Kildare GAA thread

As a non Kildare man looking in it seems incredible that it has taken ye so long to put this management team in place, this should have been the ticket in place 5 or 6 years ago without needing to turn to the likes of Jack o'connor.

Kildare have quality footballers and have been badly underachieving, they will all look up to kildare legends like Glenn Ryan/Rainbow/johnny doyle now and know their intentions are purely for the betterment of kildare football. At least if they do lose this year it wont be for a want of honesty from that management team

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 01/02/2022 11:43:04    2397659

Oui, we might ..

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 01/02/2022 12:23:22    2397674

Replying To Cuhullain:  ""We""
Looks like Jack O'Connor is amongst us.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 01/02/2022 12:30:05    2397679

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Such a thing to dig up a month old thread for… St Brigid is the patron saint of Kildare. Her monastery is here, she did all her work here and the Kildare GAA crest is modelled off that same cross. I'd say he's more annoyed about the state of the grounds named after him to be honest"
Just curious to know on the days thats in it. Massive point gained.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 01/02/2022 12:45:57    2397683

Dublin game sold out already - sstill 4 weeks away. With all the season tickets (Dublin season ticket holders + Club Kildare), there were limited tickets available to the general public.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 01/02/2022 19:48:30    2397816

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "kildare very athletic team. I think we will Leinster this year."
I knew you were a dodge from the start when you arrived on the Kerry forum and this proves it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/02/2022 11:48:15    2397899

Replying To summerof09:  "Just curious to know on the days thats in it. Massive point gained."
Strange for a Meath man to be out after a defeat like that. Usually only here from you lads when your winning.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 02/02/2022 13:53:17    2397958

....yes quite an athletic team, but we have had more athletic teams in the past, i'd describe ths team as a more gritty and very skilful team, our athletic players are also very skilfull....Paul Cribbin, Mick OGrady, Feely, Dan Flynn, Kevin Flynn and young mcdermott

NorthKildare (Kildare) - Posts: 197 - 02/02/2022 20:35:41    2398040

Congratulations to Naas on a fantastic result today, a super achievement.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 05/02/2022 20:15:18    2398479

Replying To Bon:  "Congratulations to Naas on a fantastic result today, a super achievement."
I'm speechless, great great character.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 271 - 05/02/2022 20:53:16    2398487

Replying To daytona11:  "Strange for a Meath man to be out after a defeat like that. Usually only here from you lads when your winning."
Yes, particularly when Meath managed to score 0-00 (zilch, nothing, nada) in a full half of football. Has that ever happened to any other county before (excluding Kilkenny) in football? It has probably never happened to Kildare.

Meath did redeem itself by kicking the ball over the bar six times in all of the second half.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1911 - 05/02/2022 22:00:25    2398496

Expecting a win today, would want to be putting these away with 3/4 to spare to really put ourselves into contention as genuine Leinster competitors. Strong team named, an even stronger bench.. the likes of McDermott, Neil Flynn, McLoughlin, Hylo… all capable of coming on and making massive impacts. Expecting Kildare by 3+

Cill Dara Abú

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 06/02/2022 11:01:51    2398526

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Expecting a win today, would want to be putting these away with 3/4 to spare to really put ourselves into contention as genuine Leinster competitors. Strong team named, an even stronger bench.. the likes of McDermott, Neil Flynn, McLoughlin, Hylo… all capable of coming on and making massive impacts. Expecting Kildare by 3+

Cill Dara Abú"
Jackson's in Ballybofey full of lilies last night!! Really looking forward to the game. Won't be pretty with the conditions but hopeful of the win

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 06/02/2022 11:53:42    2398534

Poor goals to give away and ultimately costs us. We need to learn quick or it'll be a swift return to Division 2. You'd think we'd need to pick up 2 wins going forward to avoid relegation.
On another note I know McEntees unfounded spitting allegation still irks some us here. He was never made elaborate on that disgraceful slur. Sent off yesterday. I really think the Kildare CB should have looked for kildare players to be fully vindicated and an apology.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 07/02/2022 10:23:32    2398815

Jaysus Hyland is some player, he was roasting Eoghan Bán in my opinion but then Eoghan Bán had a great game going forward. But if you get Hyland enough ball he will do damage against anyone in the country, very impressed with him. There are some very handy players in that Kildare set up. Was also impressed with that mountain of a fella that came on for Feely (hope that injury isn't serious) in the first half. Really dominated in the 2nd half especially when we lost Jason McGee.

If yous were more clinical you'd have reeled us in in that 2nd half I feel. I also felt the ref didn't do yous any favours at all.

Good crowd of Kildare folks up, hope yous enjoyed Ballybofey. Best of luck going forward

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/02/2022 10:32:20    2398824

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Expecting a win today, would want to be putting these away with 3/4 to spare to really put ourselves into contention as genuine Leinster competitors. Strong team named, an even stronger bench.. the likes of McDermott, Neil Flynn, McLoughlin, Hylo… all capable of coming on and making massive impacts. Expecting Kildare by 3+

Cill Dara Abú"
A half strength Donegal team, that lost Murphy after twenty minutes, with a bunch of rookies on the bench put Kildare away comfortably whilst never getting out of second gear. You have no kick out strategy, your transition from defence to attack is ponderous, some of your attackers don't want to do the dirty work and track back and many players looked unsure of their roles. You have a long way to go before being contenders I'm afraid.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 07/02/2022 13:26:19    2398900

Replying To daytona11:  "Poor goals to give away and ultimately costs us. We need to learn quick or it'll be a swift return to Division 2. You'd think we'd need to pick up 2 wins going forward to avoid relegation.
On another note I know McEntees unfounded spitting allegation still irks some us here. He was never made elaborate on that disgraceful slur. Sent off yesterday. I really think the Kildare CB should have looked for kildare players to be fully vindicated and an apology."
I fully agree with you there, he should have been held accountable.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 07/02/2022 13:41:10    2398912

Replying To Cuhullain:  ""We""
ye

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 08/02/2022 07:32:07    2399192

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I knew you were a dodge from the start when you arrived on the Kerry forum and this proves it."
not we "ye"

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 08/02/2022 07:32:57    2399193

Replying To themaddog:  "A half strength Donegal team, that lost Murphy after twenty minutes, with a bunch of rookies on the bench put Kildare away comfortably whilst never getting out of second gear. You have no kick out strategy, your transition from defence to attack is ponderous, some of your attackers don't want to do the dirty work and track back and many players looked unsure of their roles. You have a long way to go before being contenders I'm afraid."
I think Feely was as big a loss for Kildare as Murphy was for Donegal.

The big difference was obviously the 2 goals Donegal scored - both of them were well taken but poor enough to give away with plenty of defenders back. You'd always hear Donnellan shouting at the full back line - with a relatively inexperienced back line; perhaps that experience was missed. Still - that's a lesson you need to learn quickly in Division 1 that you'd probably get away with against most Division 2 teams.

Big test next up against Tyrone who have yet to really get going. Bound to be another close affair - lets hope the lads can see that one through.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 283 - 08/02/2022 11:27:48    2399266