Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "I can't see Tipp beating Cavan in Breffni park. Cavan will win all their games, if they were going to lose then away to Sligo was the one they could have slipped up on. They didn't. They will want to win all games"
As I read your message, I agreed and I'm less worried about that Tipp game. We have to be focused on our own affairs this weekend though. Carlow are a bit of a bogey team for us like Waterford..especially with it being played down there. I hope big numbers will travel and we keep our discipline (Thinking back to that terrible backdoor chapionship game years ago)

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 07/03/2022 15:29:01    2404303

Replying To Mugatay:  "As I read your message, I agreed and I'm less worried about that Tipp game. We have to be focused on our own affairs this weekend though. Carlow are a bit of a bogey team for us like Waterford..especially with it being played down there. I hope big numbers will travel and we keep our discipline (Thinking back to that terrible backdoor chapionship game years ago)"
that was embarrassing alright. Only 7 points but the manner of how they laid down in the 2nd half will always stay with me. I personally wont be too upset if we are not promoted given it is Moran's first year and once you lose 2 games from the first 3 its an uphill battle against teams with more momentum but a 3rd place finish, which is the more likely outcome, may stand to them in the new 2nd tier competition

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 457 - 08/03/2022 14:02:33    2404460

Philly mc Guinness final is this Sat. It's a wonderful tribute to the man to have a worthwhile intercounty competition in his memory. I didn't know Philip but I do remember the terrible tragedy that unfortunately cost him his life. Sligo are in the final and I do hope we have a game worthy of the occasion. Needless to say I am hoping for a victory. At dheis de go raibh a anam.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 08/03/2022 14:12:05    2404463

Replying To Square_B:  "Hardly. Beirne is one of the best forwards in Div 4 if not Connacht. As for others talking up players I can't comment on that but we have some decent forwards. It's not a crime to state that."
Keith Beirne,Ryan O'Rourke and the improving Tom Prior are hugely talented . Hopefully Carlow will struggle against them. Andy will be focussed on defence and following a good workout against a strong Meath last Friday could introduce Conor Reynolds and Conor Farrell while Shane Moran is back in training.Leitrim are a better side than Carlow who are rebuilding with a lot of young inexperienced players. We can win this.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 08/03/2022 21:09:40    2404543

So I'm going to post the managers I know that ads with teams. Anyone else able to fill in the blanks

Allen Gaels - ??
Aughvas - Liam Higgins
Annaduff - Joe Cox
Aughnasheelin - Terry Renoylds
Aughwillian - ??
Bornacoola - ??
Ballinaglera - JP Kane
Ballinamore - ??
Carrigallen - ??
Cloone - ??
Carrick - Alan Flynn
Dromahair - Padraig Clancy
Drumreilly - ??
Drumkeerin - Richard McTiernan
Eslin - ??
Fenagh - Joe Flynn
Glenfaren - ??
Gortletteragh - ??
Kiltubrid - ??
Leitrim Gaels - Paul Prior
Manor - ??
Melvin Gaels - Matthew Keenan
Mohil - Eamon O'Hara

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 10/03/2022 18:57:49    2404842

Gortletteragh - Paddy Dowd
Eslin - Adrian Mc Caffrey

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 11/03/2022 13:15:47    2404919

Allen Gaels -
Aughvas - Liam Higgins
Annaduff - Joe Cox
Aughnasheelin - Terry Reynolds
Aughwillian -
Bornacoola - Seamus Mallon
Ballinaglera - JP Kane
Ballinamore - Eddie Bouabbse
Carrigallen - Niall Mulleady
Cloone -
Carrick - Alan Flynn
Drumreilly -
Eslin - Adrian McCaffery
Fenagh - Joe Flynn
Glenfarne -
Gortletteragh - Paddy Dowd
Kiltubrid - Ciaran McTague / Adrian Dockery
Manor -
Mohil - Eamon O'Hara

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 373 - 11/03/2022 17:04:45    2404972

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Keith Beirne,Ryan O'Rourke and the improving Tom Prior are hugely talented . Hopefully Carlow will struggle against them. Andy will be focussed on defence and following a good workout against a strong Meath last Friday could introduce Conor Reynolds and Conor Farrell while Shane Moran is back in training.Leitrim are a better side than Carlow who are rebuilding with a lot of young inexperienced players. We can win this."
Did they perform well against Meath lad?

