Donegal GAA thread

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "Watch it back and tell me what was the Eunans player closest to the first incident doing?
While you're at it watch both goals from Eunans and look at the reaction from them, each time the players are goading and sledging the NC boys and its the same that happens when they score the point that ended up with the red. Now compare that to McGuinness's goal he roars at his teammates not the opposition."
I'd this the same NC player sent off in last year county final for incidents we don't need to get into ?

Is this the same NC player black carded on Sunday for sledging/mouthing at the end of the game costing his team the match ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:24:20    2447778

Replying To The keeper:  "I just stated the referee was harsh on us putting it mildly. Also carlin scored a point that was a meter wide.
However i also stated that it was down to us we got beat and praised the opposition. When your 3 points up with the last kick of the game, or 4 up in extra time, you should see it out.
Despite the likes of rorysboys looking down on Antrim football, its a hard place to go, as they are a proud county and take there gaa serious.
Remember the year gweedore won the ulster final, they still only came out of Belfast with a 4 point victory and got the scare of there lives. So maybe posters should show a bit of respect towards Antrim football. No team ever got an easy game in belfast.
I for one enjoyed our trip into belfast, and have to say had a fantastic day even after we got beat.
The supporter's and staff at the ground were extremely helpful and friendly.
Even when it went to a penalty shoot out, we all agreed neither side deserved to lose that way.
I also stated when we won the county final against kilcar, its no way to decide a gaa match. Its an amateur game and players deserve better.
The referee got it completely wrong in the county final, most honest gaa people including Naomh conail agree that it was never a red card. But has any side ever been critical off a referee when a decision goes there way?
Its been a great year for our club, 2022 county senior champions
Lets hope Donegal gaa show as much resilience as naomh conail has shown over the last 17 years. If they do we will not be far away when it comes to winning silverware."
No they don't but as I mentioned these things have an awful habit of been evened out.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:26:01    2447779

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "So you think the team that in the last 17 years who have only won 2 ulster games and lost 6 ulster games would've done better yesterday for what reason? They were there last year got beat in there own ground and in the county final we the inferior team. They are also Donegals second most decorative team but yet never even competed in an ulster final. So don't come at me with that dribble"
We weren't in ulster 17 years ago - we have been in ulster as many times as you since your maiden voyage in 05 and we both have the same amount of ulster championships.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:28:02    2447781

Replying To The keeper:  "I can tell you for a fact, there was no naomh conail player or supporter that expected anything other than a massive battle in belfast.
There is just one poster on here, who has little knowledge about the game, that continues to drag people into arguments. A key board warrior.

Good luck to Carlin gaa in the next round, i would love to see yous in an ulster final.

As whether Eunans could of done better, well they weren't good enough on county final day, so we will never know. But they have not a great history in ulster, so they cant really talk."
We weren't the ones taking tho - we are been dragged into the argument by people trying to get one up on each other.

The reality is we hammered glenties/Fintown in last year final and fell short by 1 point in ulster against the team primed to be ulster champions this year.

The boys in blue scrapped past us in this year final in dubious circumstances and also fell short in ulster.

Fact of the matter is that neither were good enough

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:31:34    2447785

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Ah your back, it took you a good while to get over the County Final."
Not really I've posted multiple times since the final - you only seem to have appeared on here since the final tho trying to get little digs in.

It's lads like u that don't do your fantastic club any favours

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:33:07    2447786

Replying To The keeper:  "The fact is other that gweedore and naomh conail, there are no other teams in Donegal have done anything in ulster this past 20 years. With gweedore winning ulster, and naomh conail reaching two ulster finals.
The fact is also any team that has ever had to go into belfast, never has got an easy game.
There teams may in the last ten years have failed to progress in the first round, but they were always close games in belfast. So yes you are disrespecting Antrim football. All just to have a dig at naomh conail and a few posters here. Sad really.

We will hold our heads up high, 2022 Donegal senior champions. And that with our best forward and defender out all season. The facts are, eunans bottled it in the county final. Possession the last 5 minutes and no one stepped up to have a go.
In fairness to eunans, they are a young team and will learn from it and be back.

