Kildare GAA thread

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Well done Naas. Deserving winners and great for the county to have different winner. Was at their last county final win as well , didn't expect them to wait so long :)
Might see a couple of new players on the kildare panel after today."
Congratulations to Naas - very well deserved. Kildare football needs a strong Naas team. They seemed to get a little bit jittery towards the end but came through it well and were much deserved winners.

There's a good profile in the team with experienced county men ably supported by excellent young players. I hope they can enjoy the celebrations but then knuckle down for a decent tilt at Leinster. I believe this year's Naas team is among the best club teams we've seen in Kildare.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 08/11/2021 14:01:14    2388769

Replying To brianb:  "Congratulations to Naas - very well deserved. Kildare football needs a strong Naas team. They seemed to get a little bit jittery towards the end but came through it well and were much deserved winners.

There's a good profile in the team with experienced county men ably supported by excellent young players. I hope they can enjoy the celebrations but then knuckle down for a decent tilt at Leinster. I believe this year's Naas team is among the best club teams we've seen in Kildare."
well done to Naas, next up Rhode or Tullamore, interestining

naasmanxrhode (Offaly) - Posts: 42 - 08/11/2021 16:47:57    2388795

Replying To naasmanxrhode:  "well done to Naas, next up Rhode or Tullamore, interestining"
I didn't make it to the game but by all accounts Naas were very lucky to come through and setup an interesting clash against Blessington. Its almost a derby game!

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 22/11/2021 10:08:00    2390271

Replying To brianb:  "I didn't make it to the game but by all accounts Naas were very lucky to come through and setup an interesting clash against Blessington. Its almost a derby game!"
You could say they were lucky but yet deserved the win. I was at it and thought it was a good game. Naas had about 5 goal chances and scored two. I thought they had about 60% possession. I really like the attacking play of Naas and hope they keep going to the final. I know absolutely nothing about Blessington but they certainly won't be easy at this stage. Looking forward to the next round

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 22/11/2021 18:19:12    2390373

Replying To St.Conleth:  "You could say they were lucky but yet deserved the win. I was at it and thought it was a good game. Naas had about 5 goal chances and scored two. I thought they had about 60% possession. I really like the attacking play of Naas and hope they keep going to the final. I know absolutely nothing about Blessington but they certainly won't be easy at this stage. Looking forward to the next round"
That was a good win for Naas over the weekend although the scoreline made it look a little bit easier than it was. They were a lot more clinical. Its good to see all our clubs still standing in Leinster.

Next up is Shelmaliers of Wexford. As always its very hard to read any line of form in these games but its bound to be tight.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 07/12/2021 09:47:09    2391937

Replying To brianb:  "That was a good win for Naas over the weekend although the scoreline made it look a little bit easier than it was. They were a lot more clinical. Its good to see all our clubs still standing in Leinster.

Next up is Shelmaliers of Wexford. As always its very hard to read any line of form in these games but its bound to be tight."
Have to say, really enjoyed the game last Sunday.The Naas guys work so hard and always make options for the runners.. some pluses and minuses but overall a great performance.

Where did Luke Griffin come from ?? Scored 2.03 !! I don't remember him at any of the underage games.

With the possibility of it being on tv I might decide to take it easy and let the Naas supporters travel :) .

Btw , nice to hear a few sash lads cheering Naas on. For club and county.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 08/12/2021 14:23:43    2392097

Fantastic win by Naas hurlers. Tore into Glenmore from the off and never let them settle from start to finish. Glenmore were lucky to get out with a six point margin.

Glenmore were tipped for Leinster and all Ireland.
Well done Naas and your supporters!! I'm glad to have witnessed that game .

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 11/12/2021 16:06:22    2392410

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Fantastic win by Naas hurlers. Tore into Glenmore from the off and never let them settle from start to finish. Glenmore were lucky to get out with a six point margin.

Well done Naas and your supporters!! I'm glad to have witnessed that game ."
100% agree. Great to see and congratulations to all involved. Reading in the papers today that Kilkenny teams have practically owned the Leinster Intermediate Club title.

Fair play as well to Kilkenny in general. They've been very open to including teams from other counties in their championships at under age level. It really brought up the standard of club hurling in Carlow with their clubs benefiting massively and now the same appears to be happening for Naas.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 13/12/2021 13:44:44    2392676

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Fantastic win by Naas hurlers. Tore into Glenmore from the off and never let them settle from start to finish. Glenmore were lucky to get out with a six point margin.

Well done Naas and your supporters!! I'm glad to have witnessed that game ."
I concur. Naas have made great strides over the years as regards hurling. I hope they win Leinster. My heart is with Courcey Rovers for the All-Ireland. Hurling at this time of the year does not help skillful sides like Naas or Glenmore.

AwbegRover (Cork) - Posts: 136 - 13/12/2021 14:52:10    2392694

Replying To brianb:  "100% agree. Great to see and congratulations to all involved. Reading in the papers today that Kilkenny teams have practically owned the Leinster Intermediate Club title.

