Roscommon GAA thread

Derek Duggans young lad plays with clonguish and Derek himself would tell you he doesn't go to many roscommon club matches except for the odd Castlerea match. Jack Duggan is under 20 again in 2022 but I don't see him getting into the Ross u20 squad even where he to transfer over which is very unlikely.

Peter Tormey trained Moate School team and were extremely defensively set up. I agree with a previous poster that we do need to sort out our backline and that should start with picking and choosing defenders who defend not those trying to get up the pitch ALL the time. I mentioned a few names here earlier in a previous post who are more than capable defenders. We seem to only look at players who were involved in underage panels but a lot of young lads are refusing to go into development squads as its too intense early on. Lots of players who are now in their early to mid 20s performing very well for their clubs are of a good age to be introduced to senior inter County set up.

We have some players who are on the county panel on and off for the past 6/7 years who will never be regulars and who need to be moved on once and for all. Irrespective of what gameplan or defensive set up we play I just hope we are not seeing the Murtaghs, Conor Cox, Donie Smith, Ciaran Lennon etc back in their own back line trying to tackle..look at Tyrone with the same players Mikey Harte had and this year Tyrone management left them further up the pitch to reap the rewards.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 12/11/2021 15:40:26    2389208

Replying To Leftpeg1:  "I can tell yous that yous have a quality trainer in Peter Tormey."
Other than coaching, managing in his own school Moate and part of the Westmeath U20 management whats his experience?

@OhtobeARossie I was talking to Derek at the senior County final, mentioned the numerous of other games he watched this year including intermediate championship matches.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 12/11/2021 18:40:44    2389229

Replying To The_analyser:  "Other than coaching, managing in his own school Moate and part of the Westmeath U20 management whats his experience?

@OhtobeARossie I was talking to Derek at the senior County final, mentioned the numerous of other games he watched this year including intermediate championship matches."
Managing the school team where he teaches but has cunningham in training them most the time. Can't see his offering much tbh. Rumours of a few more lads opting out due to pathetic team assembled

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 13/11/2021 12:51:24    2389265

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Managing the school team where he teaches but has cunningham in training them most the time. Can't see his offering much tbh. Rumours of a few more lads opting out due to pathetic team assembled"
Maybe the team assembled reflects the players' performances over the last 12 months?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 13/11/2021 14:15:42    2389272

Replying To Yondu:  "Bit of a myth, Carlow when coached by Poacher their most impressive win was against Kildare and they scored 2-14 in that win.

Regardless of coach Roscommon first and foremost need to sort out their defensive issues, at least make yourself difficult to score against and cut out the many individual errors."
So one game against Kildare changed everything..The likes of Poacher and his tactics is a cancer within the Gaa looking at Roscommon this past season provd that. Roscommon have probably the best forwards in Connacht and his tactics totally nullified their attacking powers.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 13/11/2021 14:45:36    2389277

Replying To dubarra:  "So one game against Kildare changed everything..The likes of Poacher and his tactics is a cancer within the Gaa looking at Roscommon this past season provd that. Roscommon have probably the best forwards in Connacht and his tactics totally nullified their attacking powers."
Yes. Roscommon played one championship game this Summer. They were dreadful against a poor Galway team. And we do have good forwards. The Roscommon County Board are happy enough though. The Manager Anthony Cunningham will be there again next year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 13/11/2021 15:26:50    2389279

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Managing the school team where he teaches but has cunningham in training them most the time. Can't see his offering much tbh. Rumours of a few more lads opting out due to pathetic team assembled"
The best Moate school did under Tormey was to reach the Leinster A final against the odds in 2017, their main coach that year was Anthony Cunningham.

Pathetic is a bit harsh, this management team isn't a lot different than what previous managers had and at the best of times we have players opting out for one reason or another.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 13/11/2021 16:33:33    2389292

Replying To dubarra:  "So one game against Kildare changed everything..The likes of Poacher and his tactics is a cancer within the Gaa looking at Roscommon this past season provd that. Roscommon have probably the best forwards in Connacht and his tactics totally nullified their attacking powers."
It was one prime example that a coached Poacher team whom are much weaker than Roscommon more than troubed the scoreboard operators. Kildare that summer went on to knock Mayo out of the championship.

Poacher wasn't long enough with Roscommon and I believe he wasn't involved in preparation for the Galway championship game because he tested positive for covid.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 13/11/2021 16:48:27    2389294

Replying To The_analyser:  "The best Moate school did under Tormey was to reach the Leinster A final against the odds in 2017, their main coach that year was Anthony Cunningham.