Some great individual performances also, Jack mckelvey with 5 points and all round great game.
E o'donnell also a great young footballer.

So there is plenty of talent in donegal, hopefully we have the right management team to bring Donegal forward.

Congratulations to Carlin gaa, enjoy your victory and good luck in the semi final."
If you were close to the club scene you would know that Glenswilly also contested an ulster senior final.

There are other examples of junior , intermediate , ladies , hurling and underage examples of both winning and contesting ulster finals - the game isn't just about the senior team - a great club can compete on all fronts .

Perfect example is our record breaking clean sweep last year.

Bottled it in the final - you can't be taken seriously if that's your take - how can any team be accused of bottling it in a 1 point game ?? Example of bottling would be the 2021 final which is one of the most 1 sided finals in recent memory.

Have heard this a few times about nobody having a go in the last few mins - did you actually watch the game or just join in the celebrations in glenties/Fintown ?? See Mc Veigh took a shot on which just tailed wide.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:40:16    2447787

Replying To peiledoir20:  "I think it's a bit lazy to say Eunans 'bottled' it. You could say that about any team that loses a tight game.

Eunans found it hard to get a shot away that day as Glenties had 15 well organised men behind the ball as opposed to Eunans 14 men - but let's not get into that again.

Glenties let a healthy lead slip in both FT and ET on Sunday - did they 'bottle' it as well??"
That's a fair Q but the answer is no they didn't

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:40:59    2447788

Replying To rorysboys:  "Why are all the n Conal posters getting on to me . It's my opinion just like yous had an opinion about the county senior set up. Get over it like a lot of teams have to. Yous we're missing that X factor that the keeper talks about on sunday. When I mention st eunans being a better bet for a run in Ulster deep down in your own hearts yous all know I'm telling the truth. So don't bother responding to me I'm a busy man and I haven't the time to argue with yous."
For such a busy man - your on here quite a bit

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 16/11/2022 14:41:46    2447789

Looks like 4 teams from each group qualify for the knockout stages of the u21?
I see Dungloe didn't field last weekend due to their senior team's Ulster commitments which is fair enough.
Seems a bit up in the air.

Hopefully we'll see a few good games in the next few weeks. I was at Gaoth Dobhair Eunans last weekend. It was extremely windy in Magheragallon but credit to btoh teams who served up a good competitive game. GD looked to be well in control for much of the match but Eunans came storming back to win by 2 at the end. I'd expect to see both teams in the reckoning in the knockout stages.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 16/11/2022 14:58:48    2447794

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Looks like 4 teams from each group qualify for the knockout stages of the u21?
I see Dungloe didn't field last weekend due to their senior team's Ulster commitments which is fair enough.
Seems a bit up in the air.

Hopefully we'll see a few good games in the next few weeks. I was at Gaoth Dobhair Eunans last weekend. It was extremely windy in Magheragallon but credit to btoh teams who served up a good competitive game. GD looked to be well in control for much of the match but Eunans came storming back to win by 2 at the end. I'd expect to see both teams in the reckoning in the knockout stages."
This link gives a good idea of the state of play .

https://www.donegallive.ie/news/gaa/966149/donegal-u-21-championships-will-reach-quarter-final-stage-this-weekend.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 460 - 16/11/2022 15:28:54    2447800

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I'd this the same NC player sent off in last year county final for incidents we don't need to get into ?

Is this the same NC player black carded on Sunday for sledging/mouthing at the end of the game costing his team the match ?"
Love how you had to wait until you had an argument for before staging a comeback. McGuiness fully deserved to be sent of in last years final as he alluded to himself on the bench. As for him losing us the game at the weekend is not true. We lost at the weekend due to losing the ball too easily and some dubious calls from management.

