Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

It's one thing talking about traditions and another having respect and honesty. If we were playing Wexford this week I'd expect us to beat them comfortably off the pitch and win by 15+ points. That doesn't disrespect Wexford, a county that won 4 in a row All Irelands from 1915 to 1918. It's just being honest on the appraisal of where the teams are now. Wexford won those over 100 years ago and we have no clue what the next 100 years will bring or who will top the All Irelands Roll of honour. Maybe Cavan will be the team going for 3 in a row and Donegal in Division 3, who knows.
What I do know is that there is no excuse for counties with big populations to not be competitive as it just shows a lack of organisation and will. Donegal do have that population and I expect us to be at least competitive in Ulster moving forward.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 19/11/2020 12:56:31    2311385

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Best thing for Cavan fans this Sunday is they won't have to pay into the game, that might help cheer them up Sunday evening."
Not your first post having a go, so I'll ask an honest question.

Did a Cavan girl break your heart or where does your bitterness come from?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/11/2020 13:11:20    2311388

Had a casual read of the thread and I must say there's quite a few Donegal posters who've lost the run of themselves it seems. Success can have that effect on some people unfortunately.

Remember lads, Donegal are a Johnny come lately county in GAA terms. You're enjoying a purple patch since 2012, but Cavan enjoyed a purple patch from 1904 to 1969.

Now I fully expect you lads to beat us on Sunday, the pragmatist in me doesn't see any other eventuality unfolding. Undoubtedly there are issues to be addressed in Cavan football (one USFC title in half a century really speaks for itself), but we're in the final on merit, and we do have a tradition behind us.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/11/2020 13:24:00    2311395

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Not your first post having a go, so I'll ask an honest question.

Did a Cavan girl break your heart or where does your bitterness come from?"
Nobody has any control of what people say on theses sites. A lot of Cavan people taking offence to what's been said. My advice is ignore it. Any Donegal follower I know has the height of respect for Cavan and if we are to win Sunday it will take a mighty effort. We're not foolish enough to think that we will win Sunday's game easy. We have had to many bad days to even think like that. I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere Cavan brought to clones for last years final. Great gaa people who deserve the utmost respect.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 19/11/2020 13:27:26    2311396

Replying To rorysboys:  "Nobody has any control of what people say on theses sites. A lot of Cavan people taking offence to what's been said. My advice is ignore it. Any Donegal follower I know has the height of respect for Cavan and if we are to win Sunday it will take a mighty effort. We're not foolish enough to think that we will win Sunday's game easy. We have had to many bad days to even think like that. I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere Cavan brought to clones for last years final. Great gaa people who deserve the utmost respect."
Well said.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/11/2020 13:36:30    2311399

Cavan have one Ulster in the last 50 years and that was thanks to a Donegal man, a bit less crying and whinging and a bit more respect for this great Donegal team wouldn't go amiss from the Cavan camp.
Cavan were lucky to come up against a Monaghan team that are a shadow of what they were a few years ago, lucky that Down had a meltdown and threw a game away they should have won, and lucky that Donegal and Tyrone were on the same side of the draw this year,
truth be told the Ulster final was on the first of November in Ballybofey and everyone knows it.
Hope all the lads come through injury free and some of the fringe players get a run out in the last quarter to experience an Ulster final, albeit a strange one with no fans present.
No disrespect to Cavan but Donegal by 7-9 points at their ease. Looking forward to Sunday, awful pity we can't be there on the day to cheer the boys on to 3 in a row Ulster titles. that's some achievement in Ulster being it's so competitive compared to other provinces.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 19/11/2020 14:20:52    2311413

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "Had a casual read of the thread and I must say there's quite a few Donegal posters who've lost the run of themselves it seems. Success can have that effect on some people unfortunately.

Remember lads, Donegal are a Johnny come lately county in GAA terms. You're enjoying a purple patch since 2012, but Cavan enjoyed a purple patch from 1904 to 1969.

