Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah it's all very well being hard to beat. But if you want to win trophies you need to seize the day. Too many teams stuck in this possession based, cautious approach where even a forward kick-pass is deemed risky."
It's awful stuff to watch, I can't imagine being a forward nowadays with the way these teams are playing, I think I'd be tempted to pack it in altogether,
I think many neutrals and casual spectators will just stop going to these games if this style of football continues in this county.
Look at the entertainment Ballybay gave the last night, that's the style of football people want to see.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 08/11/2022 13:43:01    2446877

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bonner will be a huge loss, mark my word. Well respected among the players.."
Time to move on from the past, and hope that our new management team bring more to the table.
Lets be honest and say we were going backwards, and change was needed.
Will the new management setup be better, only time will tell.
But its better to have tried and failed that to not try something new to stop the regression.
Good luck to the new management team. I am sure the players are excited also going by murphys interviews

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 08/11/2022 18:46:51    2446908

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bonner will be a huge loss, mark my word. Well respected among the players.."
Yes, we get it. You've spent the best part of a year endlessly eulogising about him and furiously attacking any meaningful analysis of his tenure, we get it. It's the entire basis of any point you make, that and also telling everyone how little they know and how little they deserve as fellow fans. I had and do have a lot of respect for Bonner but it's someone else's turn now so maybe park your obsession. You remind me of Doug Stamper's blind allegiance and misplaced devotion to Frank Underwood in House of Cards, for those who've seen it, they'll get the comparison.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/11/2022 21:09:15    2446917

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Yes, we get it. You've spent the best part of a year endlessly eulogising about him and furiously attacking any meaningful analysis of his tenure, we get it. It's the entire basis of any point you make, that and also telling everyone how little they know and how little they deserve as fellow fans. I had and do have a lot of respect for Bonner but it's someone else's turn now so maybe park your obsession. You remind me of Doug Stamper's blind allegiance and misplaced devotion to Frank Underwood in House of Cards, for those who've seen it, they'll get the comparison."
No need for a silly rant not interested just stating fact. Are you one of the if we're playing well I'll go to games if not I won't but I'll still have my say on social media. Could be big development on the way.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 09/11/2022 09:53:07    2446929

Replying To rorysboys:  "No need for a silly rant not interested just stating fact. Are you one of the if we're playing well I'll go to games if not I won't but I'll still have my say on social media. Could be big development on the way."
Nope, I've followed Donegal all over the country since I was a teenager and have spent a fortune over the years through the good and the bad, McKenna Cup, League and Championship. You don't have the monopoly on being a legitimate Donegal fan, or whatever constitutes that in your eyes.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/11/2022 11:00:09    2446942

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Nope, I've followed Donegal all over the country since I was a teenager and have spent a fortune over the years through the good and the bad, McKenna Cup, League and Championship. You don't have the monopoly on being a legitimate Donegal fan, or whatever constitutes that in your eyes."
Good man must have seen you in clones for the game against Armagh last year.. wudnt be hard not too. Easy saying on here lad that I followed Donegal all my life. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 09/11/2022 11:40:28    2446949

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Nope, I've followed Donegal all over the country since I was a teenager and have spent a fortune over the years through the good and the bad, McKenna Cup, League and Championship. You don't have the monopoly on being a legitimate Donegal fan, or whatever constitutes that in your eyes."
The thing is he is a legitimate Donegal gaa supporter on social media himself. There is zero proof that he actually goes to all those games.
Judging by his constant attacking of most posters and the constant finishing of a comment with the lol. My bet would be he is a teenager with to much time on his hands. And doesn't actually go to most games.
Most posters on here are genuine and have the best interests of Donegal football, but he definitely isn't one of them

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 09/11/2022 11:45:55    2446950

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good man must have seen you in clones for the game against Armagh last year.. wudnt be hard not too. Easy saying on here lad that I followed Donegal all my life. Lol"
Well do you want me to send you receipts of my ticket stubs down the years or what? You prepared to do the same?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 09/11/2022 12:40:08    2446963

Replying To The keeper:  "The thing is he is a legitimate Donegal gaa supporter on social media himself. There is zero proof that he actually goes to all those games.
Judging by his constant attacking of most posters and the constant finishing of a comment with the lol. My bet would be he is a teenager with to much time on his hands. And doesn't actually go to most games.
Most posters on here are genuine and have the best interests of Donegal football, but he definitely isn't one of them"
Says the man who was on bonners case since he was appointed.wanted rid of him to get his own man in and we all know how that finished.lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 09/11/2022 14:29:16    2446991

Replying To rorysboys:  "Says the man who was on bonners case since he was appointed.wanted rid of him to get his own man in and we all know how that finished.lol"
Whoever dresses you in the morning has a lot to answer for

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 09/11/2022 15:41:54    2447000

Replying To greatpoint:  "Whoever dresses you in the morning has a lot to answer for"
Are you looking for a few likes. Why is everyone responding to me. Don't waste your time .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 09/11/2022 16:27:16    2447003

Replying To rorysboys:  "Says the man who was on bonners case since he was appointed.wanted rid of him to get his own man in and we all know how that finished.lol"
Yes i always believed the previous management were not good enough, dedicated yes, but lacked the X factor to really bring Donegal to the top tier.

And i always stated that our own club man would not be interested, so how is it possible thats the reason i wanted bonner out.

