Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Must be I can't gave an opinion. What I'm saying is what most people I talked to today are saying is that eunans would have done better in Ulster.. this is from a neutral. I firmly believe it"
On what basis? how can ya say a beating finalist could do better. NC couldn't have done better than Eunans in ulster last year because we didn't put ourselves in a position to do better, like wise for Eunans this year. On the game we threw it away ourselves for sure and we all know that but we still represented Donegal well.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 481 - 14/11/2022 18:23:13    2447578

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Where is this arrogance about Donegal club football coming from? What right or presumption do they have about beating other sides particularly Antrim who have a far better record in the club competitions. St. Gall's of Belfast have been in 2 recent All Ireland finals winning one and losing one. They've also been Kilmacud 7s champions so less of the nonsense about Donegal club football."
Don't tar us all with the same brush, as has been said there is one poster on here disrespecting Antrim football,
the mods wouldn't let us post what we think of him,
so pay no heed to what he says on here, any sensible person wouldn't.
Hard luck to NC yesterday, sounds like ye left it behind ye, awful way to go out too on penalties.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 14/11/2022 20:53:47    2447596

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hang on there I'm not disrespecting Antrim football I'm stating fact. Cahair o Kane has a tweet up today of every counties record this last ten years in Ulster club c ship. Go and see it. And Antrim are at the bottom. ."
The fact is other that gweedore and naomh conail, there are no other teams in Donegal have done anything in ulster this past 20 years. With gweedore winning ulster, and naomh conail reaching two ulster finals.
The fact is also any team that has ever had to go into belfast, never has got an easy game.
There teams may in the last ten years have failed to progress in the first round, but they were always close games in belfast. So yes you are disrespecting Antrim football. All just to have a dig at naomh conail and a few posters here. Sad really.

We will hold our heads up high, 2022 Donegal senior champions. And that with our best forward and defender out all season. The facts are, eunans bottled it in the county final. Possession the last 5 minutes and no one stepped up to have a go.
In fairness to eunans, they are a young team and will learn from it and be back.

Some great individual performances also, Jack mckelvey with 5 points and all round great game.
E o'donnell also a great young footballer.

So there is plenty of talent in donegal, hopefully we have the right management team to bring Donegal forward.

Congratulations to Carlin gaa, enjoy your victory and good luck in the semi final.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/11/2022 09:36:21    2447603

Replying To The keeper:  "The fact is other that gweedore and naomh conail, there are no other teams in Donegal have done anything in ulster this past 20 years. With gweedore winning ulster, and naomh conail reaching two ulster finals.
The fact is also any team that has ever had to go into belfast, never has got an easy game.
There teams may in the last ten years have failed to progress in the first round, but they were always close games in belfast. So yes you are disrespecting Antrim football. All just to have a dig at naomh conail and a few posters here. Sad really.

We will hold our heads up high, 2022 Donegal senior champions. And that with our best forward and defender out all season. The facts are, eunans bottled it in the county final. Possession the last 5 minutes and no one stepped up to have a go.
In fairness to eunans, they are a young team and will learn from it and be back.

Some great individual performances also, Jack mckelvey with 5 points and all round great game.

So there is plenty of talent in donegal, hopefully we have the right management team to bring Donegal forward.

Congratulations to Carlin gaa, enjoy your victory and good luck in the semi final."
I think it's a bit lazy to say Eunans 'bottled' it. You could say that about any team that loses a tight game.

Eunans found it hard to get a shot away that day as Glenties had 15 well organised men behind the ball as opposed to Eunans 14 men - but let's not get into that again.

Glenties let a healthy lead slip in both FT and ET on Sunday - did they 'bottle' it as well??

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 794 - 15/11/2022 10:08:13    2447611

Hard luck to Naomh Conaill. The Ulster Club is a seriously competitive competition. You simply cannot assume that the club champions from a particular county will be a pushover based on what their county team does. Kilcoo the obvious example, but the likes of St Galls & Derrygonnelly have also proven themselves to be serious operators at this level. Add Enniskillen Gaels & Cargin to the list. Cargin did the business at the weekend despite looking doomed on a couple of occasions. That will rankle with Noamh Conaill over the rest of the winter moreso than the officiating I would imagine.