Pathetic is a bit harsh, this management team isn't a lot different than what previous managers had and at the best of times we have players opting out for one reason or another."
Underwhelming maybe better to describe it.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 13/11/2021 17:50:28    2389301

Replying To Yondu:  "It was one prime example that a coached Poacher team whom are much weaker than Roscommon more than troubed the scoreboard operators. Kildare that summer went on to knock Mayo out of the championship.

Poacher wasn't long enough with Roscommon and I believe he wasn't involved in preparation for the Galway championship game because he tested positive for covid."
He was there to long, why do you think they got rid of him. I watched a lot of Carlow games when he was there and he held back what could have turned into decent side .with his negative tactics ..Also his abuse to opposition players and match officials left a lot to be desired .

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 13/11/2021 19:46:57    2389315

Replying To dubarra:  "He was there to long, why do you think they got rid of him. I watched a lot of Carlow games when he was there and he held back what could have turned into decent side .with his negative tactics ..Also his abuse to opposition players and match officials left a lot to be desired ."
Wasn't got rid of he left the role himself. The very best was got out of Carlow when Poacher was there, cloth was cut to suit and Carlow players liked him so much that they wanted him to stay on as manager.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 13/11/2021 21:09:08    2389327

In reality the last two years championship performances have been poor today the least but you could forgive the Mayo one as they are a side contesting all Ireland finals on a regular basis but Galway very similar to ourselves. All the blame can't be put at Poacher as he wasn't involved the year Mayo beat us.

We all have our opinions but no matter what the view is this management has to be given a chance to show what they can do and a lot will depend on what players are available to them. Aside from Cian McKeon amd Richard Hughes and to a certain degree Eddie Egan what players have been brought in. James Heneghan was also but is always injured and its rarely in matches he gets hurt also.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 15/11/2021 19:06:49    2389573

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "In reality the last two years championship performances have been poor today the least but you could forgive the Mayo one as they are a side contesting all Ireland finals on a regular basis but Galway very similar to ourselves. All the blame can't be put at Poacher as he wasn't involved the year Mayo beat us.

We all have our opinions but no matter what the view is this management has to be given a chance to show what they can do and a lot will depend on what players are available to them. Aside from Cian McKeon amd Richard Hughes and to a certain degree Eddie Egan what players have been brought in. James Heneghan was also but is always injured and its rarely in matches he gets hurt also."
Rumours of a load of new players being brought in.
Mind you the rumours haven't stated any names so maybe all rubbish.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 18/11/2021 13:08:02    2389868

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Rumours of a load of new players being brought in.
Mind you the rumours haven't stated any names so maybe all rubbish."
No it's true. 7 or 8 of the under 20s brought in. Adam McDermott, Daire Cregg, Keith Doyle, Jonathan Hester , Ben O'Carroll , Collin Walsh Fitzpatrick and not sure about Paddy Gavin. Also not sure if Darragh Walsh was called up. 50+ up training now so not all will make it.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 18/11/2021 20:21:04    2389926

Adam, Daire, Ben and Paddy G are u20 again next year.
Colin, Keith and James F were almost certainties to be called up.
I imagine Pearses will have 6 or 7 called up when their club championship campaign ends.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 18/11/2021 21:54:44    2389934

It's trials going at the moment for the majority of counties and a lot more than 50 players are looked at elsewhere. U20s are rightly given a taste of the step up but few get selected on the official panels and after these trials are done its sensible to keep lads still U20 with the U20s until their campaign is finished

The standard senior panel size is 33 to 35 players.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 19/11/2021 13:07:31    2389979

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Adam, Daire, Ben and Paddy G are u20 again next year.
I imagine Pearses will have 6 or 7 called up when their club championship campaign ends."
Ya they are under 20 next year but they are definitely training with with seniors at the moment. I'd imagine some will be released back to under 20s when it starts up but if one or two are really impressing Cunningham then he will probably keep them.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 19/11/2021 13:14:02    2389981

Anybody know Roscommon's potential league fixture list for 2022. Seen the opening round of games have been confirmed.

GerBo (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 19/11/2021 15:16:40    2390006

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Adam, Daire, Ben and Paddy G are u20 again next year.
I imagine Pearses will have 6 or 7 called up when their club championship campaign ends."
Bar Carey can't see anyone else from Pearses offering anything who isn't already in. Lorcan Daly maybe

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 19/11/2021 18:47:05    2390037

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Bar Carey can't see anyone else from Pearses offering anything who isn't already in. Lorcan Daly maybe"
Richardson, 3 Dalys and D'Arcy have been there already. Carey, Lorcan and Payne to becalmed?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 19/11/2021 21:12:26    2390047