Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Very unfair I think of those critical of Andy. You would think Leitrim were in division 1 when he came in. He managed the team to promotion and a Croke park final. But much more credit is due for the way the team dug out the victory over Laois when very few if any were giving ye a chance. He at least should not be judged until after the Tailteann Cup concludes. https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/tailteann-cup-football"
He's done well with the U20 Leitrim team beating Mayo last week and not far off Galway the previous week.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2168 - 08/04/2024 15:18:59    2536624

People can keep harping on about Andy in or Andy out personally I think it's pointless talking about this until after T cup. The fact is in the past 3 years we have lost some huge players that would normally start for us. I don't know is that down to Andy or other reasons like emigration or the fact some people just don't want the hassle of having to dedicate their life to football. The reality is outside of I'd say 17 players the rest on the senior panel aren't county level.

Here's a list of players off the top of my head who could make us better by either being starter players or being in the squad. Most of these have already played for Leitrim.

1. Jack Heslin
2. Keith Beirne
3. The two Cullens
4. Aaron Hoare
5. The two McGoverns
6. Shane Moran
7. Keith Keegan
8. Harkin (Mohill)
9. David and James Mitchell
10. Fergal McTague
11. Jordan reynolds
12. Brendan Flynn

Theres 15 players who'd probably have the beating of the Leitrim team who played yesterday. Probably lots of other lad I missed too. I know lots of other counties go through the same struggles with emigration etc but we definitely have it tough. I worry how many more we'll lose after this year if we don't pull together a good performance in the T Cup.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 08/04/2024 16:11:23    2536651

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "ForeverBlue2 I think you are spot on. I can't see what he has brought to the team. Would we be different if he was the main man? Personally I'd go for a new management team, local if possible, the money being spent on this management team is outrageous, I'd rather it was invested into underage."
Would you enlighten us there to the outrageous money,you seem to be in the know.Ive seen it mentioned by a few lads here but I've yet to see a figure.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 08/04/2024 17:26:27    2536683

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "People can keep harping on about Andy in or Andy out personally I think it's pointless talking about this until after T cup. The fact is in the past 3 years we have lost some huge players that would normally start for us. I don't know is that down to Andy or other reasons like emigration or the fact some people just don't want the hassle of having to dedicate their life to football. The reality is outside of I'd say 17 players the rest on the senior panel aren't county level.

Here's a list of players off the top of my head who could make us better by either being starter players or being in the squad. Most of these have already played for Leitrim.

1. Jack Heslin
2. Keith Beirne
3. The two Cullens
4. Aaron Hoare
5. The two McGoverns
6. Shane Moran
7. Keith Keegan
8. Harkin (Mohill)
10. Fergal McTague
11. Jordan reynolds
12. Brendan Flynn

Theres 15 players who'd probably have the beating of the Leitrim team who played yesterday. Probably lots of other lad I missed too. I know lots of other counties go through the same struggles with emigration etc but we definitely have it tough. I worry how many more we'll lose after this year if we don't pull together a good performance in the T Cup."
Outside of Keith Beirne and maybe Moran I am not sure any of the them are better than what's there now.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 08/04/2024 17:30:20    2536684

Replying To Thejampot:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=TJH:  "Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
He was a super footballer back in the day but he's a very poor manager."
It was the most basic requirement for us, Tipp, Carlow and Longford also. Noone is calling for John Hegarty to go down here.
Just as an aside why do Leitrim supporters think that being in division 4 is such a surprise? Or, to put it better, that getting promoted isn't a huge achievement? All of Tipp, Wexford and Longford have spent way more time in division 2 and 3 than Leitrim in the last 15 years, even Waterford and Carlow have been up in div3 in that time. This is the first time ye have got promoted since the noughties isn't it?"
Played Division 3 in 2020"]Sorry my mistake. 2020 was a strange year. But I remember 2019 you were excellent you beat everyone except Derry. O'Rourke murdered us by himself. But in general getting promoted hasn't happened that often.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11917 - 08/04/2024 18:09:01    2536691

