Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To joeman123:  "True, Leitrim hadn't won a game in over a year when he took over.There was a culture of going on the beer and under performance.

The most important thing he has done is to raise the bar and get players to really commit to strength and conditioning. It is unbelievable that many of the seniors and U20's have been in the gym in the Centre of Excellence since July at their own expense.

Getting promoted this year is a monumental achievement. The challenge will be stay up but I wold fancy that rather than try to get promoted next year considering the teams in Division 4 next year.

Above all he has the respect of the players .

There is no easy answer to getting Leitrim football to a higher level it must work from the bottom up and I believe it is improving.

Hard work determination and graft is what is needed, not bar stool critics who suggest someone has a magic wand to make us world beaters.That wand doesn't exist."
Being beaten heavily two weeks in a row isn't under performance now?

The players deserve huge credit for what they put in, in fairness is it even worth it for them to do so?

Coach Hyland got us promoted without half the fuss back in 2019.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 09/04/2024 10:18:43    2536827

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "Being beaten heavily two weeks in a row isn't under performance now?

The players deserve huge credit for what they put in, in fairness is it even worth it for them to do so?

Coach Hyland got us promoted without half the fuss back in 2019."
The answer to the above question is a resounding "NO"!!! A few people around Leitrim know the lads who put in the savage effort required to play 4d county with next to no glory. To come on here and see the slagging and abuse some lads get all because they wanted to put on the jersey and do their best. We all had dreams of playing in Croker back in the day but only a very small number of us wanted to make the long commute home from college twice a week to play/train. The social life would have suffered too!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 09/04/2024 11:09:36    2536840

Replying To Taytofoley83:  "Was anyone at the game Sunday that is completely blaming Andy. I was in the stand behind Andy and was listening to him. The problem is another deeper than Andy I've been his biggest critic here for awhile bit the players IQ is miles off. He can't and shouldn't have to tell them where to run what to do so much and then they still don't do it. I'm not gonna name names but one point in the first half for Sligo, Andy shouted at one of our defenders to pick up a sligo man, the player did that for about 4 secs then just left him in miles of space. Donal wrynn ran about 40 yards to try cover that sligo player and the other leitrim lad just stood in no mans land, needless to day sligo picked out that forward and tapped it over the bar.
Andy was telling them keep the ball in the first half we have an overload, the player just booted it up into the air into the Riordan no chance of getting it and sligo kicked a score on the counter. In the second half he was telling them to let the ball in high and fast and they kept fist passing and losing the ball not giving it in. The players intelligence is more to be questioned than the manager. He's trying his best from what I've seen in last few weeks but the players are miles off."
An important point but one which will be lost on many I'm afraid. Speed of thought is a fundamental requirement at that level and is just as important as the other criteria. The notion that players need a high level of, at the very least, football IQ will be dismissed by many of our supporters who are just happy to get their picture taken by Willie.

I've made the point previously that Andy Moran, along with previous managers, can only work with what is available. The lack of situational awareness, leadership and game management is alarming. It certainly wasn't helped by the absence of their most natural leader in the form of Mark Plunkett but even he couldn't have done much against Sligo. The Sligo game wasn't the first game where this was evident. The perfect example was the Carlow game. Their goal should not have happened. Do whatever it takes. Excuses offered by other commentators surrounding that goal were pathetic. Call it as it is instead of mollycoddling lads. We should be open to critical analysis instead of being offended on the players behalf. Personal stuff is a completely different matter of course. We are doing Leitrim football and the current team a disservice by spinning the yarn that we are just happy with a trip to the "big shmoke" and being patronised with pats on the head. The bigger problem we have is that there are people in positions of power that are happy with this.

This lack of football IQ, along with everything else, stems from the standard of football that we are playing at club level. Right the way through from underage. Its slow, ponderous, you can get away with making mistakes and you've plenty of time on the ball. It eventually manifests itself at inter-county level. I blame the county board for this. It's their job to sort this out. Are there steps being taken to address this? Yes, but way too slowly. This is urgent but my experience informs me it will continue at a snails pace. Some clubs are doing it the right way and are much more professional than the County board. The County board should be the ones driving this instead of the tail wagging the dog.

