Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To Onion_Sack:  "Ah Gerry! Delighted to see you back, always enjoy/value your posts!

As the bould Willie once said!  I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfails!"
Where is Innisfails club? It should be on the tourist must see list.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 03/04/2021 20:36:45    2335899

Replying To Greengrass:  "There are clubs at it much less county set ups."
I think some are missing the point. Yes clubs and some counties have early morni g sessions but alot of counties have their players scattered all over the place so it would nt be possible to have early morning sessions before work. Some counties can have the early sessions on weekends and holiday periods only.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 03/04/2021 21:34:09    2335901

Replying To Greengrass:  "There are clubs at it much less county set ups."
I was just about to reply saying our club, we do it 2 mornings a week before work. Have been for years. The Cork senior team do it too. Nothing stopping any team or pod of players from doing it if they rise early enough

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/04/2021 21:38:05    2335902

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Where is Innisfails club? It should be on the tourist must see list."
innisfails gate! A spoonerism if ever there was one!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 03/04/2021 22:17:59    2335904

Replying To arock:  "I agree look at the Indo this morning! Thousands upon thousands of HSE backroom staff all vaccinated a massive cohort working at home, these are admin/finance staff litterly thousands all ahead of cancer patients, vulnearable people - absolutely shocking. But yet screw the Dubs!!!"
Look a rock this is a Godsend for this government to take the heat off them for a few days until the media have another witchunt next week(probably ordinary people being seen out enjoying the sun). After seeing the reaction to the Dubs training is it illegal for any group of people to kick a ball or puck a ball around a beach or a field or a park. If that is the case it is beyond ridiculous and unfair. I'm not against all restrictions but the balance is totally wrong whereby a few thousand people will be saved from Covid deaths but at the expense of mental health, suicide and countless missed and late diagnosis which will kill a lot more. To me it looks like the government is just stringing out the lifting of restrictions until the vaccines are rolled out as they have no other way of tackling Covid.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 03/04/2021 22:54:17    2335906

Replying To traleegerry:  "Dublin should be made to play there all Ireland semi away from croke Park. They broke the rules let the punishment fit the crime"
Would it make any difference ? -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/04/2021 23:56:34    2335907

Glad the Dublin team got caught and rightly received their punishment but our taoiseach broke covid rules and attended an indoor boxing event and the media is quite. Yet the Dublin team are front page news 2 days in a row. Absolute joke

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 04/04/2021 01:25:08    2335910

Replying To browncows:  "I think you need to relax. Far more serious incidents going on that is being swept under the carpet and nothing to do with the GAA. Guys jumping the Q with help of HSE and older people dying due to same, holding up vaccine for 10 days-very little reports from some of these journalists and no photographs either!"
Well lads and lassies i think there are some of you on here who don't take this Covid thing seriously at all and a typical GAA attitude. Maybe some of you haven't lost someone close or know anyone greatly affected by it and how easy its transmitted. The bones of outbreaks in counties like my own last summer were GAA matches and the GAA fraternity.. We had our time and we couldn't have manners and follow basic rules and here we go again..., but we are somehow different

I really do have to laugh at "there only a few lads having a kick about", yeah from different parts of the county that have travelled... but thank god Covid knows this and it probably decided to leave these poor unfortunate lads alone, i'd say Covid doesn't wake up that early but even if it did it probably thought they'd be immune because they are county players ppfffff.

I have a group of 40 kids that i would love to get back training but reality bites with Covid. Why would anyone let us back if this is the sort of crap that going on.. Its stuff like this that put the rest in jeopardy of getting back sooner rather than later

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 04/04/2021 06:18:05    2335912

Replying To ponger:  "Well lads and lassies i think there are some of you on here who don't take this Covid thing seriously at all and a typical GAA attitude. Maybe some of you haven't lost someone close or know anyone greatly affected by it and how easy its transmitted. The bones of outbreaks in counties like my own last summer were GAA matches and the GAA fraternity.. We had our time and we couldn't have manners and follow basic rules and here we go again..., but we are somehow different

I really do have to laugh at "there only a few lads having a kick about", yeah from different parts of the county that have travelled... but thank god Covid knows this and it probably decided to leave these poor unfortunate lads alone, i'd say Covid doesn't wake up that early but even if it did it probably thought they'd be immune because they are county players ppfffff.

