Galway Football thread

Does anyone know the current status (injury-wise etc.) of the 5 M's i.e. Mulkerrin, Molloy, McDaid, Mulcahy and McLaughlin? If they were all fit and ready for action it would certainly deepen Galway's squad for the upcoming championship.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 28/03/2023 09:56:34    2467228

Delighted to see the progress of Fitz, McGrath, O'Flaherty, Maher, Sweeney, Tomo, Hernon, etc. They're looking up to the standard. I think Tomo will be some IC forward, he's young yet but even with his off the ball movement against Kerry, he looks quality and like he could make a real name for himself at the top level. In fairness, all of these lads are putting their hand up for a start come championship. We're adding much more strength and depth and with finishers getting on a par with starters, that should eliminate our recurring problem until recently of last 15 min collapses.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 28/03/2023 10:04:22    2467231

Replying To countyman2022:  "What would you call a county with 2 All Ireland's in just under 60 years? A powerhouse? What has this to do with Donegal? Although I guess in the last 60 odd years they do have the same amount of success as Galway."
A county that was in an All-Ireland final last year and two division 1 league finals in the past 5 years. I'd call them a strong football county. Just like Mayo being at the top table for the past decade, despite not having won one since 1951. I've never heard anyone refer to them as a lesser light.
My question for you is who is not a lesser light?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 28/03/2023 10:19:31    2467235

Have Galway a new goalkeeper for the championship, and Is Conor Sweeney off the panel?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 28/03/2023 10:22:37    2467236

Replying To countyman2022:  "What would you call a county with 2 All Ireland's in just under 60 years? A powerhouse? What has this to do with Donegal? Although I guess in the last 60 odd years they do have the same amount of success as Galway."
Yes but Donegal have only won 2 AI's in their history whereas Galway are third in the roll of honour with 9. Thanks for your "concern" and I know we have to improve further but it would be better coming from a person from a real footballing county like Kerry or Dublin and not poor auld Wexford languishing in Division 4 - you crack me up! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 28/03/2023 10:32:12    2467240

Replying To tommy k:  "Does anyone know the current status (injury-wise etc.) of the 5 M's i.e. Mulkerrin, Molloy, McDaid, Mulcahy and McLaughlin? If they were all fit and ready for action it would certainly deepen Galway's squad for the upcoming championship."
McDaid was in the terrace watching the game on Sunday. He was being given a break from the injury he was carrying earlier in the league. I'd say he will sit out the league final if they want to have another look at John Maher.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 28/03/2023 10:46:38    2467245

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes but Donegal have only won 2 AI's in their history whereas Galway are third in the roll of honour with 9. Thanks for your "concern" and I know we have to improve further but it would be better coming from a person from a real footballing county like Kerry or Dublin and not poor auld Wexford languishing in Division 4 - you crack me up! lol"
If you want to go down that route you could say how much better Wexford are than Tyrone, Mayo, Donegal and Armagh since they are 6th in the roll of honor and ahead of all those counties. You are living off 60 years ago. Would you not be better off being concerned with your own county and how ye have played second fiddle to Mayo for 20 years instead of a team in Div 4? you crack me up! lol

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 28/03/2023 11:24:17    2467252

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes but Donegal have only won 2 AI's in their history whereas Galway are third in the roll of honour with 9. Thanks for your "concern" and I know we have to improve further but it would be better coming from a person from a real footballing county like Kerry or Dublin and not poor auld Wexford languishing in Division 4 - you crack me up! lol"
Where he or she is from is irrelevant. People can have an opinion on anything. You don't have to be a brilliant footballer to be an astute of observer of the game.
The definition of a lesser light though is what interests me, as it's odd in relation to Galway and Mayo. It's almost as if the person was trying to throw a jibe at the counties, but I wouldn't be that cynical.
Both teams have been in All-Ireland finals, semi-finals and division 1 league finals in the past 5 years, so they're recently competitive.
Historically they are 3rd and 5th in terms of All-Ireland final appearances, so they have very good tradition.
There are only a handful of counties who could be argued have a stronger footballing tradition.
By the logic used, whether recent or historic, if Galway are a lesser light then there would be at most only 3 teams who are not.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 28/03/2023 11:57:36    2467267

They appear to be making steady progress. Given the players they have missing between last year and then through injuries in the league - to have made a league final is impressive. Can't say i have been a fan of the style of play in many games ie Roscommon,Donegal, Armagh but all in all the general public must be happy. After 2 rounds i saw people online calling for Joyce to go. Whether we win the league final or not is irrelevant. If the championship goes poorly it will all have been in vain anyways. But signs are positive.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 28/03/2023 12:02:48    2467270

I wonder though does Belclare still think Jason Leonard should be starting ?

