Galway Football thread

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It was a proper slog for sure. Real winter football.
Moycullen took control in the 2nd half but were very wasteful. I think it was 11 wides to 2 at full-time. Fair play to Strokestown for pegging back the couple of points late on to take it to extra-time.
The goal was key for sure. The short kickout is risky when handling conditions are tough and the pitch is soft. Westport weren't at the races at all last week, so that game will do Moycullen more good."
Some of the refereeing decisions by Gilmartin were poor yesterday, Strokestown 4 points up, on top and cruising, when the referee decides to issue a black card to Strokestown Midfielder David Butler. It was never a black card in a million years. It completely changed the game. With defenses on top in those conditions a 4 point lead was huge and looking likely to be increased at that point. Now Strokestown were missing a midfielder and lose the momentum they had gained and are suddenly on the back foot, Moycullen scored 4 points while having that extra man and midfield advantage. This completely changed the dynamic of the game.

4 minutes added time were signaled at the end of the 2nd half, the referee played over 6 for absolutely no reason in my opinion, giving Moycullen a last minute free to win it which they missed.

Then in first half of extra time when the sides were level, the Strokestown the corner back is coming out of defense with the ball, gets a clear push in the back and falls, the referee gives a free to Moycullen on the edge of the square for for the corner back touching the ball on the ground, an outrageous call in my opinion and the game ending goal was scored from the quick free.

I have no doubt Moycullen will win Connacht now and good luck to them, but its very frustrating when a referee continually makes poor decisions and decides the outcome of a game.

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 21/11/2022 12:13:05    2448300

Thought Moycullen looked very heavy legged yesterday. Think that was the 4th of the last 5 weekends that they've been out. Strokestown have had a decent break since their own county final. Moycullen have been up and down though in general. Brilliant against Mountbellew in the county semi-final. Average enough against Salthill in the final. Brilliant again against Westport. Below average yesterday. I'd say they will be very grateful for the 2 week break now as if they were out again next week they'd be goosed.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 21/11/2022 12:48:12    2448314

Replying To Marooned:  "Thought Moycullen looked very heavy legged yesterday. Think that was the 4th of the last 5 weekends that they've been out. Strokestown have had a decent break since their own county final. Moycullen have been up and down though in general. Brilliant against Mountbellew in the county semi-final. Average enough against Salthill in the final. Brilliant again against Westport. Below average yesterday. I'd say they will be very grateful for the 2 week break now as if they were out again next week they'd be goosed."
Most teams seem to find it very difficult to back up a really good performance (as Moycullen had against Westport the previous week) in their next game.
They've already shown that in the Galway championship this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 21/11/2022 14:42:46    2448328

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "He must have maroon and white tinted glasses. Cleaned out in midfield in every game I seen. You'd feel sorry for the defence behind that midfield, not much you can do against teams like Mountbellew and Salthill if you've an ocean of space in front of you."
Galwayfinest does not watch many gamee. Kilcommons was not playing midfield in the first 2 matches. it was when he went out our fortunes changed. Motm against James and Carroroe. Bearna did a man marking job on him a bit like what Derry did against Finnerty and Kikcommons just dragged him all over thr place and left space for the Annaghdown forwards who opened the up. Against Michaels he set up 90 % of Annaghdown scores and against Salthill he was and Maher cancelled each other out. So it was between himself and Maher bit I thought Kilcommons shaded it. only my opinion

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 21/11/2022 20:39:46    2448373

Replying To minor77:  "How can you pick kilcummins midfield did u see any of annaghdowns games they were cleaned out at midfield comer or meehan maybe"
wonder what games u watched Did I not pick one of your club men. Annaghdowns fortunes changed when the moved him to midfield. As I said below Kilcommins and Maher call was close you are right about Meehan. I would add him in. Frankie was close to but hard to fit into that full forward line. Also I did not criticise any player when I picked the team. it is just my opinion.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 21/11/2022 20:46:14    2448374

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Galwayfinest does not watch many gamee. Kilcommons was not playing midfield in the first 2 matches. it was when he went out our fortunes changed. Motm against James and Carroroe. Bearna did a man marking job on him a bit like what Derry did against Finnerty and Kikcommons just dragged him all over thr place and left space for the Annaghdown forwards who opened the up. Against Michaels he set up 90 % of Annaghdown scores and against Salthill he was and Maher cancelled each other out. So it was between himself and Maher bit I thought Kilcommons shaded it. only my opinion"
You definitely were watching different games to me and I was at all of them he wouldn't even be a sub on the team of the year stick to hurling might make the junior hurling tem of the year

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 22/11/2022 10:24:13    2448393

Replying To minor77:  "You definitely were watching different games to me and I was at all of them he wouldn't even be a sub on the team of the year stick to hurling might make the junior hurling tem of the year"
Diarmuid Kilcommons is a fine hurler and footballer.Please stop the petty remarks.These lads are human.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 217 - 22/11/2022 10:47:07    2448394

Replying To minor77:  "You definitely were watching different games to me and I was at all of them he wouldn't even be a sub on the team of the year stick to hurling might make the junior hurling tem of the year"
Silly comment about hurling. He is an excellent hurler. Kilkenny man, you definitely don't watch much football I'm afraid. I am not slating Kilcommins, as he is a fine athlete, but he is not an intercounty footballer. He left oceans of space against Mountbellew and Salthill. He set up a goal against St Michaels, but coming away from Pearse Stadium, if I was him, I would be more focused on the four times he overcarried and another handful of times he kicked the ball away. He looks like a rugby winger playing football, who forgets you have to solo. We have had enough of these athletic players in Galway panels over the last while, but we need skillful players, as shown in 2022, the likes of a Liam Silke, Heaney or Kieran Molloy who can do both, and compliment the gems like John Daly and Conroy in the engine room.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 22/11/2022 11:47:34    2448399

Replying To LottoPlus:  "wonder what games u watched Did I not pick one of your club men. Annaghdowns fortunes changed when the moved him to midfield. As I said below Kilcommins and Maher call was close you are right about Meehan. I would add him in. Frankie was close to but hard to fit into that full forward line. Also I did not criticise any player when I picked the team. it is just my opinion."
Bias or opinion..

