Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To lecture250:  "You could be worse, I paid €60 to get cover in the stand for two of us!"
Need management change.

Leitrim36 (Leitrim) - Posts: 59 - 07/04/2024 23:08:45    2536404

Following the fourth quarter collapse against Laois and now today's no-show against Sligo, there's an argument to be made that we got promoted despite the management rather than because of it, and that the result against Laois in round 6 was a one-off and the defeats to Longford and Carlow were not inappropriate for our true level. Discuss.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 07/04/2024 23:43:19    2536417

Replying To Leitrim36:  "I agree, paid 50e to sit and watch that puke footpath. Players hand passing ball over and over and what do we expect then, turnovers are guaranteed to happen, naive management. Why did we not kick the ball for second half when the wind was with us. Andy Moran needs to be moved on and the county board reappoining him. We should pull out of senior county football and invest in coaching of underage for 5 years, quit paying senior managers for nothing, no progress will happen without underage success."
Promotion to div 3 and beating mayo in u20 Connacht championship has to be seen as progress

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 08/04/2024 00:23:27    2536423

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "Agreed. End of the year its time to part ways with Andy. Personally I'd go for a totally new management team. The last two weeks shows that in year 3 there has been ZERO improvement. Anyone suggesting otherwise hasn't watched us play."
Of course there has been improvements.
Ye have a decent u20 squad this year.
Ye played in croker in a final.
Andy is doing a decent job

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 08/04/2024 00:38:33    2536425

Replying To totalrecall:  "Sligo are miles ahead of leitrim, good underage structure in place, contested all ireland u20 final last year beating kerry , Galway, mayo, rossies along the way....calls to get rid of Andy?? I'm not a fan of his but the problem is alot deeper than him"
He should be able to put a bit of shape and structure on the players available to him? We look like a poorly coached club team.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 08/04/2024 08:04:34    2536442

The worst and most pathetic effort of a team and game yesterday. How ye hold on to Moran I don't know. And before the deluded jump on and tell me where to go, we're off to Salthill to get probably a 14/15 point drubbing but only for the wind yday Leitrim would have got the same

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 359 - 08/04/2024 10:44:22    2536495

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "The worst and most pathetic effort of a team and game yesterday. How ye hold on to Moran I don't know. And before the deluded jump on and tell me where to go, we're off to Salthill to get probably a 14/15 point drubbing but only for the wind yday Leitrim would have got the same"
If you want him you can have him.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 08/04/2024 11:05:36    2536507

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "He should be able to put a bit of shape and structure on the players available to him? We look like a poorly coached club team."
But shur look, he's a good man for a headline and a soundbite. The media love him. Will set him up nicely for the Mayo job when it comes about. I can see the headlines already. Isn't that what's important at the end of the day?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/04/2024 11:21:28    2536519

Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
He was a super footballer back in the day but he's a very poor manager.

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 08/04/2024 11:51:16    2536531

Replying To 3rdmidfielder:  "He should be able to put a bit of shape and structure on the players available to him? We look like a poorly coached club team."
That's what happens when you bring Mickey Graham on board…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1933 - 08/04/2024 12:21:17    2536540

I can't see where this team goes to next. A lot of this current panel will leave after this year and we will be in a even worse position next year. I can't see us doing well in Tailteann cup either.

Thankfully we have the u20's back out on Wednesday. Massive game for them.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 08/04/2024 12:32:37    2536547

Replying To TJH:  "Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
He was a super footballer back in the day but he's a very poor manager."
It was the most basic requirement for us, Tipp, Carlow and Longford also. Noone is calling for John Hegarty to go down here.
Just as an aside why do Leitrim supporters think that being in division 4 is such a surprise? Or, to put it better, that getting promoted isn't a huge achievement? All of Tipp, Wexford and Longford have spent way more time in division 2 and 3 than Leitrim in the last 15 years, even Waterford and Carlow have been up in div3 in that time. This is the first time ye have got promoted since the noughties isn't it?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11917 - 08/04/2024 12:39:53    2536551

