Galway Hurling thread

Replying To tommy k:  "I don't think you can say after that game that "the management know best"! lol"
Yes obviously not! Scrambling at halftime but still some baffling decisions. Some very good hurlers barely got a look all year.

I think that's sometimes the issue with minor managers moving to U20, in their first couple of years they have an awful lot of loyalty to "their lads". In this case many very very young players

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 16/05/2024 11:06:42    2545064

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Just as gracious as,Healy. Whinging about the structure. You don't even mention the team that hammered tge bejaysus out of ye."
Dublin were very good. Galway did get in to it but a poor setup cost the goals at the start and end of the game

Well deserved winners, looking foward to see how those young lads get on when they make the step to play for the footballers!

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 149 - 16/05/2024 11:08:02    2545065

Can I ask Galway supporters how Nathan gill and Anthony keady weren't making the panel..I saw a lot of them In ul with fresher and they are as good as leahy(cork) or Martin or butler from tipp..maybe the management know a lot more than me..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2258 - 16/05/2024 11:55:05    2545073

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Congrats Dublin.

If we had the players we had the same players we had five weeks ago when we hammered the bejesus of ye things would of been different.

Galway.

Hope you find that sufficient."
"The last thing you'd want to see is Dublin winning the hurling, they'd be unbearable", an Offaly hurler said to me last year! It's breaking out in Barney already!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/05/2024 13:24:10    2545097

Replying To CillTormoir:  "Matty Kenny. Lynskey no, Hanley no."
Padraig Joyce's would be just the man!!!!

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 353 - 16/05/2024 13:43:23    2545105

Management are clueless in the Galway u20 set up, taking off our top scorer (Dolly) then moving the Centre Back (Burke) into the forwards and leaving a massive (hole) for Dublin to run right through.
I don't even know what instructions or set up the Galway management had but it was terrible!
7 lads on the sideline fiddling their lips!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2285 - 16/05/2024 13:48:00    2545107

One thing in Galway both football and hurling it's almost always ex players that gets ever job from under 16 up along if ur not ex player wasting ur time applying for any position,, not sure if it's being a great success definitely had not being at undrr 20 in both codes this year ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 871 - 16/05/2024 14:55:07    2545126

That U20 performance was beyond shocking. Seems like the current management have not learned from the previous management by sticking with the same players that they managed at minor grade. This has resulted in a squad that is too young to compete at u20 level, missed opportunity for the 20 and 19 year olds and taken the confidence of the younger players in being able to compete at this level and obviously senior level.
All of this was very obvious when the squad was announced.

OhIWouldYa (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 16/05/2024 15:01:43    2545127

Replying To baire:  ""The last thing you'd want to see is Dublin winning the hurling, they'd be unbearable", an Offaly hurler said to me last year! It's breaking out in Barney already!"
Usual aul bigotry nonsense..

Yeah, yeah, we'll be insufferable when theres a only a fraction for the hurling support and most Dub fans wouldn't even know there was a U20 hurling match on.. never mid start crowing a out it

Sure just look at us falling over ourselves to brag... ffs

It will be a great thing for the core hurling supporters of the City, who are a very loyal and dedicated core support who've only enjoyed a tiny bit of success compared to the football support

Imagine.. imagine them being proud of winning an AI and perhaps vocalising that.. f**king b******s

Spare us that **** Baire..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 16/05/2024 15:19:22    2545129

Replying To OhIWouldYa:  "That U20 performance was beyond shocking. Seems like the current management have not learned from the previous management by sticking with the same players that they managed at minor grade. This has resulted in a squad that is too young to compete at u20 level, missed opportunity for the 20 and 19 year olds and taken the confidence of the younger players in being able to compete at this level and obviously senior level.
All of this was very obvious when the squad was announced."
You're only assuming that they didn't learn. One could also assume that they did learn, and still chose to take the selection route they took. You'd certainly like to think that they learned a few things last night though, because it looked like they had a lot to learn.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3560 - 16/05/2024 16:51:00    2545152

Replying To jimbodub:  "Usual aul bigotry nonsense..

