Galway Football thread

Replying To Belclare:  "Pj had said during the week that if needed and were performing he may bring one or two of the 20s into the senior panel....
No need now.. they threw it away with some awful wasteful chances . Well done to Sligo.. No evidence there last night of any of these lads pushing on in the immediate future . Junior club football won't help one or two of them either"
I actually disagree slightly. Not our best u20 side ever but a few of them showed potential.
- James Egan in goal. Performance not flawless but he looks promising
- Eanna Donoghue at full back - People might be surprised with my saying this , as he had a difficult night last night , but he has the physical attributes and football ability , and showed this in snippets.
- Sam O'Neill - great athlete , he's the one I would bring in straight away... even if its just for experience for next year
- Cillian O Curainn - looks to have the athleticism and accuracy
- Jake Slattery - ditto

Now , I know you could pick holes with the performances of all of the above last night , but my assessment is based on what i see as potential.

If you add those to Daniel O Flaherty and Liam O Conghale, it would not be a bad return in future years from this years u20s

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 20/04/2023 12:00:06    2471934

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "They might have been 'unbelievable' goal chances, if you're Micheal Meehan. But 1on1 goal finishers of Meehan's calibre are as rare as hen's teeth of course.

They were cast iron point chances though.

The players involved clearly fancied their goal chances, but their goal efforts weren't at all close, and the Sligo keeper did the business to keep his cleansheet without any undue fuss."
2 of the 3 were cast iron goal chances. They were hit straight at the keeper's chest unfortunately. He couldn't have missed them unless he dived out of the way. The 3rd was the rebound which he did well to save to be fair but again you probably need to be coming away with some kind of score there.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 20/04/2023 13:01:41    2471957

The beauty of U.20 football is that it is still played off the cuff. Management have these players for just a short time so they can't implement boring game plans, defensive structure and negative play. Therefore like last night you have 2 teams that go hammer and tongs to win the game. This also means countless mistakes but the game as a spectacle is miles ahead in entertainment compared to senior football. You have pointed out your failings but remember we gifted you a free at end of first half when the corner back assumed it was half time and just threw the ball at one of his team mates. We also lost our corner forward who was our best player up to that point. We had a legitimate penalty claim turned down. And in the last few minutes we kicked one wide and another one was caught by the keeper under the crossbar. So all in all there was mistakes on both sides. The extra game had us that little bit sharper and if it went to extra time I think we looked fitter. The time wasting by your keeper didn't work either, when he suddenly got a mysterious cramp. Tuam pitch is a fantastic pitch.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 20/04/2023 14:22:49    2471976

Unfortunate that the Galway players were brought into a post-match huddle by their manager while the presentation was in progress. While it appeared less than respectful I'm sure no snub was intended.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 20/04/2023 14:56:08    2471983

Replying To GDL:  "Welcome Albara, you're fairly new here but here is a Geography lesson for free, Naas is in Leinster, so Galway won't be playing Kildare tomorrow night. Now if you anything about schools football you'd know that Jarlath's beat everyone in Connacht last year and if the lads from Corofin or Annaghdown who traditionally went to school in Tuam had played for Jarlath's instead of Claregalway they wouldn't have been beaten, I'll name check them for you, Reilly, Murphy, Donnellan, Greaney, Kilcommins and add in McCabe who went to school in Holy Rosary in Mountbellew. Two of them played with Galway U20's last year and one is included in the subs this year, Albara, anyone can google results, you should try and watch some live games as "nothing beats been there". I note Kildare are out tonight versus Laois and we'll see if they've progressed as they've lads with Hogan cup medals for the first time and can they then beat Dublin or Meath in the Leinster final."
Good lad

Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 20/04/2023 16:23:24    2471997

