Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So the the rest of us obay by rules not attending funerals of family and me myself personally missing the birth of my child as my partner is living in a different country at the moment. But these shower of dubs think there above the law as usual and then we wonder why they can't be stopped winning all Ireland's? Its because they can pump as much money and breach as much rules as they want and not get penalised"
That's unfair. You have a very strong point in relation to highly preferential treatment being bestowed upon Dublin by The GAA. That is not Dublin's fault. That is the fault of the senior administrators of The GAA. Your accusation that Dublin think they are above the law is unfair. Be in no doubt that Dublin are not alone in breaching the directives in relation to training. Cork and Down have already been sanctioned. The same will happen Dublin.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/04/2021 16:36:18    2335642

Who's be training in the Hyde?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 01/04/2021 17:04:03    2335645

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So the the rest of us obay by rules not attending funerals of family and me myself personally missing the birth of my child as my partner is living in a different country at the moment. But these shower of dubs think there above the law as usual and then we wonder why they can't be stopped winning all Ireland's? Its because they can pump as much money and breach as much rules as they want and not get penalised"
Ah here cop yourself on mate , and open your eyes !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/04/2021 17:09:08    2335646

Ban us for the championship, getting tired of beating teams and the Kerry lads might crack a smile, which would be nice :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 01/04/2021 17:14:51    2335648

Replying To superbluedub:  "Ah here cop yourself on mate , and open your eyes !!"
Wtf you on about open me eyes ?? You open yours and relise what's going on the gaa world

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 01/04/2021 17:25:35    2335650

There are 2 sides to this. A lot of us feel the teams should be allowed to train but they aren't and this wasn't just a kickabout as some are portraying. They probably aren't the only ones, of course they are not but it still shouldn't be ignored.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 01/04/2021 17:27:01    2335651

Replying To arock:  "Johnny Cooper maybe 5.5Km sure the "Journalist" will be able to GPS locate the exact distance. Meanwhile the fourth wave rages. Maybe if the said journalist was in Miltown yesterday at the dropping well he would have seen maybe 2000 older teens running amok!! I suppose it gives the begrudgers, whingers and lockdown police some else to groan and moan about."
I'd be for dropping the full 2000 of them from the various Dublin underage development squads... it'd take the pressure off the overworked selectors only having another 2000 to pick from:)

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 01/04/2021 17:32:00    2335652

Dublin CB ban Dessie Farrell for 12 weeks statement just released.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/04/2021 17:36:32    2335653

The Dublin County Management Committee have suspended Dublin Senior Football manager Dessie Farrell for 12 weeks with immediate effect.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 01/04/2021 17:37:39    2335654

Dessie Farrell suspended for 12 weeks by DCB.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 01/04/2021 17:40:24    2335655

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  ""We are all eager to return to GAA pitches with clubs and counties. But we can only do so in a safe manner. Blatant breaches of the rules such as this one, will inevitably delay a return. By sticking to the guidelines and supporting each other, we can all get back to the sports we love"

You'd hardly call that statement getting "very worked up" lol."
I wouldn't call it getting worked up. But I would call it hilarious when you consider that members of the Mayo squad broke regulations by bunking into the AI final. Mayo served no punishment. Have a word with your buddies there Al."
Mayo were having problems mustering collective training long before lockdown ever hit... a comparable breach would actually take a fair organisational effort. If the story isn't a hoax, then we can only be envious of how easy it was for the Dublin players to get together.

I don't think the Dubs will lose out because of this. If the GAA is too harsh it'll just give the panel a greater incentive to make 6 sams into 7.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 01/04/2021 17:42:23    2335656

Dublin GAA has carried out an investigation and has come down hard on Dessie

He's got a 12 week ban

It was a silly lack of judgement and they've apologized for it.

A warranted suspension and good to see Dublin CB acting very swiftly

Wonder if Jim is available for 12 weeks ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2021 17:50:45    2335658

Replying To AfricanGael:  ""We are all eager to return to GAA pitches with clubs and counties. But we can only do so in a safe manner. Blatant breaches of the rules such as this one, will inevitably delay a return. By sticking to the guidelines and supporting each other, we can all get back to the sports we love"

I wouldn't call it getting worked up. But I would call it hilarious when you consider that members of the Mayo squad broke regulations by bunking into the AI final. Mayo served no punishment. Have a word with your buddies there Al."
He did reference Mayo breaking rules last December in fairness. He the the FG spokesman on sport and likely asked for a comment. He hardly rang up the radio station.

I've seen some hilarious commentary online from boycott the indo to some who believe it's all anti Dub conspiracy.

I think people need to remember this paints the whole GAA in a bad light and it's not a witch hunt against Dublin. I could imagine a fair few Dublin fans online would be loving this if it was Mayo so you just got to suck it up and take it on the chin.

Next week there will be someone else on the firing line.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/04/2021 17:52:22    2335659

Replying To realdub:  "Ban us for the championship, getting tired of beating teams and the Kerry lads might crack a smile, which would be nice :D"
Bring back Jim.. Bring back Jim!!

(Well for 12 weeks)

Serve your time Dessie

A poor call and you pay for such things at this level

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2021 17:54:39    2335661

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Wtf you on about open me eyes ?? You open yours and relise what's going on the gaa world"
Rules are being broken everywhere , but you only see what you want to see
No need for the foul language

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/04/2021 17:58:47    2335663

Replying To TheFlaker:  "There are 2 sides to this. A lot of us feel the teams should be allowed to train but they aren't and this wasn't just a kickabout as some are portraying. They probably aren't the only ones, of course they are not but it still shouldn't be ignored."
100% it shouldnt be ignored , and it wont be .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/04/2021 17:59:58    2335665

Was training banned?. Yes......meatheads one and all. No excuses.....if you excuse it you're shovelling for a living.

LiathroidiMor (Louth) - Posts: 258 - 01/04/2021 18:02:33    2335666

I found that hilarious actually, must have been dubs doing the counting and once it got over ten they were in trouble . Lol

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 01/04/2021 18:04:04    2335667

Fair play for the ban. I get a feeling though it was a very rushed decision so as not to get the back up of hq , don't bite the hand that feeds ya. Especially when dub John is no longer pulling the strings.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2021 18:04:36    2335668

At this stage I don't care, they can scrap the whole show if they choose, I took little or nothing out of last years 'win'.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 01/04/2021 18:06:14    2335669