All Ireland Football Final 2020 - Dublin V Mayo

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Was Aidan O'Shea playing?!"
Just a couple more seasons at full-forward, he'll be unstoppable.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 19/12/2020 19:07:45    2323945

Replying To Bon:  "Would you ever stop, you see that in every single gaa match."
But when the game is gone, you see respect amongst peers.

The difference is. . .a professional team in an amateur sport has no peers.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 19/12/2020 19:07:51    2323946

And a big hello to all the clueless people who have knocked Cillian O Connor year on year. Class again today. No help in second half.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/12/2020 19:09:09    2323948

Wow! The celebrations and that speech, timeless stuff!! Automatons. God help us, this professional, massively over funded machine is gradually smothering our beautiful amateur sport. Spread the damn euros around, GAA, or there's little point to what we're all slaving away at, at grass roots level around the country - and with substandard resources, as every Dublin club gets juiced to the hilt. We know the stats, we can read the accounts, we see the huge numbers on payroll. The disparity in our treatment across the country is shocking and it's past time it was fought. By the way, delighted for our young lads, the Galway U20s who stuck it to the money machine and beat the Dubs with football.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 19/12/2020 19:09:36    2323949

Entertaining final
All credit to the players
Playing under exceptional circumstances
They deserve great credit
Hard luck to Mayo
An absolute credit and the way so called GAA people on this site wrote you off before a ball was kicked was very evident
The same will now be on venting more bile of a different degree but it's from the same slack jaw

Desperately sad feckers

They don't deserve to have the likes of these players representing them.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/12/2020 19:11:55    2323950

Replying To sam1884:  "Firstly congratulations to Dublin; they were cute and knew how to win the game.

As expected it wasn't going to a one sided final; Mayo were well in it but sadly for them didn't have the depth to get over the line. We seen a new part of Dublin today which I didn't like; on at least two occasions in the second half (won't name players) they dropped to the floor; got a free in and you can actually see one of players laughing - they very much conned the ref.

There was also an assault at a time Mayo were on top; in the end I thought the ref was very lenient and leant more towards Dublin with his decisions; some of his decisions were baffling to say the least.

Mayo will be disappointed but they left everything on the field and blooded a lot of new players who'll benefit from the experience.

As for Dublin; I can see some cracks developing, this year was about transition but will as many players stay on. What is clear after today is to beat them you need as many good players on the bench than starting which isn't an easy task.

In the end though 6 in a row is some achievement."
Where are these cracks ?? Dublin barely got out of second gear. Please tell me where is their cracks ?? Apart from a few stupid shots at the end that is the best mayo performance of the year. So where is their any hope for another county ? Dublin magnificent 7 is a cert. the question is the 10 in a row. And tbh I don't see how they can be beat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/12/2020 19:13:07    2323952

Its the taking part that counts

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 19/12/2020 19:13:53    2323953

Good to get a championship played in the circumstances this year. Well done Dublin on 6 in a row. Not a great final, no crowd atmosphere and Dublin holding onto possession to ease to another win. I thought if any year Dublin were to be caught it would be this year but didn't happen.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 19/12/2020 19:14:01    2323954

Replying To Dec82:  "At what stage did you think Mayo had ye?"
Right before the throw in, when he was told to switch over from the Premier league match.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 19/12/2020 19:14:44    2323955

Raised on songs and stories....!

For you Tony Broughan.!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/12/2020 19:15:30    2323957

Replying To togoutlads:  "Wow! The celebrations and that speech, timeless stuff!! Automatons. God help us, this professional, massively over funded machine is gradually smothering our beautiful amateur sport. Spread the damn euros around, GAA, or there's little point to what we're all slaving away at, at grass roots level around the country - and with substandard resources, as every Dublin club gets juiced to the hilt. We know the stats, we can read the accounts, we see the huge numbers on payroll. The disparity in our treatment across the country is shocking and it's past time it was fought. By the way, delighted for our young lads, the Galway U20s who stuck it to the money machine and beat the Dubs with football."
Go away outta that you oul begrudger....WOOOOHOOOOOOOO!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/12/2020 19:16:00    2323958

Replying To Poitin1993:  "Dublin winning yet again is taking the fun out of the All-Ireland.
Nothing to do with a good team, Mayo train just as hard as Dublin and I'm sure they have the same nutrition advice.
I believe Dublin getting something extra behind the scenes.
The referee was a disgrace too. A shoulder to the chest right in front of him and nothing done about it?! Perhaps he is getting paid to let Dublin win
All Ireland day has lost its excitement"
I'd stay off the poitin if I were you. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/12/2020 19:16:39    2323959

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Aidan I think those bets are crazy. If it was more than 13 points fair enough but to get it between 13 and 15 is a lottery. Dubs to win but less than 8 points is my guess."
Yes Mayo did well but Dubs much better in 2nd half

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 19/12/2020 19:16:48    2323961

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And a big hello to all the clueless people who have knocked Cillian O Connor year on year. Class again today. No help in second half."
He had a great championship
He was on his own a bit
Strong argument for him to be POTY

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/12/2020 19:17:08    2323963

Replying To Dec82:  "At what stage did you think Mayo had ye?"
Pretty much all through the game until the final 10 mins.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 19:17:52    2323965

Replying To jonno:  "I've heard more meaningful speeches on the Tesco intercom. Thanks to our sponsors and partners. Stay safe. Mayo are getting worse Dublin are the same."
Im good with that.

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/12/2020 19:18:00    2323966

Replying To jimbodub:  "Entertaining final
Hard luck to Mayo
An absolute credit and the way so called GAA people on this site wrote you off before a ball was kicked was very evident
The same will now be on venting more bile of a different degree but it's from the same slack jaw

Desperately sad feckers

They don't deserve to have the likes of these players representing them."
Entertaining final? The football was wretched and worryingly bad. Look back on the game and see how many times the ball was passed back from a scorable position. Mayo never had a chance of winning this.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 19/12/2020 19:18:09    2323967

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Gailge football is dead and buried how can anyone say otherwise"
as it always has been in wicklow!

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 19/12/2020 19:19:20    2323970

Replying To jimbodub:  "Entertaining final
Hard luck to Mayo

Desperately sad feckers

They don't deserve to have the likes of these players representing them."
Congrats Jimbo on Dubs win but I'm confused. Alot of us did write Mayo off and we were correct. They did nt win. They definately put up a good show but fell short.Dublin were excellent in 3nd half especially Kilkenny and Fenton.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 19/12/2020 19:19:30    2323971

Replying To greatpoint:  "It's the responsibility of the other players not to lose their head and react. Aidan O'Shea clearly strikes Philly McMahon on the back of the head and you're worried about what was said?"
Course it is and the OP knows it!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/12/2020 19:20:28    2323974