Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So the the rest of us obay by rules not attending funerals of family and me myself personally missing the birth of my child as my partner is living in a different country at the moment. But these shower of dubs think there above the law as usual and then we wonder why they can't be stopped winning all Ireland's? Its because they can pump as much money and breach as much rules as they want and not get penalised"
I guess ourselves and the U.S. would be still part of the British Empire if accepting the rule of law. Probable a minority fought that fight also. The rules regarding playing sport in Ireland during this pandemic is discriminating against GAA players period. God bless those who rebel against it. This is a selective ban with b.s. reasoning.
I commiserate with you for the position you are in and those people who can't attended funerals .

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 01/04/2021 18:24:04    2335671

So for all of you brushing this off as an overreaction, here are the stats. Almost 4.7k deaths in the country, families impacted beyond words & traumatized as they had to pick and chose who could attend funerals- hurts & traumas that will never heal. Many long established businesses have been destroyed - some of them having been in families for generations. I haven't seen many members of my family in a year - elderly people prisoners in their homes in their twilight years. Missed cancer diagnosis & delayed health care delivery.
As a country we will be paying the multi dimensional psychological & economic costs of this pandemic for years. It is about the spirit of the guidance & that sense of the collective that has been lost and a damned sense of entitlement by a few - whether that be golfing societies in Mayo, vaccine distribution by those who have power over supply or inter county players conducting training sessions. I would suggest that the next time these players look to do their photo opportunities in hospitals, they should not be given access. What they did was a slap in the face to the bereaved & to front line workers & to the sacrifices made by so many.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 01/04/2021 18:25:07    2335672

Replying To KillingFields:  "The Dublin County Management Committee have suspended Dublin Senior Football manager Dessie Farrell for 12 weeks with immediate effect."
The words "with immediate effect" are the key words. The earlier Dessie Farrell starts his suspension the earlier he'll get back. The season is scheduled to end in July. There's no wriggle room in terms of time.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/04/2021 18:27:39    2335673

I'm tired of this "most people are breaking the rules argument". Most people shouldn't be. The government have a mandate. Are elected. They make the rules. Its killing the economy by breaking rules as its delaying the re opening.and most people aren't held up as role models the way these players are.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 01/04/2021 18:45:57    2335675

Say Cormac is grounded as well for at least two weeks around the Costello gaff.

* Rumours abound his Easter eggs have also been confiscated.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2021 19:00:35    2335676

Replying To Canuck:  "I guess ourselves and the U.S. would be still part of the British Empire if accepting the rule of law. Probable a minority fought that fight also. The rules regarding playing sport in Ireland during this pandemic is discriminating against GAA players period. God bless those who rebel against it. This is a selective ban with b.s. reasoning.
I commiserate with you for the position you are in and those people who can't attended funerals ."
How the hell are the rules discriminatory against the GAA?

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 01/04/2021 19:17:54    2335678

Replying To Rebel2020:  "I'm tired of this "most people are breaking the rules argument". Most people shouldn't be. The government have a mandate. Are elected. They make the rules. Its killing the economy by breaking rules as its delaying the re opening.and most people aren't held up as role models the way these players are."
Has breaking the rules delayed the reopening though?
Once our government, who apparently are allowed do whatever they want because they were elected (though they weren't really), decided to send us into lockdown, there was never going to be any real chance of the economy rebounding until a vaccine was created and distributed, so even if everyone did exactly as they were told, to a tee, the economy would have still been unable to get going again (apart from Netflix and amazon of course).