The facts and results speak for themselves, we have become soft under the previous management. Back to the old days of getting beat by the armagh's and Derry's

The team needed change, the supporter's needed change, in fact the only people that didn't want change was yourself and the previous management

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 09/11/2022 18:00:59    2447017

I am wondering where our three home league games will be played.Will it be one each for Ballybofey,Letterkenny and Ballyshannon.Kerry are first up and would make a great Saturday night under the lights.They might however be tempted to have the Mayo game in Ballybofey because of the probability of a big crowd with their big travelling support.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1063 - 09/11/2022 20:21:20    2447035

Replying To The keeper:  "Yes i always believed the previous management were not good enough, dedicated yes, but lacked the X factor to really bring Donegal to the top tier.

And i always stated that our own club man would not be interested, so how is it possible thats the reason i wanted bonner out.

The facts and results speak for themselves, we have become soft under the previous management. Back to the old days of getting beat by the armagh's and Derry's

The team needed change, the supporter's needed change, in fact the only people that didn't want change was yourself and the previous management"
You never said Mc Guinness would not be interested. You brought him up all year. All I'm trying to say is no harm in change but the players are not there. We're building this team up as potential all Ireland winners but the truth is that we're well away. We win an all Ireland yea because Mc Guinness done fabulous work but the X factor was a young man called Michael Murphy. Any knowledgeable gaa fan would tell you that. So take off your blinkers and admit that. Just in case you think I'm under estimating Jim I'm not, I have great time for him and may I say a lot of n Conal people. But in my eyes to be a great team you have to win Ulster no excuses lad.. do what gaoth dobhar done. Then I'll be first to congratulate yous?

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 10/11/2022 08:42:31    2447049

I can't wait for the new season to kick off and get under way. New management with hopefully a slightly more direct, attacking style of play. Small stuff, not major surgery. Moving on from Rory, Declan and even Jim. Everybody can get on with things and settle in.

TommyDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 10/11/2022 14:22:11    2447093

Replying To rorysboys:  "You never said Mc Guinness would not be interested. You brought him up all year. All I'm trying to say is no harm in change but the players are not there. We're building this team up as potential all Ireland winners but the truth is that we're well away. We win an all Ireland yea because Mc Guinness done fabulous work but the X factor was a young man called Michael Murphy. Any knowledgeable gaa fan would tell you that. So take off your blinkers and admit that. Just in case you think I'm under estimating Jim I'm not, I have great time for him and may I say a lot of n Conal people. But in my eyes to be a great team you have to win Ulster no excuses lad.. do what gaoth dobhar done. Then I'll be first to congratulate yous?"
There is plenty of good talent in Donegal, the right manager has to go out and find it.
I consider winning 3 out of the last 4 County Titles the sign of a great team. Its unrealistic to expect Naomh Conaill to win an Ulster Club Title. Ulster is the hardest province to win, its so competive. Naomh Conaill will be happy to give a good account of themselves in Ulster. If they win on Sunday they then have to play the winners of Glen v Errigal Ciaran with the current All Ireland Champions awaiting the winners if they come through their own side.
I expect to see you in Corrigan Park on Sunday supporting the current Donegal Senior County Champions as you are such a great self professed Donegal GAA Supporter.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 295 - 10/11/2022 18:09:37    2447120

Replying To rorysboys:  "You never said Mc Guinness would not be interested. You brought him up all year. All I'm trying to say is no harm in change but the players are not there. We're building this team up as potential all Ireland winners but the truth is that we're well away. We win an all Ireland yea because Mc Guinness done fabulous work but the X factor was a young man called Michael Murphy. Any knowledgeable gaa fan would tell you that. So take off your blinkers and admit that. Just in case you think I'm under estimating Jim I'm not, I have great time for him and may I say a lot of n Conal people. But in my eyes to be a great team you have to win Ulster no excuses lad.. do what gaoth dobhar done. Then I'll be first to congratulate yous?"
Naomh conail dont need your congratulations, we are doing just great without it.
And i brought up mcguinness several times as an example of a manager with the X factor. I never said he would take the job, in fact i said the opposite and that he had his sights set on a soccer job.
Any knowledgeable gaa man would know that mcguinness improved everyone from 1 to 25.
The mcgee's, mcgrath, Thompson, lacey and mcglynn got stronger.
Our midfield after mcguinness got at them were like different breeds of horses.
Dont forget our best forward that year colm mcfadden. Or the other forwards who improved under mcguinness.
A manager with the X factor improves the entire panel.
And thats why our previous management failed

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 10/11/2022 18:17:34    2447121

Mc Guinness wudnt be happy with the n Conal posters on this forum accepting winning Donegal as a good years work. Where's your ambition lads gaoth dobhar believed and look what they achieved. You hardly expect me to travel the whole way to Belfast to watch a borefest. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 10/11/2022 21:59:19    2447139

Replying To rorysboys:  "Mc Guinness wudnt be happy with the n Conal posters on this forum accepting winning Donegal as a good years work. Where's your ambition lads gaoth dobhar believed and look what they achieved. You hardly expect me to travel the whole way to Belfast to watch a borefest. Lol"
Belfast or wherever. Reading some of your drivel on here shows that you really need to get out somewhere.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 809 - 11/11/2022 11:25:56    2447164

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Belfast or wherever. Reading some of your drivel on here shows that you really need to get out somewhere."
The truth hurts lad. If your not happy with my opinion there's nothing I can do for you.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 11/11/2022 12:10:15    2447172