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 22/11/2022 11:49:23    2448400

Replying To GalwaysFinest:  "Bias or opinion.."
Bias

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 22/11/2022 13:17:13    2448414

Replying To Romell01:  "Some of the refereeing decisions by Gilmartin were poor yesterday, Strokestown 4 points up, on top and cruising, when the referee decides to issue a black card to Strokestown Midfielder David Butler. It was never a black card in a million years. It completely changed the game. With defenses on top in those conditions a 4 point lead was huge and looking likely to be increased at that point. Now Strokestown were missing a midfielder and lose the momentum they had gained and are suddenly on the back foot, Moycullen scored 4 points while having that extra man and midfield advantage. This completely changed the dynamic of the game.

4 minutes added time were signaled at the end of the 2nd half, the referee played over 6 for absolutely no reason in my opinion, giving Moycullen a last minute free to win it which they missed.

Then in first half of extra time when the sides were level, the Strokestown the corner back is coming out of defense with the ball, gets a clear push in the back and falls, the referee gives a free to Moycullen on the edge of the square for for the corner back touching the ball on the ground, an outrageous call in my opinion and the game ending goal was scored from the quick free.

I have no doubt Moycullen will win Connacht now and good luck to them, but its very frustrating when a referee continually makes poor decisions and decides the outcome of a game."
Strokestown did very well but I don't think the outcome of the game was, as you suggest, decided by the ref or that Strokestown were ever 'cruising'. Moycullen were certainly off the boil but were always going to come into it, even if it took a while after their exploits in the hammering of Westport. I think they'll show much more of what they can offer against Tourlestrane.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 22/11/2022 13:18:53    2448415

I noticed in new League fixture Galway are now at home to Tyrone they now have 4 games at home anyone know how this came about ??

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 23/11/2022 12:29:50    2448509

Replying To Kickitout:  "I noticed in new League fixture Galway are now at home to Tyrone they now have 4 games at home anyone know how this came about ??"
The original fixtures released may have shown in error that Galway were away to Tyrone, but it was always going to be a home game.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 23/11/2022 14:00:11    2448528

Replying To Kickitout:  "I noticed in new League fixture Galway are now at home to Tyrone they now have 4 games at home anyone know how this came about ??"
Where did you see this?

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/11/2022 14:12:03    2448530

Replying To Romell01:  "Some of the refereeing decisions by Gilmartin were poor yesterday, Strokestown 4 points up, on top and cruising, when the referee decides to issue a black card to Strokestown Midfielder David Butler. It was never a black card in a million years. It completely changed the game. With defenses on top in those conditions a 4 point lead was huge and looking likely to be increased at that point. Now Strokestown were missing a midfielder and lose the momentum they had gained and are suddenly on the back foot, Moycullen scored 4 points while having that extra man and midfield advantage. This completely changed the dynamic of the game.

I have no doubt Moycullen will win Connacht now and good luck to them, but its very frustrating when a referee continually makes poor decisions and decides the outcome of a game."
I can disagree with some of your points I am a biased Moycullen man but I did think the black card was nott he right call. It absolutely stopped strokestowns momentum who at that point were without a doubt the better team

Serious wake up call for our lads. Yes they were tired after game after game but i do think maybe a few will have believed the hype which was a worry of mine. People speaking about All irelands when we hadnt even gotten to the connacht final. Absolutely ridiculous. Don will not have been happy with a lot of that performance

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 23/11/2022 15:01:16    2448535

Replying To Triffic:  "The original fixtures released may have shown in error that Galway were away to Tyrone, but it was always going to be a home game."
To answer my own question Galway Bay has posted up fixtures which are official with venues and throw in times.

The previous fixtures released was subject to change and Galway Bay had Galway down for Tyrone away so a welcome change with a even better chance of reaching the final now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 23/11/2022 15:06:53    2448536

Replying To Yondu:  "To answer my own question Galway Bay has posted up fixtures which are official with venues and throw in times.

The previous fixtures released was subject to change and Galway Bay had Galway down for Tyrone away so a welcome change with a even better chance of reaching the final now."
Galway Bay Fm robbed them from Tuam Herald.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 180 - 23/11/2022 15:41:03    2448541

Replying To TanCanRan:  "Galway Bay Fm robbed them from Tuam Herald."
Noticed that..
Galway bay fm sports can be good in covering so much but by God they let themselves down with some of the poor or no research at all.
Then again most are unqualified..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 23/11/2022 17:18:50    2448550

Have the league fixtures been confirmed?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 25/11/2022 08:42:51    2448659

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Diarmuid Kilcommons is a fine hurler and footballer.Please stop the petty remarks.These lads are human."
Agree, very tidy footballer and was coming on nicely at the hurling, got started and dropped too early by the hurlers.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 25/11/2022 13:24:25    2448698