Longford GAA thread

Pre- match nerves beginning to kick in. Hopefully our young lads can play to their potential. A good game in prospect.

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 01/10/2023 15:23:00    2506454

Saturdays games.

Ballymore v Abbeylara only ever going to be one winner here, Ballymore playing division 2 football all year will make them hard to beat in the final. They are good enough to be playing in the intermediate championship. Very poor game overall, the junior gets no respect from the county board and the local media.

Sean Connollys v Kilashee
Again only one winner ever coming out of this, Connollys without Dessie are still a very good side, Kilashee will be happy to stay in intermediate and take a semi final as bonus territory.

Main event Saturday. Killoe very impressive and turned on a big performance against last year winners who have been very poor all year and have to be one of the worst defending champions. Killoe will fancy taking the final, Colmcille have gone backwards unfortunately.

2/3 games were over after 15 mins which is very disappointing. The junior is a farce of a competition really with only 2 sole teams in it.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 01/10/2023 16:44:59    2506462

Fantastic win for our Seniors and Under 16's yesterday.
First time 4 in a row has been done at under 16 level.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 02/10/2023 08:53:36    2506547

Killoe will be favourites but clonguish are in a great position and in bonus territory all ready. No matter what happens they have had a breakout season and will be amongst the favourites again for the connelly cup.
Who are we picking ?
Apart from spinx as we know who your picking.

honlongford (Longford) - Posts: 163 - 02/10/2023 10:18:25    2506559

Replying To honlongford:  "Killoe will be favourites but clonguish are in a great position and in bonus territory all ready. No matter what happens they have had a breakout season and will be amongst the favourites again for the connelly cup.
Who are we picking ?
Apart from spinx as we know who your picking."
Ah would you look who it is, resurfaced!!
Don't be jealous now of me who knows how to predict games!!
I've said from the get go, it was Killoe's to lose and by getting a very generous 3/1 on them at the start of the championship, I'm going to be €300 up in 2 weeks time.
If I did not have money on them, well this weekend was the worst ever, in sporting terms for myself.
Not only those 2 winning their semi-finals we lost ours.
I'm going to do now what you did and lie low for a while.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1259 - 02/10/2023 11:03:11    2506576

Was at both senior semi finals over the weekend. Killoe and Clonguish derserably winners.
Colmcille very poor in first match.
Dromard had their chances in the second match. Felt Clonguish got easier frees than Dromard.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 300 - 02/10/2023 11:56:58    2506590

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "What has betting got to do with it? I agree that Killoe have too much and will win it out but not because of that. For what it's worth I think Killoe will win by 5+ and we will scrape through. I am not convinced about the growing confidence in Colmcille. Beating a dreadful Granard team and drawing with a jaded Mullinalaghta have been the highlights of their very poor year!"
If I was a betting man I would have made a killing! Terrific day yesterday with the juveniles cruising to a historic 4 in a row and the seniors shattering our nerves falling over the finish line. We made very hard work of it and probably did get the rub of the green. Getting to a county final will be a great learning experience for this bunch. We will be massive underdogs and Killoe I think are that bit too strong for us yet. Hats off to Davey Barden and Jamesy Martin, two stand out performers yesterday with what I reckon is close to 50 years senior championship experience between the two of them. Phenomenal

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 225 - 02/10/2023 12:41:41    2506605

Both winners at the weekend deserve to be in the final. We won't be taking anything for granted in Killoe. We are favourites but very wary that a young Clonguish side might do to us what we did to Slashers in 2012. It's only won when it's won and we have to go out and perform to win it.

Surprised by the size of the beating the Gaels took in the intermediate. Didn't see that coming. Both semis had almost identical mad scorelines! Connollys should feel they can push on and win it now which would be a mighty achievement given how they struggled not that many years back. Fair play if they do.

Junior semis were a joke. Should be a good final. Killoe might have a bit too much for Ballymore.

Clonguish on plan for that predicted clean sweep of underage by the weekend. That will be a clean sweep two years in a row, which is another record broken! Will probably put up a big score in the minor final at the weekend.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 508 - 02/10/2023 13:11:09    2506622

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Both winners at the weekend deserve to be in the final. We won't be taking anything for granted in Killoe. We are favourites but very wary that a young Clonguish side might do to us what we did to Slashers in 2012. It's only won when it's won and we have to go out and perform to win it.

Surprised by the size of the beating the Gaels took in the intermediate. Didn't see that coming. Both semis had almost identical mad scorelines! Connollys should feel they can push on and win it now which would be a mighty achievement given how they struggled not that many years back. Fair play if they do.

Junior semis were a joke. Should be a good final. Killoe might have a bit too much for Ballymore.

Clonguish on plan for that predicted clean sweep of underage by the weekend. That will be a clean sweep two years in a row, which is another record broken! Will probably put up a big score in the minor final at the weekend."
Hope Ballymore win for sole junior club its 50 50 game. We legan struggled badly with loss of players for several reasons. Disappointing usually not that bad in junior

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 02/10/2023 14:53:34    2506646

Was Paul Barden injured yesterday? Surprised he wasn't starting. Clonguish will be hoping he's back fit for the final they'll need every advantage to overcome Killoe.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 02/10/2023 18:18:07    2506683