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 28/03/2023 12:15:39    2467276

Replying To tommy k:  "Does anyone know the current status (injury-wise etc.) of the 5 M's i.e. Mulkerrin, Molloy, McDaid, Mulcahy and McLaughlin? If they were all fit and ready for action it would certainly deepen Galway's squad for the upcoming championship."
Yeah it would be nice to have all them lads available for the Championship.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 28/03/2023 12:29:01    2467286

Replying To togoutlads:  "Delighted to see the progress of Fitz, McGrath, O'Flaherty, Maher, Sweeney, Tomo, Hernon, etc. They're looking up to the standard. I think Tomo will be some IC forward, he's young yet but even with his off the ball movement against Kerry, he looks quality and like he could make a real name for himself at the top level. In fairness, all of these lads are putting their hand up for a start come championship. We're adding much more strength and depth and with finishers getting on a par with starters, that should eliminate our recurring problem until recently of last 15 min collapses."
Tomo has star quality but I'm just concerned about his pace. Reminds me a bit of Mike Martin or Barry McHugh, bags of ability just a little slow. Having only seen him in a handful of intercounty games, I'll reserve judgement for now.

With Dessie and Eoin Finnerty not grabbing their chance in the league, Tomo is likely the next scoring forward in.

Does anyone know what other scoring forwards are on the panel or could be on the panel if injuries? Anyone else apart from the obvious stand out for clubs? I know Paul Mannion hits serious scores each week for Kilconly, is he IC material?

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 28/03/2023 12:34:41    2467288

Replying To countyman2022:  "If you want to go down that route you could say how much better Wexford are than Tyrone, Mayo, Donegal and Armagh since they are 6th in the roll of honor and ahead of all those counties. You are living off 60 years ago. Would you not be better off being concerned with your own county and how ye have played second fiddle to Mayo for 20 years instead of a team in Div 4? you crack me up! lol"
I'm better off anyway sticking to my own county.
Thanks for your input, best of luck to the "lesser Sam Maguire" counties on Sunday

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 365 - 28/03/2023 12:38:43    2467289

Heard Mulkerrin is close to being back but obviously he's not played football for over a year so probably won't feature much for Galway this year anyway.

Has McLaughlin a new injury or is it the same thing that kept him out most of last year?

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 28/03/2023 12:42:49    2467292

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "They appear to be making steady progress. Given the players they have missing between last year and then through injuries in the league - to have made a league final is impressive. Can't say i have been a fan of the style of play in many games ie Roscommon,Donegal, Armagh but all in all the general public must be happy. After 2 rounds i saw people online calling for Joyce to go. Whether we win the league final or not is irrelevant. If the championship goes poorly it will all have been in vain anyways. But signs are positive."
Did you watch them matches on tv aswell!!

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 28/03/2023 12:49:08    2467295

Replying To countyman2022:  "If you want to go down that route you could say how much better Wexford are than Tyrone, Mayo, Donegal and Armagh since they are 6th in the roll of honor and ahead of all those counties. You are living off 60 years ago. Would you not be better off being concerned with your own county and how ye have played second fiddle to Mayo for 20 years instead of a team in Div 4? you crack me up! lol"
As much as it pains me to say our neighbors are indeed a football heavyweight. Just look at their record in minor, u20/21 and club all Irelands. While they were down and out for a few years they are back now to being "consistently competitive" which is what Mayo have been in recent memory. While before my time, Mayo went through the 70s without a single Connacht title.

The fact is Dublin and Kerry are way out ahead of every other county in terms of All Ireland titles. Same in Hurling with Cork, Kilkenny and you could say Tipp too. It was not that long ago I remember a man calling Limerick the mayo of hurling. Look at them now.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 28/03/2023 13:04:21    2467301

Hearing someone from Wexford giving out about Galway being unsuccessful cracks me up. Follow your own advice and look at the state of Wexford football.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 28/03/2023 13:29:50    2467310

Replying To smallfrank:  "I'm better off anyway sticking to my own county.
Thanks for your input, best of luck to the "lesser Sam Maguire" counties on Sunday"
Well you were the one that brought up other counties? You are more than welcome.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 28/03/2023 13:34:52    2467313

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Hearing someone from Wexford giving out about Galway being unsuccessful cracks me up. Follow your own advice and look at the state of Wexford football."
Or hurling unfortunately. One All Ireland since the late 60s. I like Wexford and would love to see the yellow bellies going well as would a lot of people on here I'd say. They have great supporters.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 28/03/2023 13:49:52    2467319

You still crack me up - keep em coming! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 28/03/2023 14:01:04    2467326