Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "It will be interesting to see how he line up against Galway. I'd suspect be much different to London game. We will have to leave 13-14 men behind the ball at most times our star forwards Beirne and O'Rourke left up top. I believe a big game for O'Rourke is more important than Beirne. We know what Beirne can do 7-8 points per game is expected but if we get ball in hand to O'Rourke running at Galway defenders it'll leave them another headache to worry about and bring some of the Galway focus off beirne. I reckon we should deploy more defensive wing forwards to cope with the Galway wingbacks (possibly play wingbacks at wing forward) Riordan is a quality footballer but defense is not his main stay. Another big impact off the bench is needed from Heslin but lets not hope the game is too far out of reach when he comes on. He has got a name for being an impact sub lately but many around the county believe he should be starting. A tough game is in store for us but it will be a real marker to see how far we've improved since the Mayo game last year."
If as you suggest Beirne can tag on 0-8, another 0-10 from the rest of the team aught be enough to record a famous win. We will be roaring ye on to take revenge for last Sunday. I think 14/1 is attractive odds. Andy is looking forward to this day since taking the job. If ye can win 50/50 around the middle and get it in quick to O'Rourke ye can win, they have no one to deal with him.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 27/04/2022 12:45:58    2413581

Replying To dave1988:  "Jesus you are bitter"
Not a bit bitter, it is my opinion. I'd say Roscommon would have a good chance of beating Galway in Hyde Park for example, is that bitter?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 27/04/2022 13:20:40    2413599

Replying To The_analyser:  "It's the wum routine he likes to play. Even in the prediction competition on here when one is meant to use their head he couldn't bring himself to predict any win for Roscommon in Div 2.

Keephimthere posted up a decent and honest on topic post in regards to this upcoming Galway v Leitrim semi final and kentuckytucky couldn't help himself but to attack it with his usual nonsense and such nonsense like that is why a number of good and informed Leitrim posters don't bother posting on here anymore."
Look, I am posting my opinion here. Yet you come on all the time to question my opinion, for a different county and thread. Who exactly is doing the wumming here? You are repeatedly trying to derail this thread. It is about Leitrim football, not Roscommon. You have plenty of opportunity to give multiple thoughts on your own county on your own thread.

I did no attacking, I just made a point and gave an opinion. It may not be the one you want but there it is. Yet you constantly question my posts.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 27/04/2022 13:25:16    2413604

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "How could you say you expect Galway to comfortably beat Roscommon. They've met in 4 Connacht finals since 2016 both winning two apiece the 2016 went to a replay and Galway won. As well as this Roscommon beating them twice in one week. Roscommon are a serious outfit and strong contenders to raise the Nestor Cup for the 25th time."
That is my opinion and that is why I said it. For a Leitrim poster you know a hell of a lot about Roscommon and how many titles they've won.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 27/04/2022 13:28:35    2413610

Replying To eoinog:  "No. Keith Beirne or Mulligan would not start on any team in the country and we don't have any player in that category either."
Beirne would certainly get on any div 3 or 4 team, he'd make most of div 2 sides also, that is on current form. When you go higher than that it probably would be less certain. Hard to argue that Monaghan or Armagh wouldn't be a consideration.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 27/04/2022 13:57:37    2413621

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "It will be interesting to see how he line up against Galway. I'd suspect be much different to London game. We will have to leave 13-14 men behind the ball at most times our star forwards Beirne and O'Rourke left up top. I believe a big game for O'Rourke is more important than Beirne. We know what Beirne can do 7-8 points per game is expected but if we get ball in hand to O'Rourke running at Galway defenders it'll leave them another headache to worry about and bring some of the Galway focus off beirne. I reckon we should deploy more defensive wing forwards to cope with the Galway wingbacks (possibly play wingbacks at wing forward) Riordan is a quality footballer but defense is not his main stay. Another big impact off the bench is needed from Heslin but lets not hope the game is too far out of reach when he comes on. He has got a name for being an impact sub lately but many around the county believe he should be starting. A tough game is in store for us but it will be a real marker to see how far we've improved since the Mayo game last year."
I love your optimism, unfortunately Galway racked up huge scores in the league this year. I think we will do well to keep scoreboard ticking over but won't be be close to out scoring Galway.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 27/04/2022 14:24:36    2413637

