I thought I would never say this but could Dublin of all teams beat Kilkenny in Parnell Park? Now that would Definitely open up the Leinster Championship!
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2580 - 04/05/2024 20:50:01 2542959 Link 1 |
Worry about Galway, you haven't shown Wexford any respect, just glad we beat you, I'm under no illusion about the pitfalls of being a Wexford supporter, and I haven't mentioned anything about finals, we have to get past Carlow first and that's no given.
Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 246 - 04/05/2024 21:07:44 2542960 Link 1 |
It's a good job Galway are in Leinster and not Munster. galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1308 - 04/05/2024 21:18:51 2542963 Link 1 |
Too many passengers.. Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 269 - 04/05/2024 21:21:03 2542965 Link 1 |
That would throw the group right open if it did happen. Dublin and KK the only teams who havnt lost yet, but Dublin do still have to play KK at home and Galway away. Kilkenny also seem to struggle with Wexford in Leinster. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 936 - 04/05/2024 21:32:46 2542968 Link 1 |
In reality Galway have not being a consistent contender for all Ireland since the great team of the 80s prob should have won another 3 then but in history of Gaa 5 all Ireland's won at senior level and Limerick are going for 5 in a row it amazes me how every year they are spoken about snd they won 4 of them all Ireland getting virtually straight to semi final ,, Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1068 - 04/05/2024 21:52:37 2542974 Link 1 |
Hardly a smart alec I think. More a few slices short of a loaf. They say every village has one and sometimes they go missing.
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2019 - 04/05/2024 22:16:34 2542978 Link 1 |
Most on here are sound hurling people. It's just his holiness, the goalkeeper as Gaeilge, Tommeen (at times, sometimes fine) and katser herself and I think she does it for devilment as opposed to delusion, that give Galway hurling folk on here a bad name!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2239 - 04/05/2024 22:17:53 2542979 Link 1 |
Loads of hurlers in Galway. I've been saying it for years. Outside managers don't work. Get your own in. 1998 and counting. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 04/05/2024 23:03:30 2542994 Link 1 |
I'm slightly surprised with result today..to be honest I didn't see a Wexford win being so handy..unfortunately for them they probably still need a result v the cats..Galway can still make it and I still expect them to..it's another match where Galway failed against 14..I'll ask the Galway supporters,what did Flynn or Glynn bring to the game when Galway needed fellas to really stand up?I know mannion was a huge loss..huge game upcoming now against Dublin and Antrim,any slip up and another year gone.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2516 - 04/05/2024 23:20:35 2543002 Link 1 |
I thought Galway would win today, but it didn't happen. It could be the end for Henry Shefflin, 3 games left to rescue their championship ambitions.
thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 05/05/2024 00:04:52 2543010 Link 1 |
True, galway are numerically miles away from the top table but I genuinely believe we should be up there. How in the name of God a county with a strong hurling culture like ours with great clubs and players have only managed 5 all Irelands is a complete mystery to me. I can't think of a greater anomaly in any other sport. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 05/05/2024 06:18:36 2543026 Link 1 |
Today's performance and result has been the consequence of what is turning out to be a disastrous three year tenure for Henry Shefflin and his back room team. Shefflin's appointment always had something gimmicky and naivety about it, with him getting the job seeming like a victory in itself for some who may have had other motives. Galway4ever (Galway) - Posts: 221 - 05/05/2024 06:40:53 2543027 Link 1 |
That actually suns up Wexford hurling though. We had absolutely no guts last week and yesterday 11 of the same lads got stuck in like their lives depend on it. I'm genuinely more worried about Carlow than Kilkenny which seems mad but I guarantee you I'm not the only one. If we beat Carlow we've a great chance. Our record against Kilkenny is excellent. The only rivalry in hurling outside Munster. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3609 - 05/05/2024 06:48:39 2543029 Link 1 |
It's yer man that says Wexford are a poorly coached team that got me. Rossiter in only his 3rd championship game in charge.....how the hell does he know how well or poor we are coached. Given that he secured 1A status with basically an u20 team plus supporting cast that doesn't smack of poor coaching to me. And all this coming from a team managed by Henry Sheflin who let's be honest lads is no Brian Cody. Laughable and delighted with that result yesterday for people like that running us down.for the genuine hurling supporters of Galway I know they weren't taking the Mike out of us but I bet still surprised to lose yesterday
WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 402 - 05/05/2024 08:27:10 2543035 Link 1 |
You've summed it up. Its harder to get off the team than onto it. Keep doing the same things and you will get the same result. We have had some bad days but this was the worst since 1973. Embarrassing is the only word I can think of. SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 05/05/2024 10:07:05 2543045 Link 1 |
Yes. The successful Managers in gaa have managed their native county. Cody in Kilkenny, O'Dwyer in Kerry, Kiely now in Limerick, Gavin in Dublin, Boylan in Meath, the list goes on. There must be talent in Galway with all the underage titles they've won but the Henry reign in the West is just a damp squib.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2418 - 05/05/2024 10:23:19 2543049 Link 1 |
i presume youre gone on holidays..........
munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1142 - 05/05/2024 10:26:21 2543051 Link 1 |
I can tell you yesterday's result did not surprise me one bit. There's very little which surprises me with Galway hurling. Experience will do that. We also have plenty recent evidence of what Wexford are capable of when their backs are to the wall. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2321 - 05/05/2024 10:36:33 2543052 Link 1 |
Have to agree with you endgame - even here in Galway (outside of John O'Mahony in the football), its been local managers that have brought home the AI's. Galway are as good as gone for the year now and time for a rebuild. Its all very sad but not too sad for "outside posters" I see!
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 05/05/2024 10:42:43 2543053 Link 1 |