This brings me onto the under 20's. The talent in this team and the relative success is in spite of the County board. Anyone that actually knows their football will know that the likes of Paul Honeyman, Ben Guckian, Darren Cox etc. are generational talents. Their talent has little to do with any input from the county board.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 105 - 09/04/2024 11:35:15    2536845

Replying To Taytofoley83:  "Was anyone at the game Sunday that is completely blaming Andy. I was in the stand behind Andy and was listening to him. The problem is another deeper than Andy I've been his biggest critic here for awhile bit the players IQ is miles off. He can't and shouldn't have to tell them where to run what to do so much and then they still don't do it. I'm not gonna name names but one point in the first half for Sligo, Andy shouted at one of our defenders to pick up a sligo man, the player did that for about 4 secs then just left him in miles of space. Donal wrynn ran about 40 yards to try cover that sligo player and the other leitrim lad just stood in no mans land, needless to day sligo picked out that forward and tapped it over the bar.
Andy was telling them keep the ball in the first half we have an overload, the player just booted it up into the air into the Riordan no chance of getting it and sligo kicked a score on the counter. In the second half he was telling them to let the ball in high and fast and they kept fist passing and losing the ball not giving it in. The players intelligence is more to be questioned than the manager. He's trying his best from what I've seen in last few weeks but the players are miles off."
I agree with this. The players effort can't be questioned but tue decision making on the ball can. When Andy first started he was loud and vocal on the line and I always thought it was just inexperience on the sideline as you very rarely see managers shouting into players constantly throughout a game. It has now clicked that he has little option but to do his best to steer the players through the game as best he can literally trying to advise the players in every move. This again goes back to the poor coaching at underage down through the years and all drill based trainings with little to no decision making. Get a team running around cones all evening with straight line hand passing and kicking. For us to compete we need a huge change in underage coaching and like any successful team
Or business that starts with the top man and Leitrim need a new head coaching officer to have any chance of bridging the gap

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 09/04/2024 11:58:43    2536854

Was Shane Quinn the player? Andy seemed to have to talk him through the first half but he wasn't listening!! Then a moment of madness one minute after getting a yellow card, from our most experienced player. Disappointing.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 09/04/2024 12:10:51    2536858

Replying To lugdrum:  "I agree with this. The players effort can't be questioned but tue decision making on the ball can. When Andy first started he was loud and vocal on the line and I always thought it was just inexperience on the sideline as you very rarely see managers shouting into players constantly throughout a game. It has now clicked that he has little option but to do his best to steer the players through the game as best he can literally trying to advise the players in every move. This again goes back to the poor coaching at underage down through the years and all drill based trainings with little to no decision making. Get a team running around cones all evening with straight line hand passing and kicking. For us to compete we need a huge change in underage coaching and like any successful team
Or business that starts with the top man and Leitrim need a new head coaching officer to have any chance of bridging the gap"
Fully agree

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 09/04/2024 13:03:29    2536875

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Was Shane Quinn the player? Andy seemed to have to talk him through the first half but he wasn't listening!! Then a moment of madness one minute after getting a yellow card, from our most experienced player. Disappointing."
He wasn't for the one I was talking about, but I was disappointed with how much instruction had to go towards Shane. His head was gone tho I think really in the game. It looked like he didn't wanna be there, with his experience he should have been calling the shots on field. It makes you appreciate the big games in croke park where the place is heaving, and the noise. The best players and teams just know what do to, I belive with proper structure and coaching underage there's no reason we can't close the gap somewhat. But that can only come from clubs driving it on with the county board, but we know the county board don't care about players we have or underage players. Mickey Graham just stopped giving instruction at start if second half, he could see there was no response to it.

It we could over turn Sligo Wednesday that would be massive, anyone that can make it needs to make it.

