Galway Football thread

That's a tough one...
Armagh on a high, they'll bring huge support, and tactically will be very difficult to break..
We'll need other forwards again to step up as Armagh will bully us..
Armagh favourites

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 13/06/2022 09:31:16    2424445

I think we got the toughest opponent we could have but we can absolutely do it.

Get your hats scarves and headbands. Armagh are going to travel let's show our team we will too.

Gaillimh abú

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 13/06/2022 09:39:54    2424452

Replying To togoutlads:  "Cop on."
Agreed. I cannot fathom why one would post this kind of thing. If Ros had beat us it could have been us last Saturday. I took no pleasure in their defeat and would have been happy for them to progress and always have a had a healthy respectful rivalry with them.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 13/06/2022 09:40:58    2424454

Replying To gbay:  "if a draw was ever rigged..omg..

galway v armagh
kerry v mayo

should be two very good games.."
I honestly dont think GAA draws are rigged at this level. The risk versus reward for the GAA doesn't stack up.
High risk to the integrity of the GAA and the integrity of individuals if exposed. Very little reward to either by rigging it . Either way there were going to be 4 interesting pairings for the QF.
No matter what draw comes out we tend to look at the conspiracy theories.
Before qualifier round 1 , everyone was saying that the draw was going to be rigged to keep the Div 1 teams apart . Then the draw was made and people were saying it was rigged so as to put the Div 1 teams against each other.
I would be very very very surprised to hear that this draw was tampered with in any way.
Now , if you want to question unfairness in any way , watch for the scheduling of the QFs. No doubt Galway and Mayo games will be the same day and this will likely be Sunday to facilitate the Dubs game on Saturday. This is to allow Dublin fans not to have to make the long journey home on Sunday night after a Sunday game , lest they miss work on Monday morning, no doubt!

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 13/06/2022 09:42:59    2424455

Replying To tribescity:  "So it's Armagh.

What do we think?

Tough draw, but a great chance to go deep in this years championship."
Toughest possible draw but we are well capable of winning. No doubt Armagh will also fancy their chances also. Could be a cracker of a game. It will bring the winner on no end and I would fancy the winner to win the Semi.

Armagh were really good yesterday but were really poor against Donegal first time around. No doubt they will be favourites as Galway have no got any respect for their season to date.

Most important thing is all our players are fit and raring to go.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 13/06/2022 09:45:57    2424459

Replying To Yondu:  "This that an effort to troll the poor Rossies? I don't deal with such childish behaviour."
And yet yuu've been trolling everyone here for 6 months plus. Definitely been a rough few weeks for you

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 13/06/2022 09:52:08    2424462

Joyce has been a relatively unlucky manager in fairness. Covid stopped all the positive momentum in 2020

Relegated in 2021 in a home game for Monaghan after being put into a group with Kerry/Dubs. Multiple injuries in Connacht final loss

Win Connacht through the hard route in 2022 and rewarded with the very tough option, with the other two options being Cork and Clare

On the plus side a win would give a serious platform to make a final. But Armagh are a serious beast at the moment with all the momentum

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 13/06/2022 09:57:17    2424467

Great memories of 2001 when Michael Donnellan's turnover won the game.
I think its 50/50 again this time around

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 13/06/2022 10:30:38    2424492

Replying To PressureKick:  "And yet yuu've been trolling everyone here for 6 months plus. Definitely been a rough few weeks for you"
I'm Galway born you flute and London based. Grow up we don't need another troll on here.

Now moving on to the draw. The hardest possible draw for Galway and real tester. The defensive system needs to hold up better here. Armagh aren't as defensively as Derry but won't be give Comer, Finnerty, Walsh the room to excel as Roscommon did in the Connacht final.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 13/06/2022 10:35:19    2424494

Toughest possible draw but over the last 20 years Galway have been beaten by so called "weaker teams" such as Sligo, Wexford, Westmeath, Laois, Antrim and Tipperary and there was a spate of now infamous 1 point defeats in the qualifiers by most of those teams during that time also so a stronger team on paper at least may be no harm at this stage of the championship.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 13/06/2022 11:25:34    2424534

I'm relatively happy with Armagh, think it's probably the game to bring us on the most. Really Armagh have been having as much problems with their kickouts as us.

Think playing Cork/Clare again, while maybe easier, it's always difficult to play a team twice, and really they all have great momentum built up. (mad that all the provincial losers lost, there's something to be said there about maybe the qualifiers being easier to get through for teams that exit provincial early)

Cork would have been the same type of game as vs the Rossies, would have been a shoot out which we probably would have won anyway. Expect them to exit by a huge margin vs the Dubs (10 points), if they defend the same way, dubs runners will tear them apart if they don't track the likes of Small, McCarthy etc.

Clare should not have enough to get over Derry's defence. Will remain to see if we have enough too tho!