Naomh Conaill will regroup but I just wonder if a period of transition will occur? The likes of Leo, Brick, Marty Boyle, AJ, Tony Thompson, McDyre etc can't go on forever. That is a serious chunk of quality and experience that will need replacing. Looking ahead to the next few years I would predict that Eunans will be the team to beat with possibly Four Masters emerging as the up and coming challengers if they can successfully transition their successful underage teams to senior football.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 15/11/2022 10:18:25    2447612

Why are all the n Conal posters getting on to me . It's my opinion just like yous had an opinion about the county senior set up. Get over it like a lot of teams have to. Yous we're missing that X factor that the keeper talks about on sunday. When I mention st eunans being a better bet for a run in Ulster deep down in your own hearts yous all know I'm telling the truth. So don't bother responding to me I'm a busy man and I haven't the time to argue with yous.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 15/11/2022 11:07:02    2447618

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Don't tar us all with the same brush, as has been said there is one poster on here disrespecting Antrim football,
the mods wouldn't let us post what we think of him,
so pay no heed to what he says on here, any sensible person wouldn't.
Hard luck to NC yesterday, sounds like ye left it behind ye, awful way to go out too on penalties."
You pay plenty heed to me then. Go away and talk a bit of sense. Funny you mention the moderator I have a bit of trouble getting some of my posts through, so that's two of us. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 15/11/2022 11:34:31    2447623

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hard luck to Naomh Conaill. The Ulster Club is a seriously competitive competition. You simply cannot assume that the club champions from a particular county will be a pushover based on what their county team does. Kilcoo the obvious example, but the likes of St Galls & Derrygonnelly have also proven themselves to be serious operators at this level. Add Enniskillen Gaels & Cargin to the list. Cargin did the business at the weekend despite looking doomed on a couple of occasions. That will rankle with Noamh Conaill over the rest of the winter moreso than the officiating I would imagine.

Naomh Conaill will regroup but I just wonder if a period of transition will occur? The likes of Leo, Brick, Marty Boyle, AJ, Tony Thompson, McDyre etc can't go on forever. That is a serious chunk of quality and experience that will need replacing. Looking ahead to the next few years I would predict that Eunans will be the team to beat with possibly Four Masters emerging as the up and coming challengers if they can successfully transition their successful underage teams to senior football."
There is no doubt all them players you mentioned are hard men to replace. And we may take a few years to rebuild. It happens most teams.
But i remember the days we were celebrating an intermediate championship like it was an all Ireland.
So thats why we appreciate this golden time for the club. No matter if certain posters would rather attack our hard work and success. I suppose success brings jealousy.

As regards ulster club, i completely agree, there is no easy draw, there all champions of their own county and that in itself brings a certain pedigree.

No matter the disappointing result on sunday, i had a great day in belfast, and have nothing but great memories of this year.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/11/2022 12:08:29    2447628

Replying To rorysboys:  "Why are all the n Conal posters getting on to me . It's my opinion just like yous had an opinion about the county senior set up. Get over it like a lot of teams have to. Yous we're missing that X factor that the keeper talks about on sunday. When I mention st eunans being a better bet for a run in Ulster deep down in your own hearts yous all know I'm telling the truth. So don't bother responding to me I'm a busy man and I haven't the time to argue with yous."
I doubt a teenage keyboard warrior would be to busy doing anything.
Naomh conail 2022 county senior champions, definitely got the X factor. Number 6 since 2005.
What a club.
And if the few older players step away, what commitment and dedication they have shown. Winners is probably the best way to describe them, as they have won ulsters, all Irelands and numerous county titles at senior and underage.

Most knowledgeable gaa men would definitely say they had the x factor.

But its no surprise you dont, after all we all know what you are like.