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 09/04/2024 13:10:03    2536878

Replying To Taytofoley83:  "He wasn't for the one I was talking about, but I was disappointed with how much instruction had to go towards Shane. His head was gone tho I think really in the game. It looked like he didn't wanna be there, with his experience he should have been calling the shots on field. It makes you appreciate the big games in croke park where the place is heaving, and the noise. The best players and teams just know what do to, I belive with proper structure and coaching underage there's no reason we can't close the gap somewhat. But that can only come from clubs driving it on with the county board, but we know the county board don't care about players we have or underage players. Mickey Graham just stopped giving instruction at start if second half, he could see there was no response to it.

It we could over turn Sligo Wednesday that would be massive, anyone that can make it needs to make it."
There should be no reason why we can't get to the levels of counties like Cavan, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Clare etc but as you say it has to start with the underage. Yes I noticed that with Mickey Graham second half he hardly got up from his seat. I think everyone, players included just wanted it to be over.
Hopefully the under 20's get another win Wednesday evening!! Its very important to be able to put two wins back to back we have had some (a smaller number) of victories at underage over the years but failed to back it up the next day out.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 09/04/2024 13:42:40    2536897

Mickey Moran couldn't get Leitrim out of Div 4 and he is one of the top class managers in the business. He also like Andy Moran managed our u21 team but couldn't get a win in that championship either. The biggest result was in 2011 when we bet Sligo but then went on to get hammered against Roscommon in the semi final. Mickey Moran I would also suggest had a far better squad of players than he has now. Naming a few off the top of my head, Defensively Wayne McKeown, Paul Brennan, Barry McWeeney, Gary Renoylds. Mid field had Mossy Berine, in the forward you had Mulligan, James Glancy, Conor Berine. All of these players would walk into the current Leitrim team today. Andy has to be given huge credit for having the team now up in Div 3

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 09/04/2024 14:49:24    2536919

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  ""What do you think of that masseyferguson""
I'd like to thank @Boxtyeater.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 09/04/2024 15:13:49    2536925

Replying To masseyferguson:  "I'd like to thank @Boxtyeater."
Haha good stuff lad!!

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 09/04/2024 18:14:58    2536965

Replying To lugdrum:  "Mickey Moran couldn't get Leitrim out of Div 4 and he is one of the top class managers in the business. He also like Andy Moran managed our u21 team but couldn't get a win in that championship either. The biggest result was in 2011 when we bet Sligo but then went on to get hammered against Roscommon in the semi final. Mickey Moran I would also suggest had a far better squad of players than he has now. Naming a few off the top of my head, Defensively Wayne McKeown, Paul Brennan, Barry McWeeney, Gary Renoylds. Mid field had Mossy Berine, in the forward you had Mulligan, James Glancy, Conor Berine. All of these players would walk into the current Leitrim team today. Andy has to be given huge credit for having the team now up in Div 3"
From the outside reading this, I couldn't agree more. The current Leitrim team is not near as good as the team you mentioned

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 09/04/2024 19:42:04    2536985

Good wishes to Andy Moran and the u20 team this evening against Sligo. A huge game for both teams. Leitrim I believe are a highly talented team with some exceptional players
Who will no doubt have big futures for the Leitrim senior team for many years. Sligo were beaten in last years all-Ireland u20 final and have retained a lot of that team. This is a great test for our lads and if we can get the win it's sets us up nicely for the game next week v Roscommon to try and get into the semi final

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 10/04/2024 10:29:23    2537066

Big game today against a tough Sligo team. They haven't clicked so far so hopefully it stays that way tonight. Game is being streamed on Connacht GAA for €10. Hopefully the lads can give the county another lift again cause we need it after last weekend.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 10/04/2024 12:14:32    2537099

Replying To Taytofoley83:  "He wasn't for the one I was talking about, but I was disappointed with how much instruction had to go towards Shane. His head was gone tho I think really in the game. It looked like he didn't wanna be there, with his experience he should have been calling the shots on field. It makes you appreciate the big games in croke park where the place is heaving, and the noise. The best players and teams just know what do to, I belive with proper structure and coaching underage there's no reason we can't close the gap somewhat. But that can only come from clubs driving it on with the county board, but we know the county board don't care about players we have or underage players. Mickey Graham just stopped giving instruction at start if second half, he could see there was no response to it.