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 12/03/2022 09:00:40    2405008

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Keith Beirne,Ryan O'Rourke and the improving Tom Prior are hugely talented . Hopefully Carlow will struggle against them. Andy will be focussed on defence and following a good workout against a strong Meath last Friday could introduce Conor Reynolds and Conor Farrell while Shane Moran is back in training.Leitrim are a better side than Carlow who are rebuilding with a lot of young inexperienced players. We can win this."
No such thing as a strong Meath even with there best 15

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 12/03/2022 12:15:16    2405023

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Did they perform well against Meath lad?"
Over on the Meath forum one fella said Meath won by 8 points.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/03/2022 13:24:30    2405033

Replying To Yondu:  "Over on the Meath forum one fella said Meath won by 8 points."
Cheers!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 13/03/2022 07:15:37    2405096

Getting ready to soon hit the road for Carlow. Looks like weather conditions will be similar to the London match ,I just hope we're able to cope better with them today. Going to be a tough game no doubt Carlow are improving and Dr Cullen Park is always a tough venue. We're going to have to dig in today and grind out a result in tough conditions something this team has been unable to do so far. Very nervous about today, for all our talk about permutations and other results if we lose or even draw today we're gone. Best of luck to the lads.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 13/03/2022 07:30:33    2405097

Replying To Champotime18:  "So I'm going to post the managers I know that ads with teams. Anyone else able to fill in the blanks

Allen Gaels - ??
Aughvas - Liam Higgins
Annaduff - Joe Cox
Aughnasheelin - Terry Renoylds
Aughwillian - ??
Bornacoola - ??
Ballinaglera - JP Kane
Ballinamore - ??
Carrigallen - ??
Cloone - ??
Carrick - Alan Flynn
Drumreilly - ??
Eslin - ??
Fenagh - Joe Flynn
Glenfaren - ??
Gortletteragh - ??
Kiltubrid - ??
Manor - ??
Mohil - Eamon O'Hara"
Joe Flynn is gone from Fenagh

index777 (Leitrim) - Posts: 66 - 13/03/2022 09:31:52    2405102

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "No such thing as a strong Meath even with there best 15"
That's a lovely story, thanks for that.

Leitrim_12 (USA) - Posts: 207 - 13/03/2022 13:37:18    2405132

Great win today still too open at the back but ground out a good away win . Unfortunately the result in Breffni is a disaster for us can't see Tipperary slipping up in their 2 home games with Carlow and London. The London defeat will prove very costly Unfortunately

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 13/03/2022 16:23:14    2405162

If you scroll back on the messages on this forum from a few weeks ago you will see that Leitrim posters were quiet dismissive of Tipperary. It's Tipps promotion to lose now

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 13/03/2022 17:11:05    2405189

I suppose we were banking on Cavan beating them which would have been a great result for ourselves and Sligo and I suppose on form so far Cavan would have been strong favourites but fair play to Tipperary that's a great away win and I think they'll be promoted. We lost to London who ye beat by 18 points so we've no excuses if we don't go up. Was never as deflated after a Leitrim win as today when the Tipperary result came through.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 13/03/2022 18:01:16    2405213

How bad was that ref today?

Good win all things told but we're way too open at the back.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 13/03/2022 18:46:13    2405229

Replying To Yondu:  "Over on the Meath forum one fella said Meath won by 8 points."
Meath won by 2 with most of their 1st choice while Andy played a weakened side. As predicted he played Conor Reynolds & Conor Farrell against Carlow. The game obviously was a morale boost for Leitrim.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 13/03/2022 19:12:39    2405238

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "How bad was that ref today?

Good win all things told but we're way too open at the back."
Couldn't make sense of the ref today, he was very poor for both sides..

Good win today. Keith and Ryan were unreal. Defense still major issue, James Rooney was at sea for most the game.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 13/03/2022 19:43:00    2405250