Now I fully expect you lads to beat us on Sunday, the pragmatist in me doesn't see any other eventuality unfolding. Undoubtedly there are issues to be addressed in Cavan football (one USFC title in half a century really speaks for itself), but we're in the final on merit, and we do have a tradition behind us."
There isn't quite a few as you put it, one maybe you're referring to..

The vast majority of Donegal people have utter respect for the great Cavan tradition down the years. You had many good minor and 21 teams in the last decade too and it's no coincidence you're back in an Ulster final for the second year running.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 19/11/2020 14:30:38    2311420

If Cork can beat Kerry this Cavan team, who don't know how to give in, can beat Donegal. I think Donegal will beat them by three or four points but Donegal would have benefitted from a sterner test than Armagh gave them, or didn't give them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 19/11/2020 14:41:55    2311424

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Cavan have one Ulster in the last 50 years and that was thanks to a Donegal man, a bit less crying and whinging and a bit more respect for this great Donegal team wouldn't go amiss from the Cavan camp.
Cavan were lucky to come up against a Monaghan team that are a shadow of what they were a few years ago, lucky that Down had a meltdown and threw a game away they should have won, and lucky that Donegal and Tyrone were on the same side of the draw this year,
truth be told the Ulster final was on the first of November in Ballybofey and everyone knows it.
Hope all the lads come through injury free and some of the fringe players get a run out in the last quarter to experience an Ulster final, albeit a strange one with no fans present.
No disrespect to Cavan but Donegal by 7-9 points at their ease. Looking forward to Sunday, awful pity we can't be there on the day to cheer the boys on to 3 in a row Ulster titles. that's some achievement in Ulster being it's so competitive compared to other provinces."
McHugh was before my day so I don't remember that 1997 team so can't address your comment about whether it was down to him or not. Maybe it was, maybe it wasn't.

I'm not saying your are in any way emblematic of the Donegal supporters, but demanding respect for a "great team" is laughable. You'll be great when you win an All Ireland (which btw I hope yous do, because I want to see Dublin beaten at all costs).

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/11/2020 14:51:25    2311427

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "There isn't quite a few as you put it, one maybe you're referring to..

The vast majority of Donegal people have utter respect for the great Cavan tradition down the years. You had many good minor and 21 teams in the last decade too and it's no coincidence you're back in an Ulster final for the second year running."
There is certainly more than one.

I'll freely admit it, Cavan have serious issues to address when it comes to Gaelic football. Nobody in the county can ever give me a satisfactory answer when I ask them how a county can go from 39 USFC titles and 5 AI titles in 65 years, to just one USFC title in 50 years. That's a monumental and spectacular collapse that we still haven't addressed. It suggests structural or admin issues to me.

But the fact remains we're still out in front in the roll of honour and on Sunday we're in that final on merit.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 19/11/2020 14:55:49    2311428

Jaysus some of the Donegal posters sound like Monaghan men this week. Why the bitterness? Yis are comfortable favourites, I don't get why yis are so crabby?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 19/11/2020 15:14:13    2311435

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Cavan have one Ulster in the last 50 years and that was thanks to a Donegal man, a bit less crying and whinging and a bit more respect for this great Donegal team wouldn't go amiss from the Cavan camp.
No disrespect to Cavan but Donegal by 7-9 points at their ease. Looking forward to Sunday, awful pity we can't be there on the day to cheer the boys on to 3 in a row Ulster titles. that's some achievement in Ulster being it's so competitive compared to other provinces."
Wow. . where to start. .

Ulster is so competitive, yet the final was when Donegal met Tyrone in the first round.

This is a "great" Donegal team despite not making an all Ireland semi final in the last 5 years.

But at least you've proven the neutrals on here wrong when they say some Donegal posters are arrogant.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 19/11/2020 15:25:27    2311443

Replying To Breffni39:  "Jaysus some of the Donegal posters sound like Monaghan men this week. Why the bitterness? Yis are comfortable favourites, I don't get why yis are so crabby?"
Striking while the iron is hot I guess.