I have a group of 40 kids that i would love to get back training but reality bites with Covid. Why would anyone let us back if this is the sort of crap that going on.. Its stuff like this that put the rest in jeopardy of getting back sooner rather than later"
Ah yeah, an entire nation going into lockdown over a virus with a recovery rate that's pretty much 100% aren't "taking it seriously". Fair play to ya.

If there was a kick about on down my local pitch today I'd be there. Tis a lovely day for it. I'd be more likely to die in a car crash on the way to the pitch than from the virus itself.

Mind you, I had a bit of a sniffle last week, fools would probably label it a covid death.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 04/04/2021 09:43:54    2335915

Replying To ponger:  "Well lads and lassies i think there are some of you on here who don't take this Covid thing seriously at all and a typical GAA attitude. Maybe some of you haven't lost someone close or know anyone greatly affected by it and how easy its transmitted. The bones of outbreaks in counties like my own last summer were GAA matches and the GAA fraternity.. We had our time and we couldn't have manners and follow basic rules and here we go again..., but we are somehow different

I have a group of 40 kids that i would love to get back training but reality bites with Covid. Why would anyone let us back if this is the sort of crap that going on.. Its stuff like this that put the rest in jeopardy of getting back sooner rather than later"
Ah give it a rest would ya, life has to go on, the elderly will all be vaccinated soon, there's more to health than not getting covid 19.
I think the young people have shown great restraint, this virus and it's variants will be with us now forever so it will become like the seaonal flu imo, it kills so many people every flu season,
but listen we are all going to die from something eventually, hiding behind the sofa listening to those clowns in Leinster house dictating your life isn't living at all.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 04/04/2021 10:06:57    2335918

There appears to be a sentiment on here of "look over there" & see what he/she/they have done, what rules they have broken, sure it only harmless, everyone is breaking the rules. Maturity & accountability are seriously lacking.

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 04/04/2021 10:14:59    2335919

Sorry I can't have this. You can't equate the celebrations in Cavan post Ulster as we approached flu season, with a small group of lads having a kick around a park approaching Summer. The bulk of GAA related transmission was attached to celebrations and, to my knowledge, there has not been a single reported case of on field transmission across any professional outdoor field sport in the UK or Ireland, which again speaks to the safety of being outdoors.

I don't think the lads should have done it, being the standard bearers for the GAA and icons to thousands of kids. But all it was was a small kick about. Frankly I think it's a massive failure of public policy that outdoor activities are as refined as they are and if a young lad, who has undoubtedly suffered disproportionately throughout this pandemic decides to have a kick about or god forbid go down a walk 10k away, then fair play to them.

By the way, I'm allowed to believe in what I said and also that covid is serious. Social distancing is important. Limiting social contacts is important. Don't meet up indoors etc.. etc.. I think looking after your mental health is as important as all those measures

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 04/04/2021 10:25:23    2335920

As a parent and also as a brother to frontline workers, those people who put their own lives and health at risk on a daily basis, I echo those sentiments .
I hate being in lockdown, hate having to socially distance, hate the constant hand scrubbing and mask wearing but as a proud Irishman I owe it to my country to do my bit.
Perhaps rather than monetary fines and suspensions being doled out may I suggest it'd be better if offenders were made attend a care centre or hospital for a week where they could assist in portering or cleaning duties. Perhaps then they might give a thought to the real heroes of todays Ireland, the front-line workers.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 04/04/2021 10:25:34    2335921

Yeah because these lockdowns are working so well, and are policed fairly. What about people who died because they couldn't get cancer screening appointments because the health service is preoccupied with covid. What about young families that have lost out on mortgage loans because they have being put on pup payments, small business owners and publicans whos livelihoods have being ruined and will not be able to reopen their business when all this is done and people who are committing suicide because of isolation from lockdowns.

I know covid-19 is to be taken seriously and the vulnerable looked after. Precautions should be taken but we are doing in Ireland is over-kill on its citizens, especially when common travel was allowed into the country and it is only in the last week hotel quarantine has started for travel into Ireland. We have the longest and harshest lockdown in Europe on it citizens and let's think about it for a minute, are we any better off for it.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 04/04/2021 10:45:48    2335923

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Where is Innisfails club? It should be on the tourist must see list."
It's the one with the bushes around it!!!!!}

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 04/04/2021 11:43:23    2335930

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Yeah because these lockdowns are working so well, and are policed fairly. What about people who died because they couldn't get cancer screening appointments because the health service is preoccupied with covid. What about young families that have lost out on mortgage loans because they have being put on pup payments, small business owners and publicans whos livelihoods have being ruined and will not be able to reopen their business when all this is done and people who are committing suicide because of isolation from lockdowns.

