Longford GAA thread

Killoe for the double
Connollys in the intermediate final!

Great weekend in store with no rain looking likely.

Ireland to beat the all blacks by 5

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 88 - 13/10/2023 12:06:57    2508155

Struggling to call this weekends games.

Senior a draw
Intermediate Kenagh by 4
Junior Killoe by 2

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 13/10/2023 18:39:22    2508255

I would have given anything to be in this position at the start of the year. I would have been happy with a decent quarter final showing but now that we are in it we are obviously in it to win it, I just think Killoe are a bridge too far. Any other team I'd say we could do it. I think Killoe by about 4 or 5. The Connollys time has surely arrived at intermediate and Ballymore should get the junior job done

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 13/10/2023 22:44:33    2508281

Well done Keenagh great second half. More fluent in attack I thought well deserved .

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 14/10/2023 17:54:04    2508361

Well done to Kenagh on a fabulous win, but surely someone connected with the club should have had the club jerseys out for the presentation!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 14/10/2023 19:42:03    2508373

Replying To Spinx:  "Well done to Kenagh on a fabulous win, but surely someone connected with the club should have had the club jerseys out for the presentation!!"
It was a great win for Kenagh, hopefully it was the beginning of a great weekend for our Liam!
I do not understand why they were in Longford jerseys, there is no colour clash with the connollys

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 15/10/2023 10:19:29    2508408

So so proud of that young team. Nobody gave us a chance of reaching a final let alone run a seasoned team like Killoe to a point in the final. If Matthew Carey had to of been fully fit, it might have been a different outcome but all those lads can hold their heads high tonight. We'll be back!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 15/10/2023 18:02:16    2508489

Beaming with pride in our young team this evening but hurting with the agony of losing by the solitary point. Well done Killoe who took more of their chances. Could have been different but for the worst decision I have ever seen in a county final. How Killoe did not go down to 14 men defies all logic and then an official accuses Gerry of diving. I have heard he is off for an xray for a potential broken jaw. These lads are amateurs and have to work for a living. There is a duty of care and it's simply not good enough

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 15/10/2023 18:16:31    2508496

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "Beaming with pride in our young team this evening but hurting with the agony of losing by the solitary point. Well done Killoe who took more of their chances. Could have been different but for the worst decision I have ever seen in a county final. How Killoe did not go down to 14 men defies all logic and then an official accuses Gerry of diving. I have heard he is off for an xray for a potential broken jaw. These lads are amateurs and have to work for a living. There is a duty of care and it's simply not good enough"
Should always be proud of your team but ye lost a final at the end of the day and it's disappointing. Hope your social media manger writes up a good post.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 15/10/2023 18:50:03    2508509

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "Beaming with pride in our young team this evening but hurting with the agony of losing by the solitary point. Well done Killoe who took more of their chances. Could have been different but for the worst decision I have ever seen in a county final. How Killoe did not go down to 14 men defies all logic and then an official accuses Gerry of diving. I have heard he is off for an xray for a potential broken jaw. These lads are amateurs and have to work for a living. There is a duty of care and it's simply not good enough"
Hopefully the player injured makes a full recovery

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 15/10/2023 18:50:35    2508510

Replying To Frank74:  "So so proud of that young team. Nobody gave us a chance of reaching a final let alone run a seasoned team like Killoe to a point in the final. If Matthew Carey had to of been fully fit, it might have been a different outcome but all those lads can hold their heads high tonight. We'll be back!"
What happened Carey? I noticed he was heavily strapped alright and was not able to run 100% on it.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 15/10/2023 19:05:06    2508513

Replying To Spinx:  "What happened Carey? I noticed he was heavily strapped alright and was not able to run 100% on it."
Got a bad knock in the minor game last week.

Well done Killoe. A hard fought win. Luke Dempsey will be delighted to get the title in his first year at the helm.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 15/10/2023 19:42:08    2508518

As a neutral hard to disagree with this. Great game for a neutral despite this. The proximity of the ref to the challenge was incredible. Was a clear red card. Fair point about amateurs, not just from an injury point of view but also in respect of players who train so hard deserve better than this. All said though Killoe a good team,

wackojacko (Longford) - Posts: 25 - 15/10/2023 23:14:04    2508553

Well done Killoe. It wasn't pretty, but county finals are hard won and Killoe showed character to hold on in the end against a determined opposition! If that goal chance had been taken in the first 10 minutes it might have opened things up, but always moments like that in a game. Probably the end of Killoe's purple patch, but with 6 Championships and 4 Leader Cups since 2010 there are no complaints and delighted to top it off with that win. Big days ahead for that Clonguish outfit. Well done to Ballymore in Junior, deserved the win and nobody would begrudge them after losing the last two finals.