If they do beat us, let's see how they go when the entire country is hanging our hopes on someone finally dethroning Dublin.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 19/11/2020 15:27:29    2311444

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "McHugh was before my day so I don't remember that 1997 team so can't address your comment about whether it was down to him or not. Maybe it was, maybe it wasn't.

I'm not saying your are in any way emblematic of the Donegal supporters, but demanding respect for a "great team" is laughable. You'll be great when you win an All Ireland (which btw I hope yous do, because I want to see Dublin beaten at all costs)."
Hope you dont see it -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/11/2020 15:40:55    2311448

Wow I'm not a Cavan man but your post certainly raised eyebrows. Donegal are going through a golden decade mainly due to the fact they've unearthed a talented group of players/winners and fair play to them.

There is no doubt it's a golden generation but try and stay modest. Tyrone and Armagh in the 00's, Down in the early 90's, Donegal and Derry in the early 90's, Tyrone in the 80's, Armagh to a certain extent in the 70's, Down in the 60's and Cavan in the decades before that. Can you see the pattern here!? Ulster football has a habit of producing different golden era's before dumping that county down the peaking order.

Everyone of those counties thought they'd solved the inter county puzzle at the time of their success but in fact it was a special group of players lucky to come together in the one era; when they were gone the quality and success dropped off.

Enjoy Donegal's success - will it continue in a few years when Murphy and McGee etc are gone!? History from successful era's would say probably not. For all of Donegal's success Cavan GAA sit with 5 All Ireland titles, that is tradition and history right there; yes they've struggled recently but I respect players from Cavan have produced so many All Ireland winning teams.

Even when this Donegal era is over Ulster gaels and those from elswhere will still talk about the polo grounds and the great Cavan teams who dominated football in Ulster and beyond.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 19/11/2020 15:44:20    2311450

Jesus there are a few arrogant and obnoxious donegal fans on this forum. You'd swear it was Donegal going for 6 All Ireland's in a row by the way they're going on, its hard to listen to.
This talk of Cavan been lucky business is nonsense. It takes some bottle and spirit to bounce back from a relegation to playing 3 tough ulster championship games and coming through the right side of the result. It doesn't matter that Cavan were 8, 9 or 10 points behind they overturned it and won and are in the final on merit.
I disagree of this talk of Murphy getting special treatment, it's no different then any other stand out player. Clifford from Kerry gets far more attention imo. I don't hear the Donegal lads giving out when the McGee is knocking lumps out of other teams star players, they seem to have the blinkers on for this.
I'd dread to think what Donegal people would be like if they had 39 ulster titles and 5 all Ireland like Cavan, the aristocrats of ulster football. They'd be the unbearables.

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 19/11/2020 16:15:51    2311464

Replying To s goldrick:  "hey, whoever you are you can shut the front door with those racist comments."
Racey comments you say ? Think you must be on the wrong site again.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/11/2020 16:19:14    2311466

Replying To cavanman47:  "Wow. . where to start. .

Ulster is so competitive, yet the final was when Donegal met Tyrone in the first round.

This is a "great" Donegal team despite not making an all Ireland semi final in the last 5 years.

But at least you've proven the neutrals on here wrong when they say some Donegal posters are arrogant."
Weren't they lucky to have the Ulster final at home too

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 19/11/2020 16:33:00    2311472

Replying To Breffni39:  "Jaysus some of the Donegal posters sound like Monaghan men this week. Why the bitterness? Yis are comfortable favourites, I don't get why yis are so crabby?"
there's one eejit, most of the other posts are pretty level that I've seen?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/11/2020 16:35:46    2311474

Cavan please do us all a favour and beat Donegal on Sunday, for if Donegal win, ill have to emigrate.

Done some laughing at Bonner's comments about Murphy the other day. That man is level with Alex Ferguson at pure *****housery, its unreal.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 19/11/2020 16:39:40    2311477