Galway Hurling thread

Replying To katser:  "Isn't that a lovely thing to say about Galway and you supposed to be there to support them.
Somebody print this in the Connaught Tribune and I hope the lads read it."
I WAS THERE TO SUPPORT THEM. Were you there to support them...or were you just complaining about the cost of watching the game on GAA.GO and what a waste of money it was?

If Galway had been winning the game by 4 points I'd still have been urging them on to score more and wouldn't have given a damn about losing the bet. Cos for betting purposes I always keep my heart and my head separate and will never bet on something I actually don't want to happen (but think will happen) to the extent that it interferes with my loyalties to my own team. Hence the small bet.

It covered some of my expenses of going to Wexford to support the team which was a little bit of a consolation on anotherwise bleak day.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 05/05/2024 13:42:34    2543103

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yup. Wexford deserved the win. We looked like SH-T."
It's easy to play well when the opposition are so poor!
We had a bad day but We both know Galway can play 10 times better than what We saw yesterday v Wexford.
The good thing about Leinster Championship is...you can afford to underperform in a few games and still get through.
Of course Galway raise their game when the standard of opposition gets better.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2249 - 05/05/2024 14:39:38    2543116

Replying To katser:  "It's easy to play well when the opposition are so poor!
We had a bad day but We both know Galway can play 10 times better than what We saw yesterday v Wexford.
The good thing about Leinster Championship is...you can afford to underperform in a few games and still get through.
Of course Galway raise their game when the standard of opposition gets better."
Not sure that's the case any more. You haven't beaten Kilkenny or Limerick in a meaningful game since 2018. You are heavily reliant on Cathal Mannion and Conor Whelan, in the same way we are reliant on a few players being fit and on top of their game. Mannion was missing yesterday, and I'm not sure Whelan is fully fit, although he was well marked yesterday. It was a bit like us in Salthill last year, when Damien Reck and Chin were missing, and Ryan, Mac and O Hanlon were carrying injuries.
If you are interested in an outside opinion here are a few things you need-
1- young players who will genuinely push the older lads for starting places.
2- more pace in every line
3- tactics to play to your strengths. You seem to be trying to play a Cork/Limerick style of shorter game when most of your players aren't fast enough to execute it.
4- consistency of effort, workrate and intensity, trust me we down in Wexford could write books on the subject.
5- I think like Cork what it will probably take is a manager brave enough to make fairly large scale changes, and maybe forego short term results. Like Cork your talented younger lads aren't going to get any better if they don't get to play in big championship games. Yes, that will probably mean a little short term pain, but you have the hurlers, you just need to give them a good run and back them to make the jump.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12227 - 05/05/2024 15:33:39    2543129

Replying To katser:  "It's easy to play well when the opposition are so poor!
Of course Galway raise their game when the standard of opposition gets better."
You've already played the best team in the province, who are also the second best team in Ireland. Are you saying you're waiting for Limerick? They're the only opposition better than who you've played.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2753 - 05/05/2024 16:16:42    2543141

Shefflin needs to go imo and a complete overhaul of the squad needs to happen. Conor Cooney hasnt performed since 2017, seven years later and he is still starting for Galway doing it for st thomas shouldnt matter a shite for being repeatedly selected. The management were clueless yesterday, it was clear wexford were going to run at us and Gmac starts? Absolutely shambolic team selection. Way too many passengers on the team and panel. Bringing johnny Glynn back to the panel and throwing him straight on v kk and wexford to save the game is something you would see at club level when the notorious hurler who retires every year is always begged to come back and promised the sun moon and stars when championship comes arojndand to be honest those days are even gone at club level, not acceptable at intercounty

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 05/05/2024 17:10:55    2543154

As someone from Wexford looking in, can anyone tell me why Henry isn't playing the young players? Or are the young players simply not there?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 05/05/2024 17:17:27    2543157

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "As someone from Wexford looking in, can anyone tell me why Henry isn't playing the young players? Or are the young players simply not there?"
No, they're not there. Henry is doing what any Henry would do, and picking his interpretation of the best team.