Replying To eoinog:  "The beauty of U.20 football is that it is still played off the cuff. Management have these players for just a short time so they can't implement boring game plans, defensive structure and negative play. Therefore like last night you have 2 teams that go hammer and tongs to win the game. This also means countless mistakes but the game as a spectacle is miles ahead in entertainment compared to senior football. You have pointed out your failings but remember we gifted you a free at end of first half when the corner back assumed it was half time and just threw the ball at one of his team mates. We also lost our corner forward who was our best player up to that point. We had a legitimate penalty claim turned down. And in the last few minutes we kicked one wide and another one was caught by the keeper under the crossbar. So all in all there was mistakes on both sides. The extra game had us that little bit sharper and if it went to extra time I think we looked fitter. The time wasting by your keeper didn't work either, when he suddenly got a mysterious cramp. Tuam pitch is a fantastic pitch."
That's very magnanimous of you, eoinog. In fairness, I would have thought Galway had the advantages, seeing as Sligo had 2 games in recent weeks, and also the fact that it was a home game for Galway. Great work being done at underage level and colleges. 2 on the trot - no messing there..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 20/04/2023 16:40:14    2472006

Replying To Albara:  "Good lad"
Good win for Kildare v Laois. Naas CBS have an enrolment of circa 1,100, Jarlaths have roughly half that. So, unless Jarlaths happen on a talented intake, the chances of them winning Hogan are very much diminished. Secondary schools in Ulster also have larger intakes. Of course supporters - most likely past pupils, being nostalgic, yearn for the good old days of Fr. Ollie Hughes a master coach. But that was a very different era.. As was the oft sung anthem "Que Sara, Sara.."

You'd probably find many of these supporters came to school with their Man. City gear bags. Were togged out immaculately, and were the main cheerleaders with drums in the stand..

Really (Galway) - Posts: 585 - 20/04/2023 17:01:23    2472011

Replying To sligo joe:  "Unfortunate that the Galway players were brought into a post-match huddle by their manager while the presentation was in progress. While it appeared less than respectful I'm sure no snub was intended."
Ah no....So they missed out on the chance to be patronised with three cheers?

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 20/04/2023 17:27:13    2472022

Love the three cheers for Mayo after their latest All Ireland loss. Those faces are priceless.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 20/04/2023 22:24:11    2472059

Fair play Sligo but I thought it was one we left behind.
We went out of it for long periods and some of the wides were at the wrong time in terms of momentum. I thought it was in the forwards where things didn't really click, I noticed Bermingham and Slattery making the same run a few times. In saying that I felt we overplayed the ball in our HB line and midfield and the build up play was slow.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 21/04/2023 08:29:23    2472073

That's a very strong team named. Be interesting to see the match ups, Molloy completely nullified Enda Smith last year. He can't be allowed influence the game like he did against Mayo

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 21/04/2023 08:31:02    2472074

Many of that u20 team underage next year?

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 21/04/2023 09:12:20    2472080

What do ye think of that team??

Bernie in goal. Probably deserves his chance. Very good against Kerry. I would have given them half the league each, but that ship has sailed. I think criticism of Gleeson was OTT at times but that does not detract from the errors he made, particularly against Donegal and Armagh. Also, his kick outs are too slow.

Johnny McGrath earned his place.

Hernon dropped and Sweeney in HB line. Right call IMO. Hernon was poor in Final. Safe option all the time and seemed to panic a bit at times.

Ian Burke is the big call. Undoubted class, hopefully his form has returned. Finnerty is a big impact sub but it is hard to not start him.

Good to see Mcdaid in 26. Presume the injury has cleared up if he is on the bench. I'd say he just needs to catch up on a bit of match fitness so 20 minutes at the end will give us huge impact and also help Mcdaid's return plans.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 21/04/2023 11:09:23    2472118

Replying To Mayonman:  "What do ye think of that team??

Bernie in goal. Probably deserves his chance. Very good against Kerry. I would have given them half the league each, but that ship has sailed. I think criticism of Gleeson was OTT at times but that does not detract from the errors he made, particularly against Donegal and Armagh. Also, his kick outs are too slow.

Johnny McGrath earned his place.