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 01/04/2021 19:19:03    2335679

Replying To KillingFields:  "The Dublin County Management Committee have suspended Dublin Senior Football manager Dessie Farrell for 12 weeks with immediate effect."
12 weeks ? That's very lenient. I would have thought someone should get time for this. It's an outrage.
I'd like to know who that pervert was in the bushes also by the way. He deserves a damn good seeing to.
I wonder was the liveline busy today ?
Someone should ring Joe and , and, well , they should ring Joe.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/04/2021 19:39:49    2335682

Dessie got he same punishment as Down and cork managers so should be the end of it

People saying it's for the mental health well until you want to start fighting for the amount of people allowed at funerals be quiet. You try standing on the side of road as the hearse drives past because you cant go into the church. See how that affects your mental health

I love the GAA but intercounty training coming back before I can sit in my back garden with extended family is an absolute joke. We all know it's about money and nothing to do with mental health

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/04/2021 19:40:13    2335683

Replying To Rebel2020:  "How the hell are the rules discriminatory against the GAA?"
If the gaa are barred from playing, so should the league of Ireland be, as loi players have jobs outside of their sport too.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 01/04/2021 19:51:41    2335684

Just wondering with the lads out in Inisfails where the rest of the squad were - it's unlikely they were at home in bed. Didn't spot any southsiders in those photos.

TheFean (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 01/04/2021 20:00:52    2335688

Replying To catch22:  "12 weeks ? That's very lenient. I would have thought someone should get time for this. It's an outrage.
I'd like to know who that pervert was in the bushes also by the way. He deserves a damn good seeing to.
I wonder was the liveline busy today ?
Someone should ring Joe and , and, well , they should ring Joe."
Don't know why you're trying to be smart. Sure let everyone back and forget the rules, it's just a pandemic

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/04/2021 20:10:45    2335690

Man it's just so stupid what they did.

I don't think 9 lads doing an outdoor kick around is a big deal for the pandemic but breaking a clear GAA instruction has to be punished decently and in line with the punishments last year.

What we're they thinking. It was all just so unnecessary.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 01/04/2021 20:28:58    2335694

Replying To Canuck:  "I guess ourselves and the U.S. would be still part of the British Empire if accepting the rule of law. Probable a minority fought that fight also. The rules regarding playing sport in Ireland during this pandemic is discriminating against GAA players period. God bless those who rebel against it. This is a selective ban with b.s. reasoning.
I commiserate with you for the position you are in and those people who can't attended funerals ."
It isnt discriminating at all.
Care to show how it is discriminating?
That belittles all the racism/sexism and all other actual serious issues and cases where people are discriminated because of their race/gender/sexual orientation etc

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 01/04/2021 20:29:04    2335695

for stupidity alone, the players and fitness coach that took parts should all get 12 week bans. By having it at 6 in the morning, they were obviously trying to get away with breaking the rules. Very sneaky by the dublin CB giving the ban to ensure he is back for championship. Are the GAA going to leave that ban and set a precedent that CB's decide their own punishments when they break national laws and rules. Some crack if they take away home advantage in the league...they'll probably play the games in croker then instead of parnell park!!!!!!!!!!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 01/04/2021 20:50:57    2335700

Can someone clarify for me. The Dublin Gaa have suspended Dessie Farrell. Not the central body, as in the CCCC.... this is an internal suspension so yes? As opposed to an official gaa disciplinary sanction.

Can the CCCC loans another suspension on the Dublin man like Ronan McCarthy ?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/04/2021 20:59:09    2335702

Replying To KillingFields:  "It isnt discriminating at all.
Care to show how it is discriminating?
That belittles all the racism/sexism and all other actual serious issues and cases where people are discriminated because of their race/gender/sexual orientation etc"
And where is all this racism and sexism taking place? Do you live in Russia?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 01/04/2021 21:01:29    2335703

They broke the rules, they should face the relevant sanctions.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 01/04/2021 21:15:43    2335705

The GAA will react appropriately....Tyrone, Donegal and Armagh will all receive 6 month bans.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 01/04/2021 21:16:52    2335706

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Can someone clarify for me. The Dublin Gaa have suspended Dessie Farrell. Not the central body, as in the CCCC.... this is an internal suspension so yes? As opposed to an official gaa disciplinary sanction.

Can the CCCC loans another suspension on the Dublin man like Ronan McCarthy ?"
what about the players- are they also being suspended?? Cop out from Dublin.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 01/04/2021 21:17:07    2335707