The only excuse I'd make for Galway yesterday is that Wexford were back to the wall looney determined, after a disappointing finish v Dubs, and a calamitous result in Belfast. Galway were in a more comfortable place mentally, and it left them soft relative to Wexford's mindset. Certainly once the ball got thrown in, Galway got eaten alive. That mightn't be a valid excuse either. We'll know more after the Antrim and Dublin games.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3502 - 05/05/2024 20:09:00    2543206

Replying To Galway456:  "Shefflin needs to go imo and a complete overhaul of the squad needs to happen. Conor Cooney hasnt performed since 2017, seven years later and he is still starting for Galway doing it for st thomas shouldnt matter a shite for being repeatedly selected. The management were clueless yesterday, it was clear wexford were going to run at us and Gmac starts? Absolutely shambolic team selection. Way too many passengers on the team and panel. Bringing johnny Glynn back to the panel and throwing him straight on v kk and wexford to save the game is something you would see at club level when the notorious hurler who retires every year is always begged to come back and promised the sun moon and stars when championship comes arojndand to be honest those days are even gone at club level, not acceptable at intercounty"
The two Wexford midfielders were constantly running at GMac through the middle, any chance they got.

It looked like an instruction from the Wexford management team they run at Galway's centre back when ever they broke onto a ball.

Granted they both had huge pace but that tactic hurt us big time.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 05/05/2024 21:38:50    2543225

Replying To Past hurler:  "The two Wexford midfielders were constantly running at GMac through the middle, any chance they got.

It looked like an instruction from the Wexford management team they run at Galway's centre back when ever they broke onto a ball.

Granted they both had huge pace but that tactic hurt us big time."
If you've huge pace, why wouldn't you use it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3502 - 05/05/2024 23:08:33    2543240

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You've already played the best team in the province, who are also the second best team in Ireland. Are you saying you're waiting for Limerick? They're the only opposition better than who you've played."
Based on that performance Galway we're clueless, too slow and too old. Henry hasn't done anything for them since he came in.
I thought Galway had more fight in them than what we saw yesterday. Wexford were cuter, faster and played with more intensity throughout.
With the success you have had at underage its shocking that you are as poor as you are right now.
Wexford are no world beaters and we are inconsistent but when put to the sword and we are hurting we will fight like dogs.
The leinster championship is wide open and it would take a wise man or woman to predict how it's going to pan out.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 06/05/2024 00:31:37    2543255

Replying To Magpie2:  "Based on that performance Galway we're clueless, too slow and too old. Henry hasn't done anything for them since he came in.
I thought Galway had more fight in them than what we saw yesterday. Wexford were cuter, faster and played with more intensity throughout.
With the success you have had at underage its shocking that you are as poor as you are right now.
Wexford are no world beaters and we are inconsistent but when put to the sword and we are hurting we will fight like dogs.
The leinster championship is wide open and it would take a wise man or woman to predict how it's going to pan out."
Why don't yee get 'hurting' more often, and let Galway worry about Galway?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3502 - 06/05/2024 08:51:04    2543268

Replying To katser:  "Isn't that a lovely thing to say about Galway and you supposed to be there to support them.
Somebody print this in the Connaught Tribune and I hope the lads read it."
He can support his team and bet against them if he wants to. I do it when it makes sense to do so, because why wouldn't you?

It's not a binary choice and to imply that it is, is ludicrous.

His only mistake here is trying to justify it to you tbh, cos it's none of your damn business how he spends his money

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 06/05/2024 09:24:10    2543270

Replying To Magpie2:  "Based on that performance Galway we're clueless, too slow and too old. Henry hasn't done anything for them since he came in.
The leinster championship is wide open and it would take a wise man or woman to predict how it's going to pan out."
Wexford comments are becoming a bit tedious. Replace the word Galway with the word Wexford in your first sentence and I think your post is a fairly accurate on Wexford last week.

We weren't hurting. And weren't close to a sword. Destiny remains in Galways hands.

"Poor as we are right now"? You mean on the same amount of points as Wexford?

