Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yeah it's a Cavan thing, really doubling down on the the ignorance there. Be a good Yank, turn around and go home."
Ok Bull ? Bet out the gate I'd say. Total mismatch. Men and boys this is.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/11/2020 12:43:47    2311022

Replying To eunans4ever:  "This is a myth about donegal under a high ball - been spouted out for years.

Wat matches have we lost under high balls ??"
i agree it is a myth ........not helped though by Patton himself who cited it as a weakness in his own game in a match programme

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 18/11/2020 12:46:21    2311023

Replying To catch22:  "Ok Bull ? Bet out the gate I'd say. Total mismatch. Men and boys this is."
Far play Yank, you got up this morning and decided "I'll just pop on the internet to rain on strangers' parades". Whatever gets you through the day I suppose. Nobody from Cavan see's this as anything but a massive challenge as rank outsiders, but sure you go off

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 18/11/2020 12:59:50    2311031

Replying To Breffni39:  "On Murphy, honestly I'd say this regardless of the upcoming Ulster final but he gives as good as he gets so very little sympathy from me no matter who Donegal are playing.

I may be a bit biased though cos I've had a simmering dislike of him ever since he screamed during the run up for every Cavan free in a minor semi-final(?) in Enniskillen years ago."
I'd agree that Murphy gives as good as gets in every game but I don't think thats what Bonner was saying. It's that when he gets fouled through pulling and dragging he rarely gets the free that should be given. As I said on a previous post it's the big man is able to take the abuse attitude from some refs. Mickey Graham is of the same opinion when he said "A big man like that, well able to look after himself" He's missing the point. A free is a free no matter what size you are
In regards to Murphy trying to influence ref's he's 100% right and if he can influence them, he should. If the ref isn't strong enough to not be influenced then he shouldn't be an intercounty ref. Mc Kiernan should be doing the very same for Cavan! Again, it's up to the ref to clamp down on it.
It's all added to a distraction that plays into Donegals hand btw. Mc Geeney made the mistake in setting up his defence with Murphy in mind and he was double and treble marked all game. This just left loads of room for Langan, Thompson, etc. to pick off scores. The risk he should have taken was to mark Murphy one on one and see what materialised. Hope Cavan make the same mistake this week.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/11/2020 13:05:35    2311032

Replying To totalrecall:  "i agree it is a myth ........not helped though by Patton himself who cited it as a weakness in his own game in a match programme"
It is definitely something Patton needs to keep working on. In fairness to him there were 2 or 3 high ones into him against Armagh and he came out very strong and fisted them away, which I thought was a promising sign.

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 18/11/2020 13:34:08    2311044

Murphy is well able to look after himself, and raymond galligan has the scars to prove it. MM should have been sent off in the ulster final last year, brilliant player but he sails very close to the wind in most games. Some day soon a ref is going to call his bluff and show him the line

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 18/11/2020 13:47:44    2311054

Replying To Breffni39:  "Far play Yank, you got up this morning and decided "I'll just pop on the internet to rain on strangers' parades". Whatever gets you through the day I suppose. Nobody from Cavan see's this as anything but a massive challenge as rank outsiders, but sure you go off"
Bit harsh that on him - he has been on here plenty of times before.....
So less of the Yank comments...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 18/11/2020 14:05:41    2311062

Replying To Fionn:  "Bit harsh that on him - he has been on here plenty of times before.....
So less of the Yank comments...!"
He has a bee in his bonnet over Cavan being in the final, saying we are lucky to be in it.

If we'd met Donegal, we wouldn't have made it, etc . . . . we could only beat who was in front of us and we did that. We are in the final on merit.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/11/2020 14:11:51    2311064

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well I think for Donegal it's definitely a case of forewarned is forearmed. I don't think there will be any complacency given what we've seen of Cavan in the last few weeks. They have showed a formidable spirit and no little skill in getting to this final and that needs to be respected.

But at the same time, Donegal's form has been ominous. I've seen people comparing this Ulster final to 2013, when Monaghan defied all the odds and deservedly and comprehensively beat us. But the situation is completely different. In 2013 there was a lot of unhappiness behind the scenes in Donegal with regard to injuries, preparation and some friction between management and the county board. It all come to a sorry culmination when Mayo walloped us out the gates of Croke Park.

