Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done the Roscommon minors, just watched it here on TG4, some great young footballers there.
Mayo are the masters of losing finals at all levels it seems."
Was going to congrats you on the win but to dis minor level is unreal .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 142 - 09/05/2025 21:17:32    2607905

Replying To The_analyser:  "Huge congratulations to our U17 footballers and management for winning a Connacht title in Machale park. It was a rusty performance from us after a long lay off but work rate and team play was good throughout as has been all campaign and key to winning tonight was finishing both halves the strongest."
Agree that Roscommon were not at their best tonight but they ground it out. The team had won all in the round robin and I felt there was pressure on them going to Castlebar. Lovely to win the Connacht title especially after the way we lost the U20 Final to Mayo. I thought Roscommon were in trouble during that second half but Casey's 2 pointer and Curran's well taken goal got us home. We look forward to Louth or Offaly in an All Ireland quarter final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 09/05/2025 21:24:09    2607910

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Well done the Roscommon minors, just watched it here on TG4, some great young footballers there.
Mayo beat us in the U20 Connacht final a couple of weeks back so this is a sweet victory. We'll enjoy this. First minor Connacht title for Roscommon since 2020.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 09/05/2025 21:28:28    2607911

Our minors beat ye Belclare, as did our Under 20s

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 49 - 09/05/2025 21:31:07    2607912

Delighted with result of course but another excellent game of football to watch. Right across the levels ( u17,u20, Senior) it is more rare to see a turkey of a game than a great game.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 221 - 09/05/2025 21:36:18    2607914

Any day we win a Connacht title against a Mayo side is a great day.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1139 - 09/05/2025 22:02:43    2607922

To be fair to Mayo they were going for 4 in row at this grade so credit to the rossies hanging in there and outscoring them 1-6 to 0-3 in the final 15 minutes to win. Topped the group winning every game no question the best in Connacht at U17 level this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3608 - 09/05/2025 22:31:15    2607928

Delighted with result of course but another excellent game of football to watch. Right across the levels ( u17,u20, Senior) it is more rare to see a turkey of a game than a great game.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 221 - 09/05/2025 23:33:33    2607937

You couldn't just come on and congratulate them but also had to have a dig at young Mayo kids. Says alot about the type of person you are. Unfortunately there's a lot of that on these forums.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11561 - 10/05/2025 07:43:49    2607953

Replying To yew_tree:  "You couldn't just come on and congratulate them but also had to have a dig at young Mayo kids. Says alot about the type of person you are. Unfortunately there's a lot of that on these forums."
Well done young Ross lads, great comeback invite last quarter.
Mayo asked some serious questions in that 2nd half but our boys answered them.

Are AI Quarter Finals weekend 8th June?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2293 - 10/05/2025 09:06:33    2607958

Well done to the players and management on a great win last night. The team did not panic when they went 4 points down with 15 minutes left and things not really going their way. Great to win when you know you can play even better. The two point free by Dean Casey to level it after 54 minutes was crucial, as was Dara Curran's well taken goal. However the 15 minute period after half time which we lost by 8 points to 1 was a worry. Lots to work on (particularly about picking up breaking ball around midfield) but the work ethic, teamwork and ability to turn things around by young players, is to be greatly admired. Lots of football talent obviously there as well.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 727 - 10/05/2025 09:09:57    2607960

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Well done to the players and management on a great win last night. The team did not panic when they went 4 points down with 15 minutes left and things not really going their way. Great to win when you know you can play even better. The two point free by Dean Casey to level it after 54 minutes was crucial, as was Dara Curran's well taken goal. However the 15 minute period after half time which we lost by 8 points to 1 was a worry. Lots to work on (particularly about picking up breaking ball around midfield) but the work ethic, teamwork and ability to turn things around by young players, is to be greatly admired. Lots of football talent obviously there as well."
Fair play players and management. Great resolve. Management were quick to make subs when needed as well. Plenty to work on is right. Really struggled at midfield for most of the second half. Probably a good way to win the provincial final knowing that there is room for improvement. That's a very good Mayo team as well and will be stiff opposition for their QF opponents.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 84 - 10/05/2025 10:14:32    2607973

Replying To S1234:  "Was going to congrats you on the win but to dis minor level is unreal ."
That's a Donegal poster if you checked. Mayo have a fine and improving Minor team and we just about beat ye on the night. Thanks to both teams for a fine game of open football.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 10/05/2025 10:33:19    2607977

