Longford GAA thread

There are multiple championships left in that Killoe team. They have the two older Moran brothers to add to it and their oldest player was county player Michael Quinn. Davy Barden had a great game but our best player and the best player afield over the course of the hour was Darren Quinn. He's 32 so I take your point on age. No guarantees with this team but I am still more hopeful about the future since Sunday than before

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 17/10/2023 09:50:09    2508762

There is no way this Killoe team are finished after this year.
They have a huge pick to select from and will always bring along 3 or 4 new players every year or 2.
Sure hadn't they nearly a 45 man panel for the Junior final!!
Next year you could see Killoe, Mullinalaghta, Dromard, Colmcille and ourselves all there or thereabouts.
And you can never count out Slashers either.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 17/10/2023 10:55:06    2508779

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "I made the mistake of watching the game back on Clubber and it just made me angrier. I had forgotten the referee's positioning for it but he was ten yards away looking right at it unobstructed. I just can't believe it. I assumed Gordon had an injury but have not heard anything since, he was in line for man of the match the way he was playing"
It's not often that Clonguish are victims of poor referee decisions in the past. Just move on as all other clubs do.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 300 - 17/10/2023 11:14:31    2508784

Replying To B&G:  "It's not often that Clonguish are victims of poor referee decisions in the past. Just move on as all other clubs do."
Now it was hardly just a poor refereeing decision.
It was practically assault with the ref looking straight at it from less than 10 yards away.
Even the lad commentating on it couldn't believe it!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 17/10/2023 12:28:02    2508813

Replying To Oddball:  "I was unable to make it in yesterday so I watched it on clubber. Fair play to Clonguish, they really put it up to their more experienced opponents. I thought a draw would have been a fair result between 2 very evenly matched teams. 2 things I have to question is, why wasn't there a red card issued to the Killoe the Killoe defender for what looked like a punch to the Clonguish players face? What was stranger was there wasn't even a free awarded!! And 2, why was the Clonguish no. 12 taken off? I thought he was having a great game and scored 2 or 3 points. Well done to Killoe on what was a 6th win for some of their players.

Is there many under 21s on both teams?
I see they are clashing in the first group game of the championship. Who would be favourites to win it outright?"
Clonguish have 8 of the starting 15 from Sunday available for under 21 and another few from the bench.
Conor Smith, Conor Flynn, Andrew Flynn, Josh Sorohan, Matthew Flynn, Jack Duggan, Michael Flynn and Mattew Carey.
On the bench they have Johnny Burke, Cian Sutton, Jason Glancy and also under 21 but not available through injury was Adam Shields.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 17/10/2023 13:33:56    2508835

Anyone know why the Patsy Reilly Cup semi final was conceded?
Fairly important competition to be conceding at that stage.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 18/10/2023 11:11:37    2508996

Replying To B&G:  "It's not often that Clonguish are victims of poor referee decisions in the past. Just move on as all other clubs do."
"Just move on". You make it sound like we are bringing it up ten years later, it is only a few days since the final. If you or someone belonging to you were the victims of a thuggish act such as a closed fist to the head, I doubt you'd just let it go overnight. There needs to be proper repercussions for players responsible and officials for letting it happen. There is no place for it in our games and only serves to turn youngsters and their parents away from the GAA. People then wonder why there is a drop off

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 18/10/2023 12:02:08    2509013

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Anyone know why the Patsy Reilly Cup semi final was conceded?
Fairly important competition to be conceding at that stage."
Clubs out of the championship 5/6 weeks ago and the county board looking to play important league semi finals and finals end of Oct/November is ridiculous!! all the league comps should be finished by July, its happening every year with teams pulling out because you wont get lads out after championship.

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 88 - 18/10/2023 12:19:13    2509018

Replying To liosbreac6265:  ""Just move on". You make it sound like we are bringing it up ten years later, it is only a few days since the final. If you or someone belonging to you were the victims of a thuggish act such as a closed fist to the head, I doubt you'd just let it go overnight. There needs to be proper repercussions for players responsible and officials for letting it happen. There is no place for it in our games and only serves to turn youngsters and their parents away from the GAA. People then wonder why there is a drop off"
Perhaps the CCCC will review the video evidence (Clubber footage) and determine if there is a case to answer. They then have the power to propose a sanction to the player in question.
How many incidents occur in matches throughput the year that go unpunished? Pointless dwelling on them. I do not believe that there is evidence to suggest that youngsters/parents are turning their back on the GAA because of isolated unsavory incidents.
At the end of the day, history books will show that Killoe are Longford Senior Football Champions for 2023.
Clonguish also had a good year exceeding people's expectations.
" Just Move on"

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 300 - 18/10/2023 13:07:04    2509030

Replying To liosbreac6265:  ""Just move on". You make it sound like we are bringing it up ten years later, it is only a few days since the final. If you or someone belonging to you were the victims of a thuggish act such as a closed fist to the head, I doubt you'd just let it go overnight. There needs to be proper repercussions for players responsible and officials for letting it happen. There is no place for it in our games and only serves to turn youngsters and their parents away from the GAA. People then wonder why there is a drop off"
It was a yellow card and the ref should have acted on it but can people move on from this as it's irrelevant now. Killoe the better team and aren't going away either. Clonguish be luck to make the final next year

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 18/10/2023 13:37:33    2509034

Clonguish always crying about something. It was Frankie Dolan and Ballymahon in 2002 when he beat them on his own. It was Paul Kelly and Slashers in 2011 when he done a number on them. Now in 2023 it's the referee's and Killoe players fault they lost. Not a peep out of them in 2009 though when Dromard were robbed against them. Funny that.

