Wexford Football Championship

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully we will raise our game and give it a good lash. Offaly aren't unbeatable."
Well done Wexford. We have a lot to reflect on. High profile addition to team management, still a poor display.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 24/04/2022 17:03:57    2412770

Great result, brilliant performance.
Well organized, no panic after Offaly goaled, just a very "together" group sticking to the game plan. Well done players and management.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 24/04/2022 17:09:45    2412773

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "poor team but its a beautiful day, its championship, so looking forward to this, lets hope things will go our way"
Beautiful day. Cracking game. Good result. Lads well up for it and very well conditioned. Would a Tailteann Cup be beyond us?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 24/04/2022 17:14:34    2412777

Well I am absolutely delighted. Following it on twitter, I feared the worst when they got the goal early in the second half, especially how often we let things like that affect us in the league.

But full credit to everyone involved, we were excellent thereafter. Nice to get a good crack at the Dubs again, on Sky too. Nothing to lose and there is unbelievable pressure on Farrell so you just never know.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 24/04/2022 17:30:13    2412788

Absolutely thrilled with our performance today. They never panicked and played a real team game. The backs marked tightly and shut out a lot of the Offaly attacks. Some of the points scored were first class. Brosnon is a class act and he was badly missed during the league.
Its the Dubs next Saturday, lets hope we can rattle their cage a little bit.

Samson55 (Wexford) - Posts: 103 - 24/04/2022 17:50:11    2412802

Replying To thelongridge:  "Well done Wexford. We have a lot to reflect on. High profile addition to team management, still a poor display."
Cheers thelongridge, a disappointing day from your perspective.
Great craic and great banter with some Offaly supporters on the "open" side. Lovely to have a bit of slagging and banter with no agro or animosity !!

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 24/04/2022 17:52:00    2412807

Replying To Viking66:  "Beautiful day. Cracking game. Good result. Lads well up for it and very well conditioned. Would a Tailteann Cup be beyond us?"
Footballers outdoing the hurlers.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 24/04/2022 18:13:03    2412817

And fair play to Shane Roche after all the stick he was getting off some lads during the League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 24/04/2022 18:54:01    2412829

Replying To Viking66:  "And fair play to Shane Roche after all the stick he was getting off some lads during the League."
I'll hold my hand up and admit I was skeptical. Just felt while many of our defeat in the league were close-run, confidence was low and our game-plan was hard to decipher.

But according to the post-match interviews, they put in serious prep work in the build-up to this. Studying hours of tape and getting the players in flying shape (I know they were in the Curragh over one weekend).

Definitely seemed to have a discernible idea of how they wanted to set up in contrast to the hurlers yesterday. Free shot at Dublin now anyway, and genuine reasons to be optimistic of a run in the Tailteann Cup- provided we don't spring the mother of all upsets on Saturday of course.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 24/04/2022 20:44:25    2412883

my first tought on the game when i woke this morning was about alan tobin, he has very limited football ability, me ,like a lot of others questioned how he kept making the team, but what a shift he put in,he never stopped, he put in amazing ammount of tackles, his work rate was a credit to him

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 25/04/2022 08:20:26    2412918

Great team performance,management got all the calls right too ie team selection and substitutes, congratulations

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 431 - 25/04/2022 09:47:28    2412947

Me and the ould fella went down and we asked ourselves leaving the house we're we mad. Thank god we kept going. Offaly we're terrible but our lads didn't give them a sniff. Worked hard tackled tough and each player deserves credit. Alan Tobin put in a shift but the man should never be allowed shoot again. we'll done to Shane and all involved.

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 25/04/2022 10:50:33    2412984

An important win after such a disappointing league, hopefully Wexford give a good account of themselves nest weekend, nothing to lose.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 74 - 25/04/2022 11:08:59    2412998

Replying To Yellaman:  "Cheers thelongridge, a disappointing day from your perspective.
Great craic and great banter with some Offaly supporters on the "open" side. Lovely to have a bit of slagging and banter with no agro or animosity !!"
Enjoy the game v Dubs. Wexford have nothing to lose.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 25/04/2022 12:25:01    2413046

was right behind the offally bench i took note it was 22 min into first have when they seemed to start to panic, frantic discussions went on, as 2th have went on maughan and o shea got quiter and quiter, i dont think they moved of the bench, they seemed to have given up long long before the end, never saw the likes

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 25/04/2022 14:25:21    2413112

Replying To beano:  "I'll hold my hand up and admit I was skeptical. Just felt while many of our defeat in the league were close-run, confidence was low and our game-plan was hard to decipher.

But according to the post-match interviews, they put in serious prep work in the build-up to this. Studying hours of tape and getting the players in flying shape (I know they were in the Curragh over one weekend).

Definitely seemed to have a discernible idea of how they wanted to set up in contrast to the hurlers yesterday. Free shot at Dublin now anyway, and genuine reasons to be optimistic of a run in the Tailteann Cup- provided we don't spring the mother of all upsets on Saturday of course."
This may seem like a very negative view aftwr a great day but i have changed my view any on what is going on. Last year it was the same, we seem to be able to put in a shift for the championship but then when it comes to the league we go backwards and are stuck at the bottom on D4. To show real improvement we have to consistently win games and climb the league tables. One off games where its about as much as what's happening with the opposition as yourself doesn't indicate something has changed. It's great for the lads who are playing to get the reward but let's not use it to paper over the cracks we have seen over the past few years. In some ways it suits may people who have no interest in promoting football in the county as it helps take the pressure off them to do something. I honestly had a lit of hope coning into the year as I is a relatively young team that could do something. I won't be taken the bait as easy this time.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 25/04/2022 15:17:24    2413130

"While Maughan didn't use it as an excuse, Offaly's injury crisis was so bad that injured talisman Niall McNamee was sub-goalkeeper on the day because of Ian Duffy's torn groin and the GAA's rule that team managements are required to submit their panels on the Thursday morning before championship games"
Didn't realise they had so many injuries

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 917 - 25/04/2022 15:21:03    2413135

Replying To hunting:  ""While Maughan didn't use it as an excuse, Offaly's injury crisis was so bad that injured talisman Niall McNamee was sub-goalkeeper on the day because of Ian Duffy's torn groin and the GAA's rule that team managements are required to submit their panels on the Thursday morning before championship games"
Didn't realise they had so many injuries"
5 starters was what I was told during the week.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11725 - 25/04/2022 15:56:29    2413147

Replying To Viking66:  "5 starters was what I was told during the week."
one of the players named 4 wexford plsayers to me that could not start because of injuries, heffernan was one, michael furlong , turbitt 2 more, cant remember other 2 names he said

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 25/04/2022 16:43:22    2413172

Great result, I hope we use it as a springboard to challenge for the taitleann cup. The Gaa needs this to work and these players need more games and exposure.

skipper101 (Wexford) - Posts: 14 - 26/04/2022 07:22:49    2413234