I agree it would be risky to make predictions. Antrim beat Dublin next week would be an interesting one. The last round of games will put Wexford close to this magical sword ye love so much.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 603 - 06/05/2024 09:24:35    2543271

Replying To Past hurler:  "The two Wexford midfielders were constantly running at GMac through the middle, any chance they got.

Granted they both had huge pace but that tactic hurt us big time."
That would have been an achievement because McInerney wasn't playing in the middle

He wasn't Galway's centre back.

He probably should have been but that's a different debate

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 06/05/2024 09:26:30    2543272

Minors developing well after a calamitous start, well done to all involved, some very useful players and a management who are both able to identify problems and solve them.

Likely to meet Kilkenny in 2 weeks which will be a good test of the level of improvement, it's unlikely it will be another 19 point defeat, anyway. Since that day we have been improving and Kilkenny seem to be improving worse but every day is a new one at that grade of course

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 06/05/2024 09:32:02    2543274

Yes when Galway play like that they could lose to the likes of Westmeath or Antrim - oh wait that is Wexford's party-piece! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3392 - 06/05/2024 10:47:09    2543292

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Wexford comments are becoming a bit tedious. Replace the word Galway with the word Wexford in your first sentence and I think your post is a fairly accurate on Wexford last week.

We weren't hurting. And weren't close to a sword. Destiny remains in Galways hands.

I agree it would be risky to make predictions. Antrim beat Dublin next week would be an interesting one. The last round of games will put Wexford close to this magical sword ye love so much."
The word clueless in my opening sentence would sum up Wexford against Antrim. It was embarrassing. However the other two words would not. We are far from been slow and we are quite a young team. Although 2 or 3 may well be in the autumn of their hurling careers.
The point I was making was that we were able to bounce back after the poor display in Belfast.
You were poor against the cats although you somehow managed to get a draw. You continued to be poor against us.
Of course everything may change in the remaining games. You may win the next outings against the Dubs and the Saffrons. We on the other hand could get sucked in by Carlow and Kilkenny.
What are the odds of a Wexford Galway leinster final? You never know.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 06/05/2024 11:59:22    2543305

Minors developing well after a calamitous start, well done to all involved, some very useful players and a management who are both able to identify problems and solve them.

Likely to meet Kilkenny in 2 weeks which will be a good test of the level of improvement, it's unlikely it will be another 19 point defeat, anyway. Since that day we have been improving and Kilkenny seem to be improving worse but every day is a new one at that grade of course

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 06/05/2024 12:15:43    2543309

Very hard to see where we go from here. biggest positive is probably Cianan Fahy. For the life of me I dont know why we are not trying to find more of these kind of players. Conor Cooney is clearly past it but Evan Niland is not the solution. He just doesnt have the size required. Ive lost hope in Galway hurling, for this year anyway.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 428 - 06/05/2024 13:03:23    2543317

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Wexford comments are becoming a bit tedious. Replace the word Galway with the word Wexford in your first sentence and I think your post is a fairly accurate on Wexford last week.

I agree it would be risky to make predictions. Antrim beat Dublin next week would be an interesting one. The last round of games will put Wexford close to this magical sword ye love so much."
It's a great Leinster Championship. All the counties still have their destiny in their own hands to an extent. Carlow will likely get out of Leinster if they win their 3 remaining games. Antrim will make a Leinster final if they win their last 3, as will Dublin. We will definitely make a Leinster final if we win our last 2. Kilkenny don't even have to win all their games they can lose one and still make a Leinster final. If Galway win their last 2 they will definitely get out of Leinster, but they need other results to go their way to make the final even if they win their last 2. If we win our last 2, Galway win their last 2, and Kilkenny beat Carlow and Dublin, it will go to a mini League between the 3 of us. We would be top on 4 points, while you and Kilkenny would have one point each. Then score difference would come into play. Currently Kilkenny have a huge advantage there. Realistically you need ourselves not to win our last 2 games, or Kilkenny not to win against Dublin and Carlow, and that's assuming you win your last 2. And at the other end of the table as it stands right now any of the 6 of us could be relegated still.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12227 - 06/05/2024 16:57:58    2543352