I did not say Eunans were in ulster 17 years ago I just said since that point to now Eunans record in ulster is not good so What basis was there from another poster to say Eunans would do better than what we did. If you go back on post's I always support what ever team goes in to ulster which winds me up with comments saying a different team should be there when the team couldn't win their own county.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 16/11/2022 17:40:46    2447814

All the best to M M was really hoping to see another Yr or two outa him but the man knows his own body and what he can do anymore. Thanks for all the great memories Michael.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 16/11/2022 18:52:56    2447824

Murphy just announced his retirement from Donegal team. Rumours about a few others not committing next year. Bad times.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 460 - 16/11/2022 18:53:13    2447825

Welcome to the dark days of Donegal Inter County Football. The good days were good while they lasted.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 16/11/2022 18:54:33    2447827

The dreaded day has arrived, our greatest ever had departed. I'm shell-shocked, stunned.

My first feelings are that this is a direct result of our recruitment of a new manager. Thank you Mr Chairman.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 581 - 16/11/2022 18:55:52    2447828

Just seen on the sports news during the six one news that Michael Murphy has retired from inter County football.
He will be missed
A man of amazing talent who served his County with pride.

Thank you Michael and I wish you a successful and healthy life ahead

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 16/11/2022 19:02:40    2447829

Replying To eunans4ever:  "We weren't the ones taking tho - we are been dragged into the argument by people trying to get one up on each other.

The reality is we hammered glenties/Fintown in last year final and fell short by 1 point in ulster against the team primed to be ulster champions this year.

The boys in blue scrapped past us in this year final in dubious circumstances and also fell short in ulster.

Fact of the matter is that neither were good enough"
Your easy dragged into an argument when it comes to having little digs at naomh conail ( which is our club name). You and a certain other poster.

The fact is we won a county final against st Eunans with 14 men, with a man harshly sent off.
Did we cry and throw in the towel, no we rolled up the sleeves and battled on and won the game.

Thats the reason why i say eunans bottled it, along with the fact yous had possession the last five minutes, but your main men went into hiding.

And as regards to whether i follow the club scene, I've been at pretty much every naomh conail championship game for the last 30 years.

But i have had enough of replying to guys that are keyboard warriors, so i am not going to bother replying to you or rorysboys again.

On a sad note Michael murphy has retired, best of luck to him, owes the county nothing.

But rather that posters being pessimistic, be positive and look at the opportunity it gives a young player to learn his trade and become a legend

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 16/11/2022 19:12:04    2447831

Michael Murphy retiring, like most Donegal supporters knew this day would eventually come but hearing and seeing in in news, still hard to process it- thought he still loads to offer but understand it and he owes Donegal nothing.He was our greatest ever and a generational player, leader that carried us for so long and great role model, sponsors club championship, manages club minor team and invoked with ATU as well as playing club. He has given Donegal so much. So many amazing memories lifting Sam, goal v Mayo in 2012, the flick ons for Ryan McHugh v Dublin 2014, point v Galway in Croke park in 2015, sideline v Derry in 2014, goal v Tyrone 2018, performance v Kerry in Cp 2019, too many to mention. Thank you to Michael for all he has done for Donegal and wish him best in retirement and feel we see him on sideline with Donegal in future in some capacity.

DonegalDanny92 (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 16/11/2022 19:27:15    2447835

I see Michael has decided to retire from intercounty football, a very sad day for us fans for sure, I thought he had another year or 2 at least to offer in at FF. he has done his all for us and carried this team of ours many a day when other fellas wilted under the pressure.
We will never be able to thank him enough for what he done as player for the Donegal team and supporters, he is a living legend, I'm really sorry we didn't get to see him have one more crack at it in Croker in the latter stages of an All-Ireland series.
As has been said on here many times the way the team underperformed since 2020 no doubt a big bearing on his decision, the blame for that rests with the county board and our previous management team.
One thing is for sure we will never see the likes of Michael again, he was a one off, I think a lot of teams will be glad to see they no longer have to face him.
I feel worse tonight than I did after that s1tshow of an Ulster final we played this year,
the new management had a tough job ahead, it just got 100 times tougher tonight.
Go raimh maith agat Micheál, Tír Chonaill Abu.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 16/11/2022 19:52:27    2447836

M Murphy has retired from County Footbal, surely there was a few more years left in him at county level,is there more to this retirement.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 16/11/2022 20:23:58    2447837