It we could over turn Sligo Wednesday that would be massive, anyone that can make it needs to make it."
There were 15 heads and 30 legs gone at that stage and who could blame them? The supporters who did bother to turn up couldn't give them the needed lift as they had also reached saturation point - myself included!
It was such a dull atmosphere with a sense of apathy all-round and this was supposed to be championship.

The league finalists are wide open to ambush. Mayo, Westmeath, ourselves.

Also, everyone is afraid to celebrate a victory now for fear of seeming to lose sight of the bigger picture. Did you see the Clare captain receive the Div 1 hurling cup?? You would think he had just lost big money on the result.

It was a refreshing throwback to see Paul Shankey openly admit they were going to celebrate Waterford's win and then report that they did indeed have a very late night and again, who could blame them after finishing bottom of the league. No mention of the next round or match - living in the here and now. Fair play to them.

4 big games in 4 weekends. Our lads should have had a proper night out after the league final with the shackles off followed by a week off. Then at least 2 weeks to get their house in order for Sligo.

I believe we will put in a good showing in the TC following a bit of breathing space. Once complete, that is the time for performance reviews, etc

Good luck to the u20s. A chance to give us a lift again. I'm on the wrong side of the country for it but I'll be tuning in to the stream.
Liatroim abú

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 10/04/2024 17:04:08    2537187

That was a game and a half in Sligo this evening. Very disappointed not to win it but shows last week wasn't a one off or fluke victory. Next week is huge and should have ballinamore packed to the rafters against the old enemy. Shows how tight this is. Every team has drawn at least one game with Roscommon incredibly drawing 3 and Sligo drawing 2. Yes we should have won, yes we made mistakes but by god this is a team of good footballers and a team to be very proud of

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 10/04/2024 20:49:53    2537219

Replying To lugdrum:  "That was a game and a half in Sligo this evening. Very disappointed not to win it but shows last week wasn't a one off or fluke victory. Next week is huge and should have ballinamore packed to the rafters against the old enemy. Shows how tight this is. Every team has drawn at least one game with Roscommon incredibly drawing 3 and Sligo drawing 2. Yes we should have won, yes we made mistakes but by god this is a team of good footballers and a team to be very proud of"
Incredible finish. We are still there but you have a fantastic team and should have beaten us out the gap. Home advanced will be huge for you the next day against Roscommon. Ye will have no fear

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 10/04/2024 21:17:07    2537229

Replying To eoinog:  "Incredible finish. We are still there but you have a fantastic team and should have beaten us out the gap. Home advanced will be huge for you the next day against Roscommon. Ye will have no fear"
Very generous comment

Sligo supporters usually very fair

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 10/04/2024 23:11:58    2537262

Disappointing result considering how much we led by with 3 minutes to go. But I suppose we would have taken that result before the game. We done the right thing by dropping all our men back but I thought we had retreated back a bit too much. The penalty was a bit soft and the initial foul was outside the box. The weather definitely played a part as well as the wet and slippery conditions definitely suited Sligo more as they looked the more physical team.

All to play for now next Wednesday. It's a game that we can definitely win on the basis of last night and last Wednesday. The support has been very good so far with big numbers from Leitrim travelling to Ballinasloe and Sligo already. Let's get behind them now next Wednesday and will them on to a Connacht semi final. The aim now should be to win this competition but I know Andy and the lads won't be thinking about that yet.

I've been raving on about this group on here since last August so I'm just happy there performing well and haven't left me with egg on my face.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 11/04/2024 08:26:26    2537280

I heard the ref was kinda harsh on us too but sure maybe Sligo think the same.

Winner takes all type event against Roscommon next week, at home. I'm already camped outside the pitch so I get a good spot :)

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 11/04/2024 12:15:23    2537313