Galway V Mayo Connacht Final

Replying To BeJasus:  "You've had no say in the modern era ,yesteryears team similar to meath , let's be honest about it....
Games changed so/so much since those days,, rugby boot days...and this guy is on about evolving ))

Mayo challenged for 10 years non stop losing out to the greatest team of all time..
You need a team with the ability to evolve in order to challenge for over a decade. .

Let's be honest youre galway buddy was talking out of his backside.
Finding a player here or there necessarily doesn't make you an evolving team.."
10 years non stop???? Ye were beaten by all the top teams in the country in a few finals and semis.
Up to 13 players still part of the mayo squad there since 2010.. ten years!
It's harder to get off that squad then on it.. Clarke, Hennelly, Barrett, Higgins, Boyle, Keegan, Seamie, Parsons, Vaughan, Mc Loughlin, Doherty, Aidan, Cillian are all there for ten years.. Hardly evolving to an extent like Galway..
One player there since 2010. Gary o Donnell.
Whatever happens this year Mayo will still need to shaft a load of them ould boys..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 14/11/2020 20:02:49    2308874

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "10 years non stop???? Ye were beaten by all the top teams in the country in a few finals and semis.
It's harder to get off that squad then on it.. Clarke, Hennelly, Barrett, Higgins, Boyle, Keegan, Seamie, Parsons, Vaughan, Mc Loughlin, Doherty, Aidan, Cillian are all there for ten years.. Hardly evolving to an extent like Galway..
Whatever happens this year Mayo will still need to shaft a load of them ould boys.."
I just dont get why you are so bitter about it.

Fact of matter is ....Galway slept on their success for well over a decade up until 2013.. ..and lost two decades because of it..
The got their wake up call v Mayo in connacht championship that summer...
Hammered out the gate when conditioning and tactical setup simply blew Galway away, and were forced to have a long hard look at themselves moving forward..

Fell asleep in arguably the most critical era of them all ...the data/conditioning/tactical era..
and paid the price for it by being cast aside for the following decade 2010/2020 with the damage already done
and it was left to Kevin walsh to pick up the pieces..
Evolving ?
You're playing catch up , and still are.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 14/11/2020 20:40:02    2308899

Galway are in with a great chance here. Mayo have not been able to put back to back performances together. And we are in with a good chance. An early score will settle the nerves. I expect a tight enough game, hope Galway can hold on and win. I don't begrudge Mayo anything though.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 14/11/2020 20:42:09    2308901

Replying To GDL:  "You may count again, in the last 25 years Galway have won two, Mayo remain on zero since 1951. It doesn't matter how you comfort yourself it is 69 years and the only stat that matters is 9 to 3, no matter what you think and do you what we will reach our "Décimo" well in advance of ye. Your grandchildren may not even see it."
Galway fans definitely won't want to lose 2 Provincial finals in the same weekend....
Hopefully tomorrow's game is a lot closer than the recent league encounter. Think it will be..!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 14/11/2020 20:53:58    2308911

Replying To BeJasus:  "I just dont get why you are so bitter about it.

Fact of matter is ....Galway slept on their success for well over a decade up until 2013.. ..and lost two decades because of it..
The got their wake up call v Mayo in connacht championship that summer...
Hammered out the gate when conditioning and tactical setup simply blew Galway away, and were forced to have a long hard look at themselves moving forward..

Fell asleep in arguably the most critical era of them all ...the data/conditioning/tactical era..
and paid the price for it by being cast aside for the following decade 2010/2020 with the damage already done
and it was left to Kevin walsh to pick up the pieces..
Evolving ?
You're playing catch up , and still are."
Catch up to what?
Ye are and always will be inferior to us.. jesus havens even win a Connacht in 5 years! Possibly will change tomorrow.
1951 ? Stop man..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 14/11/2020 21:27:40    2308936

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Catch up to what?
Ye are and always will be inferior to us.. jesus havens even win a Connacht in 5 years! Possibly will change tomorrow.
1951 ? Stop man.."
5 in a row before that, battered every year, fans and team lost interest in Connacht..
Whipping boys during that spell. it became boring..

A few token victories since then really haven't changed much ...as usually Mayo ended up representing Connaht in the All Ireland series anyways..)))
it had got so easy for Mayo they neglected connacht...

With 8/9 new players now being blended in by Horan , full focus is back in Connaught wouldn't surprise me if they repeat the 5 in a row again.

It raining today so it will suit Galway turning this into a dogfight.
Play football , and Galway might get thumped again..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/11/2020 07:02:04    2309010

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "10 years non stop???? Ye were beaten by all the top teams in the country in a few finals and semis.
Whatever happens this year Mayo will still need to shaft a load of them ould boys.."
Boyle, seamie, Doherty or Vaughan not even on the match day panel today and have not played all year. Higgins, parsons and Hennelly are on the bench but haven't played either. Cillian still only 28, Keegan and Aidan both only 30, can still possibly play a few more years.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 15/11/2020 08:40:56    2309019

Replying To Mfs:  "Boyle, seamie, Doherty or Vaughan not even on the match day panel today and have not played all year. Higgins, parsons and Hennelly are on the bench but haven't played either. Cillian still only 28, Keegan and Aidan both only 30, can still possibly play a few more years."
Paddy durcan was put in this category to by RTE pundits and he's 26..))
One thing i learn about Galway people , they pop up when it suits them coming out with daft potshot posts..

