he is a big loss to Wicklow. Roscommon are getting an impressive guy, however, his ultimate ambition is to manage Kildare so Roscommon is a stepping stone and a chance for him to prove himself at the highest level which he wasn't going to get with Wicklow.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 27/10/2022 12:48:47    2445644

Kudos to the county board for securing major sponsorship of 1.5 million with Echelon Data Centres and the home builder Beakonshaw. Alot of criticism has been dished out to the county board including by me but they've secured the services of good managers in both hurling and football along with the financial resources mentioned in recent days. Well done, it is now over to the players to step forth.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 28/10/2022 11:13:43    2445763

i think its ground breaking news.. Hopefully more GDO's around the county and get more into school etc, but it may take several year to reap the rewards..

Wouldn't it be amazing if the GAA would match it as I do believe Wicklow is a county that is under-resourced considering its potential from a population point of view.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 28/10/2022 11:44:42    2445770

I thought I had posted this last night after I had read the details but must have been too late. I want to give hearty congrats to all involved in landing this massive shot in the arm for our games within the county. It probably has been the missing ingredient within the county for years. I have often been critical of the Co Board in the past and possibly will again but this has to be called as it is - amazing. Possibly now I just might get to see our lads in or around a Leinster final before I kick the bucket.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 994 - 28/10/2022 13:06:09    2445781

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "What did the Wicklow people make of his time as manager out of curiosity?"
He was great.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 28/10/2022 13:13:28    2445784

I thought he did well for the short time he was in the job. He got us promotion to division 3 and kept us there; the split league due to covid may have assisted us but at the same time we beat the reigning ulster champions in an one-off game to stay up which is a fair achievement. I was disappointed when he left as i would like to have seen what he would have done in his third year. He is an ambitious guy and won't be afraid to set out what he wants to achieve. Best of luck to him and Roscommon in the years ahead.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1910 - 29/10/2022 13:02:27    2445852

Even now, I'd have Burke back in a second. Did a fantastic job with little support.

FrankieJoe (Wicklow) - Posts: 71 - 29/10/2022 20:33:42    2445908

Looking forward to seeing how Laragh and Eire Og Greystones progress on their respective Leinster campaigns. Any idea if Hayden will be available to play the next day?

neutralfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 222 - 31/10/2022 19:55:16    2446073

Replying To neutralfan:  "Looking forward to seeing how Laragh and Eire Og Greystones progress on their respective Leinster campaigns. Any idea if Hayden will be available to play the next day?"
And not forgetting Tinahely Ladies who take on the might of Kilamucd Crokes in the Leinster Final on Sunday.Good luck to all representing the County.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 01/11/2022 09:36:33    2446088

Replying To dubarra:  "And not forgetting Tinahely Ladies who take on the might of Kilamucd Crokes in the Leinster Final on Sunday.Good luck to all representing the County."
Yes of course. These Ladies have been incredible over the last number of years, great ambassadors for our county.

neutralfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 222 - 01/11/2022 19:56:14    2446161

Are Arklow coming again with another crop? I see they won the minor.

heavyheart19 (Wicklow) - Posts: 116 - 01/11/2022 21:17:33    2446171

Replying To heavyheart19:  "Are Arklow coming again with another crop? I see they won the minor."
From chatting with lads involved with another team in Minor A, this Arklow bunch are pretty decent. I think some of their other underage sides are decent as well. Hopefully the start of something again in Arklow.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 994 - 02/11/2022 10:59:53    2446201

Arklow and blesiington will dominate underage between them in the years ahead. Already well ahead at the youner ages. Pats and bray barely holding steady. . Rathnew and especially Balto slipping back very badly and same eire Og all in big trouble as well.

Pat Mustard (None) - Posts: 385 - 02/11/2022 14:13:53    2446239