Now i am going to refrain from even responding to you from now on, as i prefer chatting to knowledgeable gaa posters.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/11/2022 12:33:19    2447634

Replying To The keeper:  "I doubt a teenage keyboard warrior would be to busy doing anything.
Naomh conail 2022 county senior champions, definitely got the X factor. Number 6 since 2005.
What a club.
And if the few older players step away, what commitment and dedication they have shown. Winners is probably the best way to describe them, as they have won ulsters, all Irelands and numerous county titles at senior and underage.

Most knowledgeable gaa men would definitely say they had the x factor.

But its no surprise you dont, after all we all know what you are like.

Now i am going to refrain from even responding to you from now on, as i prefer chatting to knowledgeable gaa posters."
That's good lad. I'm not anti n Conal,fantastic group of players who deserve everything they get well done lads a credit to your club.. it's you and a few others who I don't respect. Well done again lads. You owe nobody anything. Men like Leo , Thompson. Waide, Brendy .the brick are real club men.. not like you who love slating good gaa men because you have another agenda.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 15/11/2022 12:58:25    2447636

Will Mckelvey be able to establish himself on the Donegal team this year.What is his best position.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 15/11/2022 13:16:13    2447641

Replying To The keeper:  "The fact is other that gweedore and naomh conail, there are no other teams in Donegal have done anything in ulster this past 20 years. With gweedore winning ulster, and naomh conail reaching two ulster finals.

Congratulations to Carlin gaa, enjoy your victory and good luck in the semi final."
Maybe just add well done dungloe and best of luck in the semi.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 15/11/2022 13:37:45    2447649

Replying To gunman:  "Will Mckelvey be able to establish himself on the Donegal team this year.What is his best position."
He is a super player. I just hope that he doesn't become a victim of his own versatility. Hopefully new management can identify the position in which he can benefit the team most. I'd be thinking right-wing back. He's a good defender but also a good enough footballer to get up the field and contribute to attacks and the scoreboard.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 15/11/2022 13:43:01    2447652

Replying To Tyrion:  "Maybe just add well done dungloe and best of luck in the semi."
I have no problem wishing Dungloe the best of luck in the semi, a fantastic club, that have produced some great footballers over the years.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 15/11/2022 14:56:11    2447669

Replying To The keeper:  "I have no problem wishing Dungloe the best of luck in the semi, a fantastic club, that have produced some great footballers over the years."
Thank you keeper.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 159 - 15/11/2022 18:44:32    2447700

Pity there isn't an ignore button on here then we wouldn't even have to see the drivel declansboy posts in our peripheral vision. I think everyone should just ignore him from now on, don't feed the keyboard warrior troll.

Well done to Dungloe last Saturday, be great if they could win the Ulster title.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2737 - 15/11/2022 19:08:57    2447705

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Pity there isn't an ignore button on here then we wouldn't even have to see the drivel declansboy posts in our peripheral vision. I think everyone should just ignore him from now on, don't feed the keyboard warrior troll.

Well done to Dungloe last Saturday, be great if they could win the Ulster title."
Best of luck to Letterkenny Gaels as well in the junior.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 16/11/2022 09:49:38    2447723

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Pity there isn't an ignore button on here then we wouldn't even have to see the drivel declansboy posts in our peripheral vision. I think everyone should just ignore him from now on, don't feed the keyboard warrior troll.

Well done to Dungloe last Saturday, be great if they could win the Ulster title."
Keyboard warrior yea that's what you are. Please ignore me cause I won't go away. Who are yous going after this year. Wee advice for yous go to the games so yous will have less time on your hands.. hopefully we'll get to an all Ireland semi final this year ?. It's great now that your not going to respond to my posts.. keep your promise lad.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 16/11/2022 10:43:06    2447727

Best of luck to dungloe and letterkenny gaels in Ulster . Be nice to see our club teams do well in Ulster.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 16/11/2022 11:32:58    2447740

Replying To rorysboys:  "Best of luck to dungloe and letterkenny gaels in Ulster . Be nice to see our club teams do well in Ulster."
Two tough assignments but hopefully they can come through.

Last weeks game in particular should have brought Dungloe on again as they were without a game in 6 weeks up to that.

The Gaels will need Frain firing this weekend if they are to progress.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 794 - 16/11/2022 11:53:39    2447745