Galway Football thread

Replying To gbay:  "depending on results tomo of course but if mayo avoid kerry and dublin in the draw you'd have
to fancy them to get to the all ire final now..
they will gather serious momentum from tonight's victory and the still have a few players to
come back from injury which will make there panel stronger..
i thought there bench made a big impact this eve and they will be a very hard
team to beat from now now plus the amount of experience they have grinding out results..

if cork and armagh win tomo then i would be expecting a galway v mayo Q-final...

if both Donegal and limerick win then it would be highly unlikely."
What's the story with repeat games? Are they allowed or not? Not looking for opinion ......... dose anyone know the rule??

People are saying we can't draw Mayo and others are saying there are no restrictions

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 12/06/2022 15:07:42    2424216

Well done to the Minors.. number 2 had a great game and Mc Glinchey from Tuam looks the business.
Vinny Gill had a stormer also..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 12/06/2022 15:16:20    2424218

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "If Galway draw Clare or winners of Cork-Limerick ye are guaranteed a semi final. I actually think Clare would cause Derry more problems than they would Galway."
Galway should win but guaranteed? Its not so long ago that Tipperary beat Galway in the All-Ireland quarter final.

Roscommon exit yesterday puts some perspective on the Connacht final and Clare almost scored as much as Galway did 2-15 v 2-19.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/06/2022 15:19:18    2424220

Answered my own question
https://www.gaa.ie/football/news/all-ireland-sfc-quarter-final-draw-details/

Can't draw Mayo in Q/F. Kerry can't draw Cork. If Donegal win they can't play Derry. So we can get Cork, Clare or winners of Armagh/Donegal.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 12/06/2022 15:19:25    2424221

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "'Then just need one big performance after that'. Tell me about it!!!"
Didn't Galway beat Kerry for the first time since 1965 in 2018 in Croker? Beating Kerry was not a bad day's work

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 12/06/2022 15:24:44    2424224

Delighted for the minors, they are a great bunch of lads. They deserved the result. They've taken a lot of criticism in the past week and some of it unfair when you consider their ages. There is a big number of them underage again to play next year. Many of these lads are back studying tonight for state exams tomorrow.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 12/06/2022 15:33:38    2424230

Replying To MeAlone:  "Didn't Galway beat Kerry for the first time since 1965 in 2018 in Croker? Beating Kerry was not a bad day's work"
The 'subtlety' escaped you MeA. When you're explaining you're losing though, as they say.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 12/06/2022 15:50:00    2424236

Replying To GDL:  "Delighted for the minors, they are a great bunch of lads. They deserved the result. They've taken a lot of criticism in the past week and some of it unfair when you consider their ages. There is a big number of them underage again to play next year. Many of these lads are back studying tonight for state exams tomorrow."
Absolutely.Much more positive and Mayo the only provincial winners through which goes to show that Connacht Minor was quite strong this year.Delighted for all those young lads.They have put a savage amount if time and effort into it and are only young.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 12/06/2022 16:09:34    2424245

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Absolutely.Much more positive and Mayo the only provincial winners through which goes to show that Connacht Minor was quite strong this year.Delighted for all those young lads.They have put a savage amount if time and effort into it and are only young."
Agreed. They took the criticism thay was deserved and responded brilliantly. Now they deserve all the praise. Especially to beet the dubs who had looked impressive and with huge resources in terms of playing population.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 12/06/2022 18:28:47    2424325

Replying To anotheralias:  "Agreed. They took the criticism thay was deserved and responded brilliantly. Now they deserve all the praise. Especially to beet the dubs who had looked impressive and with huge resources in terms of playing population."
Don't agree, some of the criticism in some quarters was over the top and truthfully not fair on 16/17 and in some cases 15 years old.

Well done to all involved today, a step in the right direction.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 12/06/2022 19:26:09    2424350

Replying To Yondu:  "Galway should win but guaranteed? Its not so long ago that Tipperary beat Galway in the All-Ireland quarter final.

Roscommon exit yesterday puts some perspective on the Connacht final and Clare almost scored as much as Galway did 2-15 v 2-19."
Been a rough few weeks for Roscommon alright. Biggest embarrassment since the vote in 2015

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 12/06/2022 20:46:02    2424376

Replying To PressureKick:  "Been a rough few weeks for Roscommon alright. Biggest embarrassment since the vote in 2015"
No embarrassment in losing to Galway with their fine football tradition or in losing to Clare with their fine hurling tradition. Ros will rise again.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 12/06/2022 21:08:05    2424391

Replying To ahsure.:  "Don't agree, some of the criticism in some quarters was over the top and truthfully not fair on 16/17 and in some cases 15 years old.

Well done to all involved today, a step in the right direction."
We will have to agree to disagree on that one. Maybe i didnt see all the criticism but what i saw was criticism that was a) not personalised and b) not too insulting (exception being the silly jibe about hairstyles). Once you start to play at elite levels it cant all be about praise and mollycoddling. But regardless of that what a response from the players..and maybe we wouldnt have got the response without some negative feedback. Fair play and lets hope they kick on.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 12/06/2022 21:32:34    2424405

Replying To PressureKick:  "Been a rough few weeks for Roscommon alright. Biggest embarrassment since the vote in 2015"
This that an effort to troll the poor Rossies? I don't deal with such childish behaviour.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/06/2022 21:48:10    2424412

Replying To Yondu:  "This that an effort to troll the poor Rossies? I don't deal with such childish behaviour."
Well everyone here knows you're from roscommon anyway so we would expect you not to appreciate the comment. But I would assume as most people here would that he was joking!!

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 13/06/2022 07:53:23    2424422

if a draw was ever rigged..omg..

galway v armagh
kerry v mayo

should be two very good games..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 13/06/2022 08:40:39    2424425

Replying To Yondu:  "This that an effort to troll the poor Rossies? I don't deal with such childish behaviour."
Don't mind him. Idiotic comment from him

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 13/06/2022 08:44:55    2424427

Cop on.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 13/06/2022 08:45:26    2424428

So it's Armagh.

What do we think?

Tough draw, but a great chance to go deep in this years championship.

tribescity (Galway) - Posts: 264 - 13/06/2022 09:16:05    2424438

Hardest possible draw for Galway but if ye do win, I would be tipping ye to win that semi final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 13/06/2022 09:16:37    2424440