Fair play as well to Kilkenny in general. They've been very open to including teams from other counties in their championships at under age level. It really brought up the standard of club hurling in Carlow with their clubs benefiting massively and now the same appears to be happening for Naas."
Great photo going around after the game of Eoin Murphy on the pitch signing autographs. A class act.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 15/12/2021 16:12:38    2392941

Eamonn Callaghan !! Incredible.

Well done Naas ! Dug it out again. This young team just don't die !

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/12/2021 17:24:35    2393178

30/01 v Kerry (Home, 13:45)
06/02 v Donegal (Away, 14:30)
20/02 v Tyrone (Away, 15:45)
27/02 v Dublin (Home, 13:45)
12/03 v Armagh (Away, 18:00)
20/03 v Monaghan (Home, 14:30)
27/03 v Mayo (Carrick on Shannon, 13:45)

3 home, 3 away, 1 neutral. Cork relegated on 6 points in 2016 whilst 4 points kept Monaghan up in 2019 so hard to know what we'll be looking for to avoid relegation.

3 tough away games to Ulster teams, be doing well to get anything more than 2 points from those 3 games you'd feel. Hopefully hit the ground running with a decent performance in the O'Byrne Cup before the Kerry game comes around.

Presumably we'll be forced to accommodate Dublin season ticket holders before any tickets can be made available to clubs or put on general sale...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 21/12/2021 19:07:24    2393436

Great performance by Naas once it went to extra time on Saturday, doubt many would have been tipping them to go beyond the semi final stage of the county championship at the start of the season never mind get this far.

Very impressive runs being put together by their hurlers and the Kilcullen footballers as well who are also into Leinster finals.

Maynooth winning the Freshers Division 1 football title is good to see as well, few underage players from the minor teams of the last 2 years or so involved there and Neill Flynn involved in the backroom team too.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 21/12/2021 19:12:22    2393438

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Great performance by Naas once it went to extra time on Saturday, doubt many would have been tipping them to go beyond the semi final stage of the county championship at the start of the season never mind get this far.

Very impressive runs being put together by their hurlers and the Kilcullen footballers as well who are also into Leinster finals.

Maynooth winning the Freshers Division 1 football title is good to see as well, few underage players from the minor teams of the last 2 years or so involved there and Neill Flynn involved in the backroom team too."
Fair play to Naas - got out of jail against Tullamore but have made the most of their second chance. A great achievement too for Kilcullen to reach a Leinster Final. They will be up against it in the final but are a tough, hard working team so you never know...

FaithfulRover (Kildare) - Posts: 5 - 04/01/2022 12:51:48    2393540

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "30/01 v Kerry (Home, 13:45)
06/02 v Donegal (Away, 14:30)
20/02 v Tyrone (Away, 15:45)
27/02 v Dublin (Home, 13:45)
12/03 v Armagh (Away, 18:00)
20/03 v Monaghan (Home, 14:30)
27/03 v Mayo (Carrick on Shannon, 13:45)

3 home, 3 away, 1 neutral. Cork relegated on 6 points in 2016 whilst 4 points kept Monaghan up in 2019 so hard to know what we'll be looking for to avoid relegation.

3 tough away games to Ulster teams, be doing well to get anything more than 2 points from those 3 games you'd feel. Hopefully hit the ground running with a decent performance in the O'Byrne Cup before the Kerry game comes around.

Presumably we'll be forced to accommodate Dublin season ticket holders before any tickets can be made available to clubs or put on general sale..."
Does anyone know what the capacity in Newbridge will be set to?

The ground already has a capacity drop from 13,000 to 8,200 for health and safety. Does the covid capacity cut come from the headline (13,000) rate or the already cut rate? To me 5,000 should be allowed attend in line with the regulations rather than 4,100.

brianb (Kildare) - Posts: 278 - 05/01/2022 12:54:39    2393660

Replying To brianb:  "Does anyone know what the capacity in Newbridge will be set to?

The ground already has a capacity drop from 13,000 to 8,200 for health and safety. Does the covid capacity cut come from the headline (13,000) rate or the already cut rate? To me 5,000 should be allowed attend in line with the regulations rather than 4,100."
I take it that season ticket holders will be looked after first.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2022 13:01:28    2393667

What's the story with Kildare captain Mick O Grady wielding a St Brigids cross before the match? Seen a photo on Twitter. Id imagine St Conleth mightnt be happy with it.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 01/02/2022 07:51:04    2397618

Such a thing to dig up a month old thread for… St Brigid is the patron saint of Kildare. Her monastery is here, she did all her work here and the Kildare GAA crest is modelled off that same cross. I'd say he's more annoyed about the state of the grounds named after him to be honest

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 01/02/2022 10:15:19    2397635

kildare very athletic team. I think we will Leinster this year.

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 01/02/2022 10:25:03    2397640

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "kildare very athletic team. I think we will Leinster this year."
"We"

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 270 - 01/02/2022 11:33:35    2397655