This Donegal squad is in fine tune, and bar a few injury concerns the camp is in rude health. A lot of our talented younger players have really added a lot of power, and we have good squad depth now as well. Perhaps more importantly, there is a sense that for all the plaudits they have received of late, feet are firmly on the the ground.

With the above said, I can see Donegal winning with about 5 points plus to spare. If they continue to operate in a composed and professional way then the three in a row will be achieved. I hope this isn't deemed to be an arrogant post, just an opinion based on what I've seen so far of both teams. Strange results can and will happen as we've seen already but I just can't see Donegal getting caught out."
Agree thoroughly Lock. While I have great respect for the people, players and management of Cavan and enjoyed their stirring comebacks over the last few weeks I just think Donegal are operating on a different level. Of course it can be argued that factors like the pitch and weather conditions could potentially narrow that gap I still think Donegal will have too much. Plus the game against Tyrone was played in awful conditions so Donegal have that benefit. Given the leaders within the group complacency won't be an issue either. My worry for Cavan is can they eradicate the goal chances they are giving up? While Donegal have only scored 2 goals in their games to date they are a team who very much have plenty of goals in them. If Donegal score even a couple its game over. Think Donegal will win with at least 4 to spare.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 18/11/2020 14:12:39    2311065

Replying To Breffni39:  "Far play Yank, you got up this morning and decided "I'll just pop on the internet to rain on strangers' parades". Whatever gets you through the day I suppose. Nobody from Cavan see's this as anything but a massive challenge as rank outsiders, but sure you go off"
Not raining on any parades, it's a fact. What was it Cavan were down ( 10 pts) at one stage ? Now if Cavan go 10 down to Donegal do you think they'll be coming back ?
Not a chance.
Cavan, Down, Armagh, Fermanagh and Monaghan are not at Tyrone/Donegal standard and whoever won that game was Ulster champions.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/11/2020 14:37:50    2311077

I'm looking forward to Mickey Grahams post match comments on Sunday evening,
A heavy defeat on Sunday and good luck in div 3 Mickey. get back in your little box.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 18/11/2020 14:44:07    2311081

Replying To catch22:  "Not raining on any parades, it's a fact. What was it Cavan were down ( 10 pts) at one stage ? Now if Cavan go 10 down to Donegal do you think they'll be coming back ?
Not a chance.
Cavan, Down, Armagh, Fermanagh and Monaghan are not at Tyrone/Donegal standard and whoever won that game was Ulster champions."
You're probably right, but do remember they said the same about Monaghan in 2013, and they came through the easy side to beat Donegal when they were All Ireland champions. Monaghan were Division 3, written off with no experienced winners in their team at that time, so no point saying it's fact when it clearly isn't. Changes happen and mantles get passed on all the time. Why can't Cavan join that?

Cavan have a chance, a punchers chance maybe only, but a chance nonetheless. A lot of these Cavan lads beat the same Donegal lads underage, and they have the talent. I suppose it is about belief, if they believe they can compete and win, then they can. What I can see coming into this more is Donegal eyeing an All Ireland semi final, and not concentrating on this, while this game is everything to Cavan. Cavan have nothing to lose, while Donegal have. Over the last 2 Ulster campaigns, including the final last year, which team has learned more about themselves and have more room to improve? There's one thing I'll say is that this Cavan team aren't afraid of a fight, and you'll need to beat us over the full 70 odd minutes and make sure we're definitely dead and not close by with time remaining if Donegal are to win

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 18/11/2020 14:55:50    2311086

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You're probably right, but do remember they said the same about Monaghan in 2013, and they came through the easy side to beat Donegal when they were All Ireland champions. Monaghan were Division 3, written off with no experienced winners in their team at that time, so no point saying it's fact when it clearly isn't. Changes happen and mantles get passed on all the time. Why can't Cavan join that?