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Well done to the players and management on a great win last night. The team did not panic when they went 4 points down with 15 minutes left and things not really going their way. Great to win when you know you can play even better. The two point free by Dean Casey to level it after 54 minutes was crucial, as was Dara Curran's well taken goal. However the 15 minute period after half time which we lost by 8 points to 1 was a worry. Lots to work on (particularly about picking up breaking ball around midfield) but the work ethic, teamwork and ability to turn things around by young players, is to be greatly admired. Lots of football talent obviously there as well."
Good post. Roscommon struggled at midfield throughout particularly on breaking ball. They'll have to work on that. Also bear in mind that Mayo's starting midfield went off injured, as the Connacht Council man reminded everybody at the cup presentation. I think Roscommon can play better and they will need to in the All Ireland series. This was a tight Connacht Final and we just edged it in the end with Curran's excellently taken goal getting us over the line.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 10/05/2025 10:40:55    2607980

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "To be fair to Mayo they were going for 4 in row at this grade so credit to the rossies hanging in there and outscoring them 1-6 to 0-3 in the final 15 minutes to win. Topped the group winning every game no question the best in Connacht at U17 level this year."
Mayo lads were probably tired after playing last week too.. not very fair scheduling..

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 455 - 10/05/2025 11:41:24    2607989

Well done to this team
And management. Deserve great credit. On the night the two teams probably were a bit off their best so there's much more in Ros and Mayo. I thought Christopher Feerick was outstanding with the amount of link play he was involved in. He goes under the radar a lot with the credit. Best of luck to both teams in the future.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 531 - 10/05/2025 12:17:22    2607996

Replying To MayoDan:  "Mayo lads were probably tired after playing last week too.. not very fair scheduling.."
Scheduling hurt Roscommon in the U20 championship so there's a price to be paid for not topping the group. I found last night's win against Mayo very sweet particularly coming so soon after the U20 loss to Mayo which had left a sour taste with that questionable disallowed goal. On a broader note, underage football is strong in both counties and it's then about bringing players on to play senior football as Shane Moran said after last night's game.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2398 - 10/05/2025 13:08:22    2608008

Replying To MayoDan:  "Mayo lads were probably tired after playing last week too.. not very fair scheduling.."
It wasn't 4 matches in as many weeks for Mayo U17s.

No doubt anymore with that latest comment about your lack of understanding on scheduling and advantages.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3608 - 10/05/2025 14:46:36    2608025

Replying To endgame:  "Good post. Roscommon struggled at midfield throughout particularly on breaking ball. They'll have to work on that. Also bear in mind that Mayo's starting midfield went off injured, as the Connacht Council man reminded everybody at the cup presentation. I think Roscommon can play better and they will need to in the All Ireland series. This was a tight Connacht Final and we just edged it in the end with Curran's excellently taken goal getting us over the line."
The poor Connacht council fella was in shock and had to come up with some excuse. We had our own injuries with losing Enda Browne before the match and Seamus Hussey with a knock was only able to play a quarter of the game both were among our best players v Mayo 5 weeks ago.

One of Mayo midfielders played full back against us in the group stages. Holmes a natural midfielder moved back from the half back line once he went off.

Wasn't throughout last 15 minutes in the first half we were on top in midfield and broke even towards the end of the game that allowed us to outscore Mayo 1-6 to 0-3.

Certainly lots of room for improvement but have showed we can win in different types of ways which is a great trait for any team however remains to seen of the strength of teams in other provinces.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4036 - 10/05/2025 15:04:10    2608027

Needing a semi-final is a performance issue rather than a scheduling one. It's in every team's own hands to avoid that match. Can't imagine any real tiredness issues when we had a dead rubber against Galway the previous round, rotated 13 of the panel and still had a week break before the semi-final against Galway. Minor isn't nearly as rushed as 20s or senior where the week breaks can be a much bigger factor.

Great win for Roscommon.
If you'd said before the game we'd hold Hannon, Curran & Shally as quiet as we did (at least for 55 minutes) I'd have been confident. Some work by all the lads, but especially Price & Casey, to push ye over the line.

It'll be interesting to see how the quarters go. Looking at the Leinster semi-finals (& group stage results) you'd imagine Louth will be red-hot favourites to win there. A real dominant midfielder (exactly what we wouldn't be keen on with Kelly & May injured) and a special looking forward in Connell Kelly will cause plenty of problems. Offaly looked a tricky side against Kildare (well worth watching back the last 5 minutes of that game on TG4 YouTube - it had a bit of everything going on. Utter chaos) aiming for goal chances. If a side can manage to hold their full-forward Cian McNamee, the one with a real touch of quality up there, you'd fancy their chances of prevailing (something I'd expect both Louth & then Roscommon to do).

TsuDhoNimh (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 10/05/2025 15:06:11    2608028