PS - Great to see the presentation moved out from its usual position directly under the seemingly unwashable gutters of the building at Pearse Park where nobody on the field could ever see it, to a more open and better space instead. Much better location, well done to whoever decided that.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 16/10/2023 12:13:52    2508614

Well done Killoe by far the better team. Keep them quiet for a while

Revo (Longford) - Posts: 13 - 16/10/2023 12:27:39    2508616

I was unable to make it in yesterday so I watched it on clubber. Fair play to Clonguish, they really put it up to their more experienced opponents. I thought a draw would have been a fair result between 2 very evenly matched teams. 2 things I have to question is, why wasn't there a red card issued to the Killoe the Killoe defender for what looked like a punch to the Clonguish players face? What was stranger was there wasn't even a free awarded!! And 2, why was the Clonguish no. 12 taken off? I thought he was having a great game and scored 2 or 3 points. Well done to Killoe on what was a 6th win for some of their players.

Is there many under 21s on both teams?
I see they are clashing in the first group game of the championship. Who would be favourites to win it outright?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 16/10/2023 17:11:11    2508705

Replying To Oddball:  "I was unable to make it in yesterday so I watched it on clubber. Fair play to Clonguish, they really put it up to their more experienced opponents. I thought a draw would have been a fair result between 2 very evenly matched teams. 2 things I have to question is, why wasn't there a red card issued to the Killoe the Killoe defender for what looked like a punch to the Clonguish players face? What was stranger was there wasn't even a free awarded!! And 2, why was the Clonguish no. 12 taken off? I thought he was having a great game and scored 2 or 3 points. Well done to Killoe on what was a 6th win for some of their players.

I see they are clashing in the first group game of the championship. Who would be favourites to win it outright?"
From those who played yesterday, I think Killoe's Paddy Moran, Gavin Farrelly and sub Colm Coyle are still under 21. Clonguish will have more and will win that competition without breaking a sweat.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 16/10/2023 18:29:47    2508719

Killoe win again despite only getting a fraction out of themselves on final day. Better finishing would have given Clonguish a serious chance.

Hard to understand the logic that Killoe are going anywhere and Clonguish's time has come. Killoe have a big squad mostly aged in mid 20s and had the best minor on display in Paddy Moran who showed class setting up the match winning goal.
In contrast Clonguishs best player was 41 year old David Barden

Mullinalaghta and Colmcille will start 2024 better placed to chase Killoe down

zzidane (Longford) - Posts: 20 - 16/10/2023 19:44:06    2508734

Replying To Oddball:  "I was unable to make it in yesterday so I watched it on clubber. Fair play to Clonguish, they really put it up to their more experienced opponents. I thought a draw would have been a fair result between 2 very evenly matched teams. 2 things I have to question is, why wasn't there a red card issued to the Killoe the Killoe defender for what looked like a punch to the Clonguish players face? What was stranger was there wasn't even a free awarded!! And 2, why was the Clonguish no. 12 taken off? I thought he was having a great game and scored 2 or 3 points. Well done to Killoe on what was a 6th win for some of their players.

I see they are clashing in the first group game of the championship. Who would be favourites to win it outright?"
I made the mistake of watching the game back on Clubber and it just made me angrier. I had forgotten the referee's positioning for it but he was ten yards away looking right at it unobstructed. I just can't believe it. I assumed Gordon had an injury but have not heard anything since, he was in line for man of the match the way he was playing

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 16/10/2023 19:46:46    2508736

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Well done Killoe. It wasn't pretty, but county finals are hard won and Killoe showed character to hold on in the end against a determined opposition! If that goal chance had been taken in the first 10 minutes it might have opened things up, but always moments like that in a game. Probably the end of Killoe's purple patch, but with 6 Championships and 4 Leader Cups since 2010 there are no complaints and delighted to top it off with that win. Big days ahead for that Clonguish outfit. Well done to Ballymore in Junior, deserved the win and nobody would begrudge them after losing the last two finals.

PS - Great to see the presentation moved out from its usual position directly under the seemingly unwashable gutters of the building at Pearse Park where nobody on the field could ever see it, to a more open and better space instead. Much better location, well done to whoever decided that."
Dunno if it's the end of the that Killoe group. At least one more should be won. Add a fit Larry to that forward line and it'd make a big difference. The game itself was not a great spectacle, but probably reflects the modern cautious style. Liam Hughes unlucky to not win MoM , I thought he was excellent throughout.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 16/10/2023 20:28:19    2508742