This rivalry has become bitter in modern times , possibly because of the gap or heavy beatings they took..
I lived in Galway city during their 98 campaign, can't think any Mayo people that were not shouting for them to win the All Ireland at the time..
Whole county was behind them , and today we have this kinda carry on...

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/11/2020 09:56:25    2309037

Great game day is finally here and the petty arguments can stop, well until the next time we play each other..
Cant see any changes to Mayo team, only injuries might cause a change.
I can see changes to the Galway team, Comer i think will either be late addition to the subs or straight into starting team. O Donnell could come in also.

Weather is not too bad this morning but could be different in Salthill, it usually is.

Hopefully the best team wins and not won by a players mistake or poor ref

Best of luck to both teams

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 15/11/2020 10:36:56    2309054

Replying To BeJasus:  "Paddy durcan was put in this category to by RTE pundits and he's 26..))
One thing i learn about Galway people , they pop up when it suits them coming out with daft potshot posts..

This rivalry has become bitter in modern times , possibly because of the gap or heavy beatings they took..
I lived in Galway city during their 98 campaign, can't think any Mayo people that were not shouting for them to win the All Ireland at the time..
Whole county was behind them , and today we have this kinda carry on..."
Relax good man and stop listening to the eejits. You seem to be getting very wound up and throwing out sweeping generalisations. I and many I know would have liked Mayo to win an All-Ireland in the last 8 years. They definitely deserved at least one. In terms of rivalry, Galway actually have the better record in the last 5 years, but it counts for nothing today.
I just hope we turn up and leave everything out there on the pitch. If that's not enough, I'll be wishing Mayo all the best.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 15/11/2020 10:52:10    2309057

Replying To Mfs:  "Boyle, seamie, Doherty or Vaughan not even on the match day panel today and have not played all year. Higgins, parsons and Hennelly are on the bench but haven't played either. Cillian still only 28, Keegan and Aidan both only 30, can still possibly play a few more years."
You can only name match day 26; however them lads are still there training away.
My point is 10 years on the road, it's a lot of miles and still no AI.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 393 - 15/11/2020 10:54:57    2309058

May the best team win today and represent Connacht well.

Stay safe and well everyone.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/11/2020 11:32:19    2309076

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Relax good man and stop listening to the eejits. You seem to be getting very wound up and throwing out sweeping generalisations. I and many I know would have liked Mayo to win an All-Ireland in the last 8 years. They definitely deserved at least one. In terms of rivalry, Galway actually have the better record in the last 5 years, but it counts for nothing today.
I just hope we turn up and leave everything out there on the pitch. If that's not enough, I'll be wishing Mayo all the best."
All stemmed from youre fellow county man's claim that Galway were "evolving" using a player or two as a reference
and a some sort of dig at Mayo..when i corrected him, you jumped in and here we are..

We want to talk football on here , sadly many Galway fans come here when it suits them, switching codes/loyalties and end up in petty's arguments of because they are not in tune with current events on the field..nor do they care..
Rossies to be fair to them know their football.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 15/11/2020 11:39:37    2309081

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 15/11/2020 12:00:21    2309086

Replying To BeJasus:  "All stemmed from youre fellow county man's claim that Galway were "evolving" using a player or two as a reference
and a some sort of dig at Mayo..when i corrected him, you jumped in and here we are..

We want to talk football on here , sadly many Galway fans come here when it suits them, switching codes/loyalties and end up in petty's arguments of because they are not in tune with current events on the field..nor do they care..
Rossies to be fair to them know their football."
You're pretty much doing the exact same as the poster you're giving out about. You tried to make a thread on Offaly hurling about Galway football, throwing in a few digs. I didn't see anyone posting about Mayo in that thread.
There are plenty of sh*t stirrers in both counties. You could help by not being one of them.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 15/11/2020 12:37:35    2309102

Replying To BeJasus:  "All stemmed from youre fellow county man's claim that Galway were "evolving" using a player or two as a reference

Rossies to be fair to them know their football."
What kind of bitter-minded tripe are you spouting now? Smacks of a man that was less than average on the field of play himself, If you stepped on it at all - all gobby snipes and nastiness. We know what plenty of Mayo fans and indeed current players do online but we're not dwelling on it. And what are you on about switching codes and loyalties? We're Galway GAA people, we love our football and hurling - we're fully entitled to and are proud of both. If you were any good at the latter, we might have had a Connacht championship to contest in the last 132 years!
Anyway, I'm looking forward to a great contest today - it may not be pretty given we're in the middle of November on a wet blustery day but both teams have put in there all in the midst of a pandemic to get to this point. May the best team win. Hoping Galway are fully dialled in and give it everything. Up Galway!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 15/11/2020 12:59:09    2309114

Some awful childish petty comments from Both sets of fans here the last week. Grow up. Looking forward to throw in and a good game. Up Mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/11/2020 13:17:41    2309123

Jeepers Mayo love a wide, keeping Galway in it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/11/2020 14:09:25    2309151

Very dirty hit by conroy there

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 15/11/2020 14:10:43    2309153

Mayo missed too many chances that they may come to regret, well on top but the wind will be big advantage come the end..
Paul Conroy dirty knee to Aidans head
Durcan got a yellow after a great fair hit on O Donnell

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 15/11/2020 14:19:44    2309157