I know covid-19 is to be taken seriously and the vulnerable looked after. Precautions should be taken but we are doing in Ireland is over-kill on its citizens, especially when common travel was allowed into the country and it is only in the last week hotel quarantine has started for travel into Ireland. We have the longest and harshest lockdown in Europe on it citizens and let's think about it for a minute, are we any better off for it."
Well they are working to be fair. 8000 cases a day down to 500. Policing them is hard work, especially when everyone has this gobsh*te attitude that they are an exception to the rule whenever they feel like it. Yes people died indirectly because of the pandemic, but how is that sombody's fault? It is a global pandemic. People are going to die, be thankful you arent one of them.
Ireland needs lockdowns because we have a terrible health system, we cant afford not to. People who didnt get a mortgage last year can get one next year or the year after. It isnt a big deal at all as far as i can see. Anyone making that kind of argument hasnt a clue as far as im concerned to be honest. That is why this stuff with intercounty gaa players acting the b*ll*x is bad form and needs to be met head on. They can push their auld plamaus in their tv interviews all they like, but actions speak louder than words.

HardCase (USA) - Posts: 64 - 04/04/2021 11:52:33    2335932

Replying To Maroonatic:  "As a parent and also as a brother to frontline workers, those people who put their own lives and health at risk on a daily basis, I echo those sentiments .
I hate being in lockdown, hate having to socially distance, hate the constant hand scrubbing and mask wearing but as a proud Irishman I owe it to my country to do my bit.
Perhaps rather than monetary fines and suspensions being doled out may I suggest it'd be better if offenders were made attend a care centre or hospital for a week where they could assist in portering or cleaning duties. Perhaps then they might give a thought to the real heroes of todays Ireland, the front-line workers."
Yes, and when this crisis has been contained, we will then return to a time when old, frail people with serious illnesses don't ever die, eh?
Maybe the likes of you could visit a refugee camp or a war zone ? Then you might give a thought to what a real crisis looks like.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 04/04/2021 12:03:17    2335933

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Sorry I can't have this. You can't equate the celebrations in Cavan post Ulster as we approached flu season, with a small group of lads having a kick around a park approaching Summer. The bulk of GAA related transmission was attached to celebrations and, to my knowledge, there has not been a single reported case of on field transmission across any professional outdoor field sport in the UK or Ireland, which again speaks to the safety of being outdoors.

I don't think the lads should have done it, being the standard bearers for the GAA and icons to thousands of kids. But all it was was a small kick about. Frankly I think it's a massive failure of public policy that outdoor activities are as refined as they are and if a young lad, who has undoubtedly suffered disproportionately throughout this pandemic decides to have a kick about or god forbid go down a walk 10k away, then fair play to them.

By the way, I'm allowed to believe in what I said and also that covid is serious. Social distancing is important. Limiting social contacts is important. Don't meet up indoors etc.. etc.. I think looking after your mental health is as important as all those measures"
If you really believe it was a small kick about then your delusional

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 04/04/2021 12:03:20    2335934

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Yeah because these lockdowns are working so well, and are policed fairly. What about people who died because they couldn't get cancer screening appointments because the health service is preoccupied with covid. What about young families that have lost out on mortgage loans because they have being put on pup payments, small business owners and publicans whos livelihoods have being ruined and will not be able to reopen their business when all this is done and people who are committing suicide because of isolation from lockdowns.

I know covid-19 is to be taken seriously and the vulnerable looked after. Precautions should be taken but we are doing in Ireland is over-kill on its citizens, especially when common travel was allowed into the country and it is only in the last week hotel quarantine has started for travel into Ireland. We have the longest and harshest lockdown in Europe on it citizens and let's think about it for a minute, are we any better off for it."
Well of course a country is "better off" if it doesn't let the virus run riot completely and kill before it and after it. Had no restrictions been introduced at all then there's absolutely no doubt that Ireland would have lost tens of thousands more of its citizens by now.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/04/2021 13:13:36    2335938

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Well of course a country is "better off" if it doesn't let the virus run riot completely and kill before it and after it. Had no restrictions been introduced at all then there's absolutely no doubt that Ireland would have lost tens of thousands more of its citizens by now."
He didn't say it should be let run riot though did he? He said precautions should be taken.
People who believe that nothing should have been done are just as stupid as people who believe that lockdown was an appropriate response to a virus that's harmless to almost everyone.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 04/04/2021 13:26:10    2335939