Galway Football thread

There had been signs recently that his kickouts yesterday had improved but yesterday he had another meltdown; They've got to make a change on the back of that, its a sure sign there was a build up of pressure and he panicked.

Flaherty has to come in

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2024 13:24:50    2533548

Indeed. I think there has only been 1 game in recent years that Shane played in, where he was not out top scorer. Comer is always good for a few scores also, and apart from that its takes a huge effort from opposing teams to "mind" them. PJ said he hoped to have 2 of the returning player for the next game and 2 more for the semi final. When we have the full deck to draw from we will be a handful for any team. I am very hopeful of a decent summer.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 25/03/2024 13:34:00    2533554

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "Derry man living near moycullen. Jesus boys ye are hard to watch"
Imagine what its like for genuine Galway supporters! Far from the swashbuckling team of the late 90's / early 00's. PJ and co have to go - nice rhyme to that!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 25/03/2024 13:41:05    2533562

Replying To anotheralias:  "Dont underestimate the impact these players will have.
Comer and Walsh alone will give us huge options and will change our style of play. One of 2 things happens when these lads are playing.
1. Oppostion are more wary and they either double mark or give more sweeper cover which gives us more space out the field,
2. Opposition dont double mark and we have huge options on giving long ball in to FF line. We lose too many of the balls direct into FF because lads are not consistently in front or physically able to win. With these guys playing our style will ( or should ) change.

Kelly and McDaid give us some penetrating run options that we are currently limited on, although Heaney has really stepped up to the plate in that regard.

Matt Tierney will also give us more options both as a middle third ball winner and as an attacking option.

But the key is getting these guys fit.. I agree that without them we could still win Connacht and/or still get to a prelim QF, but that would be the extent of it"
You think we could win the Connacht championship without those 5 players? Really? Our record v Mayo recently is fairly shambolic, and that's with most of those players available.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 25/03/2024 13:49:12    2533569

Replying To LottoPlus:  "How have Salthill become such a powerhouse in football with 5 eventually playing on the team yesterday. Maher and to a lesser extend O Flaherty are the only 2 probably good enough. Corofin have 6 but you would not mind that as they are a decent outfit with great tradition, though Egan and McCabe are 1-2 years too early in physicality. I had so much respect for Joyce but I believe he is out of his depth and is playing players based on passed glories. Where are the other club representation and there is plenty of players out there who carry their club team who are better that the at least 10 of the 26 panel members yesterday."
Corofin lads are there because of their ability not because of tradition. Anyone who picks a lad based on his eircode and tradition shouldn't go anywhere near an intercounty managers job

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 25/03/2024 13:54:18    2533571

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You think we could win the Connacht championship without those 5 players? Really? Our record v Mayo recently is fairly shambolic, and that's with most of those players available."
I think we would have bet Mayo last year with a fit Comer and Sean Kelly. We missed multiple chances and the game turned when Comer went off with his man racing up the pitch to score a goal thereafter. No way McBrien would have come up the pitch that easy if Comer was still there plus Comer would have contributed more than Ian Burke who never got into the game. Dubious call to start Kelly who couldn't run and we were effectively a man down there and Kelly has been carrying injuries since. I think Mayo are very much in the same bracket as us in the second grouping of teams behind Dublin and Kerry

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 25/03/2024 15:04:37    2533612

Replying To TheBishop:  "There had been signs recently that his kickouts yesterday had improved but yesterday he had another meltdown; They've got to make a change on the back of that, its a sure sign there was a build up of pressure and he panicked.

Flaherty has to come in"
Given Flaherty opted out last year and has not seen a single minute of action since rejoining the panel this year, we can assume that Joyce hasn't a notion of picking him. We are - somehow - stuck with the keeper we have.

Patrick Egan and Jack McCabe were 2 of the best players in the county championship last year and Egan in particular is an excellent prospect in a position where we are weak. Of course they should both be on the panel.

In general I would say the best players in the county are on the panel bar some obvious exceptions -

- we have a number of goalkeepers who would be better than the incumbent
- Cooke has opted out
- Sam O'Neill would surely have seen league action if he didn't get hurt, a star for his club. Campbell from Claregalway is also very good but has been injured a lot. Mike Daly similar.
- Dessie Conneely, Eoin Finnerty, Barry Mchugh are all brilliant club forwards but aren't involved. All for different and very good reasons. You could argue that Liam Costello from Milltown is better than a lot of what we have in attack.

