Roscommon GAA thread

Boyle lost by 1 point had they taken one of their 3 goal chances they would have won (stolen or not)

That's two finals in a row Boyle have lost by just 1 point I'd say their belief is a lot better than when they hadn't reached a final since the 20s and weren't they a intermediate club just just 10 years ago? They are showing to a lot of clubs currently not challenging for the senior county title or those at intermediate level what can be done.

On Roscommon senior footballers they finished 3rd in Div 1, beat Mayo and drew with Dublin in the championship all of that wouldn't be done if all teams wasn't held to low scores.

Cork, Kildare 1-14, 1-16 was conceded which is too much against two Div 2 teams. I'm sure Davy Burke and his management will be asking themselves why the regression on the previous 10 matches against Division 1 opposition. If its strength and conditioning/fitness issue that will have to be addressed as soon as the panel regroup in a couple of weeks.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 24/10/2023 11:06:45    2510004

Fixtures for 2024 all released.

FBD going to continue in the Airdome why those matches aren't returned to outdoor venues is anyone's guess.

We have a Quarter final tie against Sligo on January 7th with the winner to play Mayo or London 5 days later.

Connacht senior championship match against Mayo set for April 21st in Hyde Park

Connacht U20 championship will be a round Robin format

Mayo (H) Sligo (A) Galway (H) leitrim (A) games to be played between March 20th and 17th of April. Finishing top of the table will be into the final and 2nd v 3rd has a semi final. A better system than one game and out after a loss as happened to us this year and last year.

U17 Connacht championship the same fixtures as this year but who we played at home is away this time. That tournament starts April 12th and the last group game May 3rd.

NFL fixtures still to be confirmed the ones posted up online has done rounds but aren't true I believe.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 24/10/2023 11:51:32    2510017

He's a Faithleachs supporter so probably thinks his club should have progressed instead of them. Had they held on to the win against Roscommon Gaels (conceded a late penalty) then Boyle would have topped the group. Belittling what Boyle have done and great progress they have been making under Cian Smith is a little odd. Be it Roscommon or Boyle yes like it or not it's modern football where possession is key the days of "kicking it in" once you claim possession are long over.

He's unable post on here without rumours and hear say and more miss than hit with what he posts. Ciarán Murtagh hasn't decided what he's doing yet, busy outside of football. Cian McKeon is going traveling and plans to be back towards the end of the NFL such info I got from his relations on the field after the game on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 24/10/2023 12:14:31    2510021

It's disappointing that you are unable to put out a team in the upcoming U.17 club Connacht Championship. Great experience for young lads and great for a participating club. It's unfair on the young lads that your decision to stay at U.18 and not move to U.17 caused this. I am fully in favour of all age groups going to the even age group and I hope Sligo do it next year.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 24/10/2023 13:19:29    2510055

2 more finals this weekend. On Saturday we have St Michaels and Clann B. Will Michaels complete the League and Championship double or will Clann bounce straight back to Intermediate?

And on Sunday we have Eire Og and Castlerea. Can Eire Og go one better than last year or will Castlerea get the job done?

Ros13 (Roscommon) - Posts: 111 - 24/10/2023 16:38:13    2510099

Replying To eoinog:  "It's disappointing that you are unable to put out a team in the upcoming U.17 club Connacht Championship. Great experience for young lads and great for a participating club. It's unfair on the young lads that your decision to stay at U.18 and not move to U.17 caused this. I am fully in favour of all age groups going to the even age group and I hope Sligo do it next year."
We were U17 last year and changed to U18 for this year. Who do suggest should represent Roscommon? Eire Óg/Glaveys who won the U18 title at the weekend and to play in that Connacht U17 championship without their 18 year olds? Who are all of their best players. Our let Castlerea who won the U16 title, 14 to 16 year old going up against the Galway champions with mostly 17 year olds.

Connacht Gaa should have made this club championship U18 as it was when it was last played.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 24/10/2023 16:50:47    2510105

Replying To The_analyser:  "We were U17 last year and changed to U18 for this year. Who do suggest should represent Roscommon? Eire Óg/Glaveys who won the U18 title at the weekend and to play in that Connacht U17 championship without their 18 year olds? Who are all of their best players. Our let Castlerea who won the U16 title, 14 to 16 year old going up against the Galway champions with mostly 17 year olds.

Connacht Gaa should have made this club championship U18 as it was when it was last played."
What age did each County use?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 25/10/2023 10:27:19    2510178

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "What age did each County use?"
Galway champions our reps was down to play in both the A and B Connacht championship. Galway had a U17 championship so was a straightforward selection for him.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 25/10/2023 11:05:52    2510191

LENNON TO RETURN AS ROSCOMMON INTERMEDIATE LADIES' FOOTBALL MANAGER

Looks like you can't have your Cake and eat it.

rosco7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 44 - 25/10/2023 12:16:56    2510216

Replying To rosco7:  "LENNON TO RETURN AS ROSCOMMON INTERMEDIATE LADIES' FOOTBALL MANAGER

Looks like you can't have your Cake and eat it."
Great news.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 25/10/2023 16:07:50    2510291

Does anyone know the precise dates for Roscommon's proposed National League fixtures in 2024?