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Following the fourth quarter collapse against Laois and now today's no-show against Sligo, there's an argument to be made that we got promoted despite the management rather than because of it, and that the result against Laois in round 6 was a one-off and the defeats to Longford and Carlow were not inappropriate for our true level. Discuss."
I agree but I think that any manager who gets a team promoted deserves the opportunity to play in the division they are promoted to. I hope that Andy can learn as he goes but I have my doubts he is continually blaming and making excuses and doesn't sound like someone who is critically analysing their own work. I hope I am wrong because he seems like a really nice fella who has created a very good atmosphere in the camp which os a very important part of the job.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 08/04/2024 13:12:59    2536578

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To TJH:  "Andy MUST walk. Nowhere else is failure tolerated to such a degree. Yes, we got out of division 4 but look lads its the most basic requirement!! He has added very little to whats already been there for years now. I could stomach losing to Sligo by a couple of points but to be bet the way we were is embarrassing!!
It was the most basic requirement for us, Tipp, Carlow and Longford also. Noone is calling for John Hegarty to go down here.
Just as an aside why do Leitrim supporters think that being in division 4 is such a surprise? Or, to put it better, that getting promoted isn't a huge achievement? All of Tipp, Wexford and Longford have spent way more time in division 2 and 3 than Leitrim in the last 15 years, even Waterford and Carlow have been up in div3 in that time. This is the first time ye have got promoted since the noughties isn't it?"
Played Division 3 in 2020

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 08/04/2024 13:18:13    2536579

Just as an aside why do Leitrim supporters think that being in division 4 is such a surprise? Or, to put it better, that getting promoted isn't a huge achievement? All of Tipp, Wexford and Longford have spent way more time in division 2 and 3 than Leitrim in the last 15 years, even Waterford and Carlow have been up in div3 in that time. This is the first time ye have got promoted since the noughties isn't it?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11917 - 08/04/2024 13:19:28    2536581

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Following the fourth quarter collapse against Laois and now today's no-show against Sligo, there's an argument to be made that we got promoted despite the management rather than because of it, and that the result against Laois in round 6 was a one-off and the defeats to Longford and Carlow were not inappropriate for our true level. Discuss."
There may be more than a grain of truth in all this. We should have beaten Carlow though - we were 2 up with 2 of 4 extra minutes played and we allowed them sashay upfield (uncontested) before the killer goal.
It should be borne in mind that Wexford put 20 points or so on a depleted Carlow yesterday which suggests another question mark on the result of our league meeting.
The U-20's are realistically Coach Moran's life jacket - the 'project' looks to be in serious trouble and it isn't for want of resources or support. Suggestions welcome indeed:

1. We need to produce aggressive defenders rather than persisting with lads who can solo and hand pass laterally.

2. The practice of taking the ball into contact to be outlawed with immediate effect.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 08/04/2024 13:24:45    2536584

Very unfair I think of those critical of Andy. You would think Leitrim were in division 1 when he came in. He managed the team to promotion and a Croke park final. But much more credit is due for the way the team dug out the victory over Laois when very few if any were giving ye a chance. He at least should not be judged until after the Tailteann Cup concludes. https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/tailteann-cup-football

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 08/04/2024 13:31:24    2536585

On the evidence presented is Coach Graham the messiah either?

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 39 - 08/04/2024 14:00:06    2536594

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "That's what happens when you bring Mickey Graham on board…"
ForeverBlue2 I think you are spot on. I can't see what he has brought to the team. Would we be different if he was the main man? Personally I'd go for a new management team, local if possible, the money being spent on this management team is outrageous, I'd rather it was invested into underage.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 08/04/2024 15:10:10    2536618

I am a big advocator of Andy getting at least another year. At the start of the year if we are been honest Div 4 promotion was the biggest one now achieved. After that a good run in the tailtean cup (a ball has yet to be kicked in the comp) 3rd been can we unearth a few lads from the u20s who can improve the senior team. Andy is in charge of them also and I would be confident he will add a few in as well. This to date has been a really positive year. If we are been honest the Sligo game yesterday in club terms was the equivalent of a spring league game. Yes you wanted to win it but in the grand scheme of things it's the one game which had little or no significance. I would be worried about yesterday at all.

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 315 - 08/04/2024 15:12:49    2536620