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "That is my opinion and that is why I said it. For a Leitrim poster you know a hell of a lot about Roscommon and how many titles they've won."
No I actually thought of my opinion used my brain (something you don't seem to use on this forum) and done some research to back it up before posting. For a Leitrim poster you don't seem to know a hell of a lot on Leitrim football.... or football in general

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 29/04/2022 11:02:53    2414012

Replying To Backheel:  "I love your optimism, unfortunately Galway racked up huge scores in the league this year. I think we will do well to keep scoreboard ticking over but won't be be close to out scoring Galway."
Yes agree. My post wasnt meant to be optimistic juts how we need to set up if we ever want the game to even be contestable. It will be interesting to see how they set up. They deployed a more defensive style of play against Mayo but maybe they will revert back to there more attacking tactics they used in the league. I for one am not too sure which we would fare out better against.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 29/04/2022 11:08:20    2414014

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Yes agree. My post wasnt meant to be optimistic juts how we need to set up if we ever want the game to even be contestable. It will be interesting to see how they set up. They deployed a more defensive style of play against Mayo but maybe they will revert back to there more attacking tactics they used in the league. I for one am not too sure which we would fare out better against."
The two man sweeper they deployed against Mayo was specifically to counteract Mayos running game I think. So I dont think Galway will be as defensive against us. They were very effective and this tactic would also work well were they playing Tyrone or Dubs who are very dangerous coming from the half backline. I would think the will probably play with one sweeper against us or the Rossies for example. If we do drop two men back that may leave us in trouble around the middle.
Perhaps a sweeper and a third mid fielder at wing forward would help counteract that.
I do think we will put up a good performance and we are capable of putting up a decent score.
I hope we can stay with them for much of a game and there isnt a complete collapse like last year. Fingers crossed.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 29/04/2022 11:31:49    2414028

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "No I actually thought of my opinion used my brain (something you don't seem to use on this forum) and done some research to back it up before posting. For a Leitrim poster you don't seem to know a hell of a lot on Leitrim football.... or football in general"
Oh I see. I am a Leitrim poster yes and proud of it, and I'll defend them when others let posters from other counties come on here and make a skit out of them.

What do I not know about Leitrim football or football in general ducky?

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 29/04/2022 12:09:44    2414044

My hope would be that we'll keep it within 10 points. The season has already been a failure so best push Galway as hard as we can and use that to work out where we need to be for 2023. From here on out, Moran and his management team have to sell full commitment to the panel to carry forward momentum into next year... & hopefully we'll unearth a few more lads from this years club championship.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 29/04/2022 15:40:56    2414074

Replying To Square_B:  "My hope would be that we'll keep it within 10 points. The season has already been a failure so best push Galway as hard as we can and use that to work out where we need to be for 2023. From here on out, Moran and his management team have to sell full commitment to the panel to carry forward momentum into next year... & hopefully we'll unearth a few more lads from this years club championship."
I think it's a little harsh to describe the season as a failure. We were in a group with Cavan & Tipp which was always going to be a struggle. The result V London in Bekan was undoubtedly a disaster but these things happen.
It's Moran's 1st. season and I'd feel he was half looking at 2023 from the off given the circumstances. Have faith….

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 30/04/2022 19:03:21    2414235

Replying To Square_B:  "My hope would be that we'll keep it within 10 points. The season has already been a failure so best push Galway as hard as we can and use that to work out where we need to be for 2023. From here on out, Moran and his management team have to sell full commitment to the panel to carry forward momentum into next year... & hopefully we'll unearth a few more lads from this years club championship."
I think it's a little harsh to describe the season as a failure. We were in a group with Cavan & Tipp which was always going to be a struggle. The result V London in Bekan was undoubtedly a disaster but these things happen.
It's Moran's 1st. season and I'd feel he was half looking at 2023 from the off given the circumstances. Have faith….

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 688 - 30/04/2022 19:36:10    2414241

How are we fixed team wise for Sunday? Keith Beirne will come back in , will Tom Prior be fit to play any role? Hopefully we have a good cut at Galway and be as competitive as possible .