Hernon dropped and Sweeney in HB line. Right call IMO. Hernon was poor in Final. Safe option all the time and seemed to panic a bit at times.

Ian Burke is the big call. Undoubted class, hopefully his form has returned. Finnerty is a big impact sub but it is hard to not start him.

Good to see Mcdaid in 26. Presume the injury has cleared up if he is on the bench. I'd say he just needs to catch up on a bit of match fitness so 20 minutes at the end will give us huge impact and also help Mcdaid's return plans."
Yea, Strong team. Looks like team selection is biased towards pacey players rather than size i.e. Glynn, McGrath, Sweeney, Burke in ... Fitzgerald, Hernon, O'Flaherty, Finnerty on bench.
I think thats the correct call , for Roscommon at least.
Also whatever team they selected you can be sure its the correct one, as management have spent a lot of time with these guys over the last few weeks so they should have a good gauge of form, and we know that Padraig will pick the team that he believes will have the best chance of winning.
Padraig loves to win and its a great attribute. He might be sometimes described as a sore loser , but good losers can become very good at ...losing.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 21/04/2023 11:50:16    2472137

Replying To anotheralias:  "Yea, Strong team. Looks like team selection is biased towards pacey players rather than size i.e. Glynn, McGrath, Sweeney, Burke in ... Fitzgerald, Hernon, O'Flaherty, Finnerty on bench.
I think thats the correct call , for Roscommon at least.
Also whatever team they selected you can be sure its the correct one, as management have spent a lot of time with these guys over the last few weeks so they should have a good gauge of form, and we know that Padraig will pick the team that he believes will have the best chance of winning.
Padraig loves to win and its a great attribute. He might be sometimes described as a sore loser , but good losers can become very good at ...losing."
Very surprised with Burke inclusion if this is the team that starts and pace is not something I'd associate with him.

Hopefully he can rediscover 2018 form and would be a great addition if he could

Big day for a lot of backs and concerned with who will take enda smyth suspect Heaney will play a role in that as not the most physically imposing from 2-7 minus molloy

Expect our forwards to fire and a 4/5 pt win

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 21/04/2023 13:19:31    2472175

Replying To streaker:  "Ah no....So they missed out on the chance to be patronised with three cheers?"
Actually no three cheers, it was a round of applause this time for gallant losers on the evening, Galway. I just think it was a pity the Galway management chose to gather the players in a huddle and ignore the presentation. It has been tradition for the losing team to acknowledge the victors by respecting the presentation. Hopefully the tradition will continue, plenty of time for the huddle afterwards.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 21/04/2023 13:46:31    2472185

Replying To sligo joe:  "Actually no three cheers, it was a round of applause this time for gallant losers on the evening, Galway. I just think it was a pity the Galway management chose to gather the players in a huddle and ignore the presentation. It has been tradition for the losing team to acknowledge the victors by respecting the presentation. Hopefully the tradition will continue, plenty of time for the huddle afterwards."
Would ya stop.

Best of luck to Sligo in the AI semi, talented team. They did it the hard way with three away games. Go on and win it now.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 21/04/2023 13:58:43    2472195

Replying To sligo joe:  "Actually no three cheers, it was a round of applause this time for gallant losers on the evening, Galway. I just think it was a pity the Galway management chose to gather the players in a huddle and ignore the presentation. It has been tradition for the losing team to acknowledge the victors by respecting the presentation. Hopefully the tradition will continue, plenty of time for the huddle afterwards."
Ah no....So they missed out on the chance to be patronised with a round of applause?

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 21/04/2023 14:26:18    2472218

Replying To streaker:  "Ah no....So they missed out on the chance to be patronised with a round of applause?"
More like they missed the chance to show respect to the winning team which is the right thing to do after a final.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 21/04/2023 14:47:41    2472225

Same referee as 2017 Connacht Final. Hope Murtagh has been practicing his 21 yard frees straight in front of the sticks.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 21/04/2023 15:20:32    2472239