Cavan have a chance, a punchers chance maybe only, but a chance nonetheless. A lot of these Cavan lads beat the same Donegal lads underage, and they have the talent. I suppose it is about belief, if they believe they can compete and win, then they can. What I can see coming into this more is Donegal eyeing an All Ireland semi final, and not concentrating on this, while this game is everything to Cavan. Cavan have nothing to lose, while Donegal have. Over the last 2 Ulster campaigns, including the final last year, which team has learned more about themselves and have more room to improve? There's one thing I'll say is that this Cavan team aren't afraid of a fight, and you'll need to beat us over the full 70 odd minutes and make sure we're definitely dead and not close by with time remaining if Donegal are to win"
Aye, that's fair enough but I can't remember if Monaghan ever went that far behind to a team in the first place. Now, Donegal we're Champions right enough but they were still suffering the hangover from that in 2013 I'd suggest.
This is a Donegal team after more silverware and I reckon they do have an eye on a semi final but they've seen Kerry get ahead of themselves and they are forewarned. Cannot see complacency coming into it. The problem with the
" punchers chance " thing is,Donegal can punch harder than Cavan. Cavan are more punch takers who have managed to stay upright against lightweights who don't pack a knockout punch.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/11/2020 15:16:42    2311093

With Murphy it's the same old story really. More often than not lads are dragging and pulling him all day long and he gets nothing for it, but he is a bad tackler and has been lucky plenty of times not to see the line.

It is frustrating from a Donegal supporters POV seeing him dragged and pulled all over the place and the ref giving him nothing, but it happens to big phsycail players all the time, not just to Murphy. Aidan O'Shea would have similar complaints I'm sure, Donaghy in his day as well. And also from my own POV any time Murphy goes in for a tackle my heart is in my mouth!

I'm looking forward to the game, there's definitely talent in this Cavan side if they can get a bit of consistency together overall. But as mentioned I don't think they would reel us back in if they give us a headstart like they've given Monaghan and Down. I also think this is a game where Jamie Brennan can flourish, expect to see him get a goal on Sunday.

Fingers crossed the rain holds off.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 18/11/2020 15:45:34    2311104

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You're probably right, but do remember they said the same about Monaghan in 2013, and they came through the easy side to beat Donegal when they were All Ireland champions. Monaghan were Division 3, written off with no experienced winners in their team at that time, so no point saying it's fact when it clearly isn't. Changes happen and mantles get passed on all the time. Why can't Cavan join that?

Cavan have a chance, a punchers chance maybe only, but a chance nonetheless. A lot of these Cavan lads beat the same Donegal lads underage, and they have the talent. I suppose it is about belief, if they believe they can compete and win, then they can. What I can see coming into this more is Donegal eyeing an All Ireland semi final, and not concentrating on this, while this game is everything to Cavan. Cavan have nothing to lose, while Donegal have. Over the last 2 Ulster campaigns, including the final last year, which team has learned more about themselves and have more room to improve? There's one thing I'll say is that this Cavan team aren't afraid of a fight, and you'll need to beat us over the full 70 odd minutes and make sure we're definitely dead and not close by with time remaining if Donegal are to win"
I think you're clutching there a bit Lough if you're thinking/hoping Donegal will look ahead to a semi final and do a Kerry. Given it has happened to Kerry would make that scenario less likely. Then there is the added prize of doing 3 in a row in Ulster which has been mentioned by players and management alike which to me is ominous in terms of their focus. The 2013 scenario is not comparable. That year Donegal were champions where the majority of this group have not gotten to an All Ireland semi final and are certainly very aware of the missed opportunities of the last couple of years and what a great opportunity this year offers them in getting to one. Also in 2013 it is well documented that things were not right in the background especially within the management group and conflicts over training. Plus a couple of big players were carrying injuries. While injuries are an issue this weekend not so much so that it would be a deterrent for this game.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 18/11/2020 15:54:18    2311109

