Wexford Football Championship

Replying To zinny:  "23 points but not embarrassing. It reflects the reality of where we are and where Dublin are in the pecking order. Despite being relegated nobody ever believe that would be the decline in Dublin and they showed yesterday that the hunger and desire is back. The team never gave up and battled to the end, the kickout strategy and playing against the wind in the first half were not well thought out. Kicking long into the wind in the first half just made no sense, We did win far more ball when we had runners moving for the kickouts but it didn't make much difference. There are complaints and complements you could have about the players but what's the point, we don't judge ourselves against the likes of Dublin - the league is our measure of success in terms of development. The Tailteann Cup now and depending on the draw we may get another game as I don't seriously think that we will make much of an impact on that either."
Have to agree with you there zinny. The biggest problem was a lack of ball-winner around midfield. We persisted with the long kick out and lost most of them around midfield.
As for the 23 points difference, that's what top teams like Dublin do to when they get motoring.
But 23 points was also the difference in '08 Leinster final but the lads re-grouped and reached the All Ireland semi.
Lets hope everyone involved, players and management, can use this game as part of their learning curve, because that's what it is for this group.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 112 - 01/05/2022 12:32:26    2414340

Replying To StoreysTash:  "After last years showing Zinny, 23 points is embarrassing.
We literally tried to hold possession without any attacking intent throughout.
Yesterday was a desperate advertisement for where the game is in the county, it reminded me of those sort of beatings off Kilkenny in the early 00's.
Bad weekend for GAA in the county so far, 2 down 2 defeats 2 to go and we need 2 w's to lift the thing."
Last year was more about Dublin than us. The difference between the 00s and Kilkenny is that at the time we considered ourselves in the top tier, in Football at the moment we are ranked 29th in the country. The two beatings we got this year in Hurling were embarrassing for the same reason - if we consider ourselves a top team that cannot be happening to us.
Agree however regardless of the expectation around the Football, it was not a good weekend so far and a reminder to us that we are a long way off the top tier counties for the GAA.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 01/05/2022 13:46:29    2414356

Replying To zinny:  "23 points but not embarrassing. It reflects the reality of where we are and where Dublin are in the pecking order. Despite being relegated nobody ever believe that would be the decline in Dublin and they showed yesterday that the hunger and desire is back. The team never gave up and battled to the end, the kickout strategy and playing against the wind in the first half were not well thought out. Kicking long into the wind in the first half just made no sense, We did win far more ball when we had runners moving for the kickouts but it didn't make much difference. There are complaints and complements you could have about the players but what's the point, we don't judge ourselves against the likes of Dublin - the league is our measure of success in terms of development. The Tailteann Cup now and depending on the draw we may get another game as I don't seriously think that we will make much of an impact on that either."
Agree and disagree, is it embarrassing for this Wexford team to lose that that Dublin team by that amount, well yes it is but not entirely unexpected.

But our overall approach, our tactics, our kick out strategy, our decision to not use the wind isn't he 1st half, our drive it long at every given opportunity like u12 football approach from practically anywhere, yeah all that was embarrassing imho.. I mean win the toss and give up the opportunity instead granting some of the best long range kickers in the game free reign to do for the first half when at their freshest, yep, makes sense!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 01/05/2022 13:54:14    2414357

at home to offaly, the one team i did not want to get, but at least its in the park, u can expect they will be a lot better than they were the last day

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 16/05/2022 09:26:50    2417488

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "at home to offaly, the one team i did not want to get, but at least its in the park, u can expect they will be a lot better than they were the last day"
Park is closed, won't be there.

FootballRising (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 16/05/2022 09:34:02    2417490

Replying To FootballRising:  "Park is closed, won't be there."
Made sure it was still open for Wexford's Fittest Schools though.

I don't like getting them again. They surely won't be as bad this time around, have probably targeted Tailteann as a potential trophy (like ourselves) and it's hard to beat the same team twice in the one year.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1417 - 16/05/2022 09:47:01    2417500

Replying To beano:  "Made sure it was still open for Wexford's Fittest Schools though.