Yeah, yeah, we'll be insufferable when theres a only a fraction for the hurling support and most Dub fans wouldn't even know there was a U20 hurling match on.. never mid start crowing a out it

It will be a great thing for the core hurling supporters of the City, who are a very loyal and dedicated core support who've only enjoyed a tiny bit of success compared to the football support

Imagine.. imagine them being proud of winning an AI and perhaps vocalising that.. f**king b******s

Spare us that **** Baire.."
Spot on Jimbob

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12495 - 16/05/2024 17:45:43    2545167

Hard to believe with all Skehills chat he'd be a part of such a poor u20 team.

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 494 - 16/05/2024 17:52:46    2545169

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You're only assuming that they didn't learn. One could also assume that they did learn, and still chose to take the selection route they took. You'd certainly like to think that they learned a few things last night though, because it looked like they had a lot to learn."
So in a roundabout way you agree that they did not learn!

OhIWouldYa (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 16/05/2024 17:55:27    2545170

Arah go away with your bigotry nonsense! That's what Barney calls slagging and says it's part of the game. He's constantly slagging Galway, throwing digs in other words, and when he comes in here on the Galway thread boasting about hammering the bejasus out of a team of teenagers, what's does he expect us to do, clap him on the back?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/05/2024 19:20:10    2545181

Replying To OhIWouldYa:  "So in a roundabout way you agree that they did not learn!"
I see the Pope is confusing himself again and tying himself up in knots. Will he ever learn? At this stage, probably not!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1967 - 16/05/2024 21:59:09    2545195

Replying To baire:  "Arah go away with your bigotry nonsense! That's what Barney calls slagging and says it's part of the game. He's constantly slagging Galway, throwing digs in other words, and when he comes in here on the Galway thread boasting about hammering the bejasus out of a team of teenagers, what's does he expect us to do, clap him on the back?"
To settle a mild argument can any one tell me where the Galway After Match Banquet held in 1980?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4359 - 17/05/2024 07:32:30    2545198

Replying To Oldtourman:  "To settle a mild argument can any one tell me where the Galway After Match Banquet held in 1980?"
Clare Manor Hotel which is long since gone

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 309 - 17/05/2024 09:07:58    2545204

Jayus. There was us worried ye might suffer delusions of grandeur but instead ye are suffering from acute inferiority complex! Turn up for the books.

A lad comes on after winning a Leinster semi final and is upset because the manager and a couple of posters didn't pat ye on the head and say there's a good boy. I felt both points were justified. Why the long break less so. But missing the best underage hurler we have had in a long time, along with two lads who are in their last year U20 was very relevant. 50% if the forward line that started against Dublin a mere 5 weeks ago wiped one. One of them scoring 2-8 in that game.

Coming onto a Galway forum expecting us to be raining superlatives down on the opposition you will not find. In general we are a moany bunch a long time on the road. We have enough of our own issues. That is what we like to discuss.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 611 - 17/05/2024 10:16:34    2545213

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I see the Pope is confusing himself again and tying himself up in knots. Will he ever learn? At this stage, probably not!"
Thank goodness you're monitoring around to keep us on track here. I'd be lost without your value add.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3560 - 17/05/2024 12:25:54    2545247

so much for changes on the senior team..only 2.....
mannion and concannon will be big losses..
i think the balance of the team is not right at all..
for me fahy goes to 6...fintan to 7..mannion to 5..
id prefer monahan at midfield and i wouldnt start glennon after the last day..was very poor..
would of liked to see killeen or jamie get a start and see how they go along with declan mcloughlin..

i think we will have enough to get over the line tomorrow but next week game v dublin id have serious
douths..anyways here's hoping
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 17/05/2024 13:36:51    2545269