* Tyrone (away)
* Galway (home)
* Derry (away)
* Monaghan (home)
* Mayo (away)
* Kerry (home)
* Dublin (away)

Some very tough but interesting matches there. Would have preferred to play both Kerry and Dublin in the earlier rounds before they get up to full speed. However the draw is what it is, and we just have to get ready to hit the ground running at nearly full pelt for the Tyrone game.
The best of luck to Niall Kilroy in his retirement. He was the ultimate team player and often sacrificed his own game and did a huge amount of tracking back to help his teammates but could also take his score when the opportunity arose. Enjoy you retirement Niall.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 25/10/2023 19:17:49    2510325

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Does anyone know the precise dates for Roscommon's proposed National League fixtures in 2024?

* Tyrone (away)
* Galway (home)
* Derry (away)
* Monaghan (home)
* Mayo (away)
* Kerry (home)
* Dublin (away)

Some very tough but interesting matches there. Would have preferred to play both Kerry and Dublin in the earlier rounds before they get up to full speed. However the draw is what it is, and we just have to get ready to hit the ground running at nearly full pelt for the Tyrone game.
The best of luck to Niall Kilroy in his retirement. He was the ultimate team player and often sacrificed his own game and did a huge amount of tracking back to help his teammates but could also take his score when the opportunity arose. Enjoy you retirement Niall."
Rumours that those rumoured NFL fixtures are not the actual draft fixtures.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 26/10/2023 10:48:46    2510376

Irish Independent Sport:

"Jack Duggan to follow father Derek's footsteps in move to Roscommon"

A sad day for Longford Development to lose a player that developed right through their underage structure.

Almost half the Roscommon hurling team are from other counties - looks like Roscommon football is following suit.

Not a great news story for Roscommon Development either if players are just going to be transferred in from other counties.

rosco7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 44 - 27/10/2023 10:22:15    2510589

Replying To rosco7:  "Irish Independent Sport:

A sad day for Longford Development to lose a player that developed right through their underage structure.

Almost half the Roscommon hurling team are from other counties - looks like Roscommon football is following suit.

Not a great news story for Roscommon Development either if players are just going to be transferred in from other counties."
He supports Roscommon and considers himself a Roscommon person,Whats the issue? Got badly treated by Paddy Christie last year so best of luck to him and hopefully he can add something to us.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1174 - 27/10/2023 11:05:52    2510599

He has good potential alright.
If ye can get him to pass off the ball a bit earlier and bulk him up a bit he will be a good addition.
Christie and his selectors have a lot to answer for the way they treated Jack and 2 other lads on our panel.
Everybody in Clonguish will be behind Jack and wish him well, and we'll be keeping a tight eye on the Rossie games now!!
Look after him for us!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 143 - 27/10/2023 11:25:39    2510606

Replying To rosco7:  "Irish Independent Sport:

Not a great news story for Roscommon Development either if players are just going to be transferred in from other counties."
Half? your maths aren't the best. As for the footballers not from Roscommon all three have strong Roscommon blood. We have Conor Carroll who's dad and our County board chairman are rossies. Conor Cox who's dad is a Eire og and why he's playing for them and Jack who always had the option of switching with Derek as dad. Nothing sad about it, transfers via parentage have been part of the gaa for decades.

Main Roscommon news story today is Ciarain Murtagh talking about the season ahead. He was undecided on what he was doing with a trip to Kenya and a marriage coming up but that gives the biggest suggestion yet that he'll be part of the panel for 2024.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 27/10/2023 15:57:32    2510661

Duggans choice but roscommon is far stronger anyway not sure if he gets his place with roscommon but no begrudge roscommon doing well but jeez Longford is in division 4 and in terrible place place at the minute

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 291 - 27/10/2023 17:05:31    2510674

St Michaels Junior champions for the first time since 1993 and to do it in that manner against a decent Clann outfit was some going. Fiachra Henry 2-12 to his name grabs the headlines and will do his county hopes to harm but it was a superb team performance by Michaels who defended well and attacked at pace and caused serious damaged to the Clann defence all afternoon.

From a neutral point of view a shame it was such a one sided of final but I feel it's better for the club game for first choice teams to be winning the Junior A and that's no disrespect to the B clubs.

Hopefully a good competitive intermediate final tomorrow, I think Eire Og will edge it but on the day you never know.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 28/10/2023 17:23:46    2510746

Replying To The_analyser:  "St Michaels Junior champions for the first time since 1993 and to do it in that manner against a decent Clann outfit was some going. Fiachra Henry 2-12 to his name grabs the headlines and will do his county hopes to harm but it was a superb team performance by Michaels who defended well and attacked at pace and caused serious damaged to the Clann defence all afternoon.

From a neutral point of view a shame it was such a one sided of final but I feel it's better for the club game for first choice teams to be winning the Junior A and that's no disrespect to the B clubs.

Hopefully a good competitive intermediate final tomorrow, I think Eire Og will edge it but on the day you never know."
Good for Michael's to win when going on to represent County. Hadn't won in 30 years so huge celebrations. Henry looks the real deal. Hopefully gets a run with County panel see what he's got at higher standard.
Clann missed few goal chances early and after that Michael's smashed them.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1174 - 28/10/2023 19:09:28    2510758

Replying To The_analyser:  "St Michaels Junior champions for the first time since 1993 and to do it in that manner against a decent Clann outfit was some going. Fiachra Henry 2-12 to his name grabs the headlines and will do his county hopes to harm but it was a superb team performance by Michaels who defended well and attacked at pace and caused serious damaged to the Clann defence all afternoon.

Hopefully a good competitive intermediate final tomorrow, I think Eire Og will edge it but on the day you never know."
Will Michael's give the Connacht junior club a good rattle?

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1264 - 28/10/2023 21:06:52    2510767