I don't like getting them again. They surely won't be as bad this time around, have probably targeted Tailteann as a potential trophy (like ourselves) and it's hard to beat the same team twice in the one year."
They will also have a few of their better lads back and will have learnt a little about our set up.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 16/05/2022 10:10:16    2417532

Replying To beano:  "Made sure it was still open for Wexford's Fittest Schools though.

I don't like getting them again. They surely won't be as bad this time around, have probably targeted Tailteann as a potential trophy (like ourselves) and it's hard to beat the same team twice in the one year."
Agree, a bad draw for us but was bound to happen to some county, just surprised there were not more. If they have their players back from injury I would be concerned for us in this one.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 16/05/2022 11:14:39    2417586

belfield or ross then i assume

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 16/05/2022 14:01:48    2417716

wonder if the hurlers had kilkenny at home next weekend would the park be closed? god thats a tough question!!!!!!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 16/05/2022 14:26:13    2417733

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "belfield or ross then i assume"
Belfield on Sunday. At least Offaly won't have played there before so one advantage to us.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 17/05/2022 12:16:04    2418080

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "wonder if the hurlers had kilkenny at home next weekend would the park be closed? god thats a tough question!!!!!!"
Usual craic. Could tell you a lot of stories about how the county board is treating football - players and mentors but it won't change anything. Hurling gets the priority with everything. Chairman has a lot of questions to answer.

FootballRising (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 17/05/2022 14:15:08    2418136

Replying To FootballRising:  "Usual craic. Could tell you a lot of stories about how the county board is treating football - players and mentors but it won't change anything. Hurling gets the priority with everything. Chairman has a lot of questions to answer."
enery chairman since the 1950s has questions to answer

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/05/2022 15:23:08    2418172

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "enery chairman since the 1950s has questions to answer"
To be fair the last chairman we had was an exception, i thought he was excellent.

The less said the better about where we are now,

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 17/05/2022 16:12:37    2418187

Replying To FootballRising:  "Usual craic. Could tell you a lot of stories about how the county board is treating football - players and mentors but it won't change anything. Hurling gets the priority with everything. Chairman has a lot of questions to answer."
was a co board rep all through 90s going back to late 80, like u i feel i have a book in me about some of the things a heard in murphy floods, but noone would believe a lot of it

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/05/2022 17:41:18    2418218

any news on injuries? we must be near to having a full deck now

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/05/2022 19:01:43    2418239

Replying To tearintom:  "To be fair the last chairman we had was an exception, i thought he was excellent.

The less said the better about where we are now,"
I think Derek was excellent.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 17/05/2022 21:20:00    2418262

Do the football and Hurling get treated equally when it comes to getting looked after.
Pre match meals
Post training
S and C
Medical treatment

Maybe a football Commitee needs to be set up with their own budget and equal access to the park.
We all talk about ladies sports getting an equal shot in this world maybe football in Wexford needs the same attention!

skipper101 (Wexford) - Posts: 14 - 18/05/2022 09:27:03    2418273

Replying To skipper101:  "Do the football and Hurling get treated equally when it comes to getting looked after.
Pre match meals
Post training
S and C
Medical treatment

Maybe a football Commitee needs to be set up with their own budget and equal access to the park.
We all talk about ladies sports getting an equal shot in this world maybe football in Wexford needs the same attention!"
If they don't get equal treatment as regards all those things that's very poor out of the lads running the show here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/05/2022 10:58:47    2418321

Replying To Viking66:  "If they don't get equal treatment as regards all those things that's very poor out of the lads running the show here."
But they do, did you not see Shane Roche's backroom team in the local paper last year? One of the guys in work showed it to me, it was huge.
While it is odd that the game is in Belfield, the crowd at the Offaly match means they could probably hold it in Patrick's Park and not fill it sadly.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 18/05/2022 12:09:35    2418349