Anyway, I like getting Armagh. They are a bit weaker in midfield same as us. Rian o Neill can be man marked like Donegal showed us in the Ulster championship. Expect that to be a cracker and the best game of the quarter finals.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 13/06/2022 11:36:08    2424543

Well we will find out what Galway are made of here
Idont think anyone really knows which Galway will show up
There will be no room for hiding in Croke Park
We are due a big performance there from Galway
Galway will need a major improvement in all aspects of their play

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 13/06/2022 11:42:33    2424552

Replying To systematic:  "I'm relatively happy with Armagh, think it's probably the game to bring us on the most. Really Armagh have been having as much problems with their kickouts as us.

Think playing Cork/Clare again, while maybe easier, it's always difficult to play a team twice, and really they all have great momentum built up. (mad that all the provincial losers lost, there's something to be said there about maybe the qualifiers being easier to get through for teams that exit provincial early)

Cork would have been the same type of game as vs the Rossies, would have been a shoot out which we probably would have won anyway. Expect them to exit by a huge margin vs the Dubs (10 points), if they defend the same way, dubs runners will tear them apart if they don't track the likes of Small, McCarthy etc.

Clare should not have enough to get over Derry's defence. Will remain to see if we have enough too tho!

Anyway, I like getting Armagh. They are a bit weaker in midfield same as us. Rian o Neill can be man marked like Donegal showed us in the Ulster championship. Expect that to be a cracker and the best game of the quarter finals."
Mayo vs Kerry is best game of quarter finals. Definitely, one that the neutrals won't miss. Clare vs Derry will be close, and a dogfight , as will Galway and Armagh. Dublin/Cork is already a done deal. Kerry vs Mayo is the game to watch, as Mayo can always raise their game and spring a surprise.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/06/2022 11:46:25    2424554

Armagh will bring a huge support for sure. They must have outnumbered Donegal 4 to 1 yesterday. Hopefully a good Galway crowd travel.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 13/06/2022 11:50:04    2424556

Replying To Marooned:  "Armagh will bring a huge support for sure. They must have outnumbered Donegal 4 to 1 yesterday. Hopefully a good Galway crowd travel."
I don't know what it is, but I'm always quietly confident when playing Ulster teams in knockout situations.. maybe it's something that goes back to '98 and '01. Keep the head down - say nothing..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 13/06/2022 12:24:02    2424583

This is going to be a cracker vs Armagh - the form team of the Championship at the moment. Armagh forum, Orchardfans is full of 'great draw' comments, they're hugely confident they'll beat us - there's only one answer to that!!
Armagh will bring a massive support, plenty of quotes in the media today about turning Croke Park orange. I hope the tribes stir into action now, we need to travel in droves and get behind our lads.
This is a serious Armagh team. The big keeper Ethan Rafferty drives things from the goals out and is on the scoresheet all the time. Needs to be met hard on his runs. Forker is a very aggressive tackler and reliable man marker at the back. Morgan another serious man marker. Aaron McKay is a big hitter and tough defender. O'Neill and McCabe solid too and Jarly Og Burns is some footballer - fast counterattacking and can field too.
Crealey is a massive man in midfield and at least broke even with Brian Fenton when they played the Dubs. Sheridan gets everywhere and goaled yesterday. Upfront there's serious class and scorers in Rian O'Neill (1-7 yesterday, though Brendan McCole cleaned him earlier in Ulster), Soupie Campbell, Rory Grugan, Nugent (very hard to mark - Tyrone tried 3 or 4 different match ups on him, Eoghan Gallagher did clean him though in the earlier Donegal match). Murnin, Mackin and Turbitt are big impact subs. Armagh are on the crest of a wave. We'll need to be on fire to take them out.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 13/06/2022 12:31:20    2424591

Replying To Rockies:  "Mayo vs Kerry is best game of quarter finals. Definitely, one that the neutrals won't miss. Clare vs Derry will be close, and a dogfight , as will Galway and Armagh. Dublin/Cork is already a done deal. Kerry vs Mayo is the game to watch, as Mayo can always raise their game and spring a surprise."
Ha ha ha mayo are going to get super packed by Kerry this is not the same mayo team of previous years.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 13/06/2022 12:35:50    2424597

Replying To Marooned:  "Armagh will bring a huge support for sure. They must have outnumbered Donegal 4 to 1 yesterday. Hopefully a good Galway crowd travel."
Armagh have attracted the real bandwagon support over the last few match. Loads of noisy male teens with mullets.

On the game its the hardest to call of the 4 quarter final and will likely be the highest scoring one. How Joyce and his management has used the 4 week break will be key.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 13/06/2022 12:44:04    2424604

I think it's a good draw. Not sure how good Ross and Mayo are this year so difficult to judge us. 2016 and 2018 were big let downs and we can't afford to flop or give up here. I think we'll win and it's going to depend on the players outside the Top 5 for us as they will get chances. The likes of McDaid, Tierney Patrick Kelly could be key here for us. I'd love to see Flaherty back in goal. Looking forward to it, let's hope a big Galway support travels

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 13/06/2022 13:52:43    2424649

I hope Armagh leave their defence as open in Croke Park as they did in the first half yesterday. Prior to the penalty, Donegal were walking through for handy scores. Can't see their defence handling Walsh, Comer and Finnerty in Croke Park. If Sean Kelly can even slightly halt Rian O'Neill then Galway should get the job done.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 13/06/2022 13:54:00    2424651