Replying To Thejampot:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=TJH:  "Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
It was the most basic requirement for us, Tipp, Carlow and Longford also. Noone is calling for John Hegarty to go down here.
Just as an aside why do Leitrim supporters think that being in division 4 is such a surprise? Or, to put it better, that getting promoted isn't a huge achievement? All of Tipp, Wexford and Longford have spent way more time in division 2 and 3 than Leitrim in the last 15 years, even Waterford and Carlow have been up in div3 in that time. This is the first time ye have got promoted since the noughties isn't it?"
Played Division 3 in 2020"]Sorry my mistake. 2020 was a strange year. But I remember 2019 you were excellent you beat everyone except Derry. O'Rourke murdered us by himself. But in general getting promoted hasn't happened that often. I still stand by my point though, you got promoted, and without Beirne. When I heard he was out the panel I thought you would have no chance this year. He was your best forward against us last year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11917 - 08/04/2024 18:10:56    2536692

Replying To masseyferguson:  "Would you enlighten us there to the outrageous money,you seem to be in the know.Ive seen it mentioned by a few lads here but I've yet to see a figure."
It's unlike you not to have the schedule of County Board expenses for year ending 30 Sept. 2023.
Team managers and selectors expenses = €163,057.
The overall costs for that year between one thing and another amounted to €960,762 including €74,050 on sports gear….A fine comprehensive report in fairness. Glad to be of assistance.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 08/04/2024 18:30:17    2536701

I think we have performed credibly this year, some questions were asked of Moran for sure, and he has answered some of them. Yes were dirt for the last 3rd of the league final but in a big top quality pitch like Croker Laois are more at home than we are and have the makings of a Div2 team if they can keep same squad/ get few more faces involved. They were basically promoted before playing us in first game so probably were not at full tilt.
Yesterday was not much better but it was kinda a pointless game for us, reward would be a similar hiding from Galway that London got. Dunno what the current mgmt team cost but sure noone is doing it for free now. Agree resources are better put into underage up to U20 for the next 2/3 years so that hopefully by them we have a competitive team, it is a waste of time talking about lads who could make the team if they committed etc. the reality is half those lads are not around or just no interest, so forget about them

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 460 - 08/04/2024 18:45:47    2536710

Replying To Backheel:  "Outside of Keith Beirne and maybe Moran I am not sure any of the them are better than what's there now."
Do you go to many matches, outside of KB Jack Heslin was our best player last year.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 08/04/2024 18:48:11    2536711

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Very unfair I think of those critical of Andy. You would think Leitrim were in division 1 when he came in. He managed the team to promotion and a Croke park final. But much more credit is due for the way the team dug out the victory over Laois when very few if any were giving ye a chance. He at least should not be judged until after the Tailteann Cup concludes. https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/tailteann-cup-football"
True, Leitrim hadn't won a game in over a year when he took over.There was a culture of going on the beer and under performance.

The most important thing he has done is to raise the bar and get players to really commit to strength and conditioning. It is unbelievable that many of the seniors and U20's have been in the gym in the Centre of Excellence since July at their own expense.

Getting promoted this year is a monumental achievement. The challenge will be stay up but I wold fancy that rather than try to get promoted next year considering the teams in Division 4 next year.

Above all he has the respect of the players .

There is no easy answer to getting Leitrim football to a higher level it must work from the bottom up and I believe it is improving.

Hard work determination and graft is what is needed, not bar stool critics who suggest someone has a magic wand to make us world beaters.That wand doesn't exist.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 08/04/2024 20:19:49    2536739

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "ForeverBlue2 I think you are spot on. I can't see what he has brought to the team. Would we be different if he was the main man? Personally I'd go for a new management team, local if possible, the money being spent on this management team is outrageous, I'd rather it was invested into underage."
Jesus ,that is agreat one most of the clubs in Leitrim have managers from outside the county and you think the CB should have a local manager!!!