Revo (Longford) - Posts: 13 - 18/10/2023 13:49:30    2509037

Replying To Revo:  "Clonguish always crying about something. It was Frankie Dolan and Ballymahon in 2002 when he beat them on his own. It was Paul Kelly and Slashers in 2011 when he done a number on them. Now in 2023 it's the referee's and Killoe players fault they lost. Not a peep out of them in 2009 though when Dromard were robbed against them. Funny that."
God revo that chip on your shoulder must way heavily on you.
Hope your ok bro

honlongford (Longford) - Posts: 163 - 18/10/2023 14:33:29    2509048

Replying To Revo:  "Clonguish always crying about something. It was Frankie Dolan and Ballymahon in 2002 when he beat them on his own. It was Paul Kelly and Slashers in 2011 when he done a number on them. Now in 2023 it's the referee's and Killoe players fault they lost. Not a peep out of them in 2009 though when Dromard were robbed against them. Funny that."
This is new information for me, never have I heard anyone complain about losing to Slashers in 2011. They were the least worst team on a dreadful day, simple as that. How were Dromard robbed exactly? Every club had a problem with the Frankie Dolan situation and rightly so, went against everything the GAA stands for. We got over that defeat the next season and Ballymahon have been irrelevant ever since and for years to come.
Given that you claim to be from Mullinalaghta, it is ironic you should say that since for 12 months that club has complained about last year's penalty but we all really know you are Killoe and you all still go on about that goal against Garrycastle so spare us all the moral high ground

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 18/10/2023 14:35:30    2509049

Replying To williesboy:  "It was a yellow card and the ref should have acted on it but can people move on from this as it's irrelevant now. Killoe the better team and aren't going away either. Clonguish be luck to make the final next year"
It will have nothing got to do with luck if they make it back to the final next year.
They just have to make sure they build on what was a very good season for them.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 18/10/2023 14:41:04    2509052

Replying To williesboy:  "It was a yellow card and the ref should have acted on it but can people move on from this as it's irrelevant now. Killoe the better team and aren't going away either. Clonguish be luck to make the final next year"
Jaysus, if that's a yellow card offence in Leitrim, I'd hate to see what a red card offence is lol

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 18/10/2023 14:47:57    2509056

Giving out about Paul Kelly???
What are you on about?

Listen buddy, I'm a loyal Clonguish supporter and I've no complaints about Sunday. Killoe won fair and square. We missed more than enough chances to win the game ourselves.

If there are one or two Clonguish supporters whinging, it doesn't represent what the majority in the club think.

Well done again Killoe on their great achievement. We hope to be back again but it may not be immediate. We had luck on our side this year and teams will be able to read us more now. That surprise element is gone.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 28 - 18/10/2023 14:48:54    2509061

Lads don't even react to Revo, they are on the wind up.
Just take everything they say to be complete nonsense.
They are just looking for people to reply to them.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 18/10/2023 14:54:53    2509062

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "This is new information for me, never have I heard anyone complain about losing to Slashers in 2011. They were the least worst team on a dreadful day, simple as that. How were Dromard robbed exactly? Every club had a problem with the Frankie Dolan situation and rightly so, went against everything the GAA stands for. We got over that defeat the next season and Ballymahon have been irrelevant ever since and for years to come.
Given that you claim to be from Mullinalaghta, it is ironic you should say that since for 12 months that club has complained about last year's penalty but we all really know you are Killoe and you all still go on about that goal against Garrycastle so spare us all the moral high ground"
The Clonguish hypocrisy is hilarious. Sure they were poaching players like the McCormack brothers many moons ago.

Revo (Longford) - Posts: 13 - 18/10/2023 15:42:35    2509079

Replying To Revo:  "The Clonguish hypocrisy is hilarious. Sure they were poaching players like the McCormack brothers many moons ago."
And there we have it.....proves he knows nothing about what he's talking about!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 18/10/2023 16:04:36    2509087

Replying To Oddball:  "Jaysus, if that's a yellow card offence in Leitrim, I'd hate to see what a red card offence is lol"
This year in Leitrim I've seen a player chest charge/bump a referee and berate him with threats/insults. The player received a yellow albeit second yellow.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 18/10/2023 16:12:57    2509089