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 03/05/2022 17:53:16    2414727

Replying To JimmyNail:  "How are we fixed team wise for Sunday? Keith Beirne will come back in , will Tom Prior be fit to play any role? Hopefully we have a good cut at Galway and be as competitive as possible ."
I'm looking forward to it but also dreading it.
I have never seen or heard such disregard for the fixture as this year. It's all talk of Galway v Roscommon. Sometimes, there isn't even the token "with all due respect to Leitrim". The Sunday game was cringe worthy when Colm Boyle had to remind Des Cahill that Galway had to beat Leitrim first. Des tried to save the situation by asking "And if Leitrim win, do you think Roscommon will beat them then?" It was a bit painful.

Unfortunately, it's harder then ever to argue or defend against this with no championship win against Galway or Mayo since '94 (Que the articles in the paper this week harping back to '94).

No need to name names here, this team has some exciting forwards , men down the centre with a bit of height (which we haven't had for a while)... but we are very leaky at the back and that's a worry.

I really hope people get up, don the colours and go to the game. It may be a while before we can pin that 'BELIEVE' flag to the netting behind the goals but you have to support the team come what may. I'll be front and centre at it and I wish them only good luck.
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 04/05/2022 12:23:52    2414827

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "I think it's a little harsh to describe the season as a failure. We were in a group with Cavan & Tipp which was always going to be a struggle. The result V London in Bekan was undoubtedly a disaster but these things happen.
It's Moran's 1st. season and I'd feel he was half looking at 2023 from the off given the circumstances. Have faith…."
Wouldn't be so sure he'll be around for 2023. He jumped ship from his own club Ballaghaderreen after he failed to get them out of the group stage. A lot will depend on how the next few games will go. If he still potential he'll stay if not he'll jump to the next stepping stone.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/05/2022 14:56:56    2414869

Replying To Mugatay:  "I'm looking forward to it but also dreading it.
I have never seen or heard such disregard for the fixture as this year. It's all talk of Galway v Roscommon. Sometimes, there isn't even the token "with all due respect to Leitrim". The Sunday game was cringe worthy when Colm Boyle had to remind Des Cahill that Galway had to beat Leitrim first. Des tried to save the situation by asking "And if Leitrim win, do you think Roscommon will beat them then?" It was a bit painful.

Unfortunately, it's harder then ever to argue or defend against this with no championship win against Galway or Mayo since '94 (Que the articles in the paper this week harping back to '94).

No need to name names here, this team has some exciting forwards , men down the centre with a bit of height (which we haven't had for a while)... but we are very leaky at the back and that's a worry.

I really hope people get up, don the colours and go to the game. It may be a while before we can pin that 'BELIEVE' flag to the netting behind the goals but you have to support the team come what may. I'll be front and centre at it and I wish them only good luck.
Liatroim abú"
Oh now the Sunday game is a dinosaur of a show, I wouldn't pass much heed on it. It hasn't moved with the times at all, and badly needs new presenters for live and highlights shows.

I wouldn't be dreading this weekend as much as a Mayo fixture. There's a bit of jekyll and hyde about Galway, you just don't know what team will show up whereas Mayo would most likely be guaranteed to steamroll us.

So what are we looking for here, a good performance and a defeat under ten points being a good result? A 15-20 points defeat being the expected outcome? We have a porous defence now, London walked through us which is ominous but maybe that was worked on in the meantime.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 04/05/2022 15:15:53    2414876

Galway fellas fighting for their places, they will go all out and show no sympathy .
Just glad its not televised.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 04/05/2022 18:36:46    2414925

It is 30 quid for a stand ticket for the game, to say this is excessive is an understatement.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 04/05/2022 20:28:36    2414943

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "I think it's a little harsh to describe the season as a failure. We were in a group with Cavan & Tipp which was always going to be a struggle. The result V London in Bekan was undoubtedly a disaster but these things happen.
It's Moran's 1st. season and I'd feel he was half looking at 2023 from the off given the circumstances. Have faith…."
It's not harsh. It's the truth. A large sum of money was spent getting Moran & Mgt team on board... results were expected on the back of that. That's part of the problem we have in Leitrim... we expect too little from our teams... our management setups... underage structures and so on. Maybe we don't 'hurt' enough with the lack of success... I don't know.

Look I'm prepared to give the man another chance but if promotion is not secured in 2023, he should go. And the county board need to take a good long look at themselves and the state of play after that. Hundreds of thousands of euro are being raised yearly for the love of football in Leitrim... those people deserve days out in the sun & much more.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/05/2022 21:39:07    2414955