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 08/04/2024 20:43:39    2536742

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "It's unlike you not to have the schedule of County Board expenses for year ending 30 Sept. 2023.
Team managers and selectors expenses = €163,057.
The overall costs for that year between one thing and another amounted to €960,762 including €74,050 on sports gear….A fine comprehensive report in fairness. Glad to be of assistance."
"What do you think of that masseyferguson"

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 08/04/2024 22:05:34    2536756

Replying To masseyferguson:  "Do you go to many matches, outside of KB Jack Heslin was our best player last year."
I do actually, Heslin was starting to establish himself last year. But I don't think he is much better than we have now. With the two o Rourkes and mc nulty playing as they are. But we are splitting hairs imo

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 08/04/2024 22:19:42    2536757

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "People can keep harping on about Andy in or Andy out personally I think it's pointless talking about this until after T cup. The fact is in the past 3 years we have lost some huge players that would normally start for us. I don't know is that down to Andy or other reasons like emigration or the fact some people just don't want the hassle of having to dedicate their life to football. The reality is outside of I'd say 17 players the rest on the senior panel aren't county level.

1. Jack Heslin
2. Keith Beirne
3. The two Cullens
4. Aaron Hoare
5. The two McGoverns
6. Shane Moran
7. Keith Keegan
8. Harkin (Mohill)
10. Fergal McTague
11. Jordan reynolds
12. Brendan Flynn

Theres 15 players who'd probably have the beating of the Leitrim team who played yesterday. Probably lots of other lad I missed too. I know lots of other counties go through the same struggles with emigration etc but we definitely have it tough. I worry how many more we'll lose after this year if we don't pull together a good performance in the T Cup."
Agree with most of the names above 2 more I would add in are David Bruen from Leitrim Geals and Conor Dolan from manor

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 08/04/2024 22:30:24    2536760

Coach Moran needs to persist despite the naysayers

MylesNaGopaleen (Leitrim) - Posts: 16 - 08/04/2024 23:39:14    2536768

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To TJH:  "Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
You got promoted along Derry in 2019 with Terry Hyland in charge. The NFL fnal v Derry was by a margin of 4 points.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3758 - 09/04/2024 00:58:31    2536773

I think we can all agree that like him or loathe him, there's no point in ditching Andy until we see what happens in the Tailteann Cup. The current season is still underway. We have a few weeks now to plan for the TC. Let's get behind the manager and the team.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 09/04/2024 01:01:23    2536774

Hard luck on Leitrim, but at least it was an Irish team that took ye out this year, not us Yanks! But ye better pray that ye don't meet us in the Tailteann later in the year. While we may not have all the ammo that we had last year, I believe that Leitrim has gone backwards, despite somehow managing promotion to Div. 3!

I think that it is fair to say that after yer failings in yer last 2 games that Leitrim is firmly a Div. 4 outfit!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1918 - 09/04/2024 02:51:15    2536776

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Hard luck on Leitrim, but at least it was an Irish team that took ye out this year, not us Yanks! But ye better pray that ye don't meet us in the Tailteann later in the year. While we may not have all the ammo that we had last year, I believe that Leitrim has gone backwards, despite somehow managing promotion to Div. 3!

I think that it is fair to say that after yer failings in yer last 2 games that Leitrim is firmly a Div. 4 outfit!"
How many of last year's New York team played this year?

Just as a matter of curiosity like?

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 09/04/2024 10:07:01    2536820

Was anyone at the game Sunday that is completely blaming Andy. I was in the stand behind Andy and was listening to him. The problem is another deeper than Andy I've been his biggest critic here for awhile bit the players IQ is miles off. He can't and shouldn't have to tell them where to run what to do so much and then they still don't do it. I'm not gonna name names but one point in the first half for Sligo, Andy shouted at one of our defenders to pick up a sligo man, the player did that for about 4 secs then just left him in miles of space. Donal wrynn ran about 40 yards to try cover that sligo player and the other leitrim lad just stood in no mans land, needless to day sligo picked out that forward and tapped it over the bar.
Andy was telling them keep the ball in the first half we have an overload, the player just booted it up into the air into the Riordan no chance of getting it and sligo kicked a score on the counter. In the second half he was telling them to let the ball in high and fast and they kept fist passing and losing the ball not giving it in. The players intelligence is more to be questioned than the manager. He's trying his best from what I've seen in last few weeks but the players are miles off.

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 09/04/2024 10:10:54    2536823