Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

Up the Breifne! Great performance. The hunger, the passion. Great to see. A great football county.

Donegal had their eyes on the bigger prize. They didn't play well. Very, very similar to how Kerry went down to Cork.

How anyone could be happy going back to the qualifiers is beyond me. Straight knockout is what its all about.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 22/11/2020 17:53:50    2313011

Fair play to Cavan. Fully deserved win. We were lucky to still be in the game entering the final minutes. Cavan asked the questions and we didn't have the answers today. Thanks to the lads for all their efforts this season.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/11/2020 17:54:19    2313014

Congratulations Cavan. Comiserations to Donegal. Guts and heart and fight in abundance. The Anglo Celt Cup is years tonight but don't stop there.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 22/11/2020 17:55:51    2313016

Well done to Cavan - a deserved win. Definitely the hungrier team. And now history has repeated itself 100 years on.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 22/11/2020 17:56:07    2313017

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ah here

Cavan.. you absolutely deserved it

Congratulations. Hard luck to Donegal but the better team today won.

Down to 14 men twice and the last 15 minutes Cavan were excellent

Much deserved"
Cavan played for 20mins with 14 men.... Some achievement...!
Congrats. first Ulster title since 1997 I think.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 22/11/2020 17:59:52    2313026

Replying To waynoI:  "I'm sorry to the cavan lads. I never gave you a chance. Amazing stuff. Such a shame Tipp and cavan fans cant be in the ground to see this."
Dead right, open Croker up!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 22/11/2020 18:01:12    2313029

I'm bitterly bitterly disappointed for Donegal football, I am like a broken record on these pages that we do not have a plethora of Ulster titles and every one is savoured, every final is nerve-wracking, every single one. I hope people who roll their eyes at that sort of talk would take a look today and understand it's all true.

The post match interviews from Mickey Graham and Raymond Galligan on BBC tell you all you need to know. I am sore and upset we couldn't do the three-in-a-row but in all honesty of all the teams to lose to, I'm happy it's Cavan.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/11/2020 18:01:38    2313030

I very rarely comment on this site but as a Donegalman I just wanted to say absolutlely amazing display by Cavan, the intensity shown was something else and they wanted it much more.

The media really hyped Donegal after Kerry went out but there seems to be a psychological weakness there. Hopefully they can sort that out.

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 22/11/2020 18:01:57    2313032

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Cop yourself on. It was a black card. Ryan Mc Hugh constantly gets taken out off the ball and gets serious hits. It nearly finished him with football due to a fractured skull and numerous concussions. Don't let your anti Donegal feelings blind your judgement
BTW we're playing poorly and could be caught here."
No anti Donegal feelings at all; I was an neutral but the way the game developed one cannot help but be emotional watching what Cavan done. Donegal are a very seasoned team, there was a lot of comment from the Donegal camp this week and we can now see why Graham and Cavan were concerned what was coming out. In the end for whatever reason Donegal got all the major calls but absol fair play to the heart and determination of this Cavan team; they battled on regardless and are tonight Ulster Champions. Congratulations Cavan; I hope their football mad county can find a way to celebrate safely this evening.

Fair play to Donegal for what they've done; it just shows how near impossible it is to win three Ulster titles in a row.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/11/2020 18:02:07    2313034

Cavan proved their worth today. Two division 1 teams beaten on route to winning Ulster I'm delighted for them a great footballing mad county.

Regardless of what happens in the All Ireland semi finals today provincial success for Tipp and Cavan will be talked about for many years to come and wins like today is why the provincial championships should never be scrapped.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 22/11/2020 18:03:39    2313039

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "There have been a couple of Donegal posters embarrassing both themselves and the county these past couple of weeks.
I hope they feel suitably foolish this evening."
Muckross my old friend. Hard luck. It's a bitter pill to swallow. Take heart that at least you were competitive unlike my own county.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/11/2020 18:05:09    2313048

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Look at what that means for Cavan and Tipp today. Tell me again that provincials are dead. Leinster teams playing the poor mouth every year. Get over yourselves, there's plenty life in Gaelic football."
Maybe if you had to play Dublin every year you'd have a different view. Well done Cavan. Fantastic occasion.

Evora (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 22/11/2020 18:05:24    2313049

Wow. What a win for the Breffni boys.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/11/2020 18:05:41    2313051

GAA is and always will be the NO1 sport in Ireland. Brilliant Sunday viewing.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/11/2020 18:05:56    2313053

Congratulations to Cavan fully deserved they had a hunger donegal couldn't match always had the players from great underage teams now have a decent manager and proper team. Galligan some player absolute wrecking ball.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 22/11/2020 18:08:05    2313060

Replying To Young_gael:  "Up the Breifne! Great performance. The hunger, the passion. Great to see. A great football county.

Donegal had their eyes on the bigger prize. They didn't play well. Very, very similar to how Kerry went down to Cork.

How anyone could be happy going back to the qualifiers is beyond me. Straight knockout is what its all about."
100%

1 province might be dead but the other 3 are alive and well and the removal of the stale safety net that is the qualifiers will do no harm at all.

I've always been a fan of straight KO competitions, no messing about, it's píss or get off the top stuff!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 18:08:36    2313062

Replying To sam1884:  "No anti Donegal feelings at all; I was an neutral but the way the game developed one cannot help but be emotional watching what Cavan done. Donegal are a very seasoned team, there was a lot of comment from the Donegal camp this week and we can now see why Graham and Cavan were concerned what was coming out. In the end for whatever reason Donegal got all the major calls but absol fair play to the heart and determination of this Cavan team; they battled on regardless and are tonight Ulster Champions. Congratulations Cavan; I hope their football mad county can find a way to celebrate safely this evening.

Fair play to Donegal for what they've done; it just shows how near impossible it is to win three Ulster titles in a row."
Glad someone said it. Cassidy gave us nothing. And we still managed it. I don't know what "it" is, but Mickey Graham has it in spades.

What a man.
What a group of players.
What a win!

I haven't shed a tear at a sporting event before, ever.

I did tonight.

I cannot believe what this Cavan team has just done! Heroes!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 22/11/2020 18:10:54    2313064

Wow ! Just Wow !. best performance i have ever seen from a Cavan team. from start to finish. Fully deserved. To a man they put their bodies on the line. I completely misjudged them in relation to Donegal. They were fitter, stronger and hungrier. They were also patient when they neesed to be and were not afraid to shoot if it was on. I would say we were slightly lucky v Monaghan and Down but Today absolutely worthy winners and CAVAN ARE ULSTER CHAMPIONS. congratulations to Mickey and all the panel. I cried buckets at the end along with Mickey and Ray. Amazing stuff.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/11/2020 18:13:07    2313067

I am so, so proud of this team.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 22/11/2020 18:19:37    2313079

Well done Cavan, what a day of football.

They were down and out against Monaghan the first day and again against Down in the semi final!

They really, really earned that Ulster title.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 22/11/2020 18:21:41    2313082