Replying To catch22:  "Aye, that's fair enough but I can't remember if Monaghan ever went that far behind to a team in the first place. Now, Donegal we're Champions right enough but they were still suffering the hangover from that in 2013 I'd suggest.
This is a Donegal team after more silverware and I reckon they do have an eye on a semi final but they've seen Kerry get ahead of themselves and they are forewarned. Cannot see complacency coming into it. The problem with the
" punchers chance " thing is,Donegal can punch harder than Cavan. Cavan are more punch takers who have managed to stay upright against lightweights who don't pack a knockout punch."
I get that, but there's a reason 3 in a row is hard. It's still a punchers chance all the same. I can see Cavan learning a lot, and they've a manger who seems to read a game very well and can respond. All well and good saying there will be no Donegal complacency, but there will be some. There will have to be. And I see no reason Cavan cannot exploit that. We're a big team too, and many of the lads have over 60 intercounty appearances. We have experience and they'll be able to apply themselves to the. I still think Donegal will win, just your post as 'fact' was very far away from anything factual hence my points. Donegal will have a lot to do to beat Cavan. The semi final probably didn't stand up to them as much as it should have in my opinion. Cavan could either be tired or energised, but they won't give up either way. It'll be a lot closer than many are saying, but writing Cavan off completely like you did is not the way to go

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 18/11/2020 16:01:40    2311116

i wonder if monaghan had squeezed past cavan 3 weeks ago and went on and won their two games in the same manner as cavan would people be writing them off as ''lucky'' to be in the final or not having a chance?
theres too much being made of the comments by micky. they're totally out of context. he was asked the question and tbh the bit about lads needing to be protected from murphy to me seemed more like a joke or a compliment to the exceptional footballer he is. lets be straight about it no matter how you look at it donegal are unbackable. they're an exceptional team, their pace cant be matched by anyone else in the country. they have exceptional natural talent, leaders, youth, experience. i could go on and on...... but cavan are in the final on merit and fair play to them for getting this far. but its a massive ask. i'd expect donegal to win it but who knows.
i mentioned on here before to not read too much in to the armagh result from a donegal perspective as i felt armagh are average at best and over rated. fair enough they got promoted but if the likes of cavan had played in the league at all they wouldn't have. their defense was non existant against donegal and with players like langan, mogan, brennan and thompson you cant afford to be slack. you might say that donegals attack was too good for them but as a donegal poster mentioned they had 2,3 lads targeting murphy at times trying to stop him. did they not watch their previous games and see what other players they had?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 18/11/2020 16:03:48    2311118

Looks like Sunday might be ok weather wise surprisingly. Fingers crossed anyway!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 18/11/2020 16:24:25    2311127

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not having a pop. But that's a very odd thing to say, southern media ? I presume u not talking about Munster. Do you really view yourself as part of northern ire ?? Again not having a pop. I just never seen someone from Donegal Monaghan or Cavan refer to the media as southern. Dublin or d4 yeah."
It is an odd turn of phrase. Dublin media would be more common place.

You must remember that Ulster Football can get glossed over a bit and to many of us....treated harshly in the past. I still wouldn't say southern media though.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 18/11/2020 16:52:47    2311137

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well I think for Donegal it's definitely a case of forewarned is forearmed. I don't think there will be any complacency given what we've seen of Cavan in the last few weeks. They have showed a formidable spirit and no little skill in getting to this final and that needs to be respected.

But at the same time, Donegal's form has been ominous. I've seen people comparing this Ulster final to 2013, when Monaghan defied all the odds and deservedly and comprehensively beat us. But the situation is completely different. In 2013 there was a lot of unhappiness behind the scenes in Donegal with regard to injuries, preparation and some friction between management and the county board. It all come to a sorry culmination when Mayo walloped us out the gates of Croke Park.

This Donegal squad is in fine tune, and bar a few injury concerns the camp is in rude health. A lot of our talented younger players have really added a lot of power, and we have good squad depth now as well. Perhaps more importantly, there is a sense that for all the plaudits they have received of late, feet are firmly on the the ground.

With the above said, I can see Donegal winning with about 5 points plus to spare. If they continue to operate in a composed and professional way then the three in a row will be achieved. I hope this isn't deemed to be an arrogant post, just an opinion based on what I've seen so far of both teams. Strange results can and will happen as we've seen already but I just can't see Donegal getting caught out."
2013 seems like a lifetime ago. I have wry smile re Donegal in 2013. I don't recall hearing any of those excuses before the game from any quarter. I went to the game thinking we were unlikely to win. Most took a win for granted...nothing more. Monaghan had no respect for them that day....never really had for some reason. I think Donegal is one of those teams that Monaghan seem to get the better of more often than not.

Monaghan and Down have made that same mistake with Cavan this year.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 18/11/2020 17:43:17    2311150