As others have highlighted we seem to have a crazy amount of soft tissue injuries. Anyway.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 25/03/2024 15:18:30    2533618

are the stats accurate on Hoganstand tables? Galway minus 20? We were minus 13 before Kerry game, right?
Since stats are used so much nowadays.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 25/03/2024 16:06:47    2533641

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Given Flaherty opted out last year and has not seen a single minute of action since rejoining the panel this year, we can assume that Joyce hasn't a notion of picking him. We are - somehow - stuck with the keeper we have.

Patrick Egan and Jack McCabe were 2 of the best players in the county championship last year and Egan in particular is an excellent prospect in a position where we are weak. Of course they should both be on the panel.

In general I would say the best players in the county are on the panel bar some obvious exceptions -

- we have a number of goalkeepers who would be better than the incumbent
- Cooke has opted out
- Sam O'Neill would surely have seen league action if he didn't get hurt, a star for his club. Campbell from Claregalway is also very good but has been injured a lot. Mike Daly similar.
- Dessie Conneely, Eoin Finnerty, Barry Mchugh are all brilliant club forwards but aren't involved. All for different and very good reasons. You could argue that Liam Costello from Milltown is better than a lot of what we have in attack.

As others have highlighted we seem to have a crazy amount of soft tissue injuries. Anyway."
Do you (and others) really expect our excellent goalkeeper Conor Gleeson to kick the ball out and then to run as fast as he possibly can to catch it himself around the 60 yard line? The nonsense on here about changing the goalkeeper is mindblowing. The job of midfielders and outfield players is to catch the ball. If they are not able to do that and if short kick-out options are not available, it is not the goalkeeper's fault if they are found wanting. There is constant talk of bringing in the goalkeeper on the ditch, Flaherty, whose reputation seems to be growing into all time great status, the less he plays. If I were him I'd do like the hurler and stay sitting on the ditch. He will surely go down in Galway football folklore. Gleeson is developing into a class goalkeeper and Galway are fortunate to have him. So lay off.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 25/03/2024 16:10:54    2533643

Most important thing is we retained Div 1 status now lets look forward to champo & draw very kind to us should get to connacht final comfortably and give more chance to get injured players back & boy do we need them. I am hoping PJ knows this and is aiming for them to peak at latter stages of champo (ie conancht final onwards). I do think we are as far away as ever from the the top dogs (Dublin Kerry ). Everyone raving sabout Maher as he tries which he does but as pointed out his footballing skill is limited and we were wiped in midfield. I think it says more about us and the other players that we highlight how good he is cause he treis and puts in a shift. Should this not be expected from every player. Gleeson gets all the flak and I have little faith in him or his kickouts but the fact no goalie saw a min in league says he will be no 1without doubt barring an injury. I would be concerned we seen none of Comer how bad is his injury or again is it PJ taking no chances & waiting for champo?

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 250 - 25/03/2024 16:32:44    2533651

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Do you (and others) really expect our excellent goalkeeper Conor Gleeson to kick the ball out and then to run as fast as he possibly can to catch it himself around the 60 yard line? The nonsense on here about changing the goalkeeper is mindblowing. The job of midfielders and outfield players is to catch the ball. If they are not able to do that and if short kick-out options are not available, it is not the goalkeeper's fault if they are found wanting. There is constant talk of bringing in the goalkeeper on the ditch, Flaherty, whose reputation seems to be growing into all time great status, the less he plays. If I were him I'd do like the hurler and stay sitting on the ditch. He will surely go down in Galway football folklore. Gleeson is developing into a class goalkeeper and Galway are fortunate to have him. So lay off."
If you don't want people to be personal about Conor Gleeson still being personal about other players.You keep posting this tired old diatribe about Conor Flaherty who you don't even know.You have been asked to stop it and yet you continue.Your comments about hurler on tge ditch are bordering on childish.Have a grown up conversation or dont comment at all.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 218 - 25/03/2024 16:43:06    2533660

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "Do you (and others) really expect our excellent goalkeeper Conor Gleeson to kick the ball out and then to run as fast as he possibly can to catch it himself around the 60 yard line? The nonsense on here about changing the goalkeeper is mindblowing. The job of midfielders and outfield players is to catch the ball. If they are not able to do that and if short kick-out options are not available, it is not the goalkeeper's fault if they are found wanting. There is constant talk of bringing in the goalkeeper on the ditch, Flaherty, whose reputation seems to be growing into all time great status, the less he plays. If I were him I'd do like the hurler and stay sitting on the ditch. He will surely go down in Galway football folklore. Gleeson is developing into a class goalkeeper and Galway are fortunate to have him. So lay off."
Ok ladies and gentlemen i think we have found the Dunmore chairman