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "If I was a betting man I would have made a killing! Terrific day yesterday with the juveniles cruising to a historic 4 in a row and the seniors shattering our nerves falling over the finish line. We made very hard work of it and probably did get the rub of the green. Getting to a county final will be a great learning experience for this bunch. We will be massive underdogs and Killoe I think are that bit too strong for us yet. Hats off to Davey Barden and Jamesy Martin, two stand out performers yesterday with what I reckon is close to 50 years senior championship experience between the two of them. Phenomenal"
I'm not up to speed with the club game in recent years in Longford, could not believe my eyes when I saw both of those players playing and scoring! That is some going.

iluvspuds (Longford) - Posts: 160 - 02/10/2023 20:18:08    2506695

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Hope Ballymore win for sole junior club its 50 50 game. We legan struggled badly with loss of players for several reasons. Disappointing usually not that bad in junior"
Ye have won one junior championship in your entire history so to say that ye are usually "not bad" at junior is a bit of an over-exaggeration.Typical small club mentality but not surprising nontheless. Every club is affected by missing players, Connolys ,Killoe and of course, the mighty St Dominics of Kenagh. Shameful opinion from a shameful man about an ultimately shameless club. GET A GRIP
#honkaynagh #kaynaghforintermediate #WAP

Dominics_Baller94 (Longford) - Posts: 5 - 02/10/2023 21:06:29    2506700

Replying To Dominics_Baller94:  "Ye have won one junior championship in your entire history so to say that ye are usually "not bad" at junior is a bit of an over-exaggeration.Typical small club mentality but not surprising nontheless. Every club is affected by missing players, Connolys ,Killoe and of course, the mighty St Dominics of Kenagh. Shameful opinion from a shameful man about an ultimately shameless club. GET A GRIP
#honkaynagh #kaynaghforintermediate #WAP"
They've actually won the Junior Championship 6 times and are joined top for titles won. So his statement is factually correct.

Rorty (Longford) - Posts: 12 - 03/10/2023 08:41:48    2506719

I was just thinking to myself this morning about the turnaround within Clonguish in the last 12 months or so.
Yes, the few young lads coming through are a big help but 3 other things stand out for me.

1. Liam Belton - This man deserves huge credit. He took over at the very last minute last year when Ian Bradley and Paschal Kellaghan stepped down due to personal issues. I think Clonguish had already done a few sessions with the Westmeath/Offaly management duo.

2. John Twaddle - what an addition this man is. The fitness of the players stands testament to this lads training. He had great success with Moate the last few years in Westmeath also.

3. Enda McKeon - I thought it was very clever bringing Enda in as Senior selector. He is also a selector with the Minor team, so it proved to be a smooth transition for the Minor players coming on to the senior squad this year.

Reaching a senior final this year is a huge achievement, considering the last 3 years we have been battling relegation.
Killoe will definitely be red hot favourites but I just hope our lads go out on the day and play as good as they can.

On a separate note, when the draws were made, a lot of lads on here were saying that there was one very strong group and one seriously weak one.
It ended up with a 50/50 split in the semi-final.
And also, looking back on the league, Colmcille can feel very hard done by.
First, I always said that 5th in Group 1 should have played 5th in Group 2 for that last relegation spot.
And then when you look at it, 4 of the 5 teams in Colmcille's group made the semi-finals of the championship!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 03/10/2023 08:44:55    2506720

Replying To Dominics_Baller94:  "Ye have won one junior championship in your entire history so to say that ye are usually "not bad" at junior is a bit of an over-exaggeration.Typical small club mentality but not surprising nontheless. Every club is affected by missing players, Connolys ,Killoe and of course, the mighty St Dominics of Kenagh. Shameful opinion from a shameful man about an ultimately shameless club. GET A GRIP
Keenagh did well in fairness we have 6 juniors and anyway I am saying we have been as bad this before that's all saying . We have 6 juniors joint highest and yes small club but what can do fish playbtonkeenagh by the way OK I didn't expect to turn toxic like I was only giving my view. Sorry anyway.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 03/10/2023 08:58:56    2506723

Well done to keenagh and all who won including kilow I was saying that usually better than that but we struggled and fair play to kiloe if I was been shameful how I was only giving an opinion my apologies if I caused offence and not that past matters now we have 6 junior but in fairness I should say kiloe were better and fair to them at all levels . Great team. Good luck to keenagh play a lovely style under Eugene should be good vs Conollys . My apologies if came across as shameful didn't think I was but anyway have a good day .

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 03/10/2023 09:07:39    2506724

Last remark from I was also saying Ballymore win only because sole clubs nothing against kiloe if they do win they have great winning mentality great club out there going well possible to win senior junior double. Anyway sorry if seemed sore or shameful wasn't my intention. Sorry don't think I was or meant me. Have a good day.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 03/10/2023 09:14:59    2506727

Speedy recovery to Matt Duffy who went off injured for Dromard on Sunday, hopefully it doesn't ruin the young mans Aussie Rule dream before it even got going!

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 03/10/2023 14:43:22    2506808

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Last remark from I was also saying Ballymore win only because sole clubs nothing against kiloe if they do win they have great winning mentality great club out there going well possible to win senior junior double. Anyway sorry if seemed sore or shameful wasn't my intention. Sorry don't think I was or meant me. Have a good day."
Should be a cracker of a junior final, killoe impressive against a team struggling to even field for a semi final. Both teams haven't been tested in the semi final but Ballymore have played a lot of good challenge games lately that should stand to them.
Ballymore just pips it for me.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 351 - 03/10/2023 17:24:05    2506835

Replying To maximus02:  "Speedy recovery to Matt Duffy who went off injured for Dromard on Sunday, hopefully it doesn't ruin the young mans Aussie Rule dream before it even got going!"
Speedy recovery Matt

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 03/10/2023 18:29:44    2506845