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 25/03/2024 16:43:23    2533661

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Loads of positives and we can be happy with division 1 status. We can thank Derry for that in fairness.
We can only use fit players so its time to stop the discussion about who might be available. We saw what unfit players could do against Mayo last year. PJ essentially said yesterday that the 26 yesterday will be our Connacht Championship squad. He is honest about it. The main talking point about what is under our control is the kick out strategy. This is on management and I trust this will be seriously worked on. The predictability of Gleeson was not punished too much yesterday, but PJ has time now to fix this issue. I was delighted to see Gleeson attempt for goal at the last seconds.
He is a good keeper but needs a bit of help from the line. McGrath, Maher, Daly, Fitzgerald, Heaney, were great"
McGrath has been our player of the league. Maher was second only to McGrath . Two great additions from 2022 and absolutely key top quality players for us.
Having said that if I was to be super critical , I thought both had their least noteworhy performances of the league yesterday.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 25/03/2024 17:02:22    2533666

Here's one for you. On what you've seen in the last 12 months please rank Conor Gleeson among these 8 Div 1 counties. Now bear in mind he's developing into a class goalkeeper after 3 years.
Stephen Cluxton
Colm Reape
Niall Morgan
Rory Beggan
Conor Carroll
Colm Reape
Shane Ryan
And secondly, which of the above counties would he be starting for.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 25/03/2024 17:15:33    2533671

Replying To TheBishop:  "There had been signs recently that his kickouts yesterday had improved but yesterday he had another meltdown; They've got to make a change on the back of that, its a sure sign there was a build up of pressure and he panicked.

Flaherty has to come in"
Conor Flaherty and Corofin's Oran Burke are simply better keepers but bafflingly, our management seem to pride themselves on being particularly obstinate on this selection. They're making this mistake time and time again and it's costing us. As Henry Ford said "the only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing." It seems our management have learned nothing here, so sadly we can expect them to repeat the mistake.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 25/03/2024 17:17:08    2533672

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "are the stats accurate on Hoganstand tables? Galway minus 20? We were minus 13 before Kerry game, right?
Since stats are used so much nowadays."
That hoganstand table is wrong anyway. Galway ended at -15 point diff, as you've pointed out.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 25/03/2024 17:21:05    2533675

Dreadful league from nearly all involved, maher and mcgrath had good moments. People on here sayin we have great backs, we don't. We can't pass the ball at all. We have a invisible centre back who people on here praise to death, we are going no where

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 25/03/2024 17:35:38    2533680

Replying To giveitlong:  "Indeed. I think there has only been 1 game in recent years that Shane played in, where he was not out top scorer. Comer is always good for a few scores also, and apart from that its takes a huge effort from opposing teams to "mind" them. PJ said he hoped to have 2 of the returning player for the next game and 2 more for the semi final. When we have the full deck to draw from we will be a handful for any team. I am very hopeful of a decent summer."
He said it would be end of May before they return? Apart from Kelly.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 25/03/2024 17:39:19    2533682

Replying To giveitlong:  "Indeed. I think there has only been 1 game in recent years that Shane played in, where he was not out top scorer. Comer is always good for a few scores also, and apart from that its takes a huge effort from opposing teams to "mind" them. PJ said he hoped to have 2 of the returning player for the next game and 2 more for the semi final. When we have the full deck to draw from we will be a handful for any team. I am very hopeful of a decent summer."
He said it would be end of May before they return? Apart from Kelly.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 25/03/2024 17:50:22    2533688

I agree to an extent, Flaherty played league 2022 and wasn't a major improvement but he was an improvement. Had a terrible league final before he was substituted. But Gleesons accuracy is definitely not up there with the top club keepers. But would someone else really make a difference? Marginal. There is so little movement or options for a keeper to aim for. Many intermediate and senior club teams have better strategies. Obviously more difficult to execute at senior intercounty level but then get a keeper than can consistently do it and players with the movement. Flaherty is a good outfield player so could maybe play Oran Lynch role if needed but tbh I think without proper movement, changing Gleeson now will make no difference. Keep him this year. He's a good goalkeeper with